DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant argues that “Cited references Hamamura and Miyakoshi fail to disclose, at least, ‘in a plane perpendicular to the X axis direction, the first magnetic sensor is situated at the first distance from the inner surface of the first portion of the first shield member.’”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Miyakoshi shows that a magnetic sensor is situated at a distance from an inner surface of a first portion of a shield member (Fig. 1; magnetic body 4 or 5 having inner surfaces at distance from the magnetosensitive element 2). It is unclear how at least the Miyakoshi fails to disclose the placement/ distance of the magnetic sensor relative to the first shield member. Applicant has not specifically pointed out the differences between the prior art and the claimed invention and only has provided only an allegation that the claims define a patentable invention. Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection of amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamamura et al., JP 2019027875 in view of Miyakoshi et al., WO 2014203862
Regarding claim 1, Hamamura discloses a current sensor comprising: a busbar (Fig. 1; busbar B); a first magnetic sensor (Fig. 1-2; magnetic sensor 130); and a first coil (Fig. 1-2; compensation coil 120), wherein where a longitudinal direction of the busbar is defined as an X axis direction, and a width direction of the busbar is defined as a Y axis direction (Fig. 1; bus bar having x, y, z directions which can be a longitudinal or width direction), the first magnetic sensor measures a magnetic field in the Y axis direction, the first coil is arranged such that an axis of the first coil is parallel to the Y axis direction (Fig. 1-2; coil 120 having multiple axis and is therefore parallel to an axis direction of the busbar B), and the first magnetic sensor is arranged inside the first coil (Fig. 2; sensor 130 inserted in hole of bobbin accompanying the coil 120);
a first shield member; and a second shield member (Fig. 2; plates 210 and 220), wherein the first shield member includes a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion (fig. 2; 210 includes three sides), wherein where a direction perpendicular to the X axis direction and the Y axis direction is defined as a Z axis direction, the first portion and the second portion of the first shield member extend in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction (fig. 2; plates 210 left and right sides extend in multiple direction), the third portion of the first shield member extends in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction, the first portion of the first shield member is connected to one end, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the first shield member (Fig, 2; middle portion connected to the sides), the second portion of the first shield member is connected to the other end, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the first shield member (Fig. 2; middle portion connected to sides), the second shield member includes a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion (fig. 2; 220 includes three sides), the first portion and the second portion of the second shield member extend in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the third portion of the second shield member extends in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction (Fig. 2; plates 220 left and right sides extend in multiple direction), the first portion of the second shield member is connected to one end, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the second shield member, the second portion of the second shield member is connected to the other end, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the second shield member (Fig, 2; middle portion connected to the sides), a length, in the Y axis direction, of the first shield member is the same as a length, in the Y axis direction (Fig. 2; as shown), of the second shield member, and the busbar, the first magnetic sensor, and the first coil are arranged inside an area surrounded by the first shield member and second shield member (Fig. 2; as shown).
wherein a position, in the Y axis direction, of the first magnetic sensor is out of a plane formed of: a line passing through a center, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the first shield member and a center, in the Y axis direction, of the third portion of the second shield member; and a line parallel to the X axis direction (See Fig. 1-2).
wherein where one surface on a side of the first magnetic sensor of two surfaces of the first portion of the first shield member extending in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction is defined as an inner surface of the first portion of the first shield member, one surface on a side of the first magnetic sensor of two surfaces of the third portion of the first shield member extending in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction is defined as an inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member, a plane formed of a line parallel to the X axis direction and a line parallel to the Y axis direction is defined as a horizontal plane, and a distance between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member is defined as a first distance, a distance between the first magnetic sensor and a plane situated away by the first distance from the inner surface of the first portion of the first shield member is equal to or less than a first value (Fig. 1-2; magnetic element is at a distance from the first shielding member therefore is considered to be a distance equal to or less than a first value).
Hamamura is silent in the first shield member and the second shield member are arranged such that an end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and an end portion of the first portion of the second shield member face each other, and an end portion of the second portion of the first shield member and an end portion of the second portion of the second shield member face each other and in a plane perpendicular to the X axis direction, the first magnetic sensor is situated at the first distance from the inner surface of the first portion of the first shield member. Miyakoshi teaches a first shield member and a second shield member are arranged such that an end portion of a first portion of the first shield member and an end portion of a first portion of the second shield member face each other, and an end portion of a second portion of the first shield member and an end portion of a second portion of the second shield member face each other (Fig. 1; first and second magnetic body 4 and 5 having first and second portions that face each other) and in a plane perpendicular to the X axis direction, the first magnetic sensor is situated at the first distance from the inner surface of the first portion of the first shield member (Fig. 1; magnetic body 4 or 5 having inner surfaces at distance from the magnetosensitive element 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Miyakoshi into Hamamura since the substitution of the shield member would produce the predictable result of reducing the external interference.
