DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 of U.S. Application No. 18/601208 filed on 06/23/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed06/23/2026. Claim 1 is presently amended, and Claims 10-11 are newly added. Claims 1-11 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f): the amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Therefore, the previous claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is/are withdrawn
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102: the amendments to the claims overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2023/0337584A1 (“Lai”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0341826A1 (“Zeiler”), in view of US 2023/0337584A1 (“Lai”).
As per claim 1 Zeiler discloses
A lawn maintenance machine configured to maintain lawn on a ground as the lawn maintenance machine moves on the ground forward (see at least Zeiler, para. [0060]: FIGS. 10-12 illustrate a walk behind lawn mower 300 according to an exemplary embodiment. The lawn mower 300 includes an electric powerhead 100 attached to a mower deck 305 in a vertical shaft orientation.), the lawn maintenance machine comprising:
a pair of wheels configured to rotate on the ground (see at least Zeiler, para. [0060]: The lawn mower 300 also includes a pair of freewheeling front wheels 310 and a pair of drive wheels 315.);
a handle unit comprising a grip configured to be gripped by a user while the lawn maintenance machine is moving (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 10-12 & para. [0060]: handle 330 extends from the rear of the mower deck 305 and includes a bar 335 for the user to grasp to direct the travel of the lawn mower 300.);
a working unit comprising a blade configured to work by rotating on the ground (see at least Zeiler, para. [0060]: When the electric motor 105 is activated, the output shaft 130 drives a blade positioned underneath the mower deck 305 to cut grass.);
an electric motor configured to drive the working unit (see at least Zeiler, para. [0060]: When the electric motor 105 is activated, the output shaft 130 drives a blade positioned underneath the mower deck 305 to cut grass.);
a fan configured to rotate by operation of the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, para. [0064]: The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275. In some embodiments, a fan is coupled to the rotor and rotates to cause the cooling air when the electric motor 105 is activated.);
a housing configured to support the working unit and housing the electric motor and the fan (see at least Zeiler, para. [0049]: The electric motor 105 is positioned within the housing 115. The electric motor 105 may be directly supported by the housing 115 or supported by a cradle or other support structure located within the housing 115. & para. [0064]: As shown in FIGS. 8-10, the housing 115 includes motor intake air vent 375 and motor exhaust air vent 380 that allow cooling air to be drawn into the housing 115, cool the electric motor 105, and then have the warmed air exhausted from the housing 115…The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275. In some embodiments, a fan is coupled to the rotor and rotates to cause the cooling air when the electric motor 105 is activated.); and
a wall disposed outside the housing and attached to the housing (see at least Zeiler, para. [0064]: The vents 375 and 380 may include one or more openings, screens, or other structures that allow air to flow into or out of the housing 115. The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275.),
wherein the housing has a connection opening which connects an inside and an outside of the housing and through which air flows by rotation of the fan (see at least Zeiler, para. [0064]: The vents 375 and 380 may include one or more openings, screens, or other structures that allow air to flow into or out of the housing 115. The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275.), and
the wall is disposed to face the connection opening (see at least Zeiler, para. [0064]: The vents 375 and 380 may include one or more openings, screens, or other structures that allow air to flow into or out of the housing 115. The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275.).
However Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
the connection opening connects an inside of the housing and an outside of the lawn
maintenance machine, and the wall is separate from the housing and covers the connection opening.
Lai teaches
the connection opening connects an inside of the housing and an outside of the lawn maintenance machine, and the wall is separate from the housing and covers the connection opening (see at least Lai, para. [0057]: As illustrated in FIGS. 12-14 and described below, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable. More specifically, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable other than through the door 58, e.g., the drain functionality is not provided by the door 58. The housing 40 defining the power source compartment 50 may include a drain aperture 42 (best illustrated in FIG. 14) configured to allow fluid to drain from the power source compartment 50, e.g., under the effect of gravity. The drain aperture 42 may be disposed in a lower portion of the housing 40, e.g., lower relative to the door 58, and/or in a lower half of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower third of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower quarter of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower 10% of the height of the power source compartment 50, and/or at or near a bottom of the power source compartment 50. The drain aperture 42 provides fluid communication between the power source compartment 50 and an external environment 100 other than through the door 58, either directly or indirectly. For example, the drain aperture 42 may provide direct fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in some implementations, or may provide indirect fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in other implementations. Indirect fluid communication may be provided in any suitable manner, such as by way of another opening (not shown) on the deck 14, or by way of any other suitable structure. Thus, the door 58 selectively opens and closes a door aperture 84 to open and close the power source compartment 50, and the drain aperture 42 is independent of the door aperture 84.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of the connection opening connects an inside of the housing and an outside of the lawn maintenance machine, and the wall is separate from the housing and covers the connection opening of Lai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for draining fluid from the power source compartment (see at least Lai, para. [0003]).
