DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2024 and 03/12/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al (US 20070013346 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a method for controlling charging of a battery pack including a plurality of cells in a battery management system, (¶0025 “ FIG. 1, an apparatus for controlling charging of a battery”)
the method comprising: checking identification information of a charging device connected to the battery pack; (¶0026 “charging module 17 also includes a voltage detecting module 9 for detecting the voltage of the battery pack 13, and a charge controller 7 for receiving information about a battery current and information about a battery voltage from the current detecting module 11 and the voltage detecting module 9”, ¶0028 “FIG. 3, the battery pack 13 includes a controller 25 used for providing battery information to the charging module 17”)
and controlling charging of the battery pausing the charging device based on a charging stop voltage and a charging stop current stored in response to the identification information of the charging device. (¶0029 “[FIG 4] controller 2 inside the battery pack 13 requires charging of the battery 27, and the battery is not in a full charge (FC) state (500), the charging module 17 charges the battery using a preset charge voltage and a preset charge ending current based on a characteristic curve shown in FIG. 2 (510). If a voltage and a current charged in the battery reach the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current, respectively, the charging is completed and a full charge bit (FC bit) of the controller 25 inside the battery pack 13 is set (520)”)
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Oh further teaches wherein the checking comprises: [disconnecting the battery pack and the charging device] and measuring a charging voltage of the charging device; (¶0027 “charge control characteristic of the charge controller 7 is shown FIG. 2. A connection module 15 is included between the charging module 17 and the battery pack 13 to connect the charging module 17 with the battery pack 13”)
and setting the charging voltage of the charging device as the identification information of the charging device. (¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Oh FIG 1 depicts switching module 3 to connect and disconnect the power input module 1 and charging module 17 as well as connection module 15 to connect and disconnect the battery pack 13 from charging module 17. Oh does not explicitly disclose disconnecting the battery pack and charging; however a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand connection module 15 to be a point of user-interaction. Thereby a user can disconnect the battery pack and the charging device.
Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Oh further teaches wherein the controlling charging of the battery pack comprises: monitoring a cell voltage of at least one first cell among the plurality of cells and a cell current flowing through the plurality of cells while the battery pack is being charged; (¶0027 “charge control characteristic of the charge controller 7 is shown FIG. 2. A connection module 15 is included between the charging module 17 and the battery pack 13 to connect the charging module 17 with the battery pack 13”)
and adjusting the charging stop voltage and the charging stop current based on the cell voltage and the cell current. (¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Oh further teaches wherein the controlling charging of the battery pack comprises: setting a default value of the charging stop voltage and a default value of the charging stop current set to specifications of the battery pack as initial values of the charging stop voltage and charging stop current corresponding to the identification information of the charging device. (¶0029 “charging module 17 charges the battery using a preset charge voltage and a preset charge ending current based on a characteristic curve shown in FIG. 2 (510)”)
The method as taught by Oh updates the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current; however it necessarily uses a default value during the initial charging cycle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh modified by Kawabe et al (US 20200335998 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches the method as claimed in claim 3. Oh further teaches wherein the adjusting comprises: stopping charging if the cell voltage reaches the charging stop voltage; (¶0029 “If a voltage and a current charged in the battery reach the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current, respectively, the charging is completed and a full charge bit (FC bit) of the controller 25 inside the battery pack 13 is set (520)”, FIG 4 step 520 “charge stop”)
[measuring an open circuit voltage of the first cell;]
and changing the charging stop voltage if the open circuit voltage of the first cell does not satisfy a full charge voltage of the battery pack. (¶0054 “if the present full charge capacity is less than the design capacity (300), a value of "1" is added to a value allocated for the full charge bit… embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330). The embedded controller 100 then delivers the adjusted charge voltage and the adjusted cut-off current value to the charging module 160”)
Oh does not teach wherein the adjusting comprises: stopping charging if the cell voltage reaches the charging stop voltage; measuring an open circuit voltage of the first cell;
Kawabe teaches wherein the adjusting comprises: measuring an open circuit voltage of the first cell. (¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Oh wherein the adjusting comprises: measuring an open circuit voltage of the first cell as taught by Kawabe. Oh discloses a charging operation of a charging module which uses a charge voltage and a cut-off current to control charging and adjust the full charge capacity. Similarly, Kawabe discloses a method of operating an electricity storage system which uses a threshold voltage and a threshold current to correct the full charge capacity to be updated with the actual state of the battery. Both Oh and Kawabe have a similarly structure and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Kawabe’s voltage detection means 11a-11e which correspond to secondary battery groups 20a-20e in place of Oh’s voltage detecting module 9 and battery pack 13 respectively. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize the full-charge capacity of the battery while preventing overcharging.
