CTNF 18/600,626 CTNF 93545 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3-6, 8, 11-12, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (US 5992915) . Regarding claims 1 and 15, Thompson discloses an apparatus, comprising: a base plate (74) including a plurality of apertures (71) (figs 1-4, col 4 lines 19-27), wherein at least a first set of apertures of the plurality of apertures are configured to receive a mounting foot from an accessory to be mounted on the base plate; and a mat (20) including an attachment structure (70) that is selectively securable to the base plate via one or more apertures of the plurality of apertures (figs 1-4, col 4 lines 19-27). Regarding claim 3, Thompson further discloses that the base plate comprises a first base plate (74, top, fig 4) positioned at a first vertical position relative to a bottom surface of a cargo area (fig 4), and including a second base plate (74, bottom, fig 4) positioned at a second vertical position relative to the bottom surface of the cargo area that is above or below the first base plate (fig 4), and wherein the mat is selectively securable to either the first base plate or the second base plate (fig 4). Regarding claim 4, Thompson further discloses an upper surface (upper surface @ edge 84, fig 1) of the mat has a first vertical height relative to a bottom surface of a cargo area at a first mat end (84) (fig 1) and a second vertical height relative to the bottom surface of the cargo area at a second mat end (36) that is greater than the first vertical height (fig 1). Regarding claims 5 and 18, Thompson further discloses that the cargo area extends from a passenger area to a rear of a vehicle (22) (fig 1), and wherein the first mat end is positioned at the rear of the vehicle (fig 1). Regarding claims 6 and 19, Thompson further discloses that the mat comprises a central area (@82) surrounded by an outer peripheral edge (34) (fig 1), and wherein the mat has a thickness in the central area that is greater than a thickness of the mat at the outer peripheral edge (fig 1 shows thickness @ 82 is greater rest of edge 34). Regarding claims 8 and 17, Thompson further discloses that the mat is comprised of a high density polyethylene plastic (col 2 lines 30-45). Regarding claim 11, Thompson further discloses the attachment structure comprises one or more protrusions (71) formed with the mat that extend into one or more apertures of the plurality of apertures in the base plate (figs 1-4). Regarding claim 12, Thompson further discloses that the mat includes one or more mat openings (opening of 20, receiving 71, fig 4) that align with one or more apertures of the plurality of apertures in the base plate (fig 4), and wherein the attachment structure comprises one or more fasteners (71) that are inserted through the one or more mat openings and into the one or more apertures to secure the mat to the base plate and cover the one or more mat openings (fig 4) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 5992915) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Coleman et al. (US 6312034) Regarding claims 2, 7 and 16, Thompson is silent regarding the fact that the base plate is spaced from a bottom surface of a cargo area by a gap, and wherein the mat is selectively storable within the gap underneath the base plate and that the mat includes one or more handles. Coleman teaches the fact that the base plate (20) is spaced from a bottom surface (surface of 14) of a cargo area by a gap (gap containing 18, figs 1-2), and wherein the mat (18) is selectively storable within the gap underneath the base plate (22) and that the mat includes one or more handles (abstract). Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Thompson and Coleman before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Thompson to include the handle and selectively storing the mat within the gap underneath the base plate as taught by Coleman in order to provide a truck bed liner with an integrated sliding floor extension to increase the utility of shorter beds for hauling longer items (col 3 lines 13-16) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 5992915) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Tresenfeld et al. (US 20090117297) . Regarding claim 9, Thompson is silent regarding the fact that the mat includes a persistent luminescent material. Tresenfeld teaches the fact that the mat includes a persistent luminescent material ([0036]). Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Thompson and Tresenfeld before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Thompson to include the fact that the mat includes a persistent luminescent material as taught by Tresenfeld in order to aide visibility ([0036]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 10, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 5992915) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Wagner (US 4740026) Regarding claim 10, 13, 20, Thompson further discloses that the mat includes one or more mat openings that align with one or more apertures (opening of 20, receiving 71, fig 4) of the plurality of apertures in the base plate (figs 1-4), Thompson is silent regarding the fact that the attachment structure comprises: an insert is pressed into the one or more apertures, the insert including a center opening and compressible fingers that extend downwardly around the center opening; and a post with an enlarged head that is inserted into the center opening to press the compressible fingers outwardly to secure the mat to the base plate. Wagner teaches the attachment structure comprises: an insert (64) is pressed into the one or more apertures (82) (figs 1-13), the insert including a center opening (56) and compressible fingers (76) that extend downwardly around the center opening (figs 1-13); and a post (66, 70) with an enlarged head (66) that is inserted into the center opening to press the compressible fingers outwardly to secure the mat to the base plate (figs 1-13). Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Thompson and Wagner before him or her, to replace the fastener disclosed by Thompson with the insert taught by Wagner in order to achieve solid securement of the liner (col 1 lines 36-45t) 07-22-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 5992915) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Spica (US 5131709) . Regarding claim 14, Thompson is silent regarding the fact that the first set of apertures comprise mounting foot apertures having a first size, and wherein the plurality of apertures include a second set of apertures that comprise locking apertures through which the mat can be fixed to the base plate, wherein the locking apertures have a second size that is different than the first size. Spica teaches the fact that the first set of apertures (33) comprise mounting foot apertures (47) having a first size (fig 6), and wherein the plurality of apertures include a second set of apertures (33) that comprise locking apertures (33) through which the mat can be fixed to the base plate (84,85) (fig 17), wherein the locking apertures have a second size that is different than the first size (fig 6). Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Thompson and Spica before him or her, to modify the apparatus disclosed by Thompson to include apertures of different sizes in order to provide a structure for lining horizontal, inclined, and vertical surfaces (abstract). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANY E AKAKPO whose telephone number is (469)295-9255. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicole Coy can be reached on (571) 272-5405. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672 02/25/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 2 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 3 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 4 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 6 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 7 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 18/600,626 Page 8 Art Unit: 3672