DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS reference ETSI TS 125 501: "5G, Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS), Stage 3, (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.5.1 Release 16, 11 August 2020, hereinafter NPL-3GPP.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, NPL-3GPP teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (NPL-3GPP p.1: "Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS)", p.465 8.2.6.1:"message is sent by the UE") , comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (It is well known that UE comprises memory and processors), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
select a service provided over a control plane (It is well established in 3GPP that services like Registration, Service Request etc. are provided over control channel such as NAS. NPL-3GPP p. 465 8.2.6.1: "The REGISTRATION REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the AMF. see table 8. 2. 6. 1. 1." discloses the selection of the registration service);
transmit a message that includes an indication of the service and a UE identifier (ID) for the UE (NPL-3GPP p.465 8.2.6.1: "The REGISTRATION REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the AMF. See table 8.2.6.1.1.", p.467 Table 8.2.6.1.1: "Registration request message identity", "SGS mobile identity" discloses an element in the registration message indicating a service (registration) and an element in the registration message indicating a UE identifier); and
receive a configuration for the service (NPL-3GPP p. 471 8.2.7.1: "The REGISTRATION ACCEPT message is sent by the AMF to the UE", the message is considered a configuration as it contains configuration information, see for example Table 8.2.7.1.1 "31 Configured NSSAI").
With respect to claim 29, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claim 2 and 30, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 29.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the message includes a first protocol data unit (PDU) with a control plane transport header that includes the indication of the service and the UE ID (p.467 Table 8.2.6.1.1 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request message identity" and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in the header and a "NAS message container"; p.479, 8.2.10 and p.481, 8.2.11 describe “UL/DL NAS (control plane) Transport” PDU).
Regarding claim 3, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 2.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the control plane transport header is associated with a control plane transport protocol layer, and wherein the first PDU is a service PDU associated with a service PDU protocol layer (See p.480 table 8.2.10.1.1 “UL NAS TRANSPORT message content”).
Regarding claim 4, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 3.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to establish security for the UE using a security service with messaging on a security protocol layer between the control plane transport protocol layer and the service PDU protocol layer (see p.40, 4.4 “NAS Security”, “5GSM messages are security protected indirectly by being piggybacked by the security protected 5GMM messages (i.e. UL NAS TRANSPORT message and the DL NAS TRANSPORT message). The signalling procedures for the control of NAS security are part of the 5GMM protocol …”).
Regarding claim 5, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 4.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to establish security for the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to select an authentication and security service, and wherein the indication of the service indicates the authentication and security service (see p.40 “The security parameters for authentication, integrity protection and ciphering are tied together in a 5G NAS security context… Usually, the 5G NAS security context is created as the result of a primary authentication and key agreement procedure between the AMF and the UE.”).
Regarding claim 6, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the first protocol data unit (PDU) includes a non-access stratum (NAS) PDU (p.467 Table 8.2.6.1.1 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request message identity" and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in the header and a "NAS message container").
Regarding claim 7, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the indication of the service includes a service ID (see p.467: "Registration request message identity").
Regarding claim 8, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to service selection information associated with a service ID (see p.467: "Registration request message identity". It is implied that UE selected the service).
Regarding claim 9, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service selection information includes a service selection ID (see p.467: "Registration request message identity". It is implied that UE selected service has a service ID).
Regarding claim 10, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more protocol data units (PDUs) associated with use of the service over the control plane (see the rejection of claims 3 and 6, for PDU)
Regarding claim 11, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain a service ID for a discovery and selection service that indicates available services on the control plane (It is implied in NPL-3GPP because 3GPP-protocol complied UEs are aware of services available over NAS (control plane)).
Regarding claim 12, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 11.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to obtain the service ID for the discovery and selection service, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive the service ID in system information or via a configuration (It is implied in NPL-3GPP because 3GPP-protocol complied UEs are aware of services available over NAS (control plane), and service-related messages have service ID).
Regarding claim 13, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 11.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein to obtain the service ID for the discovery and selection service, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain a preconfigured service ID (see the rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive a service module ID for a service module associated with the service (see the rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 15, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service is an access and mobility service over the control plane (p. 465: "The REGISTRATION REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the AMF." Registration Request message is an access message).
Regarding claim 16, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service is a data service over the control plane (NPL-3GPP p.312, 5.6.1 “Service request procedure”, 5.6.1.1 “If the UE is using 5GS services with control plane CIoT 5GS optimization, this procedure can be used for UE initiated transfer of user data via the control plane from 5GMM IDLE mode.”).
Regarding claim 17, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service is a subscription service, a policy service over the control plane, or a network exposure function over the control plane (NPL-3GPP p.64, Table 4.5.2A.2: “Mapping table for access categories”; p.65, 4.1 “MO IMS registration related signalling, Access attempt is for MO IMS registration related signalling (e.g. IMS initial registration, re-registration, subscription refresh)”).