Regarding claim 5, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the method as claimed in claim 4. Oh modified by Kawabe further teaches wherein the changing the charging stop voltage comprises: reducing the charging stop voltage by a set voltage; (Oh ¶0032 “a voltage control according to a battery charging operation is generally performed until a battery voltage detected during the battery charging operation is greater than a value obtained by subtracting the taper voltage value from the preset voltage value”)
and updating the reduced charging stop voltage in response to the identification information of the charging device. (Oh ¶0054 “[FIG 7] embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330)”)
Regarding claim 6, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the method as claimed in claim 4. Oh modified by Kawabe further teaches wherein the adjusting comprises: stopping charging if the cell current reaches the charging stop current; (Oh ¶0037 “A charge ending current (a cut-off current) may be set at a preset value”, Oh ¶0029 “[FIG 4] If a voltage and a current charged in the battery reach the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current, respectively, the charging is completed and a full charge bit (FC bit) of the controller 25 inside the battery pack 13 is set (520)”)
measuring an open circuit voltage of at least one second cell among the plurality of cells; (Kawabe ¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
and changing the charging stop current if the open circuit voltage of at least one second cell does not satisfy a full charge voltage of the battery pack. (Oh ¶0054 “present full charge capacity is less than the design capacity (300)… embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330). The embedded controller 100 then delivers the adjusted charge voltage and the adjusted cut-off current value to the charging module 160”, Kawabe ¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
The method as taught by Oh modified by Kawambe has a voltage sensing section 11a-11e to detect the open circuit voltage across each secondary cell group 20a-20e respectively. As disclosed in Oh FIG 7, if the full charge capacity is less than the previously measured design capacity then the voltage would necessarily not satisfy a full charge voltage. Thereby if any of the secondary cell groups 20a-20e are measured using individual voltage sensing sections 11a-11e to be below a full charge voltage, then in accordance with Oh Fig 7 step 330 the cut-off current value would be adjusted.
Regarding claim 7, Oh modified by Kawambe teaches method as claimed in claim 6. Oh modified by Kawambe wherein the changing the charging stop current comprises: [reducing the charging stop current by a set current;]
and updating the reduced charging stop current in response to the identification information of the charging device. (Oh ¶0054 “present full charge capacity is less than the design capacity (300)… embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330). The embedded controller 100 then delivers the adjusted charge voltage and the adjusted cut-off current value to the charging module 160”)
Oh as modified by Kawabe does not teach wherein the changing the charging stop current comprises: reducing the charging stop current by a set current.
Kawabe teaches wherein the changing the charging stop current comprises: reducing the charging stop current by a set current. (¶0043 “if a cut-off current of A (150 mA) and a voltage of D (12.6V) are combined with each other, the full charge bit 140 allocated to the embedded controller 100 becomes "000". If a cut-off current of B (100 mA) and a voltage of D (12.6V) are combined with each other, the full charge bit 140 allocated to the embedded controller 100 becomes "001". If a cut-off current of C (50 mA) and a voltage of D (12.6V) are combined with each other, the full charge bit 140 allocated to the embedded controller 100 becomes "010"”)
The description of adjusting the cut-off current in Kawabe ¶0043 decreases each subsequent cut-off current by 50mA, thereby reducing the cut-off current by a set current amount.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the method as taught by Oh modified by Kawabe wherein the changing the charging stop current comprises: reducing the charging stop current by a set current as further taught by Kawabe. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize the full-charge capacity of the battery while preventing overcharging.
