Detailed Action
Filing Receipt and Priority
The filing receipt states the instant application does not claim benefit of any earlier filed application or patent.
The effective filing date is 03/09/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS received 08/13/2025 has been considered. The assertion is also acknowledged.
Election/Restriction
Newly submitted claims 21-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims are drawn to additional ingredients including denatonium benzoate, vitamin E, a preservative, an additional surfactant, additional oil, additional humectant, and additional antimicrobial agent. Each of these additional would add additional properties to the composition of claim 15.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-27 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
At examiner’s discretion, search and examination have been broadened to include the bittering agent denatonium benzoate (claim 21).
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Status of claims
Claims 1-14 have been canceled by applicant.
Claims 15-27 are currently pending.
Claims 22-27 are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections
In view of the amendments made, the 112(b) rejection made in the prior office action is withdrawn.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kershman (US11,484,483) in view of Inolex (Inolex, Lexgard Natural Safety Data Sheet, revision date: 03/16/2015, url=https://safety365.sevron.co.uk/substances/accessSDS/SDS-6891-5788b5cea3fa05.63919447, accessed 06/23/2025), SpecialChem (Lexgard Natural MB, last edit date: 09/27/2023 url=https://cosmetics.specialchem.com/product/i-inolex-lexgard-natural-mb, accessed 06/23/2025), Keam (Pediatric Drugs, 2024, 26:95-100, published online 2023), and Ataman Chemicals (Denatonium Benzoate, url=https://www.atamanchemicals.com/denatonium-benzoate_u24607/, copyrighted 2020, accessed 11/25/2025).
Regarding claim 15-19, Kershman in col. 6 teaches a composition comprising Atmos® 300, mineral oil, glycerin, hyaluronic acid, water, and benzalkonium chloride, shown below.
Kershman contemplated composition
Glycerin, as a humectant, is contemplated to be within the instant claimed range (4.0 to 30.0 wt%). Mineral oil, as an oil, is contemplated to overlap with the instantly claimed range (1.0-20.0 wt %). Hyaluronic acid, as a gelling agent, is contemplated to be within the instantly claimed range (0.01 – 5.0 wt%). Benzalkonium chloride is contemplated to be within the instantly claimed range (0.01 – 10.0 wt%).
Additionally, Kershman in col. 2, l. 16 states “The present invention is a topical lotion having a sanitizing properties that has a continuous phase of oil enveloping the aqueous phase.”
Kershman does not explicitly discuss or contemplate Lexgard® Natural MB. This is addressed by the combination of Inolex, SpecialChem, and Keam.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Inolex teaches a composition comprising glyceryl caprylate and glyceryl undecylenate called Lexgard® Natural. SpecialChem teaches this specific combination is Lexgard® Natural MB. SpecialChem also teaches that “Lexgard® Natural MB by Inolex is an all-natural emollient, co-emulsifier, skin re-fatting agent and biostatic system. It is a multi-functional ingredient system for self-preserving cosmetics.” SpecialChem continues “Lexgard® Natural MB is recommended for use in w/o or o/w emulsion systems such as skin care cream and lotions.”
Keam on p. 97, left col., para. 1 states “The cantharidin 0.7% topical solution formulation includes gentian violet to help distinguish treat and untreated lesions during application, and denatonium benzoate, a bittering agent to deter potential oral ingestion.” Keam essentially teaches the successful inclusion of denatonium benzoate into a lotion composition.
In addition to Keam, Ataman Chemicals (herein after Ataman) discusses sodium benzoate and its incorporation into several products. Ataman on p. 1, para. 1 states “Denatonium benzoate is a bittering agent. Denatonium Benzoate is a bitter chemical used to denature alcohol. When alcohol is denatured, Denatonium Benzoate becomes undrinkable due to the bitter taste it contains. Denatonium Benzoate is considered the bitterest chemical compound with a variety of uses in the production of cleansers, automotive supplies, and health and beauty products.” Therefore, within the art, denatonium benzoate is known as a bittering agent. Combined with the teachings from Keam, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that denatonium benzoate can successfully be added to a lotion composition in order to make use of its aversive properties.
Kershman teaches a lotion comprising all but one of the instant claimed ingredients. Inolex and SpecialChem teach a composition that can be added to lotions for self-preservation. Keam teaches denatonium benzoate in a lotion composition and Ataman teaches the bittering properties of denatonium benzoate are well known.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the composition of Kershman with the composition of Inolex and SpecialChem and further include denatonium benzoate as discussed by Keam and Ataman to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the combination to incorporate the preservative properties of Lexgard® Natural MB and the bittering properties of denatonium benzoate into the lotion of Kershman.
The rejection has been modified to include Keam and Ataman as necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argues that a prima facie case of obviousness has not been met as the art discussed in the rejection does not teach bittering agents. The rejection has been modified to include bittering agents, specifically denatonium benzoate.
Maintained Double Patenting
U.S. Patent 11,484,483
Claims 15-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,483 (Kershman) in view of Inolex, SpecialChem, Keam, and Ataman cited above.
Kershman claims compositions which are lotions comprising a surfactant, oil, oil soluble preservative, humectant, gelling agent, water, and antimicrobial agent (claim 15). Kershman also claims similar compositions made by processes as claimed in claims 1-14. Inolex and SpecialChem teach Lexgard® Natural MB as a preservative. Keam and Ataman discuss denatonium benzoate as a bittering agent in compositions. As discussed in the 103 rejection above, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to include Lexgard® Natural MB and denatonium benzoate into the composition of Kershman via the teachings of Inolex, SpecialChem, Keam, and Ataman.
U.S. Patent 9,173,941
Claims 15-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,173,941 (Shear) in view of Kershman, Inolex, SpecialChem, Keam, and Ataman cited above.
Shear claims a sustained release composition comprising a lotion comprising a humectant, water, bittering agent, oil, and surfactant. Shear also claims similar compositions made by the processes as claimed in reference claims 1-9. The combination of Kershman would make obvious the addition of the oil soluble preservative, gelling agent, and antimicrobial agent. The combination of Inolex and SpecialChem make obvious the combination of Lexgard® Natural MB. Keam and Ataman discuss denatonium benzoate as a bittering agent in compositions. As discussed in the 103 rejection above, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to include Lexgard® Natural MB and denatonium benzoate into the composition of Kershman via the teachings of Inolex, SpecialChem, Keam, and Ataman.
Rejection of claim 21 and the addition of Keam and Ataman have been necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has requested that the non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter has been identified. The rejections are maintained for the time being until allowable subject matter has been acknowledged.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/SUSANNA MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624