Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference numeral 51 corresponds to multiple elements, and the terms corresponding to each wall of the enclosure are inconsistent. For example, in [0021] the specification states, “in embodiments of either the permanent or the BESS or MBESS may comprise an enclosure for the battery rack, battery modules, and other components. The enclosure 50 may comprise a left side wall 51, a right side wall 53, and a roof 52. The battery module containers 40A-C 41A-C and the front wall 51 define a third flow channel for air flow and cooling. In another embodiment, the second container and the first side wall further define the third flow channel for air flow and cooling.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “…wherein the enclosure comprises roof surface and the roof surface comprises at least one over pressure vent in the roof surface,” lacks the required indefinite articles before "roof surface.” In addition, a comma should be inserted after the first instance of "roof surface” in order to clarify the scope of the claim.
Applicant is requested to amend the claim language to recite, "…wherein the enclosure comprises a roof surface, and the roof surface comprises at least one over pressure vent in the roof surface," if that is what is intended for the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites “…wherein the at least one inverter converts D/C electricity to A/C electricity.” The word “the” should be removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a mobile battery electrical storage system, comprising: a trailer comprising an enclosure and a trailer base comprising wheels and a trailer base” in line 2. This limitation is indefinite; it is structurally unclear how the "trailer base" can comprise itself. This circular recitation leaves the metes and bounds of the claimed trailer base ambiguous, as a person of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the physical relationship or structural boundaries intended by a component comprising itself. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation “a mobile battery electrical storage system, comprising: a trailer comprising an enclosure and a trailer base comprising wheels and a trailer base” is interpreted as a trailer comprising an enclosure and a trailer base, wherein the trailer base comprises wheels, pending further clarification from Applicant.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “…the enclosure comprises a first side wall and the first battery module and the front wall define a third flow channel for air flow and cooling.”
First, the recitation "the front wall" lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that "the front wall" is a newly introduced structural component of the enclosure. Appropriate correction may include amending the claim to introduce this element using an indefinite article (e.g., "a front wall").
Second, the claim introduces "a first side wall," but this term is not clearly defined or supported in the claims nor specification. It is unclear whether "a first side wall" is structurally distinct from, or identical to, the improperly introduced "front wall." This confusion is compounded by the specification, which inconsistently uses reference numeral 51 for both a front wall and a left side wall ([0021]). Since the boundaries of the "first side wall" cannot be determined in light of the description, the claim is indefinite.
Third, the phrase "...the enclosure comprises a first side wall and the first battery module and the front wall define..." is grammatically ambiguous and confusing as written. It is unclear if the front wall is part of the enclosure's definition or a separate entity altogether. Appropriate correction may include inserting a comma after “a first side wall” and amending the claim to recite “...the enclosure comprises a first side wall, and the first battery module and the front wall define..." if that is what is intended for the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “…wherein second container and the first side wall further define the third flow channel for air flow and cooling. The recitation "second container" lacks proper antecedent basis, as this limitation has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is unclear.
In light of the specification ([0010]-[0011]), it is interpreted that the first and second containers are a part of the first and second battery modules, respectively, and that “a battery module may have a container comprising a plurality of battery cells within a container.”
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the enclosure comprises a back wall and the first battery module and the back wall define a fourth flow channel for the air flow and cooling.” The claim introduces "a back wall," but this term is not clearly defined or supported in the claims nor specification. It is unclear whether "a back wall" is structurally distinct from, or identical to, the other walls of the enclosure. Since the boundaries of the "the back wall" cannot be determined in light of the description, the claim is indefinite.
In addition, the phrase "... the enclosure comprises a back wall and the first battery module and the back wall define…" is grammatically ambiguous and confusing as written. It is unclear if the back wall is part of the enclosure's definition or a separate entity altogether. Appropriate correction may include inserting a comma after “…the enclosure comprises a back wall” and amending the claim to recite “...the enclosure comprises a back wall, and the first battery module and the back wall define..." if that is what is intended for the scope of the claim.