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches an apparatus for controlling charge of a battery pack, (¶0025 “FIG. 1, an apparatus for controlling charging of a battery through a fixed-charge type charging technique includes a battery constructed in a shape of a cell array inside a battery pack 13”)
the apparatus comprising: a cell voltage measurement part [that measures a cell voltage of each of a plurality of cells]; (¶0026 “charging module 17 also includes a voltage detecting module 9 for detecting the voltage of the battery pack 13, and a charge controller 7 for receiving information about a battery current and information about a battery voltage from the current detecting module 11 and the voltage detecting module 9”)
a cell current measurement part that measures cell current flowing through the plurality of cells; (¶0026 “charging module 17 includes a current detecting module 11 for detecting a charge current of the battery pack 13 with a current sensor 5”)
a storage part that stores a charging stop voltage and a charging stop current for each identification information of the charging device; (¶0026 “a charge controller 7 for receiving information about a battery current and information about a battery voltage from the current detecting module 11 and the voltage detecting module 9”)
and a controller that checks identification information of a first charging device connected to the battery pack, (¶0026 “a charge controller 7 for receiving information about a battery current and information about a battery voltage from the current detecting module 11 and the voltage detecting module 9”)
controls charging of the battery pack using the first charging device based on a charging stop voltage and a charging stop current stored in response to the identification information of the charging device, (¶0029 “[FIG 4] controller 2 inside the battery pack 13 requires charging of the battery 27, and the battery is not in a full charge (FC) state (500), the charging module 17 charges the battery using a preset charge voltage and a preset charge ending current based on a characteristic curve shown in FIG. 2 (510). If a voltage and a current charged in the battery reach the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current, respectively, the charging is completed and a full charge bit (FC bit) of the controller 25 inside the battery pack 13 is set (520)”)
and adjusts at least one of the charging stop voltage and the charging stop current stored in response to identification information of the first charging device based on the cell voltage and the cell current. (¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Oh does not teach the apparatus comprising: a cell voltage measurement part that measures a cell voltage of each of a plurality of cells.
Kawabe teaches the apparatus comprising: a cell voltage measurement part that measures a cell voltage of each of a plurality of cells. (Kawabe ¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the apparatus as taught by Oh wherein the adjusting comprises: measuring an open circuit voltage of the first cell as taught by Kawabe. Oh discloses a charging module which uses a charge voltage and a cut-off current to control charging and adjust the full charge capacity. Similarly, Kawabe discloses an electricity storage system which uses a threshold voltage and a threshold current to correct the full charge capacity to be updated with the actual state of the battery. Both Oh and Kawabe have a similarly structure and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Kawabe’s voltage detection means 11a-11e which correspond to secondary battery groups 20a-20e in place of Oh’s voltage detecting module 9 and battery pack 13 respectively. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maximize the full-charge capacity of the battery while preventing overcharging.
Regarding claim 11, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the apparatus for controlling charge as claimed in claim 9. Oh modified by Kawabe further teaches wherein the controller stops charging if a cell voltage of a first cell among the plurality of cells reaches the charging stop voltage, measures an open circuit voltage of the first cell and reduces the charging stop voltage if the open circuit voltage of the first cell does not satisfy a full charge voltage of the battery pack. (Oh ¶0054 “present full charge capacity is less than the design capacity (300)… embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330). The embedded controller 100 then delivers the adjusted charge voltage and the adjusted cut-off current value to the charging module 160”, Kawabe ¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
The apparatus as taught by Oh modified by Kawambe has a voltage sensing section 11a-11e to detect the open circuit voltage across each secondary cell group 20a-20e respectively. As disclosed in Oh FIG 7, if the full charge capacity is less than the previously measured design capacity then the voltage would necessarily not satisfy a full charge voltage. Thereby if any of the secondary cell groups 20a-20e are measured using individual voltage sensing sections 11a-11e to be below a full charge voltage, then in accordance with Oh Fig 7 step 330 the cut-off current value would be adjusted.
