Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frishman (2009/0256520) in view of Hess et al. (2009/0288925), and further in view of Richardson et al. (2006/0274493).
Regarding claim 1, Frishman discloses a portable television device comprising: a case comprised of a body (102); a lid (104) attached to the body via an inherently included hinge and securable to the body via an inherently included locking mechanism; a display screen (note the monitor in par. 15); a battery (204); a USB charging port in electrical communication with the battery (note par. 18); and a solar panel positioned on the case and configured to charge the battery (106).
However, Frishman does not disclose that the locking mechanism is a clasp, and that the case water-sealed case as claimed.
Hess, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches the use of a clasp (note 121a and 121b in Fig. 4). By using the clasp mechanism, a laptop computer can be safely secured (note par. 33). This clasp mechanism is notoriously well known and can be applied for locking laptops such as in Frishman.
Without a secure locking mechanism, the cover 104 and the main body 102 in Frishman can be opened or rotated away from each other during transportation, which can incur damages to the laptop computer.
Knowing that secure locking mechanism is needed in Frishman in order to prevent the lid from opening from the main body during transportation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the clasp mechanism of Hess so that the lid could be securely locked to the main body during transportation.
As to the water-sealed case feature, Richardson teaches such case (note Figs. 13, 14 and 19). By using water-sealed case, the laptop can be operated in recreational environments (note par. 43), which further increases the versatilities of the personal electronic device or laptops.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Richardson into Frishman so that the laptop could be used in different water recreational activities.
Regarding claim 3, the battery in Frishman is removable.
Regarding claim 5, the screen is comprised a connection port (note par. 18).
Regarding claim 14, see rejection to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the laptop in paragraph 3 inherently includes HDMI port.
Regarding claim 19, the laptop in paragraph 3 inherently includes ethernet port.
Regarding claim 20, the body inherently comprises a handle (note par. 53). That is, the briefcase as described in paragraph 53 for holding the laptop or the battery-powered electronic device inherently includes a handle.
Claim(s) 7, 11-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frishman (2009/0256520) in view of Hess et al. (2009/0288925), further in view of Richardson et al. (2006/0274493), and further in view of JPS58159968U.
Regarding claims 7, 11, 12, and 15-17, Frishman, Hess and Richardson together disclose all the features of the claimed invention as set forth above except the tie hanging element and exterior hinge as claimed. JPS58159968U, from the similar field of endeavor, discloses the tie hanging element (30, 37) and the exterior hinge (33, 20) as claimed. The hinge 20 and suspension cord or string 30 and 37 enable picture frames 1a to be hung on a wall flexibly. The hinge brackets (33, 20) can be attached to any picture or display frame body readily as shown in Figs. 13-18. By using these hinge brackets and suspension cords, a picture or display frame can be hung on a wall so that the picture or display can be viewed by many viewers at the same time. This increases convenience. Thus, in view of JPS58159968U, if the display in Frishman is needed to be viewed by a plurality of viewers at the same time, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include JPS58159968U into the combination of Frishman, Hess and Richardson to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Frishman does not disclose that the port is comprised a cover. The examiner takes Official Notice that using a cover to protect electronic ports is well known in the art, which is critical when the electronic device is operated in a harsh environment. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover into Frishman so that the ports could be protected from pollutants in the harsh environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422