In addition, the claim recites “…the enclosure comprises a back wall and the first battery module and the back wall define a fourth flow channel for the air flow and cooling.” It is unclear if the claim is referring to a separate limitation, “the air flow and cooling,” or if the claim is referring to general air flow and cooling within the enclosure at a specific location, such as in claim 3, wherein claim 3 states “…wherein second container and the first side wall further define the third flow channel for air flow and cooling.” If it is intended to be a separate component or limitation, “the air flow and cooling,” then there is a lack of proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “…wherein the enclosure comprises a second side wall and the first battery module and the second side wall define a fifth flow channel for the air flow and cooling.
The claim introduces "a second side wall," but this term is not clearly defined or supported in the claims nor specification. It is unclear whether "a second side wall" is structurally distinct from, or identical to, the other walls of the enclosure. Since the boundaries of the "the second side wall" cannot be determined in light of the description, the claim is indefinite.
In addition, the phrase “…wherein the enclosure comprises a second side wall and the first battery module and the second side wall define a fifth flow channel for the air flow and cooling,” is grammatically ambiguous and confusing as written. It is unclear if the second side wall is part of the enclosure's definition or a separate entity altogether. Appropriate correction may include inserting a comma after “…the enclosure comprises a second side wall” and amending the claim to recite “...the enclosure comprises a second side wall, and the first battery module and the second side wall define..." if that is what is intended for the scope of the claim.
In addition, the claim recites “…wherein the enclosure comprises a second side wall and the first battery module and the second side wall define a fifth flow channel for the air flow and cooling.” It is unclear if the claim is referring to a separate limitation, “the air flow and cooling,” or if the claim is referring to general air flow and cooling within the enclosure at a specific location, such as in claim 3, wherein claim 3 states “…wherein second container and the first side wall further define the third flow channel for air flow and cooling.” If it is intended to be a separate component or limitation, “the air flow and cooling,” then there is a lack of proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “…the roof surface comprises at least one over pressure vent in the roof surface.” The claim introduces an "over pressure vent," but this term is not clearly defined or supported in the claims nor specification. It is unclear whether an "over pressure vent" is structurally distinct from, or identical to, the passive explosion mitigation vent (60) installed in the roof of the enclosure, as recited in the instant specification ([0023]). Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Regarding claims 18-19, the claim recites “…wherein the photovoltaic solar panels are mounted slidably on top of the trailer enclosure.” Accordingly, it is unclear if the phrase “…on top of the trailer enclosure,” refers to the general top of the enclosure ([0032]) or a specific structural limitation “a top” of the enclosure. If the latter, the limitation “a top" has not previously been introduced in the claims and therefore this limitation lacks proper antecedent basis, and claim 19 recites “the top of the trailer body”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6-8, 10-17, and 21-31 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 16-21, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), and further in view of Isshiki (WO2018230234A1) and Park (KR20230025289A).
Regarding claim 1, Glidden teaches:
A mobile battery electrical storage system (a portable solar power system comprises a trailer and a rectangular box-like compartment, claim 1; the box-like compartment 14 may house a battery system, pg. 011 lines 49-58) comprising:
a trailer comprising an enclosure and a trailer base (the portable solar power system comprises a trailer and a rectangular box-like compartment, claim 1), wherein
the trailer base comprises wheels (the trailer includes a box-like compartment 14 that is mounted upon a pair of wheels 16, pg. 011 lines 49-53);
an inverter (the trailer includes a box-like compartment 14 that serves as a shelter for ancillary equipment that may include a battery system and a DC to AC inverter, pg. 011 lines 49-57)
However, Glidden does not expressly teach:
at least one inverter is mounted on the battery rack, and the mobile battery electrical storage system comprising
the battery rack comprising a first shelf for receiving a first battery module, a second shelf for receiving a second battery module, a third shelf for receiving a third battery module, and
a first battery module on the first shelf, a second battery module on the second shelf, and a third battery module on the third shelf and
the first battery module and the second battery module define a first flow channel for air flow and cooling
and the second battery module and the third battery module define a second flow channel for air flow and cooling.
