DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 06/08/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b). Therefore, the corresponding rejections are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 2, “repositioning at least one of the two or more devices” (emphasis added) should read “repositioning at least one of the plurality of T/R devices” (emphasis added) for consistency with claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan et al. (US 2014/0198670), hereinafter “Mahasenan”, in view of Kasch et al. (US 2018/0060476), hereinafter “Kasch”.
Regarding claim 1, Mahasenan teaches:
A method for assisting private wireless network access point (AP) placement, comprising:
positioning a plurality of devices with radio frequency (RF) transmitter and receiver functionality (T/R devices) at a plurality of locations within a site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location), wherein each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is configured to:
transmit RF signals of a form typically transmitted by an AP to at least one other T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes; in this case, beacon messages correspond to RF signals of a form typically transmitted by an AP); and
receive and measure the RF signals transmitted by the at least one other T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices as an indication of wireless network AP transmission characteristics of RF signals transmitted between the plurality of T/R devices at the plurality of different locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent and received for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the signal as an indication of the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
causing the plurality of T/R devices to begin measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics at the plurality of locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent and received for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
generating an AP installation map (see Mahasenan, Fig. 2, par. [0039]: At block 242, method 230 includes generating a node coverage map based on the received communication metrics, wherein the node coverage map includes the first and second set of locations. The received communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can be used to generate the node coverage map. The node coverage map can include a heat map that can represent communication metrics for an area that includes the first location and the second location. The heat map can be a graphical representation of the various communication metrics for an area surrounding the first location and the second location)
However Mahasenan does not teach:
determining when a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site has been collected that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics; and
generating an AP installation map based on the collected data set when the set of criteria has been met.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determining when a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site has been collected that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics (see Kasch, Fig. 3, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, measurements of coverage and signal quality (corresponding to wireless network AP transmission characteristics) are performed until coverage is fully mapped and signal measurements are complete (corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)); and
generating an AP installation map based on the collected data set when the set of criteria has been met (see Kasch, Fig. 3, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user, and see par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, a heatmap with access point locations corresponds to an AP installation map. The heatmap is generated after collecting all the measurements (i.e. when the set of criteria has been met)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the determining meeting a set of criteria for measurements and generating an AP installation map when meeting the criteria of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the steps of causing the plurality of T/R devices to begin mapping and determining when a data set has met the set of criteria are carried out by a command device (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)), and wherein the command device further provides instructions to a user for repositioning at least one of the two or more devices after readings at a location pair are taken (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a user for repositioning)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the command device performing the steps of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the wireless network AP transmission characteristics include strength of transmitted and received RF signals at the plurality of locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0007]: A wireless network site survey can be used to determine a number of communication metrics (e.g., connection qualities, received signal strength indication (RSSI), link quality indicator (LQI), received signal quality indicator (RSQI), etc.) for a wireless network)
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
the plurality of T/R devices include a power sensor configured to measure and record the strength of transmitted and received RF signals (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the wireless network AP transmission characteristics further comprise at least one of a throughput, a signal-to-noise ratio, and interference levels at the plurality of locations within the site (see Kasch, par. [0036]: Sensors 218 may utilize a variety of metrics to measure coverage. For example, sensors 218 might measure the raw signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a given channel or frequency. Alternatively, the sensors might measure one or more higher-level network characteristics directly. For example, throughput, latency, jitter, and/or congestion might be measured under a given work load to measure the coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristics of Mahasenan with the specific characteristics of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the plurality of T/R devices are capable of communicating with each other using a variety of RF wavelengths (see Kasch, par. [0025]: each access point will typically operate on one of a fixed number of channels or frequencies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the variety of RF wavelengths of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the plurality of T/R devices can selectively switch between transmitter and receiver roles to mimic an interaction between access points and client devices within the wireless network (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes; in this case, the nodes used for measuring can both send and receive messages with each other, corresponding to switching between transmitter and receiver roles).