As per claim 2 Zeiler discloses
wherein the wall is disposed between the connection opening and one of the pair of wheels (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 10 “380” & para. [0064]: The vents 375 and 380 may include one or more openings, screens, or other structures that allow air to flow into or out of the housing 115. The vents 375 and 380 are formed in the motor housing 275.).
As per claim 4 Zeiler discloses
wherein the electric motor at least partially overlaps at least one of the pair of wheels when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed along a rotation axis of the pair of wheels (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 10 & para. [0060]: The lawn mower 300 also includes a pair of free-wheeling front wheels 310 and a pair of drive wheels 315. Each drive wheel 315 is driven by a self-propel unit 320 that includes an electric wheel motor 325. The electric wheel motor 325 includes an output shaft that is coupled to the drive wheel 315. The electric wheel motor 325 can be activated to rotate the drive wheel 315 in a forward direction, in a reverse direction, and at varying speeds in either direction.).
As per claim 5 Zeiler discloses
further comprising a control unit housed in the housing and configured to control the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, para. [0053]: In some embodiments, the controller 250 is configured to monitor and control the amount of power delivered to the electric motor 105 to preserve life of the battery 110. & para. [0058]: FIGS. 8-9 illustrate an alternative embodiment of the electric powerhead 100 in which the housing 115 includes two portions 275 and 280 that are able to rotate relative to one another. The motor portion of the housing or motor housing 275 includes the electric motor 105, the mounting plate 120, and the controller 250.),
wherein the control unit at least partially overlaps the electric motor when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed from a rear side (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 9 “250” & para. [0050]: The electric powerhead 100 also includes a controller or processing circuit 250 for controlling operation of electrical components of the powerhead 100.).
As per claim 6 Zeiler discloses
wherein the control unit is disposed forward of the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 9 “250” & para. [0050]: The electric powerhead 100 also includes a controller or processing circuit 250 for controlling operation of electrical components of the powerhead 100.).
As per claim 7 Zeiler discloses
further comprising a battery configured to supply electric power to the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, para. [0045]: The battery receptacle 215 and the battery 110 include contacts that are configured to engage or connect with each other to complete an electrical circuit when the battery 110 is attached to the battery receptacle 215. This allows the battery 110 to provide electricity to the electric motor 105 and other electrical components as will be explained in more detail below.),
wherein the battery at least partially overlaps the electric motor when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed along the rotation axis of the pair of wheels (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 8-10 & para. [0045]: The battery receptacle 215 and the battery 110 include contacts that are configured to engage or connect with each other to complete an electrical circuit when the battery 110 is attached to the battery receptacle 215. This allows the battery 110 to provide electricity to the electric motor 105 and other electrical components as will be explained in more detail below.).
As per claim 10 Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
wherein a lower end of the wall is positioned downward of a lower end of the connection opening, am upper end of the wall is positioned upward of an upper end of the connection opening.
Lai teaches
wherein a lower end of the wall is positioned downward of a lower end of the connection opening, am upper end of the wall is positioned upward of an upper end of the connection opening (see at least Lai, Fig. 12 & para. [0057]: As illustrated in FIGS. 12-14 and described below, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable. More specifically, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable other than through the door 58, e.g., the drain functionality is not provided by the door 58. The housing 40 defining the power source compartment 50 may include a drain aperture 42 (best illustrated in FIG. 14) configured to allow fluid to drain from the power source compartment 50, e.g., under the effect of gravity. The drain aperture 42 may be disposed in a lower portion of the housing 40, e.g., lower relative to the door 58, and/or in a lower half of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower third of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower quarter of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower 10% of the height of the power source compartment 50, and/or at or near a bottom of the power source compartment 50. The drain aperture 42 provides fluid communication between the power source compartment 50 and an external environment 100 other than through the door 58, either directly or indirectly. For example, the drain aperture 42 may provide direct fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in some implementations, or may provide indirect fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in other implementations.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of wherein a lower end of the wall is positioned downward of a lower end of the connection opening, am upper end of the wall is positioned upward of an upper end of the connection opening of Lai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for draining fluid from the power source compartment (see at least Lai, para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiler, in view of Lai, in view of US 5636504 (“Kaley”).
