DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to patent application as filed on 3/10/2024, which is a CON of PCT/CN2022/077142 filed 2/21/2022 which claims foreign priority to EP 21461589.0 filed 09/13/2021.
This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1 – 15 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/10/2024 and 12/11/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/10/2024 have been accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukagoshi (USPUB 20190174151 A1 from IDS filed 12/11/2025).
Claim 1:
Tsukagoshi discloses A method for processing a video, comprising: receiving an input video; identifying one or more objects in the input video; determining a set of feature descriptors associated with the one or more objects; and generating a set of feature units associated with the one or more objects, wherein the set of feature units include Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) units (0055-56 and 0089: The encoder 103 receives input of video data VD, and codes the video data VD to obtain coded image data. Furthermore, the encoder 103 obtains information of an object on the basis of the video data VD. Then, the encoder 103 generates a video stream having coded image data and information of an object. The information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object, and the like... The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9). Information of an object (information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, and text information that explains the object) is included in a NAL unit of SEI).
Claim 2:
Tsukagoshi discloses generating a processed video independently from generating the set of feature units (0087-88: the encoder 103 generates a video stream having the coded image data and the information of an object...the information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object).
Claim 3:
Tsukagoshi discloses transmitting the processed video and the set of feature units in a joint bitstream (0087-88).
Claim 4:
Tsukagoshi discloses transmitting the processed video and the set of feature units separately (0055-56 and 0089: the processed video and the set of features are sent in two separate streams).
Claim 5:
Tsukagoshi discloses storing the processed video and the set of feature units separately (0087-90: the separate storage of the processed video (CPB) and the set of features (NAL units) is not explicitly mentioned however it is implicit in the discussion of both in the cited portions of Tsukagoshi).
Claim 6:
Tsukagoshi discloses the processed video includes encoded units generated based on the set of feature units (0087-88).
Claim 9:
Tsukagoshi discloses the set of feature units include a first number of feature units; the processed video include a second number of video units; and the first number is different from the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim 10:
Tsukagoshi discloses the first number is smaller than the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim 11:
Tsukagoshi discloses A system for processing a video, comprising: a transmitter configured to: receive an input video; identify one or more objects in the input video; determine a set of feature descriptors associated with the one or more objects; generate a set of feature units associated with the one or more objects; and generate a processed video independently from generating the set of feature units (0055-56 and 0087-89: The encoder 103 receives input of video data VD, and codes the video data VD to obtain coded image data. Furthermore, the encoder 103 obtains information of an object on the basis of the video data VD. Then, the encoder 103 generates a video stream having coded image data and information of an object. The information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object, and the like... The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... the encoder 103 generates a video stream having the coded image data and the information of an object...the information of an object includes one-bit coded data obtained by coding one-bit data showing a shape of the object, information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, text information that explains the object).one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9). Information of an object (information of a region that is a rectangular area enclosing the object, display priority information of the region, and text information that explains the object) is included in a NAL unit of SEI).
Claim 12:
Tsukagoshi discloses the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the processed video and the set of feature units in a joint bitstream (0087-88).
Claim 13:
Tsukagoshi discloses transmit the processed video and the set of feature units separately (0055-56 and 0089: the processed video and the set of features are sent in two separate streams).
Claim 14:
Tsukagoshi discloses wherein the set of feature units include Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) units (0056 and 0089: The encoder 103 includes an image encoding unit 131, the object recognition processing unit 132, a region encoding unit 133, a parameter set/SEI encoding unit 134, and a NAL packetizing unit 135. The image encoding unit 131 codes video data to obtain coded image data... one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 is included as slice data in a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined (refer to FIGS. 6 to 9)).
Claim 15:
Tsukagoshi discloses the set of feature units include a first number of feature units; the processed video include a second number of video units; and the first number is smaller than the second number (0074: a predetermined number of NAL units of coded image data constituting each picture include a NAL unit of a conventionally well-known slice having coded image data generated by the image encoding unit 131 as slice data, as well as a NAL unit of a slice that is newly defined having one-bit coded data generated by the region encoding unit 133 as slice data. Furthermore, a predetermined number of the NAL units include a NAL unit of SEI that is newly defined having information of an object).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi in view of Kim (USPUB 20230085554 A1 from IDS filed 12/11/2025).
Claim 7:
Tsukagoshi discloses every feature of claim 1.
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the NAL units include Visual Component Library (VCL) units.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Kim.
Kim teaches the NAL units include Visual Component Library (VCL) units (0199: the NAL unit may be classified into a VCL NAL unit and a non-VCL NAL unit according to the RBSP generated in the VCL).
McCurdy and Fukui are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, panning (scrolling) through digital content displayed on a screen.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize various well- known video coding standards.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 8:
Tsukagoshi, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the NAL units include non-VCL units.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Kim.
Kim teaches the NAL units include non-VCL units (0199: the NAL unit may be classified into a VCL NAL unit and a non-VCL NAL unit according to the RBSP generated in the VCL).
McCurdy and Fukui are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, panning (scrolling) through digital content displayed on a screen.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim before him or her, to combine the teachings of Tsukagoshi and Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize various well- known video coding standards.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tsukagoshi and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached PTOL-892 form.
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178