Filed IDS of 07/09/2024 and 03/11/2024 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claims limitations of “a display unit”, “an acceptance unit”, and “a notification unit” of (claims 1, 7, and 13) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “to” coupled with functional language “display”, “accept”, or “notify” (claims 1, 7, and 13) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-13 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
• (“a display unit”, “an acceptance unit”, and “a notification unit”) – Specification [0060]– [0069], It appears that the corresponding structure each of which represents a component and/or hardware of the host computer.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (US 2021/0271438, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kanamori teaches control method implemented by executing a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus that stores a general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver (software 04 of at least para. 0024-0027 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 01 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0024, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver), comprising:
displaying, on a display unit of the information processing apparatus, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least Figs. 2-4 and para. 0035-0039 on a display dialog 30 one or more first size identifier 37 of further illustrated in Figs. 2-4 comprising printer further supported settings corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and a further received second user size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates a step of selecting the register icon of further Figs. 2- 4 which causes the system or application 02 indicative of a drawing application as understood in the art for accepting obviously said second user paper size identifier 31/33/45 for printing);
and notifying an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system further configured in at least Fig. 3 to transmit, subsequent to activating icon 49, the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the user selected paper size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 further indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Kanamori further teaches wherein further comprising receiving information about a size settable as a paper size (user settable size 37 of Figs. 2-4); wherein based on the received information about the size, it is determined whether the accepted paper size can be set (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Kanamori further teaches wherein further comprising: storing, in the information processing apparatus, information based on the capability information acquired from the image forming apparatus (para. 0047); and adding information representing the arbitrary paper size to the stored information (as implied further in para. 0045).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Kanamori further teaches wherein further comprising displaying a screen for setting a paper size corresponding to the arbitrary paper size (Figs. 2-6 and para. 0047).
Regarding claim 7, Kanamori teaches at least in para. 0093 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application that extends a function of a general-purpose printer driver at least in para. 0024-0027 configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol, wherein a control method (para. 0016) implemented by executing the print setting application comprises:
displaying, on a display unit, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least Figs. 2-4 and para. 0035-0039 on a display dialog 30 one or more first size identifier 37 of further illustrated in Figs. 2-4 comprising printer further supported settings corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and a further received second user size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates a step of selecting the register icon of further Figs. 2- 4 which causes the system as understood in the art for accepting obviously said second user paper size identifier 31/33/45 for printing);
and notifying an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system further configured in at least Fig. 3 to transmit, subsequent to activating icon 49, the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the user selected paper size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 further indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 7), Kanamori further teaches wherein the control method further comprising receiving information about a size settable as a paper size (user settable size 37 of Figs. 2-4); wherein based on the received information about the size, it is determined whether the accepted paper size can be set (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 7), Kanamori further teaches wherein the control method further comprises: storing, in the information processing apparatus, information based on the capability information acquired from the image forming apparatus (para. 0047); and adding information representing the arbitrary paper size to the stored information (as implied further in para. 0045).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 7), Kanamori further teaches wherein the control method further comprises displaying a screen for setting a paper size corresponding to the arbitrary paper size (Figs. 2-6 and para. 0047).
Regarding claim 13, Kanamori teaches an information processing apparatus 01 that stores a general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol (OS 04 of para. 0024 and Fig. 1 comprising said general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol) comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 1 and para. 0026) and at least one processor (unit 05 of Fig. 1 and para. 0027) which function as:
a display unit configured to display, on the information processing apparatus, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least Figs. 2-5 and para. 0035-0039 on a display dialog 30 one or more first size identifier 37 of further illustrated in Figs. 2-4 comprising printer further supported settings corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and a further received second user size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
an acceptance unit configured to accept a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates an application 02 of para. 0027 and Figs. 1- 4 serving as a drawing application (emphasis added, applicant specification para. 0060 and 0069 cites the drawing application 201 as the acceptance and notifying units) to comprise as understood in the art said acceptance unit for accepting obviously said second user paper size identifier 31/33/45 for printing); and
a notification unit configured to notify an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates an application 02 of para. 0027 and Figs. 1- 4 serving as a drawing application (emphasis added, applicant specification para. 0060 and 0069 cites the drawing application 201 as the acceptance and notifying units) to comprise as understood in the art said acceptance unit for accepting obviously said second user paper size identifier 31/33/45 for printing) configured to transmit, subsequent to activating icon 49, the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the user selected paper size identifier 31/33/45 of Figs. 2-4 further indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Claims 1-13 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Kohata et al. (US 2021/0334050, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kohata teaches control method implemented by executing a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus that stores a general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver (software 202 of at least para. 0035-0040 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 11 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0040, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver), comprising:
displaying, on a display unit of the information processing apparatus, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received arbitrary second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 and of para. 0067 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (Fig. 6, S 603 illustrates a step wherein the system as implied accepting due to a match score a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier);
and notifying an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system further configured in at least S609 of Fig. 6 to transmit the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprising receiving information about a size settable as a paper size (user settable size of Figs. 12 or 15); wherein based on the received information about the size, it is determined whether the accepted paper size can be set (the at least size decision of further Figs. 15).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 2), Kohata further teaches wherein the information about the size settable as the paper size is information representing a maximum value and a minimum value of a paper size supported by the image forming apparatus (settable of at least Fig. 15 further includes as illustrated further in Fig. 12 information about the size settable as the paper size is information representing a maximum value and a minimum value of a paper size supported by the image forming apparatus).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 3), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprising making a notification on condition that a size set by a user is a value larger than the maximum value or a value smaller than the minimum value (the alternative setting notification of at least Fig. 15 as understood in the art may comprise obviously one of an alert notification on condition that a size set by a user is a value larger than the maximum value or a value smaller than the minimum value).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprising: storing, in the information processing apparatus, information based on the capability information acquired from the image forming apparatus (para. 0045); and adding information representing the arbitrary paper size to the stored information (setting sizes of para. 0045).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprising displaying a screen for setting a paper size corresponding to the arbitrary paper size (Figs. 3-4, 12, and 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kohata teaches at least in the Abstract a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print setting application that extends a function of a general-purpose printer driver (software 202 of at least para. 0035-0040 is configured to implement and execute a print setting application that is stored in an information processing apparatus 11 that stores a standard or general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of further para. 0040, and extends a function of the general-purpose printer driver), configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol,
wherein a control method (the Abstract) implemented by executing the print setting application comprises:
displaying, on a display unit, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
accepting a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (Fig. 6, S 603 illustrates a step wherein the system as implied accepting due to a match score a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier);
and notifying an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system further configured in at least S609 of Fig. 6 to transmit the print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises receiving information about a size settable as a paper size (user settable size of Figs. 12 or 15); wherein based on the received information about the size, it is determined whether the accepted paper size can be set (the at least size decision of further Figs. 15).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 8), Kohata further teaches wherein the information about the size settable as the paper size is information representing a maximum value and a minimum value of a paper size supported by the image forming apparatus (settable of at least Fig. 15 further includes as illustrated further in Fig. 12 information about the size settable as the paper size is information representing a maximum value and a minimum value of a paper size supported by the image forming apparatus).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 9), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises making a notification on condition that a size set by a user is a value larger than the maximum value or a value smaller than the minimum value (the alternative setting notification of at least Fig. 15 as understood in the art may comprise obviously one of an alert notification on condition that a size set by a user is a value larger than the maximum value or a value smaller than the minimum value).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein further comprises: storing, in the information processing apparatus, information based on the capability information acquired from the image forming apparatus (para. 0045); and adding information representing the arbitrary paper size to the stored information (setting sizes of para. 0045).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 7), Kohata further teaches wherein the control method further comprises displaying a screen for setting a paper size corresponding to the arbitrary paper size (Figs. 3-4, 12, and 15).
Regarding claim 13, Kohata teaches an information processing apparatus that stores a general-purpose printer driver configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol (Fig. 1 teaches the apparatus 11 that stores a general-purpose printer driver of para. 0026 configured to inquire about capability information in accordance with the Internet Printing Protocol of at least para. 0040), comprising: at least one memory 106/101 and at least one processor 202 which function as: a display unit configured to display, on the information processing apparatus, a first identifier corresponding to a specific paper size acquired from a printer and a second identifier indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing (display further in at least para. 0042-0045 on a display unit 31/201/37 one or more first size identifier 1202/1502 of further illustrated in Figs. 12, 15 further supported by Figs. 3-5 corresponding to a specific paper size acquired and supported from a printer and a further received second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating an arbitrary paper size as candidates of a paper size to be used for printing);
an acceptance unit configured to accept a setting of a paper size corresponding to the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates a drawing application 201 serving as said acceptance unit similarly (emphasis added, applicant specification para. 0060 and 0069 cites the drawing application 201 as the acceptance and notifying units) to comprise as understood in the art said acceptance unit for accepting obviously said second user paper size identifier 31/33/45 for printing);
and a notification unit configured to notify an image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second identifier (the system of Figs 2-4 further illustrates a drawing application 201 serving as said notification unit similarly (emphasis added, applicant specification para. 0060 and 0069 cites the drawing application 201 as the acceptance and notifying units) to comprise as understood in the art said notification unit adapted for transmitting said print data and job content to the printer essentially in the art notifying said image forming apparatus of the paper size based on selection of the second user size identifier 1502 of Fig. 15 or 1206-1208 of Fig. 12 and/or 35/46 of Figs. 3-4 indicating said paper size to be used for printing).
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 04/13/2026