Regarding claim 11, Mahasenan teaches:
A system for assisted private wireless network access point (AP) placement, comprising:
a plurality of devices equipped with radio frequency (RF) transmitter and receiver functionality (T/R devices), the plurality of T/R devices being capable of repositioning throughout various locations within a site to measure wireless network AP transmission characteristics of RF signals transmitted between the plurality of T/R devices at the various locations within the site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location, and see par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent and received for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the signal as an indication of the wireless AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
However, Mahasenan does not teach:
a command device configured to cause a processor within each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices to direct the T/R device to reposition its location throughout the site, the command device being programmed with criteria for assessing whether a data set representative of wireless network AP transmission characteristics meets predetermined minimum requirements.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
a command device configured to cause a processor within each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices to direct the T/R device to reposition its location throughout the site (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0029]: at operation 304, the system determines recommended access point and/or sensor placements for the initial signal measurements, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a device for repositioning)), the command device being programmed with criteria for assessing whether a data set representative of wireless network AP transmission characteristics meets predetermined minimum requirements (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the command device performing the steps of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices further comprises a power sensor that measures and records RF signal strength at the various locations throughout the site (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the T/R devices of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein power sensor readings contribute to determining optimal wireless network AP locations based on signal coverage and performance metrics (see Kasch, Fig. 4, par. [0048]: Sensor device 408 may be a wireless communications interface or may be a dedicated sensor operable to collect a wide variety of data regarding electromagnetic signal in the vicinity of sensor 400. For example, sensor device 4088 the signal strength from one or more nearby access points, a noise level on one or more frequencies or channels, or any other information, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user, and see par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the power sensor of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the plurality of T/R devices are configured to measure and record additional RF signal characteristics, including throughput, signal-to-noise ratio, and interference levels at different site locations (see Kasch, par. [0036]: Sensors 218 may utilize a variety of metrics to measure coverage. For example, sensors 218 might measure the raw signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a given channel or frequency. Alternatively, the sensors might measure one or more higher-level network characteristics directly. For example, throughput, latency, jitter, and/or congestion might be measured under a given work load to measure the coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the characteristics of Mahasenan with the specific characteristics of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the plurality of T/R devices are further capable of communicating with each other using a variety of RF wavelengths (see Kasch, par. [0025]: each access point will typically operate on one of a fixed number of channels or frequencies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the variety of RF wavelengths of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system. Mahasenan further teaches:
wherein the plurality of T/R devices include functionality to selectively switch roles between transmitting and receiving, thereby simulating interaction dynamics between wireless network APs and client devices within a wireless network (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes; in this case, the nodes used for measuring can both send and receive messages with each other, corresponding to switching between transmitter and receiver roles).
Claims 3, 4, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of Kasch, as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Kurtz et al. (US 9,781,609), hereinafter “Kurtz”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein:
the command device further provides real-time feedback and instructions to the user based on the collected data set (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the user input, feedback, and instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein:
the command device is configured to receive user input to set forth characteristics of the site to be mapped;
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein:
the command device is configured to receive user input to set forth characteristics of the site to be mapped (see Kurtz, Fig. 4, col. 11, lines 30-36: the decision module 404 may select a collection of candidate wireless network test locations identified on a map generated by the WAP mapping module 410, for testing wireless network communication according to defined constraints, conditions, testing parameters, or a combination thereof received by the rules/constraints module 406 from a user, and see col. 14, lines 48-52: a user, such as an administrator, may 4) define test attributes and success conditions. For example, the user may define a minimum signal strength, signal to noise ratio, coverage area and a maximum signal interference for various Wi-Fi frequency bands and channels, and see col. 8, lines 23-26: Computer system/server 12 may also communicate with one or more external devices 14 such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a display 24, etc.; one or more devices that enable a user to interact with computer system/server 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the command device of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the command device receiving user input of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein the positioning of the plurality of T/R devices throughout the site is autonomous, guided by an onboard processor within each of the plurality of T/R devices.