Isshiki discloses a power supply device and a container comprising a storage battery board with a rack (i.e. a battery rack), wherein the rack is provided with a plurality of shelves to store battery modules (rack R1, [0041], Fig. 4). Thus, Isshiki further discloses the battery rack comprises a first shelf for receiving a first battery module, a second shelf for receiving a second battery module, and a third shelf for receiving a third battery module (module(s) M, [0041]; see annotated Fig. 4 below). Isshiki further discloses a first battery module on the first shelf, a second battery module on the second shelf, and a third battery module on the third shelf and (module(s) M on the first, second, and third shelves, [0041]; see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding the limitation of at least one inverter being “mounted” on the battery rack, under the BRI standard, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the specification lacks any explicit mechanical mounting details or restrictive definitions of what it means to be "mounted," the term "mounted on" is interpreted broadly and encompasses any configuration where an inverter is physically supported by, secured to, positioned on top of, or structurally connected to the battery rack framework. Accordingly, Isshiki teaches that in the container, a circuit board such as “an AC/DC converter INV” (i.e. an inverter) and a DC input/output board is housed together with the storage battery board(s) ([0033]), which are supported by the battery rack (Fig. 2).
For air flow, Isshiki discloses that air conditioners are provided near the ceiling of the front surface and the back surface of the container in order to provide a flow of air that can cool the storage battery system ([0052]). Isshiki further discloses the first battery module and the second battery module define a first flow channel for air flow and cooling (see annotated Fig. 12 below), and the second battery module and the third battery module define a second flow channel for air flow and cooling (see annotated Fig. 12 below).
Annotated Figures 4 and 12 of Isshiki
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to comprise:
at least one inverter is mounted on the battery rack,
the battery rack comprising a first shelf for receiving a first battery module, a second shelf for receiving a second battery module, a third shelf for receiving a third battery module, and
a first battery module on the first shelf, a second battery module on the second shelf, and a third battery module on the third shelf and
the first battery module and the second battery module define a first flow channel for air flow and cooling
and the second battery module and the third battery module define a second flow channel for air flow and cooling,
as taught by Isshiki. A PHOSITA would be motivated to structure and position the battery modules within racks inside the trailer enclosure in order to optimize spatial efficiency, while providing efficient air flow between the battery modules ([0011]).
However, Glidden as modified by Isshiki does not expressly teach the mobile battery electrical storage system comprising a fire protection system and a fire safety and detection system and prevention system configured to activate the fire protection system.
Park discloses an energy storage system for fire suppression, including a container comprising a battery rack in which a plurality of battery modules are loaded (abstract; claim 1). Park further discloses a fire protection system and a fire safety and detection system and prevention system configured to activate the fire protection system (control unit 160 receives a fire occurrence signal from a fire detection sensor 150 to determine whether a fire has occurred and then applies an operation signal to the sonic fire extinguisher 130a when it is determined that a fire has occurred, [0063]; the fire detection sensor 150 may be a device that detects smoke due to combustion before heat is generated by a fire or a device that detects infrared rays or ultraviolet rays emitted from the light of a fire, [0061]-[0062]). Further, Park discloses that when the sonic fire extinguisher is installed on the battery rack, fire suppression can be attempted for each battery rack and efficient fire suppression is possible ([0068]). For fire prevention, Park discloses that by suppressing the fire of the energy storage device using a sonic fire extinguisher, the structure of the energy storage device is not damaged, so that the structure unaffected by the fire can be reused after the fire is extinguished. In addition, it can be used semi-permanently without using a separate fire extinguishing agent and provides the advantage of being able to perform fire prevention work ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to comprise a fire protection system and a fire safety and detection system and prevention system configured to activate the fire protection system, as taught by Park, in order to suitably manage the risk of fire while minimizing damage to the structure of the energy storage device ([0089]), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the enclosure comprises a first side wall, and the first battery module and the front wall define a third flow channel for air flow and cooling.
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface (see Fig. 4; claim 1). For air flow, Isshiki discloses that air conditioners are provided near the ceiling of the front surface and the back surface of the container in order to provide a flow of air that can cool the storage battery system ([0052]). Isshiki further discloses the battery modules and the front and back walls define flow channels for air flow and cooling (Fig. 10 below shows the front of the enclosure; arrows with diagonal lines represent air cooled by the air conditioners 13a and 13b,
[0050]).
Figure 10 of Isshiki
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Glidden to comprise a first side wall and to position the battery modules relative to the front wall to define a third flow channel for air flow and cooling, as taught by Isshiki, in order to provide more uniform cooling ([0003]) and prolong the life of the battery modules, since it is known that the degree of cooling affects the life of a battery module ([0004]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 2 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein a second container of battery modules and the first side wall further define the third flow channel for air flow and cooling.
