DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20170181286 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Arai et al. discloses an antenna package comprising a stacked arrangement of (Antenna module 100T and 100W as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.):
a first substrate (Substrate 140 as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a first plurality of patch antennas arranged on a first major surface of the first substrate (Antenna modules include a substrate 140 that serves as a first substrate with patch antennas 121 serving as a plurality of first patch antennas wherein said patch antennas 121 can be arranged on a front face of a substrate if desired; Paragraph 54 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a plurality of decoupling capacitors arranged on the first major surface, wherein each decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors includes a first terminal and a second terminal, and at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors is located between adjacent patch antennas of the first plurality of patch antennas (Electrical components 176 are on a first major surface of substrate 140 and said components may be capacitors that are arranged between adjacent patch antennas of the first patch antennas such that said capacitors with vias v1 suppress radiation from the radiation elements and improve the isolation between radiating elements which in turns prevent coupling between them thus capacitors serve as decoupling capacitors and said capacitors comprise two terminals connected to vias v1/v2; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.); and
a second substrate comprising a second plurality of patch antennas, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are separated by an inter region gap, and the plurality of decoupling capacitors are located in the inter region gap (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the first and second substrates 140/130 are separated by an inter region gap and a plurality of electrical components 176 which may be decoupling capacitors are located within this gap; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.)
wherein the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors is physically connected with the first substrate, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is physically connected with the second substrate (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the capacitors 176 comprise pads serving as terminals wherein one terminal of the capacitor connects to via v1 and is only in physical contact with the first substrate 140 and a second terminal connects to via v2 and is in physical contact with the second substrate 130; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is physically connected with the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Campbell et al. does disclose the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is physically connected with the first substrate and the second substrate (Package 100/200 comprises a component 140/240 which may be a decoupling capacitor that is located in a gap 150/250 between a first substrate 110/210 and second substrate 130/230 wherein a first terminal 141/241 of the decoupling capacitor is connected to a first package 110/210 and a second terminal 142/242 of the decoupling capacitor is connected to the first package 110/210 and second package 130/230; Paragraph 18-37 and figure 1-2 of Campbell et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is physically connected with the first substrate and the second substrate as taught by Campbell et al. to provide a direct connection between the two substrates and improve the performance of the device (Paragraph 18 and 23-25 of Campbell et al.).
Examiner’s note - It is noted that the term “Decoupling capacitor” is unclear since the drawings and specifications fail to explicitly disclose exactly what a decoupling capacitor is and how it is different form a normal capacitor. Based on the paragraphs 43 the decoupling capacitor seems to be a “capacitor that reduces coupling between adjacent patch antennas” and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding Claim 22, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors is a ground wall between the adjacent patch antennas (Decoupling capacitors 176 work with via V1 to connect with the ground thus allowing the capacitors to serve as a ground wall that blocks/suppresses radiation and isolates the adjacent radiating elements as well as reducing the influence of outside electromagnetic fields; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 23, Arai et al. further discloses wherein a separation between the first substrate and the second substrate is defined by a height of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Separation distance between the first substrate 140 and second substrate 130 is defined by the height of at least one of the decoupling capacitors 176 as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 24, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors is arranged around a perimeter of each patch antenna (Capacitors 176 can be arranged around the perimeter of the patch antenna 121 and 122 to surround the antenna elements; Paragraph 154-156 and figure 25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 26, Arai et al. further discloses wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas is arranged below a corresponding patch antenna of the second plurality of patch antennas (First plurality of patch antennas 121 are arranged below the second plurality of patch antennas 122 as seen in figure 25 of Arai et al.).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20170181286 A1) and Yang et al. (US 20220189959 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Arai et al. and Campbell et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate.
However, Yang et al. does disclose wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor and second terminal E1 portion RP partially covers and extends from a first surface of E2/DL which is a part of the capacitor connecting to the first substrate 106 and portion PP partially covering to a second bottom surface connecting to 104/102; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Campbell et al. to have the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate to and at least partially covering a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components like a power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Regarding Claim 18, Arai et al. and Campbell et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor.
However, Yang et al. does disclose wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor as taught by Yang et al. and Campbell et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components like a power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Regarding Claim 33, Arai et al. discloses an antenna package comprising a stacked arrangement of (Antenna module 100T and 100W as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.):
a first substrate (Substrate 140 as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a first plurality of patch antennas arranged on a first major surface of the first substrate (Antenna modules include a substrate 140 that serves as a first substrate with patch antennas 121 serving as a plurality of first patch antennas wherein said patch antennas 121 can be arranged on a front face of a substrate if desired; Paragraph 54 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a plurality of decoupling capacitors arranged on the first major surface, wherein at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors is located between adjacent patch antennas of the first plurality of patch antennas wherein each decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors includes a first terminal and a second terminal (Electrical components 176 are on a first major surface of substrate 140 and said components may be capacitors that are arranged between adjacent patch antennas of the first patch antennas such that said capacitors with vias v1 suppress radiation from the radiation elements and improve the isolation between radiating elements which in turns prevent coupling between them thus capacitors serve as decoupling capacitors and said capacitors comprise two terminals connected to vias v1/v2; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.); and
a second substrate comprising a second plurality of patch antennas wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are separated by an inter region gap, and the plurality of decoupling capacitors are located in the inter region gap (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the first and second substrates 140/130 are separated by an inter region gap and a plurality of electrical components 176 which may be decoupling capacitors are located within this gap; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.),
wherein the first terminal of each decoupling capacitor is in physical contact with the first substrate, and the second terminal of each decoupling capacitor is in physical contact with the second substrate (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the capacitors 176 comprise pads serving as terminals wherein one terminal of the capacitor connects to via v1 and is only in physical contact with the first substrate 140 and a second terminal connects to via v2 and is in physical contact with the second substrate 130; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of each decoupling capacitor is in physical contact with the first substrate and the second substrate wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor.
