DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harata et al. (US 11,600,817).
With respect to claim 1, Harata teaches a silicon clathrate electrode active material (col. 3, lines 31-39), comprising greater than 0% by mass oxygen (col. 5, lines 51-61), but fails to teach the instantly claimed range of greater than 0% by mass and less than 19.4% by mass of oxygen atoms. Harata teaches cleaning the silicon material with water, thereby the surface of the silicon material is partially oxidized and oxygen is expected to be introduced into the silicon material; and further teaches that the silicon material into which oxygen has been introduced is expected to enhance stability and enhance performance as a negative electrode active material (col. 5, lines 51-61). Therefore, the instantly claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the electrode active material cost of construction and performance and stability are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material, with said construction cost and performance and stability being improved as the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is optimized, the precise percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material of Harata el. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the performance and stability (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 2, Harata teaches greater than 0% by mass oxygen (col. 5, lines 51-61), but fails to teach the instantly claimed range of 2.0% by mass or greater of oxygen atoms. Harata teaches cleaning the silicon material with water, thereby the surface of the silicon material is partially oxidized and oxygen is expected to be introduced into the silicon material; and further teaches that the silicon material into which oxygen has been introduced is expected to enhance stability and enhance performance as a negative electrode active material (col. 5, lines 51-61). Therefore, the instantly claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the electrode active material cost of construction and performance and stability are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material, with said construction cost and performance and stability being improved as the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is optimized, the precise percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material of Harata el. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the performance and stability (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 3, Harata teaches greater than 0% by mass oxygen (col. 5, lines 51-61), but fails to teach the instantly claimed range of 3.3% by mass or greater and 7.0% by mass or less of oxygen atoms. Harata teaches cleaning the silicon material with water, thereby the surface of the silicon material is partially oxidized and oxygen is expected to be introduced into the silicon material; and further teaches that the silicon material into which oxygen has been introduced is expected to enhance stability and enhance performance as a negative electrode active material (col. 5, lines 51-61). Therefore, the instantly claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the electrode active material cost of construction and performance and stability are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material, with said construction cost and performance and stability being improved as the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material is optimized, the precise percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed percentage range of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the percentage of oxygen atoms present in the silicon material of Harata el. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the performance and stability (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 4, Harata teaches at least partially having a clathrate type II structure (col. 5, lines 34-61).
With respect to claim 5, Harata teaches the silicon clathrate electrode active material according to Claim 1 and a solid electrolyte (col. 5, lines 17-33).
With respect to claim 7, Harata teaches a negative electrode active material layer (col. 4, lines 64-67), containing the negative electrode mixture according to Claim 5.
With respect to claim 8, Harata teaches a solid-state lithium-ion battery (col. 5, lines 17-33), comprising the negative electrode active material layer according to Claim 7.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harata et al. (US 11,600,817), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20200020929 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Harata discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein the solid electrolyte is a sulfide solid electrolyte. Yoshida teaches an anode active material comprising silicon clathrate (para. [0067]) and teaches wherein the solid electrolyte is a sulfide solid electrolyte (para. [0088])-[0089]) in order to provide an electrolyte that is compatible with the electrode active material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the solid electrolyte in Harata comprise a sulfide solid electrolyte, as taught by Yoshida, in order to provide an electrolyte that is compatible with the electrode active material.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 6/24/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725