Consistent with the 112(b) rejection above, it is interpreted that the first and second containers are a part of the first and second battery modules, respectively, and that a battery module may have a container comprising a plurality of battery cells within a container (Applicant, [0010]-[0011]).
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface (see Fig. 4; claim 1). Isshiki further discloses the container comprises a second container (or second battery module; Fig 4 shows a plurality of battery modules M).
For air flow, Isshiki discloses that air conditioners are provided near the ceiling of the front surface and the back surface of the container, in order to provide a flow of air that can cool the storage battery system ([0052]). Isshiki further discloses that cold air is supplied into the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board through openings formed in the floor and openings on the bottom surfaces of the respective storage battery boards and circuit boards; in addition, hot air generated from the battery modules flows from bottom to top inside the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board and is exhausted upward from the exhaust hole of the ceiling board ([0052]; Figs. 9-11). Thus, Isshiki discloses air flow channels between the battery modules (it is noted that the battery modules are composed of a plurality of single batteries, [0002]). Further, Isshiki discloses four ducts (15a, 15b, 15c, 15d; [0049]) extending vertically that are provided at four corners inside the container, which would inherently allow air flow between the battery racks and both side walls, in addition to the disclosed air flow between the front and back walls and the battery racks within the enclosure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the enclosure to comprise a second container of battery modules and to position the second container of battery modules relative to the first side wall to further define a third flow channel for air flow and cooling, as taught by Isshiki, in order to provide more uniform cooling ([0003]) and prolong the life of the battery modules, since it is known that the degree of cooling affects the life of a battery module ([0004]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 3 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the enclosure comprises a back wall, and the first battery module and the back wall define a fourth flow channel for the air flow and cooling.
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface (see Fig. 4; claim 1).
For air flow, Isshiki discloses that air conditioners are provided near the ceiling of the front surface and the back surface of the container, in order to provide a flow of air that can cool the storage battery system ([0052]). Isshiki further discloses that cold air is supplied into the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board through openings formed in the floor and openings on the bottom surfaces of the respective storage battery boards and circuit boards; in addition, hot air generated from the battery modules flows from bottom to top inside the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board and is exhausted upward from the exhaust hole of the ceiling board ([0052]; Figs. 9-11). Thus, Isshiki discloses air flow channels between the battery modules. Isshiki further discloses four ducts (15a, 15b, 15c, 15d; [0049]) extending vertically that are provided at four corners inside the container, which would allow air flow between the battery racks and both side walls, in addition to the disclosed air flow between the front and back walls and the battery racks within the enclosure (Figs. 9-11). Thus, Isshiki discloses air flow channels between the battery modules, racks, side walls, and front and back walls.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the enclosure to comprise a back wall and to position the battery modules relative to the back wall to define a fourth flow channel for air flow and cooling, as taught by Isshiki, in order to provide more uniform cooling ([0003]) and prolong the life of the battery modules, since it is known that the degree of cooling affects the life of a battery module ([0004]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 4 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the enclosure comprises a second side wall, and the first battery module and the second side wall define a fifth flow channel for air flow and cooling.
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface (see Fig. 4; claim 1).
For air flow, Isshiki discloses that air conditioners are provided near the ceiling of the front surface and the back surface of the container, in order to provide a flow of air that can cool the storage battery system ([0052]). Isshiki further discloses that cold air is supplied into the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board through openings formed in the floor and openings on the bottom surfaces of the respective storage battery boards and circuit boards; in addition, hot air generated from the battery modules flows from bottom to top inside the racks of each storage battery board and each circuit board and is exhausted upward from the exhaust hole of the ceiling board ([0052]; Figs. 9-11). Thus, Isshiki discloses air flow channels between the battery modules. Isshiki further discloses four ducts (15a, 15b, 15c, 15d; [0049]) extending vertically that are provided at four corners inside the container, which would allow air flow between the battery racks and both side walls, in addition to the disclosed air flow between the front and back walls and the battery racks within the enclosure (Figs. 9-11). Thus, Isshiki discloses air flow channels between the battery modules, battery racks, side walls, and front and back walls.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the enclosure to comprise a second side wall and to position the battery modules relative to the second side wall to define a fifth flow channel for air flow and cooling, as taught by Isshiki, in order to provide more uniform cooling ([0003]) and prolong the life of the battery modules, since it is known that the degree of cooling affects the life of a battery module ([0004]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, and Glidden was modified to include a first and second shelf, as taught by Isshiki (see rejection of claim 1).
