DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4-9, 11- objected to because of the following informalities:
each of claims 2, 4-9, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 recite various ways of referring to “two or more devices equipped with radio frequency (RF) transmitter and receiver functionality” as established in independent claims 1 and 11. For example, in claim 2, “the devices” refers back to the two or more devices, and in claims 4-5, 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17-19, “the T/R devices” refers back to the two or more devices, and in claim 11, “these devices” refers back to the two or more devices. Examiner suggests that, throughout the claims, the same terminology be used to refer back to the two or more devices as established in independent claims 1 and 11 for clarity.
claim 5 recites “at the various locations” which should read “at the plurality of locations” as established in independent claim 1.
claim 6 recites “wherein the AP transmission characteristics readings” which should read “wherein the readings” as established in claim 2.
in claim 7, “at the plurality locations” should read “at the plurality of locations”.
in claim 20, “the collected RF signal propagation data” should read “the collected RF signal propagation characteristics” as established earlier in the claim.
in claim 20, “in terms of least one of the following characteristics:” (emphasis added) should read “in terms of at least one of
in claim 20, “the transceiver devices” as used throughout the claims should read “the plurality of transceiver devices” for consistency with how this limitation is established earlier in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other T/R device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “another T/R device”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the received RF signal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “a received RF signal”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the wireless AP transmission characteristics". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the wireless network AP transmission characteristics ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “transmission characteristics” (emphasis added). For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the strength". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 7 recites the limitation " the AP transmission characteristics ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the interaction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “an interaction”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the AP transmission characteristics ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the site analysis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the movement". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the power sensor readings". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the interaction dynamics". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the repositioning". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the RF environment". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the physical characteristics". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the other of the transceivers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “another of the transceivers”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Dependent claims 2-10 are rejected at least based on their dependency on independent claim 1. Dependent claims 12-19 are rejected at least based on their dependency on independent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan et al. (US 2014/0198670), hereinafter “Mahasenan”, in view of Kasch et al. (US 2018/0060476), hereinafter “Kasch”.
Regarding claim 1, Mahasenan teaches:
A method for assisting private wireless network access point (AP) placement, comprising:
positioning two or more devices with radio frequency (RF) transmitter and receiver functionality (T/R devices) at a plurality of locations within a site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location), wherein each of the two or more devices is configured to transmit an RF signal of a form typically transmitted by an AP to the other T/R device which measures the received RF signal as an indication of the wireless AP transmission characteristics of RF signals transmitted between the two or more devices at the plurality of different locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the signal as an indication of the wireless AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
causing the two or more devices to begin measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics at the plurality of locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
generating an AP installation map (see Mahasenan, Fig. 2, par. [0039]: At block 242, method 230 includes generating a node coverage map based on the received communication metrics, wherein the node coverage map includes the first and second set of locations. The received communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can be used to generate the node coverage map. The node coverage map can include a heat map that can represent communication metrics for an area that includes the first location and the second location. The heat map can be a graphical representation of the various communication metrics for an area surrounding the first location and the second location)
However Mahasenan does not teach:
determining when a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site has been collected that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics; and
generating an AP installation map based on the collected data set when the set of criteria has been met.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determining when a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site has been collected that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics (see Kasch, Fig. 3, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, measurements of coverage and signal quality (corresponding to wireless network AP transmission characteristics) are performed until coverage is fully mapped and signal measurements are complete (corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)); and
generating an AP installation map based on the collected data set when the set of criteria has been met (see Kasch, Fig. 3, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user, and see par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, a heatmap with access point locations corresponds to an AP installation map. The heatmap is generated after collecting all the measurements (i.e. when the set of criteria has been met)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the determining meeting a set of criteria for measurements and generating an AP installation map when meeting the criteria of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
