DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the RCE filed 3/18/2025. Amendments filed 9/24/25 have been entered. Accordingly claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krafft (WO 2017/075298) (Note: US Pub 2018/0305091 corresponding to the WIPO publication is used to map the claims to the reference) in view of in view of Jovanov (US 10,433,666) and further in view of Colton et al. (US 10,872,482).
As of claim 1, Kraft discloses a smart container, comprising:
a body (242; see fig. 2);
a lid attached to the body (243; see fig. 2), wherein the lid comprises a valve movable between an open position and a closed position (via seal/closure mechanism with mechanics to open manually or automatically 222; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0100];
an actuator configured to move the valve between the open position and the closed position (via lid closure mechanism operated through various means, springs, actuators, motors; see fig. 2; also see paragraphs [0100] and [0134]);
a sensor configured to detect a feature of a user (via capacitance sensor 201, finger print sensor 210 or 224; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0100]); and
a control circuit communicatively coupled to the sensor and the actuator (via CPU logic/processor 204; see paragraph [0100]), wherein the control circuit is configured to:
receive a signal from the sensor indicative of a positive detection of the feature of the user (see paragraph [0101], “the lid portion or the body portion may include a sensor to detect the user's touch or swipe across the bottle and send a signal to the lid closure mechanism to move the seals from the closed position to the open position”); and
send a signal to the actuator to move the valve to the open position when the detection of the feature of the user corresponds to an opening state (see paragraph [0101] and [0167], “the lid portion or the body portion may include a sensor to detect the user's touch or swipe across the bottle and send a signal to the lid closure mechanism to move the seals from the closed position to the open position” or using fingerprint sensor to identify user. So, if fingerprint sensor is being used to authenticate a user, the lid closure mechanism will open only when the fingerprint recognition determines that the user is an authorized user; also see paragraphs [0140].
So, Kraft discloses that the sensed condition corresponds to the opening state when the user input comprises fingerprint (see paragraph [0167]), however it does not explicitly disclose an image detector or camera to detect the feature of the user.
Jovanov discloses a smart beverage container comprising a camera configured to capture images that are used for facial recognition (see fig. 3; also see col. 10, lines 15-25).
From the teaching of Jovanov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Krafft to include the function of a camera for detecting face of a user as taught by Jovanov since facial recognition is a well-known biometric authentication technique.
Jovanov does not explicitly state the step of performing facial recognition on the detected face to determine whether the face correspond to an authorized user of the container, Colton discloses a bottle with a cap comprising a biometric sensor operating by way of facial recognition (col. 8, line 1-10). Colton discloses the function of performing facial recognition on the detected face to determine whether the face correspond to an authorized user of the container (via verifying a user’s identity by comparing information received from the sensor to information regarding the one or more recorded personal attributes previously recorded by an identifier user; see col. 8, lines 5-15).
From the teaching of Colton, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Krafft and Jovanov to perform facial recognition as taught by Colton since performing facial recognition by comparing face of the user with recorded faces is well known technique.
As of claim 2, Kraft discloses a touch sensitive interface configured to detect a user input and communicate the user input to the control circuit (see paragraph [0101], “the lid portion or the body portion may include a sensor to detect the user's touch or swipe across the bottle and send a signal to the lid closure mechanism to move the seals from