Isshiki does not explicitly use the phrase "fire resistant shelves." However, Isshiki explicitly discloses that the battery modules are housed in a metal rack ([0035]). Metal (such as steel or aluminum) is inherently a fire-resistant material under its Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI). Since Isshiki teaches that the battery rack, which contains the shelves (see annotated Fig. 4 above), is metallic, the shelves within the rack are inherently metallic and therefore fire-resistant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify shelves of Glidden by selecting a known fire-resistant material, such as metal, for the battery rack shelves, as taught by Isshiki, in order to improve the fire-resistance of the shelves in the case of a thermal event. Such combination would result in the selection of a known material (metal) for its known property (fire resistance) to achieve a predictable result (improved fire resistance of the shelves), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 2 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the first side wall comprises an access door providing access to the first battery module.
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface. The front surface is provided with a door (front door 2) for a person to enter and exit, which would inherently allow access to the battery modules and circuit board housed with the storage battery board (Fig. 4; [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to include an access door on the first side wall, as taught by Isshiki, in order to provide convenient external access for installing, maintaining, and servicing the internal components, such as the battery modules, within the limited number of available walls of the container. Furthermore, because a standard container provides only a finite number of predictable structural surfaces (four side walls, a ceiling, and a floor) to place an opening, choosing to locate the access door on the designated first side wall represents the selection of one from a limited number of predictable parameters with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing the entry door on this specific wall is a routine design choice to optimize user entry, component placement, and servicing efficiency for the enclosed battery modules.
Regarding claim 10, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the battery rack defines four or more battery modules.
Isshiki discloses a container (for example, a metal box having a length of 40 feet) wherein the container includes a front surface, a back surface, a side surface(s), a ceiling board, and a bottom surface (see Fig. 4; claim 1). Isshiki further discloses the container comprises a plurality of battery racks that define four or more battery modules per battery rack (Fig 4 and Fig. 6; plurality of battery modules M within racks R1-R6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery rack of Glidden to define four or more battery modules, as taught by Isshiki, in order to effectively utilize the space in the container and increase the power storage capacity per unit volume of the container ([0011]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the battery rack defines six or more battery module bays.
Isshiki discloses a power supply device and a container comprising a storage battery board with a rack (i.e. a battery rack), wherein the rack is provided with a plurality of shelves to store battery modules (rack R1, [0041], Fig. 4). Isshiki further discloses a first battery module on the first shelf, a second battery module on the second shelf, and a third battery module on the third shelf and (module(s) M on the first, second, and third shelves, [0041]; see annotated Fig. 4 above). Isshiki further discloses the container comprises a plurality of battery racks that define a plurality of battery modules per battery rack (plurality of battery modules M within racks R1-R6; Fig 4 and Fig. 6).
In light of the specification, a “battery module bay” is interpreted as a structural configuration that houses the battery modules and allows them to be secured in place (Applicant, [0038]). Therefore, Isshiki discloses the battery rack defines six or more battery module bays, wherein the “battery bay” equates to the structural configuration of the racks comprising shelves wherein individual battery modules are stored (see annotated Fig. 4 above), and wherein there is a plurality of these features (i.e. battery modules M supported by shelves in the rack R1, Fig. 4; plurality of racks R1-R6 in the enclosure, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery rack of Glidden to define six or more battery module bays that house individual battery modules, as taught by Isshiki, in order to effectively utilize the space in the container and increase the power storage capacity per unit volume of the container ([0011]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein each battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells within the battery module.