the steps of causing the devices to begin mapping and determining when a data set has met the set of criteria are carried out by a command device (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)), and wherein the command device further provides instructions to a user for repositioning at least one of the two or more devices after readings at a location pair are taken (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a user for repositioning)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the command device performing the steps of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the command device further provides real-time feedback and instructions to the user based on the collected data set (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the feedback and instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the AP transmission characteristics include the strength of transmitted and received RF signals at the various locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0007]: A wireless network site survey can be used to determine a number of communication metrics (e.g., connection qualities, received signal strength indication (RSSI), link quality indicator (LQI), received signal quality indicator (RSQI), etc.) for a wireless network)
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
the T/R devices include a power sensor configured to measure and record the strength of transmitted and received RF signals (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the AP transmission characteristics further comprise at least one of a throughput, a signal-to-noise ratio, and interference levels at the plurality locations within the site (see Kasch, par. [0036]: Sensors 218 may utilize a variety of metrics to measure coverage. For example, sensors 218 might measure the raw signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a given channel or frequency. Alternatively, the sensors might measure one or more higher-level network characteristics directly. For example, throughput, latency, jitter, and/or congestion might be measured under a given work load to measure the coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristics of Mahasenan with the specific characteristics of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the T/R devices are capable of communicating with each other using a variety of RF wavelengths (see Kasch, par. [0025]: each access point will typically operate on one of a fixed number of channels or frequencies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the variety of RF wavelengths of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the T/R devices can selectively switch between transmitter and receiver roles to mimic the interaction between access points and client devices within the wireless network (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes; in this case, the nodes used for measuring can both send and receive messages with each other, corresponding to switching between transmitter and receiver roles).
Regarding claim 11, Mahasenan teaches:
A system for assisted private wireless network access point (AP) placement, comprising:
two or more devices equipped with radio frequency (RF) transmitter and receiver functionality, these devices (T/R devices) being capable of repositioning throughout various locations within a site to measure the AP transmission characteristics of RF signals (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location, and see par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the signal as an indication of the wireless AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
However, Mahasenan does not teach:
a command device configured to cause a processor within each T/R device to direct the T/R device to reposition its location throughout the site, the command device further being programmed with criteria for assessing whether a data set representative of wireless network AP transmission characteristics meets predetermined minimum requirements.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
a command device configured to cause a processor within each T/R device to direct the T/R device to reposition its location throughout the site (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a user for repositioning)), the command device further being programmed with criteria for assessing whether a data set representative of wireless network AP transmission characteristics meets predetermined minimum requirements (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the command device performing the steps of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the T/R devices further comprise a power sensor that measures and records RF signal strength at the various locations throughout the site (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the T/R devices of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the power sensor readings contribute to determining optimal wireless network access point locations based on signal coverage and performance metrics (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user, and see par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the T/R devices are configured to measure and record additional RF signal characteristics, including throughput, signal-to-noise ratio, and interference levels at different site locations (see Kasch, par. [0036]: Sensors 218 may utilize a variety of metrics to measure coverage. For example, sensors 218 might measure the raw signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a given channel or frequency. Alternatively, the sensors might measure one or more higher-level network characteristics directly. For example, throughput, latency, jitter, and/or congestion might be measured under a given work load to measure the coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristics of Mahasenan with the specific characteristics of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the T/R devices are further capable of communicating with each other using a variety of RF wavelengths (see Kasch, par. [0025]: each access point will typically operate on one of a fixed number of channels or frequencies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the variety of RF wavelengths of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the T/R devices include functionality to selectively switch roles between transmitting and receiving, thereby simulating the interaction dynamics between APs and client devices within a wireless network (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes; in this case, the nodes used for measuring can both send and receive messages with each other, corresponding to switching between transmitter and receiver roles).
