DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on April 17th 2026 have been entered. Claims 16-35 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on December 23th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 22-24, 26, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20220189959 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Arai et al. discloses an antenna package comprising a stacked arrangement of (Antenna module 100T and 100W as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.):
a first substrate (Substrate 140 as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a first plurality of patch antennas arranged on a first major surface of the first substrate (Antenna modules include a substrate 140 that serves as a first substrate with patch antennas 121 serving as a plurality of first patch antennas wherein said patch antennas 121 can be arranged on a front face of a substrate if desired; Paragraph 54 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a plurality of decoupling capacitors arranged on the first major surface, wherein at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors is located between adjacent patch antennas of the first plurality of patch antennas (Electrical components 176 are on a first major surface of substrate 140 and said components may be capacitors that are arranged between adjacent patch antennas of the first patch antennas such that said capacitors with vias v1 suppress radiation from the radiation elements and improve the isolation between radiating elements which in turns prevent coupling between them thus capacitors serve as decoupling capacitors; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.); and
a second substrate comprising a second plurality of patch antennas, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are separated by an inter region gap, and the plurality of decoupling capacitors are located in the inter region gap (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the first and second substrates 140/130 are separated by an inter region gap and a plurality of electrical components 176 which may be decoupling capacitors are located within this gap; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.)
wherein the at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors comprises a first terminal configured only to be in contact with the first substrate and a second terminal configured to be in contact with the second substrate (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the capacitors 176 comprise pads serving as terminals wherein one terminal of the capacitor connects to via v1 and is only in contact with the first substrate 140 and a second terminal connects to via v2 and is in contact with the second substrate 130; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Yang et al. does disclose a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components and power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Examiner’s note - It is noted that the term “Decoupling capacitor” is unclear since the drawings and specifications fail to explicitly disclose exactly what a decoupling capacitor is and how it is different form a normal capacitor. Based on the paragraphs 43 the decoupling capacitor seems to be a “capacitor that reduces coupling between adjacent patch antennas” and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding Claim 17, Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate.
However, Yang et al. does disclose wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor and second terminal E1 portion RP partially covers and extends from a first surface of E2/DL which is a part of the capacitor connecting to the first substrate 106 and portion PP partially covering to a second bottom surface connecting to 104/102; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate to and at least partially covering a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components like a power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Regarding Claim 18, Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor.
However, Yang et al. does disclose wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have the metal region of the second terminal extends across two sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components like a power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Regarding Claim 22, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors is configured to form a ground wall between the adjacent patch antennas (Decoupling capacitors 176 work with via V1 to connect with the ground thus allowing the capacitors to serve as a ground wall that blocks/suppresses radiation and isolates the adjacent radiating elements as well as reducing the influence of outside electromagnetic fields; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 23, Arai et al. further discloses wherein a separation between the first substrate and the second substrate is defined by a height of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Separation distance between the first substrate 140 and second substrate 130 is defined by the height of at least one of the decoupling capacitors 176 as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 24, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors is arranged around a perimeter of each patch antenna (Capacitors 176 can be arranged around the perimeter of the patch antenna 121 and 122 to surround the antenna elements; Paragraph 154-156 and figure 25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 26, Arai et al. further discloses wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas is arranged below a corresponding patch antenna of the second plurality of patch antennas (First plurality of patch antennas 121 are arranged below the second plurality of patch antennas 122 as seen in figure 25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 33, Arai et al. discloses an antenna package comprising a stacked arrangement of (Antenna module 100T and 100W as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.):
a first substrate (Substrate 140 as seen in figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a first plurality of patch antennas arranged on a first major surface of the first substrate (Antenna modules include a substrate 140 that serves as a first substrate with patch antennas 121 serving as a plurality of first patch antennas wherein said patch antennas 121 can be arranged on a front face of a substrate if desired; Paragraph 54 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.);
a plurality of decoupling capacitors arranged on the first major surface, wherein at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors is located between adjacent patch antennas of the first plurality of patch antennas (Electrical components 176 are on a first major surface of substrate 140 and said components may be capacitors that are arranged between adjacent patch antennas of the first patch antennas such that said capacitors with vias v1 suppress radiation from the radiation elements and improve the isolation between radiating elements which in turns prevent coupling between them thus capacitors serve as decoupling capacitors; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.); and
a second substrate comprising a second plurality of patch antennas wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are separated by an inter region gap, and the plurality of decoupling capacitors are located in the inter region gap (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the first and second substrates 140/130 are separated by an inter region gap and a plurality of electrical components 176 which may be decoupling capacitors are located within this gap; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.),
wherein the at least one decoupling capacitor of the plurality of decoupling capacitors comprises a first terminal configured only to be in contact with the first substrate and a second terminal configured to be in contact with the second substrate (A substrate 130 serves a s a second substrate that comprises a plurality of second patch antennas 122 wherein the capacitors 176 comprise pads serving as terminals wherein one terminal of the capacitor connects to via v1 and is only in contact with the first substrate 140 and a second terminal connects to via v2 and is in contact with the second substrate 130; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor.
