DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 3/9/2024 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,954,379. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claims 1-20 are fully encompassed in and generic compared to conflicting claims 1-5 and 7-13 of US Patent No. 11,954,379.
Instant Application 18/600,686
US Patent No. 11,954,379
1. A method comprising: determining, by a processor, a location of a printing device when printing a print job;
determining, by the processor, environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at the determined location;
determining, by the processor, an environmental adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions; and
adjusting, by the processor, a predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor.
1. A method comprising: determining, by a processor, a location of a printing device when printing a print job;
determining, by the processor, that a likelihood the printing device was exposed to outside ambient environmental conditions at the determined location is lower than a threshold;
in response to determining that the likelihood is lower than the threshold, specifying, by the processor, environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job as assumed controlled indoor environmental conditions;
determining, by the processor, an environmental adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions; and
adjusting, by the processor, a predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the processor is to cause the printing device to perform a print material usage-related action based on a remaining print material supply of the printing device calculated using the adjusted predicted print material usage.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the processor is to cause the printing device to perform a print material usage-related action based on a remaining print material supply of the printing device calculated using the adjusted predicted print material usage.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: repeating determining the environmental conditions and determining the environmental adjustment factor and adjusting the predicted print material usage, each of a plurality of times the printing device prints a new print job.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: repeating specifying the environmental conditions and determining the environmental adjustment factor and adjusting the predicted print material usage, each of a plurality of times the printing device prints a new print job.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by looking up an identifier of the printing device within a geolocation database mapping identifiers to geographic locations.
Program claim 15.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by looking up an identifier of the printing device within a geolocation database mapping identifiers to geographic locations.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by comparing an identifier of the printing device with identifiers of other devices having known locations.
Program claim 16.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by comparing an identifier of the printing device with identifiers of other devices having known locations.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: looking up the determined environmental conditions within a table to determine the environmental adjustment factor.
Program claim 17.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: looking up the determined environmental conditions within a table to determine the environmental adjustment factor; applying a plurality of rules to the determined environmental conditions to determine the environmental adjustment factor; or determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises:
applying a plurality of rules to the determined environmental conditions to determine the environmental adjustment factor.
Program claim 18.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: looking up the determined environmental conditions within a table to determine the environmental adjustment factor; applying a plurality of rules to the determined environmental conditions to determine the environmental adjustment factor; or determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises:
determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions.
Program claim 19.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: looking up the determined environmental conditions within a table to determine the environmental adjustment factor; applying a plurality of rules to the determined environmental conditions to determine the environmental adjustment factor; or determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the environmental adjustment factor indicates how much more or less print material is used by the printing device when operating in the determined environmental conditions.
Program claim 20.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the environmental adjustment factor indicates how much more or less print material is used by the printing device when operating in the determined environmental conditions.
10. A printing device comprising: printing hardware to print a print job using print material; and hardware logic to: determine a predicted print material usage in printing of the print job;
transmit the predicted print material usage;
responsively receive an adjusted predicted print material usage in printing of the print job based on environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at a determined location of the printing device when printing the print job; and
subtract the adjusted predicted print material usage from a value corresponding to a remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device.
9. A printing device comprising: printing hardware to print a print job using print material; and hardware logic to: determine a predicted print material usage in printing of the print job;
transmit the predicted print material usage;
responsively receive an adjusted predicted print material usage in printing of the print job based on environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at a determined location of the printing device when printing the print job,
the environmental conditions specified as assumed indoor environmental conditions responsive to a determination that a likelihood the printing device was exposed to outside ambient environmental conditions at the determined location being lower than a threshold; and
subtract the adjusted predicted print material usage from a value corresponding to a remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device.
11. The printing device of claim 10, wherein the hardware logic is further to: perform a print material usage-related action responsive to the value corresponding to the remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device dropping to less than a threshold.
10. The printing device of claim 9, wherein the hardware logic is further to: perform a print material usage-related action responsive to the value corresponding to the remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device dropping to less than a threshold.
12. The printing device of claim 10, wherein the hardware logic is to transmit to a computing device an identifier of the printing device with the predicted print material usage, the location of the printing device determined by the computing device based on the identifier of the printing device.
11. The printing device of claim 9, wherein the hardware logic is to transmit to a computing device an identifier of the printing device with the predicted print material usage, the location of the printing device determined by the computing device based on the identifier of the printing device.
13. A non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium storing program code executable by a computing device to perform processing comprising: receiving, from a printing device, a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing a print job;
determining a location of the printing device when printing the print job;
determining environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at the determined location;
determining an environment adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions;
adjusting a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor; and
transmitting, to the printing device, the adjusted predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job.
