Response to filed Amendments
Applicant’s Amendments/Remarks filed on 08/03/2026 have been received and made of record.
New claims 14-35 have been added.
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-13 have been amended.
Claims 2-6, and 9 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 10-35 are currently pending.
Applicant’s filed SPEC/Abstract amendments have been received and made of record.
Outstanding USC 112 (F) interpretation has been withdrawn based on filed amendments/remarks on 08/03/2026.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicants’ arguments of 08/03/2026, corresponding to pages 8-15 and the newly cited claims amendments pertaining to the outstanding USC 102 rejections of Kohata and Kanamori, have been considered, but they are moot in light of the new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, and 10-35 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable obvious over Kohata et al. (US 2021/0334050, previously cited), in view of Iwasaki et al (JP2022110712, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kohata teaches a control method implemented by executing a print setting application program for controlling an information processing apparatus, the print setting application program extending a function of an IPP Class Driver (software 202 of at least para. 0035-0040 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 11 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0040, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver indicative of the said IPP Class Driver), comprising the steps of:
acquiring, from an image forming apparatus, information representing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received arbitrary second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 and of para. 0067 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the maximum value and the minimum value (accepting further in at least in Figs. 12-13, 15, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within an implied range of the maximum value and the minimum value);
and notifying an the image forming apparatus of the arbitrary paper size (the system further configured in at least S609 of Fig. 6 to transmit the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
However, Kohata is silent regarding wherein the above lined-out items such citing said acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus.
Iwasaki teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 cited acquired printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” further comprising said claimed acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 7, Kohata teaches at least in the Abstract a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application program which causes an information processing apparatus to perform a control method, the print setting application program extending a function of an IPP Class Driver (software 202 of at least para. 0035-0040 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 11 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0040, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver indicative of the said IPP Class Driver), configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol,
the control method (the Abstract) comprising:
acquiring, from an image forming apparatus, information representing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received arbitrary second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 and of para. 0067 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size, with the values being within a range of the maximum value and the minimum value (accepting further in at least in Figs. 12-13, 15, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within an implied range of the maximum value and the minimum value);
and notifying an the image forming apparatus of the arbitrary paper (the system further configured in at least S609 of Fig. 6 to transmit the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
However, Kohata is silent regarding wherein the above lined-out items such citing said acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus.
Iwasaki teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 cited acquired printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” further comprising said claimed acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 7), Kohata is silent regarding wherein based on the acquired information representing the maximum value and the minimum value of the sheet size supported by the image forming apparatus, it is determined whether the accepted values can be set (user settable size of Figs. 12 or 15); wherein based on the received information about the size, it is determined whether the accepted paper size can be set (the at least size decision of further Figs. 15).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 9), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises making a notification on condition that the accepted values are not within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value (the alternative setting notification of at least Fig. 15 and para. 0045 include means to notify the user of at least para. 0045 of inputted or conflicted setting errors which may obviously comprise in the art obviously notification on condition that the accepted values are not within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprises: storing, in the information processing apparatus, information based on the capability information acquired from the image forming apparatus (para. 0045); and adding information representing the arbitrary paper size to the stored information (setting sizes of para. 0045).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches herein the control method further comprises displaying, on a display unit, a screen for setting a paper size corresponding to the arbitrary paper size (Figs. 3-4, 12, and 15).
Regarding claim 13, Kohata teaches An information processing apparatus that executes a print setting application program that stores an IPP Class Driver (software 202 of at least para. 0035-0040 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 11 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0040, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver indicative of the said IPP Class Driver), comprising: at least one memory containing instructions 106/101 and at least one processor 202 for executing the instructions to: acquire, from an image forming apparatus, information representing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received arbitrary second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 and of para. 0067 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accept, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size, with the values being within a range of the maximum value and the minimum value (accepting further in at least in Figs. 12-13, 15, from a user, values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within an implied range of the maximum value and the minimum value);
and notifying the image forming apparatus of the arbitrary paper (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates a drawing application 201 serving as said notification unit similarly to comprise as understood in the art said notification unit adapted for transmitting said print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
However, Kohata is silent regarding wherein the above lined-out items such citing said acquire, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus.