Claims 4, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of Kasch, as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Kurtz et al. (US 9,781,609), hereinafter “Kurtz”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein the positioning of the T/R devices throughout the site is autonomous, guided by an onboard processor within each of the T/R devices.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the positioning of the T/R devices throughout the site is autonomous, guided by an onboard processor within each of the T/R devices (see Kurtz, Fig. 5, col. 13, lines 39-51: each of the mobile WAPs 530 and self-directed, testing receiver devices 532 may traverse from one location to another location along a testing route and test at locations along the route or test continually along the route. For example, mobile WAP 530A may move from a stationary start location to point A. Mobile WAP 530B may move from a stationary start location to point C. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532A may move from a stationary start location to point B. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532B may move from a stationary start location to point D. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532D may move from a stationary start location to point E, and see col. 4, lines 38-43: the one or more self-directed, mobile WAP devices may include one or more processors, memory, computing circuitry, wireless communication technology, and/or transceivers or receivers which may function independently and/or in conjunction with each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of devices of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the autonomous positioning of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein the command device is capable of receiving user input to set forth characteristics of the site to be mapped.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the command device is capable of receiving user input to set forth characteristics of the site to be mapped (see Kurtz, Fig. 4, col. 11, lines 30-36: the decision module 404 may select a collection of candidate wireless network test locations identified on a map generated by the WAP mapping module 410, for testing wireless network communication according to defined constraints, conditions, testing parameters, or a combination thereof received by the rules/constraints module 406 from a user, and see col. 14, lines 48-52: a user, such as an administrator, may 4) define test attributes and success conditions. For example, the user may define a minimum signal strength, signal to noise ratio, coverage area and a maximum signal interference for various Wi-Fi frequency bands and channels, and see col. 8, lines 23-26: Computer system/server 12 may also communicate with one or more external devices 14 such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a display 24, etc.; one or more devices that enable a user to interact with computer system/server 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the command device of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the command device receiving user input of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of providing instructions regarding the repositioning of T/R devices throughout the site analysis (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of receiving input regarding the repositioning of T/R devices throughout the site analysis.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of receiving input regarding the repositioning of T/R devices throughout the site analysis (see Kurtz, Fig. 4, col. 11, lines 30-36: the decision module 404 may select a collection of candidate wireless network test locations identified on a map generated by the WAP mapping module 410, for testing wireless network communication according to defined constraints, conditions, testing parameters, or a combination thereof received by the rules/constraints module 406 from a user, and see col. 14, lines 13-22: a user, such as an administrator, may 2) define one or more mobile WAP placement constraints for WAP placement optimization. The user may define physical constraints for placement of the WAPs drones (e.g., mobile WAPs 530A-C drones functioning as Wi-Fi signal generators), such as minimum and maximum vertical heights, a minimum distance from openings (e.g., doors, halls, lobbies), a minimum distance from other types of objects in the space, such as fire sprinklers, lights, alarms, signs, speakers, air conditioning openings, elevators, windows, doors, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the command device of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the command device receiving user input of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch, and further in view of Kurtz, teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the command device is further configured to provide real-time feedback and instructions based on ongoing data collection from the T/R devices (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the feedback and instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein each T/R device is a remotely controllable aerial drone and the movement of each T/R device is controlled by the processor within each T/R device to execute autonomous three-dimensional movement within the site.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein each T/R device is a remotely controllable aerial drone and the movement of each T/R device is controlled by the processor within each T/R device to execute autonomous three-dimensional movement within the site (see Kurtz, Fig. 5, col. 13, lines 39-51: each of the mobile WAPs 530 and self-directed, testing receiver devices 532 may traverse from one location to another location along a testing route and test at locations along the route or test continually along the route. For example, mobile WAP 530A may move from a stationary start location to point A. Mobile WAP 530B may move from a stationary start location to point C. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532A may move from a stationary start location to point B. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532B may move from a stationary start location to point D. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532D may move from a stationary start location to point E, and see col. 4, lines 38-43: the one or more self-directed, mobile WAP devices may include one or more processors, memory, computing circuitry, wireless communication technology, and/or transceivers or receivers which may function independently and/or in conjunction with each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of devices of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the autonomous positioning of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of Kasch, as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Egner et al. (US 2018/0184303), hereinafter “Egner”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
further including a step of having the command device transmit the data set to an external server, wherein the step of generating the AP installation map based on the collected data set is carried out by the external server, and wherein the AP transmission characteristics readings are used by the external server to determine optimal locations for the placement of wireless network with the AP installation map based on signal coverage and network performance criteria.