Isshiki discloses a power supply device and a container comprising a storage battery board with a rack (i.e. a battery rack), wherein the rack is provided with a plurality of shelves to store battery modules (rack R1, [0041], Fig. 4). Isshiki further discloses the battery modules are composed of a plurality of single batteries ([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules of Glidden to comprise a plurality of battery cells within each battery module, as taught by Isshiki, in order to effectively utilize the space in the container and increase the power storage capacity per unit volume of the container ([0011]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 11 as described above. Modified Glidden (as modified by Isshiki in the rejection of claim 11 above) further teaches wherein each battery bay has a battery module in the battery bay (see rejection of claim 11 above wherein Isshiki discloses a plurality of battery modules M are supported by shelves in the rack R1 which structurally define the “battery module bay(s)” that house the individual battery modules; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Glidden further teaches the mobile battery electrical storage system comprising at least one photovoltaic solar panel configured to charge the batteries (solar panels are known to convert sunlight energy into electrical energy, pg. 011, col. 1, lines 15-17; compartment 14 serves as a shelter for ancillary equipment that may include a battery system and a DC to AC inverter, pg. 011, col. 2, lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 17, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Glidden further teaches the mobile battery electrical storage system comprising three photovoltaic solar panels configured to charge the batteries (solar panel sections 51-54, pg. 012, col. 4, lines 1-12; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 17 as described above. Glidden further teaches wherein the photovoltaic solar panels are mounted slidably on top of the trailer enclosure (solar panel rack structure includes locking means to hold said panel sections parallel, claim 6; the locking means comprises a slide ram, claim 7; Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 19, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 18 as described above. Glidden further teaches wherein one solar panel (top panel 51) is rigidly connected to the top of the trailer body (the panel sections are securely mounted upon the racking structure, pg. 012, col. 3, lines 53-54; top panel 51 is on top of the trailer body, see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 17 as described above. Glidden further teaches wherein the photovoltaic solar panels are externally mounted to the trailer (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 21, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Glidden further teaches wherein at least one inverter converts D/C electricity to A/C electricity (compartment 14 serves as a shelter for ancillary equipment that may include a battery system and a DC to AC inverter, pg. 011, col. 2, lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 24, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. However, Glidden does not expressly teach wherein the mobile battery electrical storage system comprises a battery management system.
Park discloses an energy storage system for fire suppression, including a container comprising a battery rack in which a plurality of battery modules are loaded (abstract; claim 1). Park further discloses the inclusion of a BMS (Battery Management System) that monitors the state and operation of the battery by calculating the storage capacity of the battery ([0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to comprise a battery management system, as taught by Park, in order to sufficiently monitor the operational state and health parameters (such as the storage capacity) of the battery modules ([0006]), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 26, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the battery rack comprises a plurality of rows of battery shelves.
Isshiki discloses a power supply device and a container comprising a storage battery board with a rack (i.e. a battery rack), wherein the rack is provided with a plurality of shelves to store battery modules (battery modules M within the shelves of rack R1, [0041], Fig. 4). Isshiki further discloses a plurality of rows of battery shelves (see annotated Fig. 4 above for the rejection of claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery rack of Glidden to comprise a plurality of rows of battery shelves, as taught by Isshiki, in order to effectively utilize the space in the container and increase the power storage capacity per unit volume of the container ([0011]).
Regarding claim 27, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, including that the mobile battery electrical storage system comprises a fire detection system configured to activate the fire protection system.
Park discloses an energy storage system for fire suppression, including a container comprising a battery rack in which a plurality of battery modules are loaded (abstract; claim 1). Park further discloses a fire protection system and a fire safety and detection system and prevention system configured to activate the fire protection system (control unit 160 receives a fire occurrence signal from a fire detection sensor 150 to determine whether a fire has occurred and then applies an operation signal to the sonic fire extinguisher 130a when it is determined that a fire has occurred, [0063]; the fire detection sensor 150 may be a device that detects smoke due to combustion before heat is generated by a fire or a device that detects infrared rays or ultraviolet rays emitted from the light of a fire, [0061]-[0062]). Further, Park discloses that when the sonic fire extinguisher is installed on the battery rack, fire suppression can be attempted for each battery rack and efficient fire suppression is possible ([0068]). For fire prevention, Park discloses that by suppressing the fire of the energy storage device using a sonic fire extinguisher, the structure of the energy storage device is not damaged, so that the structure unaffected by the fire can be reused after the fire is extinguished. In addition, it can be used semi-permanently without using a separate fire extinguishing agent and provides the advantage of being able to perform fire prevention work ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to comprises a fire detection system configured to activate the fire protection system, as taught by Park, in order to suitably manage the risk of fire while minimizing damage to the structure of the energy storage device ([0089]), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 28, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 27 as described above. However, modified Glidden does not expressly teach wherein the fire detection system comprises infrared detections sensors and ultraviolet detection sensors.