However, Yang et al. does disclose a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region that at least partially covers and extends from a first surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate and at least partially covering to a second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Decoupling capacitor C comprises a first electrode E2 that is only in contact with a first layer 106 serving as a first substrate and a second electrode E1 that comprises a metal pillar formed by PP and RP that extends from a top surface of the electrode such that it covers two sidewalls and a top surface wherein a top surface connects to the first substrate 106 and a bottom surface connects to substrate like 104 with routing line 102 wherein said electrodes serve as terminals of the capacitor second terminal E1 portion RP partially covers and extends from a first surface of E2/DL which is a part of the capacitor connecting to the first substrate 106 and portion PP partially covering to a second bottom surface connecting to 104/102; Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. to have a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate wherein the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor comprises a metal region extending from a top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the first substrate to a bottom surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor that is in contact with the second substrate, and wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across at least two sidewalls and the top surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor as taught by Yang et al. to connect the decoupling capacitor to different substrates and different electrical components and power supply (Paragraph 33-40 and figure 2b of Yang et al.) and since the configuration of the capacitor affects its performance.
Examiner’s note - It is noted that the term “Decoupling capacitor” is unclear since the drawings and specifications fail to explicitly disclose exactly what a decoupling capacitor is and how it is different form a normal capacitor. Based on the paragraphs 43 the decoupling capacitor seems to be a “capacitor that reduces coupling between adjacent patch antennas” and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding Claim 34, Arai et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of decoupling capacitors is configured to form a ground wall between the adjacent patch antennas (Decoupling capacitors 176 work with via V1 to connect with the ground thus allowing the capacitors to serve as a ground wall that blocks/suppresses radiation and isolates the adjacent radiating elements as well as reducing the influence of outside electromagnetic fields; Paragraph 56 and 134-156 as well as figures 22-25 of Arai et al.).
Regarding Claim 35, Arai et al. further discloses wherein a separation between the first substrate and the second substrate is defined by a height of the at least one decoupling capacitor (Separation distance between the first substrate 140 and second substrate 130 is defined by the height of at least one of the decoupling capacitors 176 as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Claim(s) 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20220189959 A1) and Blakely et al. (US 6618266 B2).
Regarding Claim 20, Arai et al. and Yang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a second reference voltage.
However, Blackely et al. does disclose wherein the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a second reference voltage (Decoupling capacitor C1 comprises a first terminal 107a connected to vias 110a/100d that couple the terminal to a first reference voltage in the form of a power plane on a first layer serving and a second terminal 106c that connects to vias 110c/110f which couple the second terminal to a second reference voltage in the form of a ground plane on a different second layer; Paragraph 2-10 and figure 3-5 of Blackely et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Yang et al. to have the first terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a first reference voltage, and the second terminal of the at least one decoupling capacitor is configured to be coupled to a second reference voltage as taught by Blackely et al. to lower the inductance loss of the circuit (Paragraph 4 of Blackely et al.) and to connect the decoupling capacitor to a voltage source and ground.
Regarding Claim 21, Arai et al. and Yang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first reference voltage is a supply voltage and the second reference voltage is a ground.
