DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-33, 35 and 36, drawn to a communication system comprising a controller and a SR gateway which includes a notification unit and a router is acknowledged.
Claims 1-33, 35 and 36 are subject to examination and rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 13, 22, 30-33, 35 and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities: The recited ACRONYMS such as SR, SRv6, IP, GTP-U, gNB, NLRI, SID, BGP, UE, SMF, EP, RD, VRF, TEID, QFI, RQI, VPNv4, VPNv6, GTP4.E, GTP6.E, ADRDB, PE and UPF must be defined within the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 30, 32 and 33 recite the limitations " … received from an IP network into …” and “… a router connected to an IP network, …”, “… in NLRI and an SID of …” and “… and a SID of the SR gateway, …”, “… including an IP prefix including …” and “… stores an IP prefix including …”. There are two of ‘an IP network’, ‘an SID’, and ‘an IP prefix’ within the claims and if these terms ‘an IP network’, ‘an SID’, and ‘an IP prefix’ refers to the same feature, the later ‘an IP network’, ‘an SID’, and ‘an IP prefix’ should be treated to show antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 30, 32 and 33 recite the limitations "… in association with each other, and …”. It is not clear what the term ‘each other’ indicates within the claims. The term "each other" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed, thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 1, 30, 32 and 33 recite the limitations "… and when a match is found…”. The proper use of the term ‘a match’ is for matching A to B. However, the sole use of the term ‘a match’ without specifying ‘A to B’ may fall the scope of the claims unclear and indefinite. Appropriate action is required.
Claim 31 recites the limitations ‘the gNB’, ‘the TEID’, ‘the QFI’, ‘the RQI’, ‘the UE’, ‘the SID’, ‘the IP prefix’. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. The terms ‘the gNB’, ‘the TEID’, ‘the QFI’, ‘the RQI’, ‘the UE’, ‘the SID’, ‘the IP prefix’ do not have proper antecedent basis in the referenced claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-33, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akhavain Mohammadi (US PGPub 2020/0128469).
Regarding claims 1, 30, 32 and 33, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches a communication system (Akhavain Mohammadi, see abstract, Apparatus and methods are taught for utilizing Segment Routing (SR) in a user plane for a wireless network which utilizes a control plane configured for GPT) comprising:
a controller (Akhavain Mohammadi, see figure 6, the controller is in the control plane); and
an SR gateway which converts an SRv6-compliant packet received from an IP network into a GTP-U-compliant packet (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0045, as illustrated at step 510 the SR module 430 of gNB 410 receives the CP information from GTP processing module 420 and associates the SID-G (i.e. the SID of gNB 410 for incoming SR packets) and SID-A1 (the SID of UPF-A for outgoing packets sent from the gNB 410 to the UPF-A 440) to a set of functions of the SR module which can be used to convert between the SID and the corresponding GTP tunnel. This can include, in one example, an association between the SID-A1 (which the SR module uses when transmitting an SR packet from the gNB to the UPF-A) and GTP tunnel (e.g. the local addresses (SA of gNB 410, DA of port 1 of UPF-A) and TEID 2000)), wherein
the SR gateway includes
a notification unit which notifies the controller, and a router connected to an IP network, of a route including an IP prefix including an address of a reachable gNB in NLRI and an SID of the SR gateway in a BGP attribute (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0047, Step 620 illustrates SID distribution between the SR module 490 of UPF-B 470 and the SR module 460 of UPF A 440 via a method for distributing routing information, such as IGP, via an SDN controller, etc), and
the controller includes
a storage unit which stores an IP prefix including the address of the gNB, and a SID of the SR gateway, in association with each other (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0045, at step 510 the SR module 430 of gNB 410 receives the CP information from GTP processing module 420 and associates the SID-G (i.e. the SID of gNB 410 for incoming SR packets) and SID-A1 (the SID of UPF-A for outgoing packets sent from the gNB 410 to the UPF-A 440) to a set of functions of the SR module which can be used to convert between the SID and the corresponding GTP tunnel), and
an advertisement unit which searches the storage unit by using, as a key, an address of a gNB included in a UE session information in SMF notified when UE is attached, and when a match is found, advertises route information of the UE to the router (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 2, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit advertises route information of the UE to the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 3, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the notification unit notifies the controller and the router the route including the address of the reachable gNB in an EP of the NLRI, and the SID of the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0047, Step 620 illustrates SID distribution between the SR module 490 of UPF-B 470 and the SR module 460 of UPF A 440 via a method for distributing routing information, such as IGP, via an SDN controller, etc).