As per claim 3 Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing.
Kaley teaches
wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing (see at least Kaley, col. 4 lines 20-30: Two transversely spaced, handle retention brackets 24 are mounted on the rear end of housing 10 with one bracket 24 being located along each side of housing 10. Each bracket 24 includes a generally planar wall 26 having a plurality of openings 28 in the lower portion thereof. Conventional fasteners (not shown), such as machine bolts, can pass through such openings 28 to affix bracket 24 to mower housing 10. When so affixed, the planar wall 26 of each bracket 24 includes an upper portion that extends for a short distance above the upper surface of housing 10.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing of Kaley, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for a handle assembly for an outdoor power equipment unit, such as a lawn mower, which can be quickly and easily released from an operational position thereof, and which conveniently forms a plurality of storage positions (see at least Kaley, col. 2 lines 31-34).
Claim(s) 8 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiler, in view of Lai, in view of US 2020/0383267A1 (“Nishimura”).
As per claim 8 Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
wherein the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and
the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels.
Nishimura teaches
wherein the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and
the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels (see at least Nishimura, Fig. 2 “S1 & S2” & para. [0048-0052]: Then, the cut grass (mown grass) is sent into the mown grass storage 20 by the conveying wind (swirling wind) thus generated. At this time, foreign matter, such as grass, dirt, dust, water, etc., is whirling in the cutter housing 12 a…The cooling air flowing out from the cooling air exit ports 84L, 84R is discharged out of the motor cover 32 through the space S1 between the cutter housing 12 a and the lower cover 32 a and the space S2 between the lower end 86 of the upper cover 32 b and the cutter housing 12 a. Also, while the lawn mower 10 is operating, outside air is introduced into the cutter housing 12 a from the space S2 through the space S1 between the lower cover 32 a and the cutter housing 12 a. Accordingly, part of the cooling air flowing out from the cooling air exit ports 84L, 84R flows into the cutter housing 12 a together with the air introduced into the cutter housing 12 a from the space S2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of wherein the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels of Nishimura, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently cool the motor and to reduce the inflow of foreign matter into the motor cover (see at least Nishimura, para. [0008]).
As per claim 11 Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
the connection opening is positioned upward of a rotation axis of the wheel, and the drain opening is positioned downward of the rotation axis of the wheel.
Lai teaches
the connection opening is positioned upward of a rotation axis of the wheel, and the drain opening is positioned downward of the rotation axis of the wheel (see at least Lai, Fig. 12 & para. [0057]: As illustrated in FIGS. 12-14 and described below, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable. More specifically, the power source compartment 50 is selectively drainable other than through the door 58, e.g., the drain functionality is not provided by the door 58. The housing 40 defining the power source compartment 50 may include a drain aperture 42 (best illustrated in FIG. 14) configured to allow fluid to drain from the power source compartment 50, e.g., under the effect of gravity. The drain aperture 42 may be disposed in a lower portion of the housing 40, e.g., lower relative to the door 58, and/or in a lower half of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower third of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower quarter of the power source compartment 50, and/or in a lower 10% of the height of the power source compartment 50, and/or at or near a bottom of the power source compartment 50. The drain aperture 42 provides fluid communication between the power source compartment 50 and an external environment 100 other than through the door 58, either directly or indirectly. For example, the drain aperture 42 may provide direct fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in some implementations, or may provide indirect fluid communication from the power source compartment 50 to the external environment 100 in other implementations.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of the connection opening is positioned upward of a rotation axis of the wheel, and the drain opening is positioned downward of the rotation axis of the wheelof Lai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for draining fluid from the power source compartment (see at least Lai, para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiler, in view of Lai, in view of Kaley, in view of Nishimura.