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the positioning of the plurality of T/R devices throughout the site is autonomous, guided by an onboard processor within each of the plurality of T/R devices (see Kurtz, Fig. 5, col. 13, lines 39-51: each of the mobile WAPs 530 and self-directed, testing receiver devices 532 may traverse from one location to another location along a testing route and test at locations along the route or test continually along the route. For example, mobile WAP 530A may move from a stationary start location to point A. Mobile WAP 530B may move from a stationary start location to point C. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532A may move from a stationary start location to point B. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532B may move from a stationary start location to point D. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532D may move from a stationary start location to point E, and see col. 4, lines 38-43: the one or more self-directed, mobile WAP devices may include one or more processors, memory, computing circuitry, wireless communication technology, and/or transceivers or receivers which may function independently and/or in conjunction with each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of devices of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the autonomous positioning of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of providing instructions regarding the repositioning of the plurality of T/R devices throughout a site analysis (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of receiving input regarding the repositioning of the plurality of T/R devices throughout a site analysis.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the command device includes a user interface capable of receiving input regarding the repositioning of the plurality of T/R devices throughout a site analysis (see Kurtz, Fig. 4, col. 11, lines 30-36: the decision module 404 may select a collection of candidate wireless network test locations identified on a map generated by the WAP mapping module 410, for testing wireless network communication according to defined constraints, conditions, testing parameters, or a combination thereof received by the rules/constraints module 406 from a user, and see col. 14, lines 13-22: a user, such as an administrator, may 2) define one or more mobile WAP placement constraints for WAP placement optimization. The user may define physical constraints for placement of the WAPs drones (e.g., mobile WAPs 530A-C drones functioning as Wi-Fi signal generators), such as minimum and maximum vertical heights, a minimum distance from openings (e.g., doors, halls, lobbies), a minimum distance from other types of objects in the space, such as fire sprinklers, lights, alarms, signs, speakers, air conditioning openings, elevators, windows, doors, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the command device of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the command device receiving user input of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch, and further in view of Kurtz, teaches the system.
Mahasenan does not teach, but Kasch teaches:
wherein the command device is further configured to provide real-time feedback and instructions based on ongoing data collection from the plurality of T/R devices (see Kasch par. [0046]: Once all necessary simulations have been completed, access point locations and configurations can be presented to the user at operation 310. In some embodiments, a heatmap is presented showing the signal coverage for the deployment area together with the original access point locations, the new access point locations, and a channel assignment for each access point; in this case, access point locations and configurations correspond to real-time feedback and instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Mahasenan with the feedback and instructions of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the system.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
wherein each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is a remotely controllable aerial drone and movement of each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is controlled by the processor within the corresponding T/R device to execute autonomous three-dimensional movement within the site.
Kurtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is a remotely controllable aerial drone and movement of each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is controlled by the processor within the corresponding T/R device to execute autonomous three-dimensional movement within the site (see Kurtz, Fig. 5, col. 13, lines 39-51: each of the mobile WAPs 530 and self-directed, testing receiver devices 532 may traverse from one location to another location along a testing route and test at locations along the route or test continually along the route. For example, mobile WAP 530A may move from a stationary start location to point A. Mobile WAP 530B may move from a stationary start location to point C. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532A may move from a stationary start location to point B. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532B may move from a stationary start location to point D. Self-directed, testing receiver devices 532D may move from a stationary start location to point E, and see col. 4, lines 38-43: the one or more self-directed, mobile WAP devices may include one or more processors, memory, computing circuitry, wireless communication technology, and/or transceivers or receivers which may function independently and/or in conjunction with each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the positioning of devices of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the autonomous positioning of Kurtz with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increased computing performance in the system (see Kurtz, col. 5, lines 26-37).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of Kasch, as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 11, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Egner et al. (US 2018/0184303), hereinafter “Egner”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
further including a step of having the command device transmit the data set to an external server, wherein the step of generating the AP installation map based on the collected data set is carried out by the external server, and wherein the readings are used by the external server to determine optimal locations for the placement of a wireless network with the AP installation map based on signal coverage and network performance criteria.