However, Campbell et al. does discloses the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of each decoupling capacitor is in physical contact with the first substrate and the second substrate (Package 100/200 comprises a component 140/240 which may be a decoupling capacitor that is located in a gap 150/250 between a first substrate 110/210 and second substrate 130/230 wherein a first terminal 141/241 of the decoupling capacitor is connected to a first package 110/210 and a second terminal 142/242 of the decoupling capacitor is connected to the first package 110/210 and second package 130/230 wherein figure 2 shows a plurality of decoupling capacitors structured the same way; Paragraph 18-37 and figure 1-2 of Campbell et al.).
Yang et al. further discloses wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor second terminal E1 portion RP partially covers and extends from a first surface of E2/DL which is a part of the capacitor connecting to the first substrate 106 and portion PP partially covering to a second bottom surface connecting to 104/102; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have the plurality of decoupling capacitors and the first terminal and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor are located in the inter region gap, wherein the second terminal of each decoupling capacitor is in physical contact with the first substrate and the second substrate as taught by Campbell et al. to provide a direct connection between the two substrates and improve the performance of the device (Paragraph 18 and 23-25 of Campbell et al.). It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Campbell et al. to have wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region extending from a top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate to a bottom surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components and power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Examiner’s note - It is noted that the term “Decoupling capacitor” is unclear since the drawings and specifications fail to explicitly disclose exactly what a decoupling capacitor is and how it is different form a normal capacitor. Based on the paragraphs 43 the decoupling capacitor seems to be a “capacitor that reduces coupling between adjacent patch antennas” and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding Claim 34, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors forms a ground wall between the adjacent patch antennas (Decoupling capacitors 176 work with via V1 to connect with the ground thus allowing the capacitors to serve as a ground wall that blocks/suppresses radiation and isolates the adjacent radiating elements as well as reducing the influence of outside electromagnetic fields; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 35, Arai et al. further discloses wherein a separation between the first substrate and the second substrate is defined by a height of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Separation distance between the first substrate 140 and second substrate 130 is defined by the height of at least one of the decoupling capacitors 176 as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Claim(s) 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20170181286 A1) and Blakely et al. (US 6618266 B2).
Regarding Claim 20, Arai et al. and Campbell et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a second reference voltage.
However, Blackely et al. does disclose wherein the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a second reference voltage (Decoupling capacitor C1 comprises a first terminal 107a connected to vias 110a/100d that couple the terminal to a first reference voltage in the form of a power plane on a first layer serving and a second terminal 106c that connects to vias 110c/110f which couple the second terminal to a second reference voltage in the form of a ground plane on a different second layer; Paragraph 2-10 and figure 3-5 of Blackely et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Campbell et al. to have the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is coupled to a second reference voltage as taught by Blackely et al. to lower the inductance loss of the circuit (Paragraph 4 of Blackely et al.) and to connect the decoupling capacitor to a voltage source and ground.
Regarding Claim 21, Arai et al. and Campbell et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first reference voltage is a supply voltage and the second reference voltage is a ground.
However, Blackely et al. does disclose wherein the first reference voltage is a supply voltage and the second reference voltage is a ground (Decoupling capacitor C1 comprises a first terminal 107a connected to vias 110a/100d that couple the terminal to a first reference voltage in the form of a power plane on a first layer serving and a second terminal 106c that connects to vias 110c/110f which couple the second terminal to a second reference voltage in the form of a ground plane on a different second layer; Paragraph 2-10 and figure 3-5 of Blackely et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Campbell et al. to have the first reference voltage be a supply voltage and the second reference voltage be a ground as taught by Blackely et al. to lower the inductance loss of the circuit (Paragraph 4 of Blackely et al.) and to connect the decoupling capacitor to a voltage source and ground.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20170181286 A1) and Hagn et al. (EP 3301757 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Arai et al. further discloses wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square (Plurality of patch antennas 121 and 122 comprise a square shape as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. and Campbell et al. fail to disclose wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape.
However, Hagn et al. does disclose wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape (Antenna package 60 comprises a first antenna 14 and a second antenna 26 that may be formed as a plurality of antennas wherein the first antenna can have a circle shape and a second antenna can comprise a square shape; Paragraph 8-10, 34-36, and 63 as well as figure 4a of Hagn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Campbell et al. to each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas have a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape as taught by Hagn et al. since the shape of the patch antenna would affect is radiating characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 19, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across four sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor” as recited in claim 19.
Arai et al. and Yang et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an antenna package with a first substrate, a first plurality of patch antennas, a second substrate, a second plurality of patch antennas, decoupling capacitors, and a metal region. Arai et al. and Yang et al. fail to each a second terminal of the capacitor that extends across four sidewalls and a second surface.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20240363556 A1 (Gossner; Harald et al.) discloses an antenna module that comprises a patch antenna structure with a coupling capacitor.
US 10833414 B2 (Kim; Nam Ki et al.) discloses an antenna module that comprises a patch antenna structure with a coupling capacitor.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845