DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshino et al (US 2014/0161093; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hoshino teaches a control device included in a radio communication system that provides a communication service to a terminal device via a portion of many antennas ([0049], [0050] and [0211], the base station is interpreted as control device and TPs are interpreted as claimed antennas), the control device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to function as: a notification unit configured to notify the terminal device of information that makes it possible to identify measurement target radio signals to be used by the terminal device when executing transmission power control from among radio signals respectively transmitted from the antennas ([0218]-[0223]).
Regarding independent claims 7 and 13-16, the claims correspond to a terminal device (claim 7), method claims (13 and 14) and computer based implementation (claims 15 and 16) and recites similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 8, Hoshino further teaches wherein the radio signals are each configured such that an antenna that transmitted the radio signal is identifiable among the antennas, the information includes information specifying the portion of the antennas used to provide the communication service to the terminal device, and the control unit measures radio quality of radio signals transmitted from the portion of the antennas specified by the information, and controls transmission power based on the radio quality. See [0211] and [0218].
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 9, Hoshino further teaches wherein the information includes information indicating the number of antennas included in the portion of the antennas used to provide the communication service to the terminal device, and the control unit measures radio quality of the number of radio signals indicated by the information, and controls transmission power based on the radio quality. See [0218] and fig. 13, ST207.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino et al (US 2014/0161093; art cited by applicant) in view of Wang et al (WO 2021/178214; art cited by applicant).
Regarding dependent claim 4 and 10, Hoshino teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein the information includes information regarding a reference value of radio quality, and the terminal device takes, as the measurement target radio signals, radio signals whose radio quality is higher than the reference value among the radio signals transmitted from the antennas. The claimed limitation is regard as avoiding low quality signals when performing measurements for power control to solve the problem of how to increase the accuracy of the determination of transmit power. However, avoiding low quality signals is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Wang, from the same field of endeavor, teaches "[T]the UE 110 then performs an analysis 710 on the metrics 708 based on the threshold value 706, where the UE 110 compares each link quality parameter (e.g., RSRP metric) to the threshold value. Based on the analysis, the UE 110 determines a selection 712 of base stations with respective link quality parameters that exceed the threshold value” ([0072]) and "[I]in some implementations, the UE 110 determines a transmit power of the uplink SRS based upon the analysis 710... This includes averaging only a subset of link quality parameters (e.g., only link quality parameters that meet the threshold value)" ([0073]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hoshino by employing the teachings as taught by Wang in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino et al (US 2014/0161093; art cited by applicant).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 11, Hoshino teaches all subject matter claimed and further teach an index regarding radio quality of the measurement target radio signals to be used as a reference by the terminal device in the transmission power control ([0233]-[0235]). Hoshino fails to teach the notification of said index. However,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized to modify the system of Hoshino by notifying such index regarding radio quality of the measurement since it is common in cellular networks to signal configuration parameters to the terminals.
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 12, Hoshino further teaches wherein the index includes a total received power, an average received power, the lowest received power, the highest received power, or a median value of a distribution of received power of the measurement target radio signals. See [0202]-[204] and [0233]-[0235].
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Hiramatsu et al (US 6,600,933), Chen et al (US 8,879,667) and Yang et al (US 2021/0336333) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for transmission power control.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634