DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "175B" (Paragraph 0016) and "174B" (Paragraph 0017) have both been used to designate back powered wheels. The drawings do not contain a reference 175B. 175 is referred to a clusters.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “744” has been used to designate both a stator magnet and a rotor magnet in Paragraph 0031. It appears as though the second instance of 744 in Paragraph 0031 was meant to be 774 which would be consistent with Figure 8.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “710” has been used to designate both a bearing and a kingpin in Paragraph 0031. Additionally Paragraph 0019 refers to the bearing as reference 720.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 should read: A caster mount. Claims 2-9 should read: The caster mount. Claim 10 should read: An autonomous vehicle. Claim 11 should read: The autonomous vehicle. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 6 should read “wherein the magnetic poles of said rotary element and magnetic poles of said fixed element…” for the purpose of consistency because north magnetic poles have previously been introduced in claim 1 for the rotary element, but no magnetic poles have been previously recited for the fixed element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites: “wherein said rotary element is oriented radially relative to said second part”. Additionally, claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, recites a second part comprising a rotary element. This renders claim 7 indefinite because it is unclear how the rotary element can be oriented radially relative to itself if it is or is part of the second part. The drawings do not differentiate between a second part and a rotary element.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent contains every element recited in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11926175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the patent contains every element recited in claim 9 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster (US 7383611 B2).
In regards to claim 1: Foster teaches a caster mount (Shown generally in Figures 1 and 2) comprising: a first part (5) comprising a fixed element (21a and 21b); and a second part (3, 9, 15, and 17) rotatably mounted in said first part (See Figures 1 and 2 and Column 3 lines 57-63: “Support bracket 3 is formed with annular grooves 11, 13 to its opposite sides to receive respective sets of balls 15, 17 constituting bearing means of the castor assembly. One set of balls engage with the securing washer 9, whilst the other set engage with the under side of cap 5. Thus in the installed position the support bracket 3 is located rotatably between the cap and the securing washer.”) comprising a rotary element (23a and 23b); wherein said rotary element comprises a first magnet (23a) having a first north pole oriented outwardly (See annotated Figure 2) and a second magnet (23b)having a second north pole oriented inwardly (See annotated Figure 2), Column 4 lines 42-45: “Where this is not required, the components 21a, and 23a can be polarized in the opposite way to components 21b and 23b. Thus when component 23b approaches component 21a there will be repulsion.”). Examiner notes that Foster states: “In FIG. 2 the components 21a, 23a have been marked with the letters N and S to show as an example the polarization of the two components at that point.” However, Figure 2 of Foster does not have these labels. Additionally, as quoted above, Foster states that components 21a and 23a can be polarized in the opposite way to components 21b and 23b. Annotated Figure 2 is an example of the embodiment discussed, but not labeled, in Foster. If 23a and 23b are 180 degrees apart, and arranged with opposite polarizations as stated by Foster, then one will have a north pole facing inwardly relative to the wheel and mount and one will have a north pole facing outwardly relative to the wheel and mount in the linear direction shown in annotated Figure 2.
In regards to claim 2: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. Foster further teaches wherein a magnetic force between said first part and said second part increases with angular difference therebetween (Column 4 lines 33-35: “Thus the components 21 and 23 will be attracted to one another whenever their magnetic fluxes are sufficiently close to interact.”). Examiner notes that the magnetic flux does not necessarily increase as an angular difference increases, but the claim only requires that the flux increases with an angular difference. An angular difference decreasing is still an angular difference. Additionally, with the 360 degree rotation setup between the first and second parts in both the application and prior art, the claim does not require any particular point of reference from which the angular distance between the first and second parts is calculated or relative to.
In regards to claim 3: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. Foster further teaches wherein said fixed element comprises a permanent magnet (21a and 21b, Column 4 lines 16-18: “In the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 2, components 21 and 23 each comprise two pairs of permanent magnets 21a, 23a, 21b, 23b.”).
In regards to claim 6: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. Foster further teaches wherein magnetic poles of said rotary element and said fixed element are axially aligned with an axis of said second part (See Figures 1 and 2 where the magnetic poles revolve around the vertical axis of the second part).
In regards to claim 7: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. Foster further teaches wherein said rotary element is oriented radially relative to said second part (See Figures 1 and 2 where second parts and rotary elements are all radially aligned).
In regards to claim 9: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. Foster further teaches wherein the first magnet is arranged on a sector (Right sector of 3 holding 23a in Figures 1 and 2) of the second part and the second magnet is arranged on a second sector (Left sector of 3 holding 23b in Figures 1 and 2) of the second part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster.
In regards to claim 4: The caster mount of claim 1 is taught by Foster. The relied upon embodiment of Foster fails to teach an electro-magnet for the fixed element. However, an alternate embodiment of Foster teaches an electromagnet and the means to control it (Column 3 lines 22-24: “In another embodiment at least one of the magnets may be an electromagnet and means may be provided to selectively energize and de-energize it.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixed magnet be an electromagnet that can be controlled selectively thereby allowing a more versatile caster mount that can be adjusted and turned on and off at will based on the needs of the user.
In regards to claim 5: The caster mount of claim 4 is taught by Foster and an alternate embodiment of Foster. The combination further teaches a controller configured to vary a voltage applied to said electro-magnet (Quote above: “means may be provided to selectively energize and de-energize it.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 10 recites an autonomous vehicle with two controllers. One controller contained in a container base and one contained in a power base. The closest prior art found was Claretti (US 11059373 B1) which teaches a control system in the lower body/chassis of the autonomous vehicle, but fails to teach two separate controllers, one in the container base and one in the power base as required by the claim. Additionally, it would not be obvious and there is no motivation to modify Claretti in this way. Furthermore, claim 10 is not subject to a double patenting rejection because claims 10-19 of the patent, directed towards the autonomous vehicle, do not require the specifics of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, regarding the magnetic poles and orientations. Claim 11 depends from claim 10.
Conclusion
/A.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611