DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s reply, filed on 05/27/2026, to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/06/2026.
Claims 1-6 and 8-30 are amended. Claim 7 is canceled, and claim 31 is new. Claims 1-6 and 8-31 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 25 and 29 are objected to because claims do not clearly define a network entity (claim 29), a first network entity (claim 18), and a second network entity (claim 25) with respect to the invention’s network architecture. It is unclear about the functions of these network entities in light of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, 18, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev; Genadi et al US 20230189187 A1, hereinafter Velev, in view of LEE; Hoyeon et al US 20250240710 A1, hereinafter LEE.
Regarding claims 1, 18, 25 and 29, Velev teaches, a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories (see Velev Fig. 5) that store code for the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive a service identifier (ID) for a control plane service, wherein the control plane service is one of a list of services provided with service selection information (A control plane service, under BRI, is interpreted as a service used over a control plane. Such services are registration in a network slice, authentication etc. Velev [0006] “One method of a UE, e.g., for provisioning a UE with information to access a specific service, includes sending a first registration request to the mobile communication network, the mobile network supporting a plurality of network slices. The method includes receiving configuration information from the mobile communication network, the configuration information enabling the UE to use at least one network slice from the plurality of network slices”; [0075] “network slice (identified by an S-NSSAI)”; [0088] At step 3e, the AMF 211 triggers a UE Configuration Update (UCU) procedure to update the UE configuration (see block 319). The UCU command sent from the AMF 211 to the UE 205 may include at least: a new enhanced configured NSSAI …, request for re-registration …”; [0122] “a 3GPP service ID (e.g., an application ID or S-NSSAI/DNN)”, teaches receiving network slice service information including network slice service ID S-NSSAI).
select the control plane service; transmit a message that includes the service ID and (Velev [0119] “The UE 205 applies the new updated subscription/configuration information. The UE 205 determines which S-NSSAIs it wants to register with, i.e., the S-NSSAIs to be included in the requested NSSAI.”; [0158] “At Step 13, the AMF 211 performs UCU procedure towards the UE 205 to update the network slice configuration (e.g., configured NSSAI, allowed NSSAI) with registration required (see block 435) … At Step 14, after applying internally the updated configuration and possibly performing cell reselection, the UE 205 performs Registration procedure including an update Requested NSSAI (see messaging 437)”, teaches transmitting registration in the network slice with selected network slice service ID S-NSSAI); and
receive a configuration for the control plane service (Velev [0104] “the UE 205 will use the new configured NSSAI to build a Requested NSSAI in the consequent Registration procedure”; [0105] “The AMF 211 sends Registration Accept message to the UE 205. The Registration Accept message may contain at least one of: allowed NSSAI (i.e., default or empty), configured NSSAI (including frequency priorities per S-NSSAI which are part of the configured NSSAI), network slice subscription change indication, …, transparent container including security parameters (associated with particular application or slice/DNN)”, teaches receiving configuration parameters associated with the configured NSSAI in Registration Accept message in response to Registration Request message).
While it is well-known from 3GPP specification that Registration Request message in network slice includes NW slice ID and UE ID, Velev does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches, transmit a message that includes the service ID and a UE ID for the UE (LEE [52] “The base station 110, which has received the registration request message according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may select an AMF to which the registration request is transmitted, based on at least one of the requested NSSAI and UE ID received from the UE 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev to include the features as taught by LEE above in order to provide network slice information in a wireless communication system (LEE [0001]).
With respect to claim 18, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection. LEE further teaches, forward the message to an address for the control plane service based at least in part on the service ID (LEE [52] “The base station 110, which has received the registration request message according to an embodiment of the disclosure, may select an AMF to which the registration request is transmitted, based on at least one of the requested NSSAI and UE ID received from the UE 100”).
With respect to claim 25, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection. Velev further teaches, UE as a first network entity and RAN as a second network entity.
With respect to claim 29, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claim 15, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev further teaches, wherein the control plane service is an access and mobility service over a control plane (see the rejection of claim 1 disclosing Registration Request message).
