DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11 March 2024, 3 June 2024, and 5 November 2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,960,807. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims in seen as broader, and the list of symbols is seen as well known, as outlined in the rejection below.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,467,953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the patented claims, and the list of symbols is seen as well known, as outlined in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-28 and 30-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flynn et al., USPN 2006/0230453.
With regard to claims 21 and 33, Flynn discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for using a line-of-code behavior and relation model to determine software functionality changes (0007), including identifying a first portion of executable code (known program 0024-0025) associated with a first version of software for a controller (pre-morphing) and a second portion of executable code (suspect program, 0032) based on a change file configured to change software on the controller to a second version (morphing, 0003), accessing a first line-of-code behavior and relation model modeling first symbols and first symbol relationships of the first portion of executable code (0026-0028), accessing a second line-of-code behavior and relation model modeling second symbols and second symbol relationships of the second portion of executable code based on the change file configured to change the software on the controller (0032-0034), wherein at least one of the first symbols or the second symbols represents at least two of: a variable (0041, 0044, “x=3” in Fig. 4), a function (0041, “fun_A” in Fig. 4), a call (0043), an object (0024, 0076), a segment of code (0041, 0044, Fig. 4), or the controller (0041-0044, Fig. 4), and determining based on a functional differential comparison of the first line-of-code behavior and relation model to the second line-of-code behavior and relation model (0035), a status of functional equivalence between the first portion of executable code and the second portion of executable code (0035-0036).
With regard to claims 22, 24, 34, and 36, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the first portion of executable code and the second portion of executable code are configured for execution on the controller (0030, 0032, 0003), and at least one of the first line-of-code behavior and relation model or the second line-of-code behavior and relation model was generated by a device distinct from the controller (0040, 0006).
With regard to claims 23 and 35, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses at least one of the first symbol relationships or the second symbol relationships includes at least one of a dependency relationship, an interdependency relationship, an iterative relationship, or a recursive relationship (0027, 0033).
With regard to claim 25, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the functional differential comparison triggers a determination that a third portion of executable code is dormant (uncalled functions 0053).
With regard to claims 26 and 37, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the status of functional equivalence between the first portion of executable code and the second portion of executable code includes determinations of equivalence between the first symbols and the second symbols (0035-0036, 0059-0061).
With regard to claims 27 and 38, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the operations further comprising sending a report identifying at least one instance of functionality drift (variant, 0035).
With regard to claims 28 and 39, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses tagging at least one of the second portion of executable code, the second line-of-code behavior and relation model, or a unique identifier associated with the second line-of-code behavior and relation model (0026-0028, 0036).
With regard to claim 30, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the functional differential comparison includes determining whether functionality of the first portion of executable code falls within an operational envelope related to at least one of a central processing unit (CPU) cycle, a memory requirement, a speed of execution, or a functionality relationship (0026-0028, 0030).
With regard to claims 31 and 40, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the functional differential comparison is based on a difference of at least one of response time, sequence of function execution, or memory leakage (0047, 0010, 0006, 0035).
With regard to claim 32, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses at least one of the first or second line-of-code behavior and relation models was generated using real-time data received from at least one device operating using at least one of the first portion of executable code or the second portion of executable code (0006, 0010).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn in view of examiner’s official notice.
With regard to claim 29, Flynn discloses the medium of claim 21, as outlined above, and further discloses the tagging includes identifying a virus (0023), but does not disclose at least one of disabling the second portion of executable code or sending a notification to a device to not permit execution of the second portion of executable code. The examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art to disable a detected virus. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to perform at least one of disabling the second portion of executable code or sending a notification to a device to not permit execution of the second portion of executable code, for the motivation of increased security and protection from malware.
Cited References
Venkatesan et al., USPN 2004/0225996, discloses a method of generating a delta that shows the difference between two programs (0049), but the method is using this difference to create a delta file to upgrade the source program (0050) into a target program, which is a newer version (0052). Venkatesan does not disclose how the initial source program became the initial target program, but seemingly it was not done by upgrade, but rather by a programmer improvement. If it was achieved by upgrade there would be no reason to create a delta file since the original upgrade file could be used.
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434