Regarding claim 5, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 4. Hamamura teaches wherein one of two surfaces, on a side of the first magnetic sensor, of the third portion of the second shield member extending in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction is defined as an inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member, the distance between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member is the same as a distance between the end portion of the second portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member, and a distance between the end portion of the first portion of the second shield member and a horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member is the same as a distance between the end portion of the second portion of the second shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member (Fig. 1-2; distance from first and second end portions of the first and second shield to the top portion of the shields are the same).
Regarding claim 6, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 5. Hamamura teaches wherein a distance between the first magnetic sensor and a horizontal plane containing a center between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the end portion of the first portion of the second shield member and a center between the end portion of the second portion of the first shield member and the end portion of the second portion of the second shield member is equal to or more than a second value (Fig. 1-2; first end portion of the first shield member and the second shield member is at a distance from each other and is considered a distance having a second value; the distance from the second end portion of the first shield member and the second shield member are at a same distance as that of the first end portions and therefore also have a second value).
Regarding claim 7, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 4. Hamamura teaches wherein the distance between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member is equal to or more than the distance between the end portion of the first portion of the second shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member (Fig. 1-2; first and second shield members are of equal size and therefore share the similar distances between end portions and horizontal portions).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamamura et al., JP 2019027875 in view of Miyakoshi et al., WO 2014203862 in view of Kasajima et al. US 20150115938
Regarding claim 8, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 4. Hamamura is silent in a second magnetic sensor configured to measure a magnetic field in the Y axis direction, a second coil, wherein the second coil is arranged such that an axis of the second coil is parallel to the Y axis direction, and the second magnetic sensor is arranged inside the second coil. Kasajima teaches a second magnetic sensor configured to measure a magnetic field in the Y axis direction, a second coil, wherein the second coil is arranged such that an axis of the second coil is parallel to the Y axis direction, and the second magnetic sensor is arranged inside the second coil (Fig. 6; magnetic detection element 20 with coil 121). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kasajima into Hamamura for the benefit of detecting magnetic field in multiple locations so that a more accurate measurement can be acheived.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamamura et al., JP 2019027875 in view of Miyakoshi et al., WO 2014203862 in view of Kasajima et al. US 20150115938 in view of Esaka et al., US 20190293733
Regarding claim 9, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 8. Hamamura teaches wherein where one surface on a side of the first magnetic sensor of two surfaces of the second portion of the first shield member extending in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction is defined as an inner surface of the second portion of the first shield member (Fig. 1-2; inner surface of the second end portion). Hamamura is silent in a distance between the second magnetic sensor and a plane situated away by the first distance from the inner surface of the second portion of the first shield member is equal to or less than a third value. Esaka teaches a second magnetic sensor and a plane situated away by a distance from an inner surface of a second portion of a first shield member is equal to or less than a third value (Fig. 2; sensors 11, 12 is a distance away from an inner surface of a shield 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Esaka into Hamamura for the benefit of preventing the influence of a leakage magnetic field.
Regarding claim 10, Hamamura as modified discloses the current sensor according to claim 9. Hamamura teaches wherein one surface on a side of the first magnetic sensor of two surfaces of the third portion of the second shield member extending in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction is defined as an inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member, the distance between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member is the same as a distance between the end portion of the second portion of the first shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the first shield member, a distance between the end portion of the first portion of the second shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member is the same as a distance between the end portion of the second portion of the second shield member and the horizontal plane containing the inner surface of the third portion of the second shield member (Fig. 1-2; first and second shield members are the same dimension and therefore have equal distances).
Hamamura is silent in a distance between the second magnetic sensor and a horizontal plane containing a center between the end portion of the first portion of the first shield member and the end portion of the first portion of the second shield member and a center between the end portion of the second portion of the first shield member and the end portion of the second portion of the second shield member is equal to or more than a fourth value. Esaka discloses a distance between a second magnetic sensor and a horizontal plane containing a center between a first end portion of the first shield member and a first end portion of the second shield member and a center between a second end portion of the first shield member and a second end portion of the second shield member is equal to or more than a fourth value (Fig. 2; distance in the x axis direction is considered a fourth value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Esaka into Hamamura for the benefit of preventing the influence of a leakage magnetic field.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858