DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0323641), hereinafter Lee, and in view of Wang (US 2008/0241668).
As to Claims 1 and 16, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3, a portable power supply device [see figure 2, element 200] , comprising:
a housing [housing (307)];
a power battery [internal battery (205)];
an electrical energy input terminal [input terminal for DC input (313)] configured to at least receive electrical energy for charging the power battery;
a first output terminal [output terminal (311) for the DC power tool )] configured to be capable of being connected to at least a battery pack [connected to the power tool battery pack; see ¶0037]; and
a second output terminal [output terminal for AC Power tool ; see figure 2a] configured to be capable of being connected to at least a direct current (DC) power tool;
wherein the power battery is built into the housing, a first output voltage of the first output terminal is less than a second output voltage of the second output terminal [first and second outputs are providing voltage values with different voltage values; see ¶0043-0048].
Lee does not disclose exit, and the first output voltage is greater than 20 V [noted that the second power outputs ].
Wang discloses in figures 1-6, and the first output voltage is greater than 20 V [noted that the second power outputs [see ¶0038].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to output 24V from Lee’s power supply as taught by Wang in order to deliver necessary power to the electronic device.
Neither Lee nor Wang discloses, a second output voltage of the second output terminal is greater than or equal to 100 V.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust Lee’s power supply to output different voltage values such as 100V, 24 v and so on in order to satisfy power demand of attached electronic devices, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine s-kill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. portable power supply, power converters, plurality of voltage outputs, and etc. ), and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
As to claim 2, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3, wherein a rated voltage of the power battery is greater than or equal to 100 V [see ¶0043-0048].
As to claim 3, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3, wherein total energy of the power battery is greater than or equal to 1 kWh [¶0060] .
As to claim 4, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3, wherein the electrical energy input terminal [313] comprises an alternating current (AC) charging terminal [see figure 2a, input AC (201)].
As to claim 6, Lee discless in figures 2a and 3, an electrical energy conversion unit [DC-DC convert (304)] configured to convert the electrical energy received from the electrical energy input terminal into electrical energy for charging the battery pack [using battery pack to charge internal battery; see also ¶0046, ¶0061].
As to claim 7, Lee discloses in figure 3a, wherein the electrical energy conversion unit [DC/DC converter (304)] is further used for converting the electrical energy of the power battery into the electrical energy for charging the battery pack [see figure 3a and also see ¶0061].
As to claim 8, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3a, wherein the electrical energy conversion unit [DC/DC converter (304) bi-directional converter] is further used for converting the electrical energy of the battery pack into the electrical energy for charging the power battery [see ¶0043 and ¶0061].
As to claim 9, Lee discloses in figures 2 and 3a, a power charging circuit [circuit (302) configured to convert the electrical energy received from the electrical energy input terminal [terminal 301] into the electrical energy for charging the power battery [see ¶0064].
As to claim 10, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3a, wherein the power battery [internal battery (305) is configured to be directly connected to the second output terminal [second output terminal (311)] to output the electrical energy [see ¶0043 and ¶0063, see also figure 3a].
As to claim 11, Lee discloses in figures 2a and 3a, wherein the second output terminal is capable of being connected to a battery pack adapter, and the battery pack adapter is used for connecting the power tool [see ¶0054, the outlet 211 is connected to the power supply of DC power tool].
As to claim 12, Lee discloses in figures 2 and 3a, a third output terminal [output terminal (309)], wherein an output voltage of the third output terminal is greater than or equal to 200 V [see ¶0059-0061].
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust Lee’s power supply to output different voltage values such as 100V, 200V, and so on in order to satisfy power demand of attached electronic devices, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine s-kill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. portable power supply, power converters, plurality of voltage outputs, and etc. ), and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
s to claim 13, Lee discloses in figures 2 and 3a, wherein the third output terminal is used for connecting an inverter, and the inverter is connected to an AC electrical device [see element 203; ¶0063, ¶0061-0066].
As to claim 14, Lee discloses in figures 2 and 3a, comprising an inverter module [inverter (303)] , wherein the inverter module is connected between the power battery and the third output terminal and used for outputting AC electrical energy [¶0043 and ¶0063-0064].
As to claim 17, Lee discloses in figures 2 and 3, wherein the power battery is detachably mounted to the housing [the battery unit is removably connected; see ¶0020 and ¶0063-0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang, and WO 2022/13323, hereinafter 323’.
As to claim 5, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the electrical energy input terminal comprises a photovoltaic charging terminal.
323’ discloses wherein the electrical energy input terminal comprises a photovoltaic charging terminal.[see ¶0037].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use photovoltaic power source to charge the battery of Lee as taught by 323’ in order to extend battery life when AC power is unavailable.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang, and Machine translation of JP6729711B2), hereinafter 711’.
As to claim 15, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the power battery comprises a lithium iron phosphate battery.
711’ discloses in figures 1-3, wherein the power battery comprises a lithium iron phosphate battery [see ¶0026].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use lithium ion battery in Lee’s apparatus as taught by 711’ in order to have high energy density, long cycle life, good low temperature performance supply.
Regarding Claim 20, Lee and Wang disclose the claim inventions claim 1 above, (see rejection above, 35 USC § 102 paragraph 2), except a power tool system, comprising: a power tool; a battery pack adapter; and wherein the power tool comprises: a power tool body; an AC input terminal configured to be connected to an AC power supply; and a DC input terminal configured to be connected to a battery pack or the battery pack adapter.
711’ discloses in figures 1-3 (see figure below), a power tool system [power tool (30A); see figure below)] comprising: a power tool [power tool (30A)] ; a battery pack adapter [battery pack (30)]; and wherein the power tool comprises: a power tool body [see figure 1, element 1]; an AC input terminal configured to be connected to an AC power supply [see power cord (90) connected to the AC power source]; and a DC input terminal [the battery connection power tool terminal. See ¶0023-0026].
,
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide an AC power line for a power toll beside the portable power supply of Lee as taught by 711’n order to charge battery when DC battery completely depleted.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang, and in view of Tanaka (US 2022/0344785).
As to claim 18, neither Lee nor Wang discloses, wherein the portable power supply device is a backpack power supply device or a wheeled power supply device.
Tanaka discloses in figure 1, wherein the portable power supply device is a backpack power supply device or a wheeled power supply device [¶0002, 0005, 0132].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use the power supply of Lee as a backpack power supply as taught by Tanaka in view.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang, in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0295408), hereinafter Yang.
As to claim 19, neither Lee nor Wang discloses, an Internet of Things (IoT) module, wherein the IoT module is configured to perform data interaction with at least an external terminal device.
Yang discloses in figure 1, an Internet of Things (IoT) module, wherein the IoT module is configured to perform data interaction with at least an external terminal device [see ¶0170; IOT communication means is disclosed].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to add communication means in Lee’s apparatus as taught by Yang in order to collect data and monitor any available updates.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859