Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-18 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12:
the limitation “the device comprising: - a bulk kinetic process media having a plurality of components; - a plurality of molecular cage elements; and - a structure” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the claiming is reciting that the plurality of molecular cage elements and the structure are the plurality of components of the bulk kinetic process media or are separate elements in addition to the bulk kinetic process media;
the limitation “a structure” is indefinite because it is unclear whether it refers to “void structure” or “molecular structure”, or some other structure;
the limitation “an intentional method” is indefinite because it is unclear what is intended by “intentional” and what is considered to be “not intentional”;
the limitation “an intentional method” on page 3 – line 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this intentional method is same or different from intentional method of line 3;
there is insufficient antecedent basis for limitation “the filtrate” (refer page 3 - line 5) in the claim;
there is insufficient antecedent basis for limitation “the bulk elements or components” (refer page 3 - line 6) in the claim;
the limitation “a host matrix” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is “a host matrix”. Is it a combination of bulk process media comprising molecular cage elements and structure or something other than the bulk process media.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “other type of framework” renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is open ended and encompasses a potentially unlimited range of frameworks, thereby failing to provide reasonably ascertainable metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the function of the bulk process media" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the bulk-matrix structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, it unclear what is intended by the limitation “selectable void structure, size, density, distribution, and other characteristics” (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “said characteristics” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is referring to “other characteristics” only or also referring to “void structure, size, density, distribution”. The limitation “other characteristics” also renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is open ended and encompasses a potentially unlimited range of characteristics, thereby failing to provide reasonably ascertainable metes and bounds of the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “other structural means” renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is open ended and encompasses a potentially unlimited range of structural means, thereby failing to provide reasonably ascertainable metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the interaction" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “may contain” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the device contains or does not contain multiple distinguishable regions of bulk process media.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “various process characteristics” renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is open ended and encompasses a potentially unlimited range of process characteristics, thereby failing to provide reasonably ascertainable metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 16 recites “mechanical means”, “molecular cage decoration means”, and “other structural means”, and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towaza et al. (NATURE MATERIALS - VOL 8 - DECEMBER 2009), in view of Yang, X., Sun, JK., Kitta, M. et al. Encapsulating highly catalytically active metal nanoclusters inside porous organic cages. Nat Catal 1, 214–220 (2018).
Regarding claim 12, Towaza teaches a bulk kinetic media having a plurality of components, a plurality of molecular cage elements, and a structure providing alignment and support of media (refer abstract disclosing three dimensional porous organic cages, fig. 1, 2, and 3 discloses different structures of the molecular cages where cage elements are connected and aligned). Towaza teaches the cages perform separation of gas molecules from a mixture of gas molecules (Refer page 373 – paragraph starting with “The primary synthetic challenge is…”). Towaza does not explicitly disclose a device comprising the media. However, the media is inherently contained in a container/housing while performing separation of gas molecules.
Towaza does not disclose that bulk elements or components are retained within voids in a host matrix.
Liang teaches encapsulation of porous organic cage into pores of a metal organic framework to enhance CO2 separation (refer abstract, Scheme 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Towaza to provide bulk elements or components are retained within voids in a host matrix to improve gas separation performance as taught by Liang.
Regarding claim 13, modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. The molecular cage structure of Towaza is indicative of bulk kinetic process media being assembled in a selective manner within the structure.
Regarding claim 14, modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Towaza discloses that the structure is formed of covalent organic framework (Refer abstract).
Regarding claim 15, modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Towaza discloses that the molecular cages provide selective separation of gas molecules (Refer page 373 – paragraph starting with “The primary synthetic challenge is…”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. The molecular cage structure of Towaza is indicative of the elements or components of the bulk kinetic process media being affixed within or interact with the structure.
Regarding claim 17, modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. The claimed property is a result of the structure of the media of claim 1. Since modified Towaza teaches limitations of claim 1, the properties of the material are inherent. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “may contain” does not require “multiple distinguishable regions of bulk process media demonstrating various process characteristics” to be present in the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0297009A1 teaches porous materials (such as organic polyamine cage compounds) useful as adsorbents.
US 2016/0361702A1 teaches polymerized metal organic framework compositions useful for a wide range of applications, for example ion exchange, catalysis, gas sorption, and drug delivery.
/PRANAV N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779