Regarding claim 4, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the NLRI in the route includes RD of a VRF which is configured to import the route information of the UE in the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0047, Step 620 illustrates SID distribution between the SR module 490 of UPF-B 470 and the SR module 460 of UPF A 440 via a method for distributing routing information, such as IGP, via an SDN controller, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the SID in the route indicates the VRF configured to import the UE route information in the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 6, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit adds a community attribute to be imported by the router to route information of the UE and advertises the route information to the router, in order for the router to receive the route information of the UE and register a route destined for the UE in a routing table of the router (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 7, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit adds, to the route information of the UE, the different community attribute for each core network instance included in the UE session information (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0047, Step 620 illustrates SID distribution between the SR module 490 of UPF-B 470 and the SR module 460 of UPF A 440 via a method for distributing routing information, such as IGP, via an SDN controller, etc).
Regarding claim 8, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit adds, to the route information of the UE, the different community attribute for each group of the gNB included in the UE session information (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0047, Step 620 illustrates SID distribution between the SR module 490 of UPF-B 470 and the SR module 460 of UPF A 440 via a method for distributing routing information, such as IGP, via an SDN controller, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit stores, as the route information of the UE, at least one of an IP prefix including an address of the UE, an IP address of the gNB, a TEID, and a QFI and an RQI, which are included in the UE session information, in at least one of NLRI or Nexthop-Address in an MP_REACH_NLRI attribute (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 10, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein when the NLRI is VPNv4 Unicast or VPNv6 Unicast address family, the advertisement unit stores, as the route information of the UE, an IP prefix including UE IP address in NLRI in an MP_REACH_NLRI attribute (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 11, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein when the NLRI is VPNv4 Unicast or VPNv6 Unicast address family, the advertisement unit stores the TEID of 4 bytes, the QFI and the RQI of 1 byte, 0 of 3 bytes in order, or stores 0 of 3 bytes, the TEID of 4 bytes, and the QFI and the RQI of 1 byte in order in a leading 8-byte long RD portion in the Nexthop-Address, stores an IP address of the gNB in an IP address portion of the Nexthop-Address, and does not store the TEID, and the QFI and the RQI in the NLRI (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 12, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein when an effective bit length of the TEID is 16 bits or less and when the NLRI is VPNv4 Unicast or VPNv6 Unicast address family, the advertisement unit stores a QFI and an RQI of 1 byte and the TEID of 2 bytes in a 24-bit length label portion of the NLRI, fills an entire RD portion of the Nexthop-Address with 0, and stores an IP address of the gNB in an IP address portion of the Nexthop-Address (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 13, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the advertisement unit stores, in a Prefix-SID attribute, an SID value in which an IP address of the gNB, a QFI and an RQI, and a TEID, which are included in the UE session information, are written in advance, as GTP4.E or GTP6.E in an Argument portion subsequent to a Locator and a Function portion of an SID corresponding to a conversion unit of the SR gateway, and stores an IP prefix including an address of the UE and an IP address of the gNB, which are included in the UE session information, in NLRI in an MP_REACH_NLRI attribute (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 14, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the router writes at least one of the gNB address, the TEID, the QFI, and the RQI, which are stored in route information of the UE received from the controller, in an Argument portion of the SID stored in the route information, and updates the SID to be used for packet transfer to the IP prefix of the UE (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 15, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the notification unit notifies the controller of the route including slice identification information, which allows identification of a slice corresponding to the UE, in a color attribute (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0057, such an SR configured user plane can be used for network slices, such as slices for machine type communication (MTC). For example, SR data plane can be applied to a specific slice in 5G networks (e.g. a slice which supports MTC). In other words, there can be 5G slices that will keep using GTP data plane, while there are other slices that will use an SR user plane).
Regarding claim 16, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches further comprising
the router, wherein
when the route including an address of the gNB disappears, the router autonomously deletes a route of the UE without waiting for advertisement of route deletion from the controller (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network. AMF 210 communicates with SMF 220 via network interface N11. AMF 210 communicates with UE 230 via network interface N1. AMF 210 communicates with gNB 240 via network interface N2. SMF 220 communicates with UPF-A 250 and UPF-B 260 via network interface N4).
Regarding claim 17, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein
when the route including an address of the gNB disappears, the notification unit autonomously advertises a route deletion of the UE without deletion of the UE session information in SMF (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network. AMF 210 communicates with SMF 220 via network interface N11. AMF 210 communicates with UE 230 via network interface N1. AMF 210 communicates with gNB 240 via network interface N2. SMF 220 communicates with UPF-A 250 and UPF-B 260 via network interface N4).
Regarding claim 18, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the router autonomously deletes all UE routes, which are held by the route having disappeared, other than the route of the UE without waiting for advertisement of route deletion from the controller (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network. AMF 210 communicates with SMF 220 via network interface N11. AMF 210 communicates with UE 230 via network interface N1. AMF 210 communicates with gNB 240 via network interface N2. SMF 220 communicates with UPF-A 250 and UPF-B 260 via network interface N4).
