DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed on 1/21/2026 has been carefully reconsidered. However, the new ground of rejection has been made as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Azam et al. (US 2020/0321924).
Regarding claim 1, Azam discloses DAC architecture in figure 2 that teaches: a plurality of circuit elements (210) configured in a rectangular area (220c, 220b) of a substrate (Array0); and a set of switches (214) configured to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node (250b); wherein the device (220,) is configured to operate the set of switches (214) to connect subsets of the circuit elements (216,212) to the output node (250C) in a pattern that reduces deviation (see para. 0042, 0043, 0049,0050 (mismatch same meaning as deviation) from a linear output in the output node (250b) (see figures 2 and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 2, Azam further teaches: wherein the set of switches (214) are configured on the substrate (Array0).
Regarding claim 3, Azam further teaches: wherein the plurality of circuit elements (214,216,212) are connected to the output node (out) to provide output; and each respective circuit element (212 or 214 or 216) in the plurality of circuit elements (212,214,216) is configured to be selectively connected, via one of the switches (214), between an input and the output node (out) (see figures 2 and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 10, Azam discloses DAC architecture in figure 2 that teaches: a plurality of circuit elements (210) configured in a rectangular area (220c, 220b) of a substrate (Array0); and a set of switches (214) configured to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node (250b); wherein the device (220,) is configured to operate the set of switches (214) to connect subsets of the circuit elements (216,212) to the output node (250C) in a pattern that reduces deviation (see para. 0042, 0043, 0049,0050 (mismatch same meaning as deviation) between a first output in the output node (output +) when the circuit elements have no variability in manufacture; and a second output in the output node (output -) (see figure 2 and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar to claim 10 in method format. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected as well as rejected in claim 10, such as: Azam discloses DAC architecture in figure 2 that teaches: a plurality of circuit elements (210) configured in a rectangular area (220c, 220b) of a substrate (Array0); and a set of switches (214) configured to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node (250b); wherein the device (220,) is configured to operate the set of switches (214) to connect subsets of the circuit elements (216,212) to the output node (250C) in a pattern that reduces deviation (see para. 0042, 0043, 0049,0050 (mismatch same meaning as deviation) between a first output in the output node (output +) when the circuit elements have no variability in manufacture; and a second output in the output node (output -) (see figure 2 and its descriptions).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,942,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 discloses similar limitations and functions of the claim 1 of the instant application, such as, a plurality of circuit elements configured in a rectangular area of a substrate; and a set of switches configured to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node; wherein the device is configured to operate the set of switches to connect subsets of the circuit elements to the output node in a pattern that reduces deviation from a linear output in the output node for more than one scenario of directional variability in manufacture of the circuit elements. Although the claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 fails to discloses switches in the claim. However, in order to connect electric component to the output node, switches are needed to perform the connecting function. In addition, claim 1 of USP 11,942,958 used the term “electric component” which is similar meaning to “circuit elements” as claimed in the claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,942,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 discloses similar limitations and functions of the claim 1 of the instant application, such as, wherein the set of switches are configured on the substrate. . Although the claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 fails to discloses switches in the claim. However, in order to connect electric component to the output node, switches are needed to perform the connecting function.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,942,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 discloses similar limitations and functions of the claim 1 of the instant application, such as, a plurality of circuit elements configured in a rectangular area of a substrate; and a set of switches configured to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node; wherein the device is configured to operate the set of switches to connect subsets of the circuit elements to the output node in a pattern that reduces deviation between: a first output in the output node when the circuit elements have no variability in manufacture; and a second output in the output node when the circuit elements have directional variability in manufacture in any of a plurality of directions. Although the claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 fails to discloses switches in the claim. However, in order to connect electric component to the output node, switches are needed to perform the connecting function. In addition, claim 1 of USP 11,942,958 used the term “electric component” which is similar meaning to “circuit elements” as claimed in the claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,942,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 discloses similar limitations and functions of the claim 1 of the instant application, such as, wherein the set of switches are configured on the substrate. In addition, claim 1 of USP 11,942,958 used the term “electric component” which is similar meaning to “circuit elements” as claimed in the claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,942,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 discloses similar limitations and functions of the claim 1 of the instant application, such as, providing a plurality of circuit elements in a rectangular area of a substrate; providing, on the substrate, a set of switches to selectively connect the circuit elements to an output node; operating the set of switches to connect subsets of the circuit elements to the output node in a pattern that reduces deviation between: a first output in the output node when the circuit elements have no variability in manufacture; and a second output in the output node when the circuit elements have directional variability in manufacture in any of a plurality of directions. Although the claim 1 of the USP 11,942,958 fails to discloses switches in the claim. However, in order to connect electric component to the output node, switches are needed to perform the connecting function. In addition, claim 1 of USP 11,942,958 used the term “electric component” which is similar meaning to “circuit elements” as claimed in the claim 1 of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements and the set of switches are configured between two input nodes to provide the output that varies based on connections provided by the switches.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements include first circuit elements and second circuit elements; wherein the first circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a first node among the two input nodes; and wherein the second circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a second node among the two input nodes.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein in absence of variability in manufacture of the plurality of circuit elements, the output is a function of a count of the first circuit elements connected between the first node and the output node, and a count of the second circuit elements connected between to the second node and the output node.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each of the plurality of circuit elements is a resistor.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each of the plurality of circuit elements is a capacitor.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each of the plurality of circuit elements is an inductor.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the device is configured to operate the set of switches to connect subsets of the circuit elements to the output node in a pattern that reduces deviation between: the first output in the output node when the circuit elements have no variability in manufacture; and the second output in the output node when the circuit elements have directional variability in manufacture in any of a plurality of directions; wherein the set of switches are configured on the substrate.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each respective circuit element in the plurality of circuit elements is configured to be selectively connected, via one of the switches, between an input and the output node.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements and the set of switches are configured between two input nodes to provide the second output that varies based on connections provided by the switches.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements include first circuit elements and second circuit elements; wherein the first circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a first node among the two input nodes; and wherein the second circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a second node among the two input nodes.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the first output is a function of a count of the first circuit elements connected between the first node and the output node, and a count of the second circuit elements connected between to the second node and the output node.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each of the plurality of circuit elements is a resistor, a capacitor, or an inductor.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein each respective circuit element in the plurality of circuit elements is configured to be selectively connected, via one of the switches, between an input and the output node.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements and the set of switches are configured between two input nodes to provide the second output that varies based on connections provided by the switches.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, such as: wherein the plurality of circuit elements include first circuit elements and second circuit elements; wherein the first circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a first node among the two input nodes; wherein the second circuit elements are selectively connectable by the set of switches to a second node among the two input nodes; wherein the first output is a function of a first count of the first circuit elements connected between the first node and the output node, and a second count of the second circuit elements connected between to the second node and the output node; and wherein the first output is independent of which of the first count of the first circuit elements is being selected for connection between the first node and the output node, and independent of which of the second count of the second circuit elements is being selected for connection between the second node and the output node.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited references are related to instant application subject matters.
Conclusion
/LAM T MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845