Park discloses an energy storage system for fire suppression, including a container comprising a battery rack in which a plurality of battery modules are loaded (abstract; claim 1). Park further discloses a fire detection sensor that may be a device that detects infrared rays or ultraviolet rays emitted from the light of a fire, and that when the fire detection sensor detects flame or heat, it may provide an advantage that there are fewer malfunctions than when it detects smoke ([0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire detection system of Glidden to comprise infrared detections sensors and ultraviolet detection sensors, as taught by Park, in order to provide a fire detection system with fewer malfunctions than smoke-based detection, while also ensuring reliable detection of light signatures (infrared and ultraviolet) emitted from a battery fire.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (CN113572184A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 5 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the access door comprises a fire- and water-resistant seal.
Yang discloses an electricity storage module of an energy storage system comprising a housing body and a door body (claim 1) in order to provide an electricity storage module of an energy storage system that can prevent wind and sand from entering the containing cavity and causing false fire alarms (pg. 5 lines 19-20). Yang further discloses the door body may be sealed by a sealing member so that the independent housing forms a sealed structure (sealing member 13; pg. 6 lines 31-34). Yang further discloses the overall sealed structure of the system serves two purposes: (1) fire isolation: when a battery pack experiences thermal runaway, the sealed structure isolates the fire from the outside world, preventing the fire from spreading to other modules and avoiding a chain reaction (pg. 5 lines 13-17), and (2) environmental protection: the sealing prevents wind and sand from entering the cavity and causing false alarms (pg. 5 lines 19-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access door of Glidden to include a sealing member, as taught by Yang, in order to achieve the predictable results of protecting the internal battery electronics from harsh environmental elements (wind/sand) and isolating potential internal thermal runaway events to prevent fire spread.
Regarding the applicant's limitation of a "water-resistant seal," under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a sealing member explicitly configured to block wind and sand from entering an outdoor energy storage enclosure inherently and predictably provides water and moisture resistance (e.g., against rain). Furthermore, it is well-known in the art of electrical enclosures to utilize seals that protect against both sand/dust particles from wind and water particles simultaneously to prevent electrical shorts and false alarms. Therefore, modifying Glidden with the sealing member of Yang predictably results in an access door comprising a fire- and water-resistant seal, rendering the claim obvious.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crossley (WO2022248818A1; US20240266865A1 used for purposes of translation)
Regarding claim 9, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the enclosure comprises a roof surface, and the roof surface comprises at least one over pressure vent in the roof surface.
Crossley discloses a power generation system comprising a plurality of rupture panels that are located either in the ceiling/roof of the container or in an exterior wall of the container. Crossley teaches that in the unlikely event of a gas explosion, the internal pressure generated is vented through these sacrificial, perforated rupture panels. These rupture panels in the ceiling/roof release the pressure such that the walls of the container remain intact and prevent damage to surrounding areas and/or personal injury to nearby operators ([0496]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure of Glidden to comprise a roof surface, wherein the roof surface comprises at least one over pressure vent in the roof surface (the rupture panels), as taught by Crossley, in order to provide an additional safety functionality for the system ([0492]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Intilion (DE202021100442U1).
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the battery modules have a combined capacity over 20 kWh (claim 14) or a combined capacity over 50 kWh (claim 15).
Intilion discloses a battery system with a battery module having a plurality of lithium-ion cells and a cabinet which can be hermetically sealed from the ambient atmosphere and has storage compartments for receiving the battery modules (Fig. 1; claim 1). Intilion further discloses the total capacity of the battery modules in the storage compartments is 68.5 kWh; thus, Intillion discloses a total capacity of over 20 kWh (claim 14) and a combined capacity over 50 kWh (claim 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to utilize battery modules with a combined capacity of 68.5 kWh, as taught by Intilion, in order to optimize the total capacity (pg. 006, lines 4-7).