Regarding claim 19, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the notification unit autonomously advertises route deletions of all UE routes, which are held by the route having disappeared, other than the route of the UE without deletion of the UE session information in SMF (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network. AMF 210 communicates with SMF 220 via network interface N11. AMF 210 communicates with UE 230 via network interface N1. AMF 210 communicates with gNB 240 via network interface N2. SMF 220 communicates with UPF-A 250 and UPF-B 260 via network interface N4).
Regarding claim 20, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches further comprising
the router, wherein
in at least one of a case where the route including an address of the gNB disappears or a case where it is determined that a route advertised by an SR gateway other than the SR gateway is optimal as a route of route information of the UE, the router autonomously links an SID addressed to the UE by an SID of an optimal route without waiting for advertisement of UE route update of the UE from the controller (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 21, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the notification unit
in at least one of a case where the route including an address of the gNB disappears or a case where it is determined that a route advertised by an SR gateway other than the SR gateway is optimal as a route of route information of the UE, the notification unit autonomously links an SID addressed to the UE by an SID of an optimal route without waiting deletion, or update of the UE session information in SMF (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0028, FIG. 2 also illustrates a UP established between UE 230 and Data Network (DN) 270. The UP includes gNB 240, UPF-A 250, and UPF-B 260. The SMF 220 establishes a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session through the mobile core network between the gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 for a data session between the UE 230 and DN 270. Accordingly gNB 240 and the UPF-B 260 are the end points for such PDU session within the core network).
Regarding claim 22, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches further comprising
the router, wherein
the router includes an ADRDB, which is a routing table, for searching for a route received from the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 23, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein
the controller includes a storage, which is a routing table, for searching for a route received from the SR gateway (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 24, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the ADRDB is a global routing table of the router (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 25, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the storage is a global routing table of the controller (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 26, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the ADRDB is a VRF which imports the route by a value of a community attribute added to the route (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 27, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein the storage is a VRF which imports the route by a value of a community attribute added to the route (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 28, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein
the router evaluates a value of a community attribute added to the route on a basis of a different community attribute for each group of gNB, which is registered in advance, and imports the route to the ADRDB (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 29, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein
the controller evaluates a value of a community attribute added to the route on a basis of a different community attribute for each group of gNB, which is registered in advance, and imports the route to the storage (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Regarding claim 31, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches a router (Akhavain Mohammadi, see abstract, Apparatus and methods are taught for utilizing Segment Routing (SR) in a user plane for a wireless network which utilizes a control plane configured for GPT) comprising:
a functionality which writes at least one of the gNB address, the TEID, the QFI, and the RQI, which are stored in route information of the UE received from a controller, in an Argument portion of the SID stored in the route information, and updates the SID to be used for packet transfer to the IP prefix of the UE (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0044, GTP information 405, includes Local TEID=1000, Peer Address=UPF-A1 (e.g., port 1 of the UPF A), Peer TEID=2000, etc., for a GTP tunnel between the gNB 410 and UPF-A 440. This information is stored in the GTP processing module 420. GTP information 435, includes Local TEID=2000, Peer Address=gNB, Peer TEID=1000, etc., for a GTP tunnel between UPF-A 440 and the gNB 410. This information is stored in the GTP processing module 450. GTP information 445, includes Local TEID=3000, Peer Address=UPF-B, Peer TEID=4000, etc.).
Regarding claim 35, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches comprising
a PE router, wherein
the PE router imports, as a route of a prefix including a UE, an SID of a VRF corresponding to the UPF which serving the UE, and when receiving notification of arrival of a packet addressed to the UE, transfers, to the UPF, the packet addressed to the UE (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0045, as illustrated at step 510 the SR module 430 of gNB 410 receives the CP information from GTP processing module 420 and associates the SID-G (i.e. the SID of gNB 410 for incoming SR packets) and SID-A1 (the SID of UPF-A for outgoing packets sent from the gNB 410 to the UPF-A 440) to a set of functions of the SR module which can be used to convert between the SID and the corresponding GTP tunnel. This can include, in one example, an association between the SID-A1 (which the SR module uses when transmitting an SR packet from the gNB to the UPF-A) and GTP tunnel (e.g. the local addresses (SA of gNB 410, DA of port 1 of UPF-A) and TEID 2000)).
Regarding claim 36, Akhavain Mohammadi teaches wherein when the UE transitions to an idle state, the PE router switches transfer of a packet addressed to the UE from transfer by longest match to transfer by short prefix route (Akhavain Mohammadi, see paragraph 0041, the SID may be a number that can be treated as an index to a table which stores the corresponding GTP information, or it may act as a pointer to a memory location in the UPF that stores the GTP information).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443