As per claim 9 Zeiler discloses
the electric motor at least partially overlaps at least one of the pair of wheels when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed along a rotation axis of the pair of wheels (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 10 & para. [0060]: The lawn mower 300 also includes a pair of free-wheeling front wheels 310 and a pair of drive wheels 315. Each drive wheel 315 is driven by a self-propel unit 320 that includes an electric wheel motor 325. The electric wheel motor 325 includes an output shaft that is coupled to the drive wheel 315. The electric wheel motor 325 can be activated to rotate the drive wheel 315 in a forward direction, in a reverse direction, and at varying speeds in either direction.),
the lawn maintenance machine further comprises a control unit housed in the housing and configured to control the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, para. [0053]: In some embodiments, the controller 250 is configured to monitor and control the amount of power delivered to the electric motor 105 to preserve life of the battery 110. & para. [0058]: FIGS. 8-9 illustrate an alternative embodiment of the electric powerhead 100 in which the housing 115 includes two portions 275 and 280 that are able to rotate relative to one another. The motor portion of the housing or motor housing 275 includes the electric motor 105, the mounting plate 120, and the controller 250.),
the control unit at least partially overlaps the electric motor when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed from a rear side (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 9 “250” & para. [0050]: The electric powerhead 100 also includes a controller or processing circuit 250 for controlling operation of electrical components of the powerhead 100.),
the control unit is disposed forward of the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 9 “250” & para. [0050]: The electric powerhead 100 also includes a controller or processing circuit 250 for controlling operation of electrical components of the powerhead 100.),
the lawn maintenance machine further comprises a battery configured to supply electric power to the electric motor (see at least Zeiler, para. [0045]: The battery receptacle 215 and the battery 110 include contacts that are configured to engage or connect with each other to complete an electrical circuit when the battery 110 is attached to the battery receptacle 215. This allows the battery 110 to provide electricity to the electric motor 105 and other electrical components as will be explained in more detail below.),
the battery at least partially overlaps the electric motor when the lawn maintenance machine is viewed along the rotation axis of the pair of wheels (see at least Zeiler, Fig. 8-10 & para. [0045]: The battery receptacle 215 and the battery 110 include contacts that are configured to engage or connect with each other to complete an electrical circuit when the battery 110 is attached to the battery receptacle 215. This allows the battery 110 to provide electricity to the electric motor 105 and other electrical components as will be explained in more detail below.).
However Zeiler does not explicitly disclose
wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing,
the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and
the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels.
Kaley teaches
wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing (see at least Kaley, col. 4 lines 20-30: Two transversely spaced, handle retention brackets 24 are mounted on the rear end of housing 10 with one bracket 24 being located along each side of housing 10. Each bracket 24 includes a generally planar wall 26 having a plurality of openings 28 in the lower portion thereof. Conventional fasteners (not shown), such as machine bolts, can pass through such openings 28 to affix bracket 24 to mower housing 10. When so affixed, the planar wall 26 of each bracket 24 includes an upper portion that extends for a short distance above the upper surface of housing 10.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of wherein the wall is a handle bracket connecting the handle unit and the housing of Kaley, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for a handle assembly for an outdoor power equipment unit, such as a lawn mower, which can be quickly and easily released from an operational position thereof, and which conveniently forms a plurality of storage positions (see at least Kaley, col. 2 lines 31-34).
Nishimura teaches
the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels (see at least Nishimura, Fig. 2 “S1 & S2” & para. [0048-0052]: Then, the cut grass (mown grass) is sent into the mown grass storage 20 by the conveying wind (swirling wind) thus generated. At this time, foreign matter, such as grass, dirt, dust, water, etc., is whirling in the cutter housing 12 a…The cooling air flowing out from the cooling air exit ports 84L, 84R is discharged out of the motor cover 32 through the space S1 between the cutter housing 12 a and the lower cover 32 a and the space S2 between the lower end 86 of the upper cover 32 b and the cutter housing 12 a. Also, while the lawn mower 10 is operating, outside air is introduced into the cutter housing 12 a from the space S2 through the space S1 between the lower cover 32 a and the cutter housing 12 a. Accordingly, part of the cooling air flowing out from the cooling air exit ports 84L, 84R flows into the cutter housing 12 a together with the air introduced into the cutter housing 12 a from the space S2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zeiler to incorporate the teaching of wherein the housing has a drain opening disposed closer to the ground than the connection opening and connecting the inside and the outside of the housing, and the drain opening is disposed at a position facing one of the pair of wheels of Nishimura, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently cool the motor and to reduce the inflow of foreign matter into the motor cover (see at least Nishimura, para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668