12. A non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium storing program code executable by a computing device to perform processing comprising: receiving, from a printing device, a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing a print job;
determining a location of the printing device when printing the print job;
determining that a likelihood the printing device was exposed to outside ambient environmental conditions at the determined location is lower than a threshold;
in response to determining that the likelihood is lower than the threshold, specifying environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job as assumed controlled indoor environmental conditions;
determining an environment adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions;
adjusting a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor; and
transmitting, to the printing device, the adjusted predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium of claim 13, wherein an identifier of the printing device is received from the printing device along with the predicted print material usage, and wherein the location of the printing device is determined based on the received identifier of the printing device.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium of claim 12, wherein an identifier of the printing device is received from the printing device along with the predicted print material usage, and wherein the location of the printing device is determined based on the received identifier of the printing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 13, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriguez (US-6,560,417).
As to Claim 1, Rodriguez teaches ‘A method comprising: determining, by a processor, a location of a printing device when printing a print job [col 1, lines 49-55, col 4, lines 24-34 – determining an electrophotographic area of a printing device]; determining, by the processor, environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at the determined location [col 4, lines 24-38 – estimating a toner usage that varies on the environment in which a printer is located results in a non-linear amount of toner transfer]; determining, by the processor, an environmental adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions [col 6, lines 20-57 – printer may be modified based on the measured environmental conditions]; and adjusting, by the processor, a predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor [col 1, lines 11-14 – modifying a printing process in response to environmental conditions within the electrophotographic area of a printer]’.
As to Claim 2, Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein the processor is to cause the printing device to perform a print material usage-related action based on a remaining print material supply of the printing device calculated using the adjusted predicted print material usage [col 5, lines 34-47 – referencing the CPWC (corrected PWC) to determine the toner usage referencing the PWC (pulse width count), temperature and/or RH (relative humidity) values within a SRE (statistical regression equation) or LUT that corrects that corrects the PWC based on temperature and/or RH and determines toner usage in a single process, thus determining a remaining value]’.
As to Claim 3, Rodriguez teaches ‘further comprising: repeating determining the environmental conditions and determining the environmental adjustment factor and adjusting the predicted print material usage, each of a plurality of times the printing device prints a new print job [Fig 2 (230), col 5, lines 48-56 – if it determined the end of the print job generated has not been reached, returning until completion]’.
As to Claims 6 and 17, Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: looking up the determined environmental conditions within a table to determine the environmental adjustment factor [col 5, lines 5-33 – determining a corrected PWC (“CPWC”) based on the environmental factors by referencing the PWC, temperature and/or RH for the page and applying these values to a look up table (“LUT”), while utilizing the LUT for common PWCs]’.
As to Claims 7 and 18, Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: applying a plurality of rules to the determined environmental conditions to determine the environmental adjustment factor [col 5, lines 5-33 – determining a corrected PWC (“CPWC”) based on the environmental factors by referencing the PWC, temperature and/or RH for the page and using statistical regression equation for uncommon PWCs]’.
As to Claims 9 and 20, Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein the environmental adjustment factor indicates how much more or less print material is used by the printing device when operating in the determined environmental conditions [col 5, lines 5-33, col 6, lines 26-57 – a combination of LUT and SRE may be incorporated in such a way as to utilize the LUT for common PWCs, thus saving system resources and increasing print speed, increase accuracy of toner estimation, and controlling the amount of toner transferred to the print medium]’.
As to Claim 10, Rodriguez teaches ‘A printing device comprising: printing hardware to print a print job using print material [Fig 1, col 3, lines 29-39 – printing device for printing a print job]; and hardware logic to: determine a predicted print material usage in printing of the print job; transmit the predicted print material usage [Fig 2, col 1, line 65-col 2, line 11, col 4, lines 16-23 – estimating toner usage using pulse width count (“PWC”)]; responsively receive an adjusted predicted print material usage in printing of the print job based on environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at a determined location of the printing device when printing the print job; and subtract the adjusted predicted print material usage from a value corresponding to a remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device [Fig 3, col 1, lines 38-45, col 3, lines 40-62, col 5, lines 5-33, col 6, lines 20-57 – the system may include an ambient condition sensor operable to measure and/or infer environmental conditions (e.g., temperature, RG, barometric pressure, etc.), where the environmental conditions within the area where toner is transferred to the print medium, may be relatively different as compared to other areas outside or within the printing device including heat produced by various components in the printing device (e.g., motors, fuser, laser, etc.) and the EP process may be modified based on the measured environmental conditions by controlling the amount of toner transferred to the print medium]’.
As to Claim 11, Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein the hardware logic is further to: perform a print material usage-related action responsive to the value corresponding to the remaining current supply of the print material available to the printing device dropping to less than a threshold [col 5, lines 34-47, col 6, lines 26-57 – a toner remining value may be determined as well, based on a predetermined starting amount of toner and the toner usage, the toner remaining may be calculated and stored within memory including PWC, temperature, RG, CPWC, and pixel count values, where the amount of toner transferred to the print medium is controlled by modulating the bias voltage of the developer and the charge on the print roller]’.
