DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment as filed on 4/21/2026.
This action is made Final.
Claims 1, 5-11, 14 and 15 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. Claims 2-4, 12 and 13 have been canceled. Claims 1, 5, 6 and 11 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-11, 14 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi (USPUB 20190174151 A1 from IDS filed 12/11/2025) in view of DVIR (USPUB 20200322696 A1).
Claim 1:
Tsukagoshi teaches A method for processing a video, comprising: receiving an input video; identifying one or more objects in the input video; determining a set of feature descriptors associated with the one or more objects; and generating a set of feature units associated with the one or more objects, wherein the set of feature units include Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) units (0055-56 and 0089: The encoder 103 receives input of video data VD, and codes the video data VD to obtain coded image data. Furthermore, the encoder 103 obtains information of an object on the basis of the video data VD. Then, the encoder 103 generates a video stream having coded image data and information of an object. The information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object, and the like... The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9). Information of an object (information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, and text information that explains the object) is included in a NAL unit of SEI).
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach wherein the method further comprises: generating a processed video based on the one or more objects, wherein the processed video and the set of feature units are coded and transmitted in separate bitstreams.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by DVIR.
DVIR teaches wherein the method further comprises: generating a processed video based on the one or more objects, wherein the processed video and the set of feature units are coded and transmitted in separate bitstreams (0167: The encoder 312 may encode the additional data using one or more techniques and/or implementations. For example, the encoder 312 may embed additional data of one or more of the EFOV frames in the respective EFOV frame itself, i.e., as part of the encoded EFOV frame data. In another example, the encoder 312 may add the additional data as metadata, for example, text data and/or the like, included in one or more headers of the EFOV frame. The encoder 312 may naturally add the metadata and/or text data to the header(s) of the EFOV frame and/or of the encoded stream according to the selected video encoding protocol. In another example, the encoder 312 may encode the additional data in one or more separate streams transmitted to the client device 120 via the network 140 separately from the encoded stream carrying the EFOV frame(s). The separately transmitted additional data is associated with its respective EFOV frame(s), for example, by assigning the additional data and identification code (ID) corresponding to the respective EFOV frame).
Tsukagoshi and DVIR are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating and transmitting content.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to transmit the generated content in an efficient manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 5:
Tsukagoshi discloses storing the processed video and the set of feature units separately (0087-90: the separate storage of the processed video (CPB) and the set of features (NAL units) is not explicitly mentioned however it is implicit in the discussion of both in the cited portions of Tsukagoshi).
Claim 6:
Tsukagoshi discloses the processed video includes encoded units generated based on the set of feature units (0087-88).
Claim 9:
Tsukagoshi discloses the set of feature units include a first number of feature units; the processed video include a second number of video units; and the first number is different from the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim 10:
Tsukagoshi discloses the first number is smaller than the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim 11:
Tsukagoshi discloses A system for processing a video, comprising: a transmitter configured to: receive an input video; identify one or more objects in the input video; determine a set of feature descriptors associated with the one or more objects; generate a set of feature units associated with the one or more objects; and generate a processed video independently from generating the set of feature units (0055-56 and 0087-89: The encoder 103 receives input of video data VD, and codes the video data VD to obtain coded image data. Furthermore, the encoder 103 obtains information of an object on the basis of the video data VD. Then, the encoder 103 generates a video stream having coded image data and information of an object. The information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object, and the like... The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... the encoder 103 generates a video stream having the coded image data and the information of an object...the information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object).one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9). Information of an object (information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, and text information that explains the object) is included in a NAL unit of SEI).
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach generating a processed video based on the one or more objects, wherein the processed video and the set of feature units are coded and transmitted in separate bitstreams.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by DVIR.
DVIR teaches generating a processed video based on the one or more objects, wherein the processed video and the set of feature units are coded and transmitted in separate bitstreams (0167: The encoder 312 may encode the additional data using one or more techniques and/or implementations. For example, the encoder 312 may embed additional data of one or more of the EFOV frames in the respective EFOV frame itself, i.e., as part of the encoded EFOV frame data. In another example, the encoder 312 may add the additional data as metadata, for example, text data and/or the like, included in one or more headers of the EFOV frame. The encoder 312 may naturally add the metadata and/or text data to the header(s) of the EFOV frame and/or of the encoded stream according to the selected video encoding protocol. In another example, the encoder 312 may encode the additional data in one or more separate streams transmitted to the client device 120 via the network 140 separately from the encoded stream carrying the EFOV frame(s). The separately transmitted additional data is associated with its respective EFOV frame(s), for example, by assigning the additional data and identification code (ID) corresponding to the respective EFOV frame).
Tsukagoshi and DVIR are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating and transmitting content.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to transmit the generated content in an efficient manner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 14:
Tsukagoshi discloses wherein the set of feature units include Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) units (0056 and 0089: The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9)).
Claim 15:
Tsukagoshi discloses the set of feature units include a first number of feature units; the processed video include a second number of video units; and the first number is smaller than the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi DVIR and further in view of Kim (USPUB 20230085554 A1 from IDS filed 12/11/2025).
Claim 7:
Tsukagoshi discloses every feature of claim 1.
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the NAL units include Visual Component Library (VCL) units.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Kim.
Kim teaches the NAL units include Visual Component Library (VCL) units (0199: the NAL unit may be classified into a VCL NAL unit and a non-VCL NAL unit according to the RBSP generated in the VCL).
Tsukagoshi and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, generating and transmitting content.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize various well- known video coding standards.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 8:
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the NAL units include non-VCL units.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Kim.
Kim teaches the NAL units include non-VCL units (0199: the NAL unit may be classified into a VCL NAL unit and a non-VCL NAL unit according to the RBSP generated in the VCL).
McCurdy and Fukui are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, panning (scrolling) through digital content displayed on a screen.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize various well- known video coding standards.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178