Regarding claim 31, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev further teaches, wherein the processing system, to receive the service ID, is configured to receive the service ID from a first network entity; and wherein the processing system, to transmit the message, is configured to transmit the message to a second network entity (see rejection of claim 1. In Velev, a first network entity is RAN and a second network entity is AMF).
Claims 2-14, 16-17, 26-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev, in view of LEE, as applied to claim 1 and 29 above, and further in view of IDS reference ETSI TS 125 501: "5G, Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS), Stage 3, (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.5.1 Release 16, 11 August 2020, hereinafter NPL-3GPP.
Regarding claims 2 and 30, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 29.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the message includes a first protocol data unit (PDU) with a control plane transport header that includes the service ID and the UE ID (NPL-3GPP p.467 Table 8.2.6.1.1 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request message identity" (i.e., a service ID) and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in the header and a "NAS message container"; p.479, 8.2.10 and p.481, 8.2.11 describe “UL/DL NAS (control plane) Transport” PDU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 3, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 2.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the control plane transport header is associated with a control plane transport protocol layer, and wherein the first PDU is a service PDU associated with a service PDU protocol layer (See p.480 table 8.2.10.1.1 “UL NAS TRANSPORT message content”).
Regarding claim 4, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to establish security for the UE using a security service with messaging on a security protocol layer between the control plane transport protocol layer and the service PDU protocol layer (see p.40, 4.4 “NAS Security”, “5GSM messages are security protected indirectly by being piggybacked by the security protected 5GMM messages (i.e. UL NAS TRANSPORT message and the DL NAS TRANSPORT message). The signalling procedures for the control of NAS security are part of the 5GMM protocol …”).
Regarding claim 5, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 4.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to establish security for the UE, the is further configured to cause the UE to select an authentication and security service, and wherein the service ID indicates the authentication and security service (see p.40 “The security parameters for authentication, integrity protection and ciphering are tied together in a 5G NAS security context… Usually, the 5G NAS security context is created as the result of a primary authentication and key agreement procedure between the AMF and the UE.”).
Regarding claim 6, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the first protocol data unit (PDU) includes a non-access stratum (NAS) PDU (p.467 Table 8.2.6.1.1 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request message identity" and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in the header and a "NAS message container").
Regarding claim 8, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to service selection information (see p.467: "Registration request message identity". It is implied that UE selected the service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 9, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the service selection information includes a service selection ID (see p.467: "Registration request message identity". It is implied that UE selected service has a service ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 10, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more protocol data units (PDUs) associated with use of the control plane service (see the rejection of claims 3 and 6, for PDU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 11, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to obtain a service ID for a discovery and selection service that indicates available control plane services (It is implied in NPL-3GPP because 3GPP-protocol complied UEs are aware of services available over NAS (control plane)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 12, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 11.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to receive the service ID, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the service ID in system information or via a configuration (It is implied in NPL-3GPP because 3GPP-protocol complied UEs are aware of services available over NAS (control plane), and service-related messages have service ID).
Regarding claim 13, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 11.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to receive the service ID, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive a preconfigured service ID (see the rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive a service module ID for a service module associated with the control plane service (see the rejection of claim 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 16, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the control plane service is a data service over a control plane (NPL-3GPP p.312, 5.6.1 “Service request procedure”, 5.6.1.1 “If the UE is using 5GS services with control plane CIoT 5GS optimization, this procedure can be used for UE initiated transfer of user data via the control plane from 5GMM IDLE mode.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 17, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the UE, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the control plane service is a subscription service, a policy service over a control plane, or a network exposure function over a control plane (NPL-3GPP p.64, Table 4.5.2A.2: “Mapping table for access categories”; p.65, 4.1 “MO IMS registration related signalling, Access attempt is for MO IMS registration related signalling (e.g. IMS initial registration, re-registration, subscription refresh)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 26, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the second network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 25.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second network entity to transmit, to the first network entity, an address for the control plane service or a service profile for the control plane service (see p. 4 7 3 Table 8.2.7.1.1., for different service information in “Registration Accept” message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 27, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-3GPP, teaches the second network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 26.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service profile is for a discovery and selection service or an authentication and security service (see p.40 “The security parameters for authentication, integrity protection and ciphering are tied together in a 5G NAS security context… Usually, the 5G NAS security context is created as the result of a primary authentication and key agreement procedure between the AMF and the UE.”).