Regarding claim 12, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the apparatus for controlling charge as claimed in claim 11. Oh modified by Kawabe wherein the controller updates the charging stop voltage stored in response to the identification information of the first charging device to the reduced charge stop voltage. (Oh ¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Regarding claim 13, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the apparatus for controlling charge as claimed in claim 9. Oh modified by Kawabe further teaches wherein the controller stops charging if the cell current reaches the charging stop current, (Oh ¶0029 “[FIG 4] If a voltage and a current charged in the battery reach the preset charge voltage and the preset charge ending current, respectively, the charging is completed and a full charge bit (FC bit) of the controller 25 inside the battery pack 13 is set (520)”)
measures an open circuit voltage of a second cell among the plurality of cells, (Kawabe ¶0036 “voltage sensing sections 11a to 11e are sections each provided corresponding to the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e and configured to sense the voltages of the secondary cell groups 20a to 20e”)
and reduces the charging stop current if the open circuit voltage of the second cell does not satisfy a full charge voltage of the battery pack. (Oh ¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Regarding claim 14, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the apparatus for controlling charge as claimed in claim 13. Oh modified by Kawabe wherein the controller updates the charging stop current stored in response to the identification information of the first charging device to the reduced charging stop current. (Oh ¶0054 “embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330).”)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh modified by Kawabe and further in view of Hu et al (US 20250030262 A1), Hu has a priority date of 02/16/2023 corresponding to application PCT/CN2023/076385.
Regarding claim 10, Oh modified by Kawabe teaches the apparatus for controlling charge as claimed in claim 9. Oh modified by Kawabe further teaches wherein the controller disconnects the battery pack (Oh ¶0027 “charge control characteristic of the charge controller 7 is shown FIG. 2. A connection module 15 is included between the charging module 17 and the battery pack 13 to connect the charging module 17 with the battery pack 13”)
[and the first charging device, measures a charging voltage of the first charging device]
and sets the charging voltage [of the first charging device] as the identification information. (Oh ¶0054 “[FIG 7] embedded controller 100 adjusts the charge voltage and the cut-off current value based on a value allocated for the adjusted full charge bit (330)”)
Oh FIG 1 depicts switching module 3 to connect and disconnect the power input module 1 and charging module 17 as well as connection module 15 to connect and disconnect the battery pack 13 from charging module 17. Oh does not explicitly disclose disconnecting the battery pack and charging; however a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand connection module 15 to be a point of user-interaction. Thereby a user can disconnect the battery pack and the charging device.
Oh modified by Kawabe does not teach and the first charging device, measures a charging voltage of the first charging device.
Hu teaches wherein the first charging device, measures a charging voltage of the first charging device. (¶0068 “a difference between a nominal battery value and the actual charging cutoff voltage value is calculated, a register configuration is adjusted based on the difference, and the charging chip of the electronic device is calibrated and trimmed.”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the apparatus for controlling charge as taught by Oh modified by Kawabe wherein the first charging device, measures a charging voltage of the first charging device as taught by Hu. Oh modified by Kawabe discloses a charging apparatus which adjusts the full charge capacity based on the current battery parameters, similarly Hu discloses a charging apparatus which adjusts the full charge capacity based on battery parameters. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure a battery life and power consumption safety of an electronic device.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: unclear punctuation. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 2 presents the limitation “disconnecting the battery pack and the charging device and measuring a charging voltage of the charging device”, which would benefit and improve clarity by adding punctuation. The limitation would be more clear if it instead read “Claim 2 presents the limitation “disconnecting the battery pack and the charging device, and measuring a charging voltage of the charging device”
Claim 7 is objected to due to indefinite language. The term “a set current” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a set current” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner suggests amending the claim to state “a set current amount”, and further elaborate on the meets and bounds of the relative term “amount”.
Claim 10 is objected to due to indefinite language. The limitation “disconnects the battery pack and the first charging device” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “disconnects the battery pack and the first charging device” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner suggests amending the claim to state “disconnects the battery pack and from the first charging device”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of an unlabeled y-axis. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
FIG 2 is a graph which is missing descriptive axis labels which include units. FIG 2 depicts an overlay of both a current measurement and a voltage measurement, each of which requires a y-axis label to clearly depict the concept. Further the “reference value” label does not descriptively show the value of the point it refers to, please include a value associated with “reference value”.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING THE CHARGE OF A BATTERY PACK BY CHANGING THE FULL CHARGE CAPACITY OF A BATTERY PACK BASED ON CHARGING STOP VOLTAGE AND CHARGING STOP CURRENT”
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Namikawa et al (US 20220115890 A1) discloses a control device for a secondary battery based on battery characteristics on an open circuit voltage to a remaining capacity of the secondary battery
Okamura et al (US 20100201323 A1) discloses a battery pack and battery pack capacity calculating apparatus and method which calculates the full charge capacity at the end of each charging cycle.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859