As to Claim 13, Rodriguez teaches ‘A non-transitory computer-readable data storage medium storing program code executable by a computing device to perform processing comprising: receiving, from a printing device, a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing a print job [Fig 2, col 1, line 65-col 2, line 11, col 4, lines 16-23 – estimating toner usage using pulse width count (“PWC”)]; determining a location of the printing device when printing the print job [col 1, lines 49-55, col 4, lines 24-34 – determining an electrophotographic area of a printing device]; determining environmental conditions in which the printing device operated when printing the print job at the determined location [col 4, lines 24-38 – estimating a toner usage that varies on the environment in which a printer is located results in a non-linear amount of toner transfer]; determining an environment adjustment factor for the printing device based on the determined environmental conditions [col 6, lines 20-57 – printer may be modified based on the measured environmental conditions]; adjusting a predicted print material usage of the printing device when printing the print job, based on the determined environmental adjustment factor; and transmitting, to the printing device, the adjusted predicted print material usage of the printing device in printing the print job [col 1, lines 11-14 – receiving a modified printing process in response to environmental conditions within the electrophotographic area of a printer]’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of Najari et al. (US-2017/0262243).
As to Claims 4 and 15, Rodriguez teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claims 1 and 13, respectively. Rodriguez does not disclose expressly ‘wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by looking up an identifier of the printing device within a geolocation database mapping identifiers to geographic locations’.
Najari teaches ‘wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by looking up an identifier of the printing device within a geolocation database mapping identifiers to geographic locations [Fig 4, par 0023-0024 – GPS coordinates and/or an address or other geolocation information (symbolized by the map) is used to determine the geolocation of the printer]’.
Rodriguez and Najari are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include determining a geolocation of a printer, as taught by Najari. The motivation for doing so would have been to allowing connectivity to open up new possibilities for user experiences and operations of the devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Najari with Rodriguez to obtain the invention as specified in claims 4 and 15.
As to Claims 5 and 16, Najari teaches ‘wherein determining the location of the printing device comprises: determining the location of the printing device by comparing an identifier of the printing device with identifiers of other devices having known locations [Fig 4, par 0024 – mobile device determining the geolocation of the printer by using information from GPS satellites and the GPS receiver of the mobile device]’.
Rodriguez and Najari are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include determining a geolocation of a printer, as taught by Najari. The motivation for doing so would have been to allowing connectivity to open up new possibilities for user experiences and operations of the devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Najari with Rodriguez to obtain the invention as specified in claims 5 and 16.
As to Claim 12, Najari in the proposed combination of Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein the hardware logic is to transmit to a computing device an identifier of the printing device with the predicted print material usage, the location of the printing device determined by the computing device based on the identifier of the printing device [par 0023-0024, 0043 – printer transmits to mobile device using wireless connection a serial number of the printer, where GPS coordinates and/or an address or other geolocation information is used to determine the geolocation of the printer]’.
Rodriguez and Najari are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include determining a geolocation of a printer, as taught by Najari. The motivation for doing so would have been to allowing connectivity to open up new possibilities for user experiences and operations of the devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Najari with Rodriguez to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
As to Claim 14, Najari in the proposed combination of Rodriguez teaches ‘wherein an identifier of the printing device is received from the printing device along with the predicted print material usage, and wherein the location of the printing device is determined based on the received identifier of the printing device [par 0023-0024, 0043 – printer transmits to mobile device using wireless connection a serial number of the printer, where GPS coordinates and/or an address or other geolocation information is used to determine the geolocation of the printer]’.
Rodriguez and Najari are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include determining a geolocation of a printer, as taught by Najari. The motivation for doing so would have been to allowing connectivity to open up new possibilities for user experiences and operations of the devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Najari with Rodriguez to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of Shinkai (US-2020/0338907).
As to Claims 8 and 19, Rodriguez teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claims 1 and 13, respectively. Rodriguez does not disclose expressly ‘wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions’.
Shinkai teaches ‘wherein determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device comprises: determining the environmental adjustment factor for the printing device in a machine learning manner based on the determined environmental conditions [par 0041, 0046-0049 – determining an adjustment level by machine learning in accordance with an actual use state of the print apparatus]’.
Rodriguez and Shinkai are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include machine learning, as taught by Shinkai. The motivation for doing so would have been to estimating an adjustment interval with high accuracy taking a use state into consideration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shinkai with Rodriguez to obtain the invention as specified in claims 8 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Patent No. 6,560,417
b. US Publication No. 2017/0262243
c. US Publication No. 2020/0338907
d. US Patent No. 11,954,379
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681