However, Blackely et al. does disclose wherein the first reference voltage is a supply voltage and the second reference voltage is a ground (Decoupling capacitor C1 comprises a first terminal 107a connected to vias 110a/100d that couple the terminal to a first reference voltage in the form of a power plane on a first layer serving and a second terminal 106c that connects to vias 110c/110f which couple the second terminal to a second reference voltage in the form of a ground plane on a different second layer; Paragraph 2-10 and figure 3-5 of Blackely et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Yang et al. to have the first reference voltage be a supply voltage and the second reference voltage be a ground as taught by Blackely et al. to lower the inductance loss of the circuit (Paragraph 4 of Blackely et al.) and to connect the decoupling capacitor to a voltage source and ground.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US 20230006350 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20220189959 A1) and Hagn et al. (EP 3301757 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Arai et al. further discloses wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square (Plurality of patch antennas 121 and 122 comprise a square shape as seen in figure 22 and 25 of Arai et al.).
Arai et al. and Yang et al. fail to disclose wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape.
However, Hagn et al. does disclose wherein each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas has a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape (Antenna package 60 comprises a first antenna 14 and a second antenna 26 that may be formed as a plurality of antennas wherein the first antenna can have a circle shape and a second antenna can comprise a square shape; Paragraph 8-10, 34-36, and 63 as well as figure 4a of Hagn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Arai et al. and Yang et al. to each patch antenna of the first plurality of patch antennas and the second plurality of patch antennas have a shape selected from a square shape and a circle shape as taught by Hagn et al. since the shape of the patch antenna would affect is radiating characteristics.
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 16, 20, 22, 33, and 34, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 19, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the metal region of the second terminal extends across four sidewalls and the second surface of the at least one decoupling capacitor” as recited in claim 19.
Arai et al. and Yang et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an antenna package with a first substrate, a first plurality of patch antennas, a second substrate, a second plurality of patch antennas, decoupling capacitors, and a metal region. Arai et al. and Yang et al. fail to each a second terminal of the capacitor that extends across four sidewalls and a second surface.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
“Arai and Yang fail to disclose each and every feature of claims 16-18, 22-24, 26, and 33-35. More specifically, Arai and Yang fail to disclose a stacked arrangement that includes first and second substrates separated by a gap, and decoupling capacitors within the gap, where at least one of the decoupling capacitors includes a first terminal configured only to be in contact with the first substrate and a second terminal configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate.
As indicated in the Office Action (page 5), Arai fails to disclose the second terminal, which is configured to be in contact with the first substrate and the second substrate. The Examiner relies on Yang to disclose this feature. However, it would not be possible to modify that which is disclosed by Arai by the teachings of Yang in order to arrive at Applicant's claimed invention. Specifically, the electronic components 176 of Arai are disposed in an air layer 185 (FIG. 22; [0134], [0136]), and by virtue of the way that the capacitor of Yang is formed (i.e., a build-up process, as described above), it would not be possible for the capacitor of Yang to be formed in (or disposed in) the air layer 185 of Arai. The capacitor of Yang is integrally formed within the structure, and Yang requires the entirety of the capacitor to be surrounded by dielectric material (FIGs 5E-5H). The capacitors of Yang cannot be formed in or disposed in an air layer. Accordingly, one of skill in the art would not modify that which is disclosed by Arai with the disclosure in Yang to arrive at Applicant's claimed invention.”
Applicant's arguments filed on April 17th 2026 in regards to claim 16 and 33 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicants argument stipulate that based on the method of forming in regards to Yang that it cannot be used to teach the limitation of a second terminal connected to both substrates. However, the examiner notes that a capacitor in an air layer is taught by Arai and Yang is only relied upon to teach a second terminal of a capacitor. It is also noted that the claim only recites the capacitor being located in the inter gap region but does not explicitly recite capacitor terminals in the inter gap region and said claim also only requires that the terminals can be “configured to” which is not a positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In view of this even Yang has a capacitor terminal in the dielectric layer and not an air layer, the teaching of it being connected to two substrates can still be applied to Arai.
Furthermore, the examiner also notes that the method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself and patent examination relies on the structure of the inventions and as such Yang does teach a second terminal capacitor structure. Finally, even if the examiner was to give the applicants argument weight, it is noted that secondary reference Blakely et al. also teaches a capacitor exposed to the air wherein said capacitor has a second terminal 106a that connects to two different substrate layers and would also read on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20240363556 A1 (Gossner; Harald et al.) discloses an antenna module that comprises a patch antenna structure with a coupling capacitor.
US 10833414 B2 (Kim; Nam Ki et al.) discloses an antenna module that comprises a patch antenna structure with a coupling capacitor.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845