Egner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
further including a step of having the command device transmit the data set to an external server (see Egner, par. [0019]: The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system of various embodiments of the present disclosure may operate in some example embodiments as a software agent, in whole or in part, within a WLAN AP or other wireless network access point while other portions of the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may operate on remote server systems, and see par. [0048]: in FIG. 4 at arrow 406, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 and may receive a neighborhood radio frequency (RF) traffic report data from the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204 detailing the identifications, operating channels, traffic load, signal strength, and locations of all unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations known to the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204, and see par. [0048]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 may receive a similar RF traffic report from each of the plurality of unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations 204-226 in the wireless network; in this case, the optimization system may be run on a server and may receive traffic reports (i.e. data sets) from the APs (i.e. the command device transmits to the server)), wherein the step of generating the AP installation map based on the collected data set is carried out by the external server (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0087]: At block 516, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system in an embodiment may transmit machine-readable code instructions to the WLAN AP to instruct the digital display to display a graphical indicator of a direction pointing toward the optimal geographic location. For example, with reference to FIG. 4, at arrow 414, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may transmit code instructions to the WLAN AP 202 instructing its digital display 110 to display an arrow 420 indicating a direction (shown here as an arrow) pointing toward the optimal geographic location 408; in this case, a graphical representation of optimal location corresponds to an AP installation map), and wherein the readings are used by the external server to determine optimal locations for the placement of a wireless network with the AP installation map based on signal coverage and network performance criteria (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0075]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may request and receive traffic reports describing the type, frequency of operation, latitude, longitude, and utilization (bandwidth being used, or traffic at the access point) of each unlicensed small cell WWAN base station in the wireless neighborhood. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may utilize the information in these traffic reports to calculate potential interference between each of the identified unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations, and see par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference. As described above, situating BTS systems (including both WLAN AP and unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations) geographically close to one another may yield direct interference among the BTS systems, and may increase roll-off into adjacent radio channel frequencies, causing further interference. As also described above, many installers of WLAN AP base transceiver stations are not technologically proficient enough to identify an optimal geographic location for a WLAN AP operating geographically close to one or more unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system operates to identify the optimal geographic location and communicate that location to the installer; in this case, interference and optimal AP location are determined based on signal coverage and network performance using measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the external server of Egner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing quality of signals and network capacity (see Egner, par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Mahasenan teaches:
A method for creating an optimized wireless network access point (AP) installation plan within a defined site, comprising:
distributing a plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site, wherein each of the plurality of transceiver devices is capable of transmitting and receiving radio frequency (RF) signals (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0030]: At block 232, method 230 includes placing a number of wireless nodes at a first set of locations. The number of wireless nodes can include nodes that are capable of sending and/or receiving wireless messages, and see par. [0034]: At block 238, method 230 includes moving the number of wireless nodes to a second set of locations that is in communication with the root access point at the particular location, and see par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless node);
collecting RF signal propagation characteristics throughout the defined site (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations);
wherein the repositioning of the plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site comprises:
starting with two transceiver devices of the plurality of transceiver devices at two separate locations within the site and taking a reading (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations),
moving one of the two transceivers to a new location and taking a reading (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations),
moving another of the two transceivers to a new location and taking a reading (see Mahasenan, Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and see par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device; in this case, RF signals are sent for determining communication metrics (i.e. for measuring the wireless network AP transmission characteristics) at several locations),
However, Mahasenan does not teach:
generating instructions, by a command device, for causing repositioning of the plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site;
collecting, by a processor in each of the plurality of transceiver devices transmitting data to the command device, RF signal propagation characteristics
aggregating, by the processor in the command device, a data set from the collected RF signal propagation characteristics, wherein the data set characterizes an RF environment within the defined site in terms of at least one of: signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio, interference levels, and obstructions;
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device;
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site; and
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and physical characteristics of the defined site, wherein the repositioning of the plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site comprises:
repeating this leapfrogging positioning until a comprehensive data set meeting predefined minimum characteristics mimicking possible AP placements is collected.
