DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2024 and 07/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma et al. (US 2019/0122553 A1) in view of Uppal et al. (US 2014/0266801 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8-9 and 16-17, Sakuma discloses a method of assisting a driver in finding an available parking spot by estimating parking spot availability (e.g. Abstract & [0089]), a non-transitory data storage medium comprising programming instructions (e.g. [0090]), and a system for estimating parking spot availability (e.g. Abstract), the system comprising:
a plurality of image sensors (e.g. Fig. 2: 170 camera on each vehicle within parking facility) mounted to a plurality of vehicles (e.g. Fig. 1: 100) and configured to generate images associated with an environment about the plurality of vehicles (e.g. [0027]: obtain image regarding vacant parking spaces from each vehicle in the parking facility); and one or more processors (e.g. Fig. 2: 181) in communication with the plurality of image sensors and programmed to: execute image processing to determine a presence of parking spots in the images and whether other vehicles are located in the parking spots (e.g. [0053]); determine an occupancy status of each parking spot over time based upon the image processing (e.g. [0057-0060]); store the occupancy status of each parking spot in storage to yield a historical occupancy status (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0063]); define a first set of the parking spots as being located within a first common geographical region (e.g. Figs. 6-7: searching range); and display the estimated occupancy status of the first parking spot on a display device associated with a first vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (e.g. [0078-0081, 0086]: display search result).
Sakuma fails to disclose, but Uppal teaches:
determine an average parking spot availability (e.g. [0041]: average purchase time corresponds to historical parking stall availability) of the first set of parking spots based on the historical occupancy status associated with the first set of parking spots (e.g. [0041]: historical occupancy); generate an estimated occupancy status of a first parking spot of the first set of parking spots, wherein the estimated occupancy status is based on a last-known occupancy status of the first parking spot and the average parking spot availability associated with the first set of parking spots (e.g. [0041]: probable score of parking stalls based on expiration time corresponds to current, i.e. last known, parking spot occupancy).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sakuma with the teachings of Uppal to improve accuracy on determining parking spot vacancy by utilizing last known and historical data.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Sakuma discloses define a second set of the parking spots as being located within a second common geographical region; and determine a weighted average parking spot availability of the second set of parking spots based on the historical occupancy status associated with the second set of parking spots; wherein the weighted average parking spot availability of the second set of parking spots is different than the average parking spot availability of the first set of parking spots (e.g. [0086]: different regions with different numbers of vacant parking spaces).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Sakuma discloses determine a plurality of average parking spot availabilities of the first set of parking spots for a corresponding plurality of time windows, each time window having a different average parking spot availability (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0067-0069]: based on different request times, different search results for different time windows vacant parking space predicted to be available will be provided).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20. The system of claim 3, Sakuma discloses the plurality of time windows includes a first time window, and wherein the estimated occupancy status is based upon the average parking spot availability corresponding to the first time window (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0067-0069]: based on different request times, different search results for different time windows vacant parking space predicted to be available will be provided).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Sakuma discloses the first time window corresponds with a current time (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0067-0069]: based on different request times, different search results for different time windows vacant parking space predicted to be available will be provided) in which the estimated occupancy status is displayed on the display device (e.g. [0078-0081, 0086]: display search result).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Uppal teaches each time window corresponds to a time of day (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0067-0069]: based on different request times, different search results for different time windows vacant parking space predicted to be available will be provided), a week of the year, or a month of the year.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Sakuma discloses the estimated occupancy status of the first parking spot is displayed on the display device along with a location of the first parking spot relative to a current location of the first vehicle (e.g. [0078-0081, 0086]: display search result).
Conclusion
/KAM WAN MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2688