DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 4-6, 16, 17s, 20s are missing labels for x- and y-axis. In other words, what do the x- and y-axis represent. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to one of the four statutory class, apparatus and method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “extracting a skeleton in a plurality of patterns using data including the plurality of patterns; and inspecting whether a pattern width of the plurality of patterns or an inter-pattern distance between the plurality of patterns, satisfies a criterion based on the extracted skeleton,” are abstract ideas, as they recite limitations that involve mental process. Similar rejections are made for other independent and dependent claims. With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims additionally recite “non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing a data creation program, the data creation program causing a computer to execute,” is merely a recitation of general-purpose computer and memory for implementing the abstract idea. The claims do not improve the functioning of any computer or memory, and does not improve other technology. At most, the claim is an improvement in the abstract idea of inspecting patterns. However, improved or new abstract idea is still an abstract idea, and not eligible. In short, the claims do not provide sufficient evidence to show that they are more than a drafting effort to monopolize the abstract idea. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims additionally recite “non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing a data creation program, the data creation program causing a computer to execute,” is merely a recitation of general-purpose computer and memory for implementing the abstract idea, that is well-understood, routine and conventional. As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ushiba et al., US-PGPUB 2016/0063690 (hereinafter Ushiba)
Regarding Claim 1: Ushiba discloses an inspection (Abstract), comprising:
extracting a skeleton in a plurality of patterns using data including the plurality of patterns (Fig. 6D, dotted lines); and inspecting whether a pattern width of the plurality of patterns or an inter-pattern distance between the plurality of patterns, satisfies a criterion based on the extracted skeleton (Paragraph [0061]; [0076]-[0077]; [0088])
Regarding Claim 2. Ushiba discloses the extraction of the skeleton includes extracting, by using the data, a first skeleton within the pattern and a second skeleton between the plurality of patterns, and the inspection includes inspecting whether each of the pattern width and the inter-pattern distance satisfies the criterion, based on the first skeleton and the second skeleton (Paragraph [0061]; [0076]-[0077]; [0088])
Claims 1-4, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitamura et al., US-PGPUB 2008/0130982 (hereinafter Kitamura)
Regarding Claim 1. Kitamura discloses an inspection (Abstract), comprising:
extracting a skeleton in a plurality of patterns using data including the plurality of patterns (Figs. 58, centroids; Figs. 59, 67; Figs. 101-102, contours; [0425]-[0426]; [0520]-[0521], extraction rules); and inspecting whether a pattern width of the plurality of patterns or an inter-pattern distance between the plurality of patterns, satisfies a criterion based on the extracted skeleton (Paragraphs [0045], [0106]-[0113], [0406]-[0475], matching and matching error suitable for matching; Figs. 66-67)
Regarding Claim 2. Kitamura discloses the extraction of the skeleton includes extracting, by using the data, a first skeleton within the pattern and a second skeleton between the plurality of patterns, and the inspection includes inspecting whether each of the pattern width and the inter-pattern distance satisfies the criterion, based on the first skeleton and the second skeleton (Figs. 66-67, 80-81, 87,101-102, Paragraphs [0045], [0106]-[0113], [0406]-[0475], matching and matching error suitable for matching)
Regarding Claim 3. Kitamura discloses the inspection includes: obtaining a first parameter related to a distance between two points present within a contour of one pattern, with a line segment connecting the two points intersecting the first skeleton; determining whether the first parameter satisfies a first criterion; obtaining a second parameter related to a distance between two points existing separately in contours of two patterns, with a line segment connecting the two points intersecting the second skeleton; and determining whether the second parameter satisfies a second criterion (Figs. 66-67, 80-81, 87,101-102, Paragraphs [0045], [0106]-[0113], [0406]-[0475], matching and matching error suitable for matching)
Regarding Claim 4. Kitamura discloses the extraction of the first skeleton includes obtaining, by using the data, the first skeleton by using a locus of a circle inscribed within the pattern, and the extraction of the second skeleton includes obtaining, by using the data, the second skeleton using a locus of a circle inscribed between the plurality of patterns (Fig. 71-74; Paragraph [0601]; [0646]-[0650])
Regarding Claims 8 and 15. Kitamura discloses extracting a skeleton in a plurality of patterns using data including the plurality of patterns (Figs. 58, centroids; Figs. 59, 67; Fig. 101-102, contours; [0425]-[0426]; [0520]-[0521], extraction rule); and correcting the plurality of patterns included in the data, based on the extracted skeleton (Figs 18, 103; Paragraph [0162], [0321], [0626]-[0635], [0705]-[0720], correction)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugihara, US-PGPUB 2022/0013327
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857