Regarding claim 28, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the second network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 25.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-3GPP teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: perform a security check for a user equipment (UE); and receive subscription information for the service (p. 4 7 5: "This IE shall be included if the user's network slicing subscription has changed in the UDM of a PLMN", p.477: "The network may include this IE to inform the UE of one or more S-NSSAis that are pending as the network slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure is not completed.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-3GPP above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev, in view of LEE, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of GRIOT; Miguel et al US 20160373976 A1, hereinafter GRIOT.
Regarding claim 19, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, GRIOT teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network entity to map the address to the control plane service (GRIOT [76] “… the UE may transmit an indication to connect to the C-SGN or an indication to connect to CN that supports this service. The RAN node may identify a CN that is a C-SGN or which supports small data over control plane transmissions and may begin a CN reselection procedure from the MME to a C-SGN.”, suggesting mapping the address of C-SGN to the “small data over control plane” service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by GRIOT above providing effective coverage for devices, including MTC devices, which may have different characteristics as compared to traditional UEs (GRIOT [0006]).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev, in view of LEE, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of IDS reference ANONYMOUS ARDUINO: "5G, ShareTechnote", 2 June 2023, hereinafter NPL-5G.
Regarding claim 20, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-5G teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network entity to transmit a configuration for the control plane service to the UE (NPL-5G p. 5: "5G Core would send Registration Accept message [ ... ] Registration Accept (24.501 - 8.2.7.1) 5GS registration result (24.501 9.11.3.6) 5G-GUTI (24.501 9.11.3.4) [ ... ] Configured NSSAI (24.501 9.11.3.37)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-5G above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 21, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-5G teaches, wherein the message includes a first protocol data unit (PDU) with a control plane transport header that includes the service ID and the UE ID (p.4-5 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request Type” message identity and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in a PDU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-5G above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 22, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-5G teaches, wherein the service ID includes service selection information, and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network entity to: transmit the service selection information with a request for the service ID to a second network entity of a discovery and selection service; and receive one or more of the address for the control plane service or the service ID (see p.4-12, teaching service related information in the “Registration Request” message and “Registration Accept” message received in response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-5G above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Regarding claim 23, Velev, in view of LEE and NPL-5G, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 22.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network entity to transmit the service ID to the UE (see rejection of claim 18 above. RAN forwards the message that comprises “Registration Request” message ID, i.e., Service ID).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev, in view of LEE, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of IDS reference ANONYMOUS ARDUINO: "5G, ShareTechnote", 2 June 2023, hereinafter NPL-5G, and yet further in view of GRIOT; Miguel et al US 20160373976 A1, hereinafter GRIOT.
Regarding claim 24, Velev, in view of LEE, teaches the first network entity, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
Velev and LEE do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-5G teaches, wherein the service ID includes a service selection ID, wherein the message includes a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) (see p.3-5 teaching NAS PDU of the “Registration Request” message with identity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Velev and LEE to include the features as taught by NPL-5G above in order to be in compliance with 3GPP wireless system procedures for providing cellular services.
Velev and LEE and NPL-5G do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, GRIOT suggests, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first network entity to: select a service exposure and orchestration function (SEOF) using the service selection ID; and forward the NAS PDU to the SEOF (SEOF selection is interpreted, unde BRI, as selection of a node facilitating the requested service. GRIOT [76] The RAN node may identify a CN that is a C-SGN or which supports small data over control plane transmissions and may begin a CN reselection procedure from the MME to a C-SGN.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of NPL-5G to include the features as taught by GRIOT above providing effective coverage for devices, including MTC devices, which may have different characteristics as compared to traditional UEs (GRIOT [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475