Iwasaki teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 cited acquired printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” further comprising said claimed acquiring, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said acquire, from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 14 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: acquiring print function information generated by an Operating System (OS), the print function information enabling a user to designate a function of the image forming apparatus (the system further in at least para. 0002-0004 and Figs. 3-5 teaches a standard print function for acquiring print function information generated by an Operating System (OS), the print function information enabling a user to designate a function of the image forming apparatus); and editing the print function information such that the maximum value and the minimum value are included in the print function information (the system further teaches at least in Figs. 9, and 11-13 comprises drawing and display a print layout including changing print function information according in a case to acquired supported media size range such that the maximum value and the minimum value are included in the print function information).
Regarding claim 15 (according to claim 14), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: displaying, on a display unit, a print setting screen using capability information based on an edited print function information (display setting screen of at least Figs. 9 and the disclosure said display setting screen using in a case capability information based on an drawn or print layout comprising said edited print function information).
Regarding claim 16 (according to claim 15), Kohata further teaches wherein a button for editing a user-defined paper size is displayed on the print setting screen (the disclosure and further Figs. 9-13 further discloses after the paper size width height manually input by the user, creating a user-defined paper size, and display the printing parameter setting UI with select required width and height unit further entailing said button for editing a user-defined paper size displayed on the print setting screen).
Regarding claim 17 (according to claim 16), Kohata is silent regarding wherein the values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are accepted as the user-defined paper size via a sheet setting screen displayed in response to selection of the button.
Iwasaki further teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 using at least a standard print function application with extended internet print function to acquire printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” as information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus and further configured in at least Fig. 4 for accepting via a user interface screen settable media size setting corresponding to the printer supported maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value as the user-defined paper size via said sheet setting screen of at least Fig. 4 displayed in response to selection of the button. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are accepted as the user-defined paper size via a sheet setting screen displayed in response to selection of the button, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 18 (according to claim 17), Kohata further teaches wherein, in the sheet setting screen, an area configured to accept values input from the user is displayed, and if the values accepted in the area are within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value, the values are accepted as the user-defined paper size (the disclosure further cites in Figs. 8-15 a case wherein, in the sheet setting screen, an area configured to accept values input from the user is displayed, and if the values accepted in the area are within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value, the values are accepted as the user-defined paper size).
Regarding claim 19 (according to claim 18), Kohata further teaches wherein, if the values accepted in the area are not within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value, a waring screen is displayed (the disclosure cites in Figs. 8-15 a case where if the values accepted in the area are not within the range of the printer supported value obviously including said maximum value and the minimum value, a warning screen is then displayed).
Regarding claim 19 (according to claim 18), Kohata further teaches wherein, a list of user-defined paper sizes is displayed in the sheet setting screen, and the user-defined paper sizes displayed in the list are displayed as items selectable by a user (the displayed screen of Figs. 8-15).
Regarding claim 21 (according to claim 20), Kohata is silent regarding wherein, the values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are accepted from the user for the user-defined paper size selected in the list of user-defined paper sizes.
Iwasaki further teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 using at least a standard print function application with extended internet print function to acquire printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” as information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus and further configured in at least Fig. 4 for accepting via a user interface screen settable media size setting corresponding to the printer supported maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value as the user-defined paper size via said sheet setting screen of at least Fig. 4 displayed in response to selection of the button. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are accepted from the user for the user-defined paper size selected in the list of user-defined paper sizes, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 22 (according to claim 17), Kohata further teaches wherein the sheet setting screen is configured to be capable of displaying a sheet-size unit in a switched manner (Figs. 815).
Regarding claim 23 (according to claim 16), Kohata further teaches wherein a list of a plurality of paper sizes is displayed as selectable by a user in the print setting screen, and the plurality of paper sizes include the user-defined paper size (Figs. 8-15).
Regarding claim 24 (according to claim 15), Kohata further teaches wherein the capability information is Print Capabilities (acquired data of at least Figs. 8-15).
Regarding claim 25 (according to claim 15), Kohata further teaches wherein in a case where the print setting screen is displayed, print setting information is acquired from the OS (at least in Figs. 2-15 as further supported by at least para. 0002-0005 further teaches the print setting screen is displayed, print setting information is acquired from the OS);
Kohata is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as the accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are reflected in the print setting information.
