DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The requirement for restriction is withdrawn. Groups I, claims 1-10, has been reinstated.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a sensor information acquisition unit and an estimation processing unit in claim 11. These units have been disclosed as a computer programmed to perform the claimed functions (par. 27)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 3255043 to Ohashi et al. (Ohashi).
Claim 1
With regard to a tire body; Ohashi teaches a tire (Fig. 1).
With regard to a wheel mounted on the tire body and connected to an axle on a vehicle side; Ohashi teaches a wheel attached to the tire connected to a vehicle axle (Fig. 1, wheel 20; pars. 18, 19).
With regard to a sensor that is arranged on an outer surface of the wheel and measures a physical quantity produced as the vehicle travels; Ohashi teaches sensors on a wheel (Figs. 1, 2, sensors 32, 36; par. 19).
Claim 5
Ohashi teaches that the sensor is arranged on a spoke of the wheel (Fig. 2, sensors 32, 36; par. 19).
Claim 6
Ohashi teaches the sensor is arranged outward, in a tire radial direction, of a position of 50% of a radius of a rim of the wheel defined from a tire rotational axis (Fig. 2, sensors 32, 36; par. 19).
Claim 7
Ohashi teaches the sensor is arranged outward, in a tire radial direction, of a position of 65% of a radius of a rim of the wheel defined from a tire rotational axis (Fig. 2, sensors 32, 36; par. 19).
Claim 9
Ohashi teaches the sensor is arranged on a surface of the spoke facing a vehicle side housing (Fig. 1, sensors 32, 36).
Claim 11
With regard to a sensor information acquisition unit that acquires a physical quantity measured by the sensor; Ohashi teaches a telemeter amplifier that receives signals from sensors (Fig. 1, telemeter amplifier 49).
With regard to an estimation processing unit that includes an arithmetic operation model adapted to calculate the tire force based on the physical quantity of the tire and estimates the tire force by inputting the physical quantity acquired by the sensor information acquisition unit to the arithmetic operation model; Ohashi teaches an arithmetic force unit that calculates the force using signals from the sensors (pars. 18, 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of JP 2010-181319 to Masago (Masago).
Claim 2
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends. Ohashi does not teach that the sensor is arranged on a rim of the wheel. Masago teaches attaching an acceleration sensor to the rim (Fig. 9; par. 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include attaching a sensor to the rim, because then vibration measurements would have been more easily measured in location where vibrations are easily propagated (Masago, par. 32).
Claim 3
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 2 and 3 depend. Ohashi does not teach that the sensor is arranged at a position where mechanical interference with a mechanical component provided on the axle is avoided. Masago teaches attaching an acceleration sensor to the rim (Fig. 9; par. 32). The location on the rim would avoid interference with other moving components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include attaching a sensor to the rim, because then vibration measurements would have been more easily measured in location where vibrations are easily propagated (Masago, par. 32).
Claim 10
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 2 and 10 depend. Ohashi does not teach that the sensor is arranged on an outer surface of an end of the rim. Masago teaches attaching an acceleration sensor to the rim (Fig. 9; par. 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include attaching a sensor to the rim, because then vibration measurements would have been more easily measured in location where vibrations are easily propagated (Masago, par. 32).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in in view of WO 2009/069272 to Hiroshi et al. (Hiroshi).
Claim 4
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 4 depends. Ohashi does not teach that the sensor is arranged on a hub of the wheel. Hiroshi teaches attaching sensor to a hub (Fig. 1, hub wheel 9, sensor unit pairs 19, sensor units 20; pars. 27-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include attaching a sensor to the hub, as taught by Ohashi, because then errors in detecting load would have been avoided (Hiroshi, pars. 5-8).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0013873 to Ishii et al. (Ishii).
Claim 8
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 8 depends. Ohashi does not teach a cover that covers the sensor. Ishii teaches a sensor on a wheel with sensor housing (Fig. 1, sensor housing 16, sensor apparatus 14; par. 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include a sensor housing, as taught by Ishii, because then the sensor would have been protected from the environment.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0274452 to Hasegawa (Hasegawa).
Claim 12
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 12 depends. Ohashi does not teach that the arithmetic operation model includes a feature extraction unit that executes a convolutional operation in an operation halfway between an input layer and an output layer to extract a feature amount, wherein the physical quantity of the tire measured by the sensor includes input data extracted in a time segment and arranged in a time sequence, and wherein the convolutional operation executes an operation by moving a filter relative to the input data arranged in the time sequence.
Hasegawa teaches a feature extraction unit that executes a convolutional operation in an operation halfway between and input layer and an output later and that uses time series data (Fig. 3, feature extraction unit 51; pars. 30, 38, 45, 46). Hasegawa taches the convolutional operation uses a moving filter (par. 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include a convolutional network along with a moving filter, as taught by Hasegawa, because then physical information would have been estimated in real time (Hasegawa, pars. 5, 6).
Claim 13
Ohashi teaches all the limitations of claim 11 upon which claims 12 and 13 depend. Ohashi does not teach that the feature extraction unit executes a pooling operation in addition to the convolutional operation. Hasegawa teaches executing a pooling operation (par. 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the force detection, as taught by Ohashi, to include pooling operation, as taught by Hasegawa, because then physical information would have been estimated in real time (Hasegawa, pars. 5, 6).
Conclusion
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857