Egner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
further including a step of having the command device transmit the data set to an external server (see Egner, par. [0019]: The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system of various embodiments of the present disclosure may operate in some example embodiments as a software agent, in whole or in part, within a WLAN AP or other wireless network access point while other portions of the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may operate on remote server systems, and see par. [0048]: in FIG. 4 at arrow 406, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 and may receive a neighborhood radio frequency (RF) traffic report data from the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204 detailing the identifications, operating channels, traffic load, signal strength, and locations of all unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations known to the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204, and see par. [0048]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 may receive a similar RF traffic report from each of the plurality of unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations 204-226 in the wireless network; in this case, the optimization system may be run on a server and may receive traffic reports (i.e. data sets) from the APs (i.e. the command device transmits to the server)), wherein the step of generating the AP installation map based on the collected data set is carried out by the external server (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0087]: At block 516, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system in an embodiment may transmit machine-readable code instructions to the WLAN AP to instruct the digital display to display a graphical indicator of a direction pointing toward the optimal geographic location. For example, with reference to FIG. 4, at arrow 414, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may transmit code instructions to the WLAN AP 202 instructing its digital display 110 to display an arrow 420 indicating a direction (shown here as an arrow) pointing toward the optimal geographic location 408; in this case, a graphical representation of optimal location corresponds to an AP installation map), and wherein the AP transmission characteristics readings are used by the external server to determine optimal locations for the placement of wireless network with the AP installation map based on signal coverage and network performance criteria (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0075]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may request and receive traffic reports describing the type, frequency of operation, latitude, longitude, and utilization (bandwidth being used, or traffic at the access point) of each unlicensed small cell WWAN base station in the wireless neighborhood. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may utilize the information in these traffic reports to calculate potential interference between each of the identified unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations, and see par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference. As described above, situating BTS systems (including both WLAN AP and unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations) geographically close to one another may yield direct interference among the BTS systems, and may increase roll-off into adjacent radio channel frequencies, causing further interference. As also described above, many installers of WLAN AP base transceiver stations are not technologically proficient enough to identify an optimal geographic location for a WLAN AP operating geographically close to one or more unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system operates to identify the optimal geographic location and communicate that location to the installer; in this case, interference and optimal AP location are determined based on signal coverage and network performance using measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the external server of Egner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing quality of signals and network capacity (see Egner, par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Mahasenan teaches:
A method for creating an optimized wireless network access point (AP) installation plan within a defined site, comprising:
distributing a plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site, wherein each transceiver device is capable of transmitting and receiving radio frequency (RF) signals (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location, and see par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless node);
collecting RF signal propagation characteristics throughout the defined site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
wherein the repositioning of the transceiver devices within the defined site involves starting with two transceivers at two separate locations within the site and taking a reading, moving one of the transceivers to a new location and taking a reading, moving the other of the transceivers to a new location and taking a reading (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations),
However, Mahasenan does not teach:
generating instructions, by a command device, for causing the repositioning of the transceiver devices within the defined site;
collecting, by a processor in each of the transceiver devices transmitting data to the command device, RF signal propagation characteristics
aggregating, by the processor in the command device, a data set from the collected RF signal propagation data, wherein the data set characterizes the RF environment within the defined site in terms of least one of the following characteristics: signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio, interference levels, and obstructions;
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device;
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site; and
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and the physical characteristics of the defined site, wherein the repositioning of the transceiver devices within the defined site involves repeating this leapfrogging positioning until a comprehensive data set meeting predefined minimum characteristics mimicking possible AP placements is collected.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
generating instructions, by a command device, for causing the repositioning of the transceiver devices within the defined site (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a user for repositioning));