Iwasaki further teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 using at least a standard print function application with extended internet print function to acquire printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” as information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus and further configured in at least Fig. 4 for accepting via a user interface screen settable media size setting corresponding to the printer supported maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value as the user-defined paper size via said sheet setting screen of at least Fig. 4 displayed in response to selection of the button. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value are reflected in the print setting information, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and the accepting user setting and notifying the printer of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 26 (according to claim 25), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: editing data generated based on the print setting information and drawing data (at least Figs. 9-13 further comprises a layout printing similar to Applicant’s cited "Layout printing" will be described as an example of editing contents of para. 0057 of Applicant’s disclosure citing editing such as "Layout printing" will be described as an example of editing contents. Based on print setting information of "layout printing" received from the OS, the print data editing unit 214 changes the layout of intermediate data or print data. Furthermore, the print data editing unit 214 can display a UI screen on the display unit 119, and can display the layout result of the intermediate data or the print data as a preview screen” further embodying said editing data).
Regarding claim 27 (according to claim 26), Kohata further implies wherein editing of the data is a layout change (the print preview layout screen of the disclosure and Figs. 9).
Regarding claim 28 (according to claim 26), Kohata further implies wherein the data is intermediate data or print data interpretable by the image forming apparatus, and edited data is transmitted to the image forming apparatus (the generated and converted data of at least Figs. 6-15 further comprising said intermediate data or print data interpretable by the image forming apparatus, and edited data is transmitted to the image forming apparatus).
Regarding claim 29 (according to claim 28), Kohata further implies wherein the edited data is transmitted to the image forming apparatus as print data interpretable by the image forming apparatus, and printing is performed by the image forming apparatus based on the print data (the generated and converted data of at least Figs. 6-15 further comprising said preview layout edited data transmitted to the image forming apparatus as print data interpretable by the image forming apparatus, and printing is performed by the image forming apparatus based on the print data).
Regarding claim 30 (according to claim 25), Kohata further teaches wherein the print setting information is a Print Ticket (the print job of least Figs. 5-15 further comprises the print setting information obviously depicting in a case said Print Ticket).
Regarding claim 31 (according to claim 14), Kohata further teaches wherein the print function information generated by the IPP Class Driver is acquired (at least Figs. 5 and para. 0045 further teaches the print function information generated by the IPP Class Driver is acquired).
Regarding claim 32 (according to claim 7), Korata is silent regarding wherein the control method further comprises: storing, in a storage unit, the accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value.
Regarding claim 33 (according to claim 32), Korata is silent regarding wherein identification information for identifying the accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value is further stored in the storage unit.
Iwasaki further teaches at least in the disclosure and Fig. 2 using at least a standard print function application with extended internet print function to acquire printer compatibility settings such as “The settable list includes the name 201 of the paper feed method (holding unit) supported by the printer 130, the maximum paper width 202, the maximum paper height 203, the minimum paper width 204, the minimum paper height 205, and the paper feed method” and further configured in at least Fig. 4 for accepting via a user interface screen settable media size setting corresponding to the printer supported maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value as the user-defined paper size, said set print job comprise understoodly in the art the storing of the said user-defined paper size including identification information for identifying the accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value stored obviously in a storage means. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kohata in view of Iwasaki to include wherein said identification information for identifying the accepted values within the range of the maximum value and the minimum value is further stored in the storage unit, as discussed above, as Kohata in view of Iwasaki are in the same of endeavor employing methods and systems for acquiring from the printer supported printer page media size and notifying the printer of accepted page media size including a set maximum and minimum media size setting, Iwasaki’s ’s combination architecture of acquiring from said image forming apparatus, information representing specifically a maximum value and a minimum value of a sheet size supported by the said image forming apparatus, and accepted user setting of the accepted setting further complements the methods and systems of Kohata, in a sense that when combined with the combination architecture of Iwasaki, it further advantageously enables the IPP class driver and the methods and systems of Kohata to set values of a width and a height as an arbitrary paper size so that the values being within a range of the printer acquired maximum value and the minimum value obviously stored subsequently in a storage means prior to and/or after being transmitted to the printer where a downstream conflict in the printer is mitigated and further capably outputting a print output on the printer as desired by the said user, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 34 (according to claim 14), Kohata further teaches wherein the print function information is Print Device Capabilities (acquired data of at least para. 0035-0041).
Regarding claim 35 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: displaying, on a display unit, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from the image forming apparatus and a second identifier indicating the arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (Figs. 5-15 further comprises displayed first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from the image forming apparatus and a second identifier indicating the arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 09/03/2026