DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. Pub. No.: US 20200169907 (Hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Park et al. Pub. No.: US 20200252847 (Hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a first node for wireless communications (see fig.5), comprising:
a first transceiver, receiving a first reference signal resource set, the first reference signal resource set comprising at least one reference signal resource (see fig.5 and paragraph [0354]);
a second transceiver, transmitting a first radio signal for beam management, the first radio signal indicating a first reference signal resource (see fig.5 and paragraph [0354]);
Zhang fails to disclose:
transceiver, receiving a first message, the first message being used to determine a first reference signal resource set;
whenever first-type radio link quality assessed based on the first reference signal resource set is worse than a first threshold, increasing a first counter by 1; and
determining a second reference signal resource set from a first candidate reference signal resource pool based on at least the first reference signal resource;
as a response to the first counter reaching a first value, transmitting a second radio signal, the second radio signal being used for beam failure recovery, and the second radio signal indicating a second reference signal resource;
wherein the second reference signal resource belongs to the second reference signal resource set.
In analogous art, Park teaches:
transceiver, receiving a first message, the first message being used to determine a first reference signal resource set (see paragraphs [0211] and [0460]);
whenever first-type radio link quality assessed based on the first reference signal resource set is worse than a first threshold, increasing a first counter by 1 (see paragraph [0423]); and
determining a second reference signal resource set from a first candidate reference signal resource pool based on at least the first reference signal resource (see paragraph [0431]);
as a response to the first counter reaching a first value, transmitting a second radio signal, the second radio signal being used for beam failure recovery, and the second radio signal indicating a second reference signal resource (see paragraph [0296]);
wherein the second reference signal resource belongs to the second reference signal resource set (see paragraph [0431]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first node for wireless communications of Zhang with the teaching as taught by Park in order to enable robust operation, e.g., mitigate blockage and/or load variation on backhaul links.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the first candidate reference signal resource pool comprises a first candidate reference signal resource set and a second candidate reference signal resource set (see paragraph [0431]); the first candidate reference signal resource set and the second candidate reference signal resource set are respectively associated with a first PCI (Physical Cell Identifier) and a second PCI (see paragraph [0401] and [0428]); when the first reference signal resource is associated with the first PCI, the second reference signal resource set is the first candidate reference signal resource set; when the first reference signal resource is associated with the second PCI, the second reference signal resource set is the second candidate reference signal resource set (see paragraph [0401] and [0428]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the second transceiver receives a first signal, and the first signaling is used to determine that a demodulation reference signal of a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in CORESET 0 and the first reference signal resource are QCL (quasi co-located) (see paragraph [0076] and [0677]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses
wherein the second transceiver receives a second signaling in a first time-frequency resource set, the first time-frequency resource set is associated with CORESET 0 (Control Resource Set 0) (see paragraph [0368], [0404]), and the second reference signal resource and a demodulation reference signal comprised in the second time-frequency resource set are QCL (see paragraphs [0076] and [0677]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses
wherein the second reference signal resource is the first reference signal resource, or the second reference signal resource and the first reference signal resource are QCL (see paragraph [0677]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses
wherein reference signal resources associated with a first TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state are updated to the first reference signal resource, and the first radio signal is used to determine the first TCI state (see paragraph [0292).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses
wherein when the first node transmits the second radio signal, the second reference signal resource is updated into the first candidate reference signal resource pool (see paragraph [0425]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhang further discloses
wherein the beam management does not belong to the beam failure detection and recovery procedure; or beam management does not comprise receiving an indication from lower layer; or the beam management does not comprise starting or restarting a timer as a response to receiving an indication from lower layer; or the beam management does not comprise that when first-type radio link quality assessed based on the first reference signal resource set is worse than a first threshold, a first counter is increased by 1 (see paragraph [0423]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Park further discloses
wherein the beam management comprises changing a TCI state of a physical channel, or, the beam management comprises changing a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET of a physical channel, or, the beam management comprises changing a corresponding relation between a TCI and a reference signal resource, or, the beam management comprises CSI (Channel State Information) reporting (see paragraph [0408]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Park discloses the first node for wireless communications as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Park further discloses
wherein the feedback for the first radio signal comprises a HARQ-ACK (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest Acknowledgement), or, the feedback for the first radio signal comprises a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel), or, the feedback for the first radio signal comprises a MAC (Medium Access Control) CE (Control Element) ) (see paragraph [0076]).
Regarding Claim 11, the limitation of claim 11 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the limitation of claim 12 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitation of claim 13 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation of claim 14 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, the limitation of claim 15 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16, the limitation of claim 16 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 17, the limitation of claim 17 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18, the limitation of claim 18 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, the limitation of claim 19 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, the limitation of claim 20 is being analyzed as discussed
with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424