collecting, by a processor in each of the transceiver devices transmitting data to the command device, RF signal propagation characteristics (see Kasch, par. [0049]: Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, and see Fig. 4, par. [0048]: sensor 400 additionally comprises sensing device 408. Processor 402 may be any type of processor, as described above with respect to processor 106. Similarly, memory 404 is similar to memory modules 108 and/or data store 122 and may be transitory (e.g., RAM) or non-transitory (e.g. flash) memory and may be used for temporary storage of data during operation of sensor 400, for durable storage of program instructions when sensor 400 is inactive, or both. Communications interface 406 may be wired or wireless as described above with respect to network interface 124 and communicates data (e.g., signal data) with controller 500 (as described below))
aggregating, by the processor in the command device, a data set from the collected RF signal propagation data, wherein the data set characterizes the RF environment within the defined site in terms of least one of the following characteristics: signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio, interference levels, and obstructions (see Kasch, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user); and
wherein the repositioning of the transceiver devices within the defined site involves repeating this leapfrogging positioning until a comprehensive data set meeting predefined minimum characteristics mimicking possible AP placements is collected (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the command device of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device;
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site;
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and the physical characteristics of the defined site,
Egner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device (see Egner, par. [0019]: The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system of various embodiments of the present disclosure may operate in some example embodiments as a software agent, in whole or in part, within a WLAN AP or other wireless network access point while other portions of the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may operate on remote server systems, and see par. [0048]: in FIG. 4 at arrow 406, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 and may receive a neighborhood radio frequency (RF) traffic report data from the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204 detailing the identifications, operating channels, traffic load, signal strength, and locations of all unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations known to the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204, and see par. [0048]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 may receive a similar RF traffic report from each of the plurality of unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations 204-226 in the wireless network; in this case, the optimization system may be run on a server and may receive traffic reports (i.e. data sets) from the APs (i.e. the command device transmits to the server));
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference);
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and the physical characteristics of the defined site (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0075]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may request and receive traffic reports describing the type, frequency of operation, latitude, longitude, and utilization (bandwidth being used, or traffic at the access point) of each unlicensed small cell WWAN base station in the wireless neighborhood. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may utilize the information in these traffic reports to calculate potential interference between each of the identified unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations, and see par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference. As described above, situating BTS systems (including both WLAN AP and unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations) geographically close to one another may yield direct interference among the BTS systems, and may increase roll-off into adjacent radio channel frequencies, causing further interference. As also described above, many installers of WLAN AP base transceiver stations are not technologically proficient enough to identify an optimal geographic location for a WLAN AP operating geographically close to one or more unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system operates to identify the optimal geographic location and communicate that location to the installer, and see par. [0087]: At block 516, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system in an embodiment may transmit machine-readable code instructions to the WLAN AP to instruct the digital display to display a graphical indicator of a direction pointing toward the optimal geographic location. For example, with reference to FIG. 4, at arrow 414, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may transmit code instructions to the WLAN AP 202 instructing its digital display 110 to display an arrow 420 indicating a direction (shown here as an arrow) pointing toward the optimal geographic location 408; in this case, interference and optimal AP location are determined based on signal coverage and network performance using measurements and geography. A graphical representation of optimal location corresponds to an AP installation map),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the external server of Egner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing quality of signals and network capacity (see Egner, par. [0071]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Desai et al. (US 2021/0092616) teaches wireless access point locations being determined by processing a combination of wired and wireless telemetry.
Hills (US 6,711,148) teaches a method for establishing the location of access points for a network providing wireless communications coverage for an environment.
Johnson (WO 2011/019525) teaches a system for relative positioning of access points in a real time locating system.
N. Srikamta et al. ("Evaluation of the Reliability of Heat Map Planner Software to Assist in Indoor Positioning”) teaches using a heat map to design a suitable access point installation location.
C. Pendão et al. ("Automatic RF Interference Maps and their relationship with Wi-Fi Positioning Errors") teaches using interference mapping to improve positioning performance in Wi-Fi environments.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419