Claims 22-23, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lampe-Onnerud (US20210408575A1).
Regarding claims 22-23, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. However, Glidden does not expressly teach wherein each battery module (claim 22) and the battery rack (claim 23) are UL 1973 compliant.
Lampe-Onnerud discloses a battery system comprising an enclosed space comprising a plurality of modules that include Li-ion cells (claim 1). Lampe-Onnerud further discloses that due to safety concerns, a number of standards have been promulgated by Underwriters Laboratories (UL) and the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA), and that the safety data generally assessed during permitting includes the UL 1973 standard, which specifically governs battery racks, modules, and cells ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery rack and battery modules of Glidden to be UL 1973 compliant, as taught by Lampe-Onnerud, in order to ensure the battery rack (claim 22) and battery modules (claim 23) comply with standard industry safety regulations and satisfy permitting requirements enforced by Underwriters Laboratories (UL), the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA), and local fire departments ([0027]), thereby improving overall system safety and commercial viability.
Regarding claim 25 and 30, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. However, Glidden does not expressly teach wherein the mobile battery electrical storage system passes UL 9540A testing (claim 25) and receives UL 9540 listing (claim 30).
Lampe-Onnerud discloses a battery system comprising an enclosed space comprising a plurality of modules that include Li-ion cells (claim 1). Lampe-Onnerud further discloses that due to safety concerns, a number of standards have been promulgated by Underwriters Laboratories (UL) and the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA), and that the safety data generally assessed during permitting includes the UL 9540a standard (a test method standard that informs about the safety performance of a battery systems), and also includes the UL 9540 standard (a system level standard) ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the mobile battery electrical storage system of Glidden to pass UL 9540A testing (claim 25) and receive UL 9540 listing (claim 30), as taught by Lampe-Onnerud, in order to ensure the mobile battery electrical storage system complies with standard industry safety regulations and satisfies permitting requirements enforced by Underwriters Laboratories (UL), the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA), and local fire departments ([0027]), thereby improving overall system safety and commercial viability.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (CN115101835A).
Regarding claim 29, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 27 as described above, but does not expressly teach wherein the fire protection system comprises at least one of a passive explosion mitigation system and at least one of an active explosion prevention system.
Chen discloses a fire-proof and explosion-proof method for a lithium-battery-based energy storage power station, wherein the fire-proof and explosion-proof system comprises a gas detection apparatus and an automatic fire-extinguishing apparatus. Further, the parameters of the battery cells are monitored, a risk is divided into three levels according to a monitoring result, and different prevention and fire-extinguishing measures are used depending on the risk (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire protection system of Glidden to have at least one of a passive explosion mitigation system and at least one of an active explosion prevention system, as taught by Chen, in order to achieve the known benefits of increased fire extinguishing efficiency and improved safety in the event of thermal runaway (pg. 014, [5]; pg. 009, para. 2).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glidden (US5969501A), Isshiki (WO2018230234A1), and Park (KR20230025289A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Modderno (US20180175430A1).
Regarding claim 31, modified Glidden teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, including at least one inverter mounted on the battery rack. However, modified Glidden does not expressly teach wherein the inverter(s) are UL 1741 compliant.
Modderno discloses a modular flow battery system that can be provided in electrical communication with one or more of the following external systems to facilitate integration with an electrical grid: inverters (power conversion systems), transformers, battery system controllers, grid controllers, interconnecting and protection equipment, and chiller-heater units ([0067]).
Modderno discloses a modular flow battery system that utilizes an inverter system connected to a grid interface or power distribution system ([0067]). Modderno further teaches that safety and utility interconnection rules typically require standardized grid protection metrics and specifically discloses using a "UL 1741 rated inverter" to streamline protective requirements (e.g., reducing the necessary redundant grid protection to a single protective relay device, such as an SEL 3515, wired to a shunt trip main breaker) ([0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inverter(s) of Glidden to be UL 1741 compliant, as taught by Modderno, in order to ensure compliance with standard utility interconnection rules, enhance grid safety protection, and reduce the need for two separate hardwired protective relays (which would be required for non-UL 1741 listed inverters).
Conclusion
/A.R.O./
Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789