Regarding claim 25, NPL-3GPP teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network entity (NPL-3GPP p.465 8.2.6.1: "AMF"), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the second network entity to:
receive, from a first network entity, service selection information associated with a service (NPL-3GPP p.465 8.2.6.1: "The REGISTRATION REQUEST message is sent by the UE to the AMF". A first network entity is interpreted, under BRI, an entity in the wireless network e.g., a UE); and
transmit, to the first network entity, a service identifier (ID) associated with the service (NPL-3GPP p.471 8.2.7.1: "The REGISTRATION ACCEPT message is sent by the AMF to the UE. See table 8.2.7.1.1.", p.473: "Registration accept message identity").
Regarding claim 26, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit, to the first network entity, an address for the service or a service profile for the service (see p. 4 7 3 Table 8.2.7.1.1., for different service information in “Registration Accept” message).
Regarding claim 27, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 26.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the service profile is for a discovery and selection service or an authentication and security service (see p.40 “The security parameters for authentication, integrity protection and ciphering are tied together in a 5G NAS security context… Usually, the 5G NAS security context is created as the result of a primary authentication and key agreement procedure between the AMF and the UE.”).
Regarding claim 28, NPL-3GPP teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 25.
NPL-3GPP further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: perform a security check for a user equipment (UE); and receive subscription information for the service (p. 4 7 5: "This IE shall be included if the user's network slicing subscription has changed in the UDM of a PLMN", p.477: "The network may include this IE to inform the UE of one or more S-NSSAis that are pending as the network slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure is not completed.").
Claims 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS reference ANONYMOUS ARDUINO: "5G, ShareTechnote", 2 June 2023, hereinafter NPL-5G.
Regarding claim 18, NPL-5G teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity (NPL-5G: p.3: "the Radio Access Network (RAN)"), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (It is well known that RAN node comprises memory and processors), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a message (NPL-5G p. 3: "The Registration Request message contains important information about the mobile device, and is sent to the 5G core network via the Radio Access Network (RAN) ") that includes an indication of a service provided over a control plane and a UE identifier (ID) for the UE (NPL-5G p.3: "Followings are information that are included in RegistrationRequest message [ ... ]Registration Request (24.501 8.2.6.1) Registration Request Type [ ... ] 5GS Mobileidentity"); and
forward the message to an address for the service based at least in part on the indication of the service (NPL-5G p.3: "The Registration Request message contains important information about the mobile device, and is sent to the 5G core network via the Radio Access Network (RAN) and conveyed to AMF". It is inherent that RAN knows the AMF identification such as address in order to forward the Registration Request message to the AMF).
Regarding claim 20, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit a configuration for the service to the UE (NPL-5G p. 5: "5G Core would send Registration Accept message [ ... ] Registration Accept (24.501 - 8.2.7.1) 5GS registration result (24.501 9.11.3.6) 5G-GUTI (24.501 9.11.3.4) [ ... ] Configured NSSAI (24.501 9.11.3.37)").
Regarding claim 21, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the message includes a first protocol data unit (PDU) with a control plane transport header that includes the indication of the service and the UE ID (p.4-5 discloses a PDU in the control plane with the indication of the service "Registration request Type” message identity and UE ID "5GS mobile identity" in a PDU).
Regarding claim 22, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the indication of the service includes service selection information associated with a service ID, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: transmit the service selection information with a request for the service ID to a second network entity of a discovery and selection service; and receive one or more of the address for the service or the service ID (see p.4-12, teaching service related information in the “Registration Request” message and “Registration Accept” message received in response).
Regarding claim 23, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 22.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to transmit the service ID to the UE (see rejection of claim 18 above. RAN forwards the message that comprises “Registration Request” message ID, i.e., Service ID).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL-5G, as applied to claim 18 above, in view of GRIOT; Miguel et al US 20160373976 A1, hereinafter GRIOT.
Regarding claim 19, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
NPL-5G does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, GRIOT teaches, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to map the address to the service (GRIOT [76] “… the UE may transmit an indication to connect to the C-SGN or an indication to connect to CN that supports this service. The RAN node may identify a CN that is a C-SGN or which supports small data over control plane transmissions and may begin a CN reselection procedure from the MME to a C-SGN.”, suggesting mapping the address of C-SGN to the “small data over control plane” service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of NPL-5G to include the features as taught by GRIOT above providing effective coverage for devices, including MTC devices, which may have different characteristics as compared to traditional UEs (GRIOT [0006]).
Regarding claim 24, NPL-5G teaches the apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claim 18.
NPL-5G further teaches, wherein the indication of the service includes a service selection ID, wherein the message includes a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) (see p.3-5 teaching NAS PDU of the “Registration Request” message with identity).
NPL-5G does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, GRIOT suggests, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network entity to: select a service exposure and orchestration function (SEOF) using the service selection ID; and forward the NAS PDU to the SEOF (SEOF selection is interpreted, unde BRI, as selection of a node facilitating the requested service. GRIOT [76] The RAN node may identify a CN that is a C-SGN or which supports small data over control plane transmissions and may begin a CN reselection procedure from the MME to a C-SGN.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of NPL-5G to include the features as taught by GRIOT above providing effective coverage for devices, including MTC devices, which may have different characteristics as compared to traditional UEs (GRIOT [0006]).
Examiners Note
Independent Claims, as broadly recited, do not present the inventive concept that is distinguishable over the existing service request design of 3GPP. Applicant is advised to clearly recite the invention in the independent claims, distinguishing it over the prior art.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475