Kasch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
generating instructions, by a command device, for causing repositioning of the plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3 which includes repeatedly determining recommended placements (i.e. instructing a user for repositioning));
collecting, by a processor in each of the plurality of transceiver devices transmitting data to the command device, RF signal propagation characteristics (see Kasch, par. [0049]: Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, and see Fig. 4, par. [0048]: sensor 400 additionally comprises sensing device 408. Processor 402 may be any type of processor, as described above with respect to processor 106. Similarly, memory 404 is similar to memory modules 108 and/or data store 122 and may be transitory (e.g., RAM) or non-transitory (e.g. flash) memory and may be used for temporary storage of data during operation of sensor 400, for durable storage of program instructions when sensor 400 is inactive, or both. Communications interface 406 may be wired or wireless as described above with respect to network interface 124 and communicates data (e.g., signal data) with controller 500 (as described below))
aggregating, by the processor in the command device, a data set from the collected RF signal propagation characteristics, wherein the data set characterizes an RF environment within the defined site in terms of at least one of: signal strength, signal-to-noise ratio, interference levels, and obstructions (see Kasch, par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user); and
wherein the repositioning of the plurality of transceiver devices within the defined site comprises:
repeating this leapfrogging positioning until a comprehensive data set meeting predefined minimum characteristics mimicking possible AP placements is collected (see Kasch, Figs. 3 and 5, par. [0049]: processor 502, whether configured through hardware or through execution of program instructions stored in memory 504, may be configured to perform and/or control performance of operations in accordance with various embodiments disclosed herein. Display 508 is operable to display a user interface allowing a user to view signal data from sensors such as sensor 400, proposed access point locations, and estimated signals strength data, as well as to enter data such as that relating to actual access point and sensor locations. The operation of and information displayed by display 508 is discussed in greater detail above with respect to method 300, and see par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user; in this case, the controller device in Fig. 5 performs the method of Fig. 3, which includes performing measurements for mapping and determining when measurements are complete ((corresponding to determining when a set of criteria is met for minimum data set characteristics)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Mahasenan with the command device of Kasch with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maximizing signal coverage in a site (see Kasch, par. [0015]).
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not teach:
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device;
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site; and
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and physical characteristics of the defined site,
Egner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transmitting, by the command device, the data set to an external server in wireless communication with the command device (see Egner, par. [0019]: The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system of various embodiments of the present disclosure may operate in some example embodiments as a software agent, in whole or in part, within a WLAN AP or other wireless network access point while other portions of the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may operate on remote server systems, and see par. [0048]: in FIG. 4 at arrow 406, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 and may receive a neighborhood radio frequency (RF) traffic report data from the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204 detailing the identifications, operating channels, traffic load, signal strength, and locations of all unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations known to the unlicensed small cell WWAN base station 204, and see par. [0048]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system 126 may receive a similar RF traffic report from each of the plurality of unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations 204-226 in the wireless network; in this case, the optimization system may be run on a server and may receive traffic reports (i.e. data sets) from the APs (i.e. the command device transmits to the server));
processing, by the external server, the data set to generate a predictive model of wireless network performance within the defined site (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference); and
generating, by the external server, an AP installation map, wherein the external server uses the predictive model to compute optimal placement of wireless network APs based on signal coverage, network performance criteria, and physical characteristics of the defined site (see Egner, Fig. 5, par. [0075]: the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may request and receive traffic reports describing the type, frequency of operation, latitude, longitude, and utilization (bandwidth being used, or traffic at the access point) of each unlicensed small cell WWAN base station in the wireless neighborhood. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may utilize the information in these traffic reports to calculate potential interference between each of the identified unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations, and see par. [0086]: At block 514, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may determine an optimal WLAN AP geographic location associated with an optimized potential interference. As described above, situating BTS systems (including both WLAN AP and unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations) geographically close to one another may yield direct interference among the BTS systems, and may increase roll-off into adjacent radio channel frequencies, causing further interference. As also described above, many installers of WLAN AP base transceiver stations are not technologically proficient enough to identify an optimal geographic location for a WLAN AP operating geographically close to one or more unlicensed small cell WWAN base stations. The WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system operates to identify the optimal geographic location and communicate that location to the installer, and see par. [0087]: At block 516, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system in an embodiment may transmit machine-readable code instructions to the WLAN AP to instruct the digital display to display a graphical indicator of a direction pointing toward the optimal geographic location. For example, with reference to FIG. 4, at arrow 414, the WLAN AP base transceiver location optimization system may transmit code instructions to the WLAN AP 202 instructing its digital display 110 to display an arrow 420 indicating a direction (shown here as an arrow) pointing toward the optimal geographic location 408; in this case, interference and optimal AP location are determined based on signal coverage and network performance using measurements and geography. A graphical representation of optimal location corresponds to an AP installation map),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the external server of Egner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing quality of signals and network capacity (see Egner, par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch teaches the method.
However, the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RF signals transmitted and received by the plurality of T/R devices comprise signals conforming to a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) protocol.
Egner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the RF signals transmitted and received by the plurality of T/R devices comprise signals conforming to a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) protocol (see Egner, Fig. 1, par. [0029]: The wireless adapter 120 may operate in accordance with any wireless data communication standards. To communicate with a wireless local area network, standards including IEEE 802.11 WLAN standards, IEEE 802.15 WPAN standards, WWAN such as 3GPP or 3GPP2, or similar wireless standards may be used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Mahasenan in view of Kasch with the 3GPP signals of Egner with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of increasing quality of signals and network capacity (see Egner, par. [0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Mahasenan does not teach or suggest ‘wherein each T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices is configured to: transmit RF signals of a form typically transmitted by an AP to at least one other T/R device of the plurality of T/R devices; and receive and measure the RF signals transmitted by the at least one other T/R device’ as recited in amended claim 1” (see Applicant’s remarks, pages 8-9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Mahasenan in Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device.
These sections teach T/R devices sending messages between each other. Beacon messages correspond to RF signals of a form typically transmitted by an AP under its broadest reasonable interpretation, as an access point may send beacon messages. Communication metrics between nodes are determined based on sent and received beacon messages, corresponding to receiving and measuring the RF signals transmitted between devices.
Applicant argues “Kasch does not teach ‘determining when a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site has been collected that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics,’ as recited in claim 1” (see Applicant’s remarks, pages 8-10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Kasch in Fig. 3, and par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user.
These sections teach repeating measurement steps of an operation until signal measurements of the deployment area are complete and a coverage is fully mapped for the deployment area. The measurements of the deployment area correspond to a data set representative of the measured wireless network AP transmission characteristics in the site that has been collected. Determining that measurements are complete and a coverage is fully mapped corresponds to determining when the data set that meets a set of criteria for minimum data set characteristics. Therefore, the sections teach the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues “the combination of references relied on by the Office does not teach or suggest ‘moving one of the two transceiver devise to a new location and taking a reading, moving another of the two transceiver devices to a new location and taking a reading, and repeating this leapfrogging positioning’ “ (see Applicant’s remarks, page 10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Mahasenan in Figs. 1 and 2, par. [0032]: At block 236, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the first set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics can include sending and/or receiving a number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes. The sending and/or receiving the number of beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes can be used to determine communication metrics between the number of wireless nodes, and par. [0035]: At block 240, method 230 includes receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes at the second set of locations and the root access point. Receiving communication metrics from the number of wireless nodes can include determining the communication metrics by analyzing sent and received beacon messages between the number of wireless nodes and between the number of wireless nodes and a computing device”.
Examiner also points to Kasch in Fig. 3 and par. [0037]: Operations 302-306 (or a subset of these operations) may be repeated a number of times depending on the number of available sensors and/or the size of the deployment area, until the coverage is fully mapped for the entire deployment area. The process of measuring the coverage and signal quality for the deployment area is discussed in additional detail in copending application Ser. No. 14/506,106, which is hereby incorporated by reference into the present specification. Once the signal measurements of the deployment area are complete, a heatmap or other visual representation of the signal quality and coverage may be generated and displayed to the user.
The sections of Mahasenan teach moving wireless devices to different locations for performing measurements (i.e. taking a reading). The sections of Kasch teach repeating the operations of determining locations for devices and performing measurements, corresponding to repeating leapfrogging positioning. Therefore, the combination of references teach the limitations under their broadest reasonable interpretation.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., see Applicant’s remarks, page 10: “utilizing alternating single-device movement in the claimed manner, in which a one transceiver device serves as a fixed reference point while the other moves, followed by a switch in the device roles”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). At least claim 20 under its broadest reasonable interpretation does not recite limitations claiming this alternating single-device movement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bejerano (US 2006/0146754) teaches the adjacency of access points in a wireless, local area network is used to determine the existence of common overlapping access point coverage areas and to determine maximum distances between access points.
Narasimhan et al. (US 7,184,770) teaches a method comprising determining locations within a site for a plurality of network devices and calibrating the network devices by each of the plurality of network devices.
Wainer et al. (US 2021/0037394) teaches a system identifies first areas of a multiple areas of a wireless network for wireless site installation and determines geographic locations within each of the identified first areas for prospective wireless site installations.
K. Gyöngyösi, P. J. Varga and Z. Illési, ("WLAN heat mapping in hybrid network") teaches an analytical study to determine the optimal number of access points with their positions on the ground floor at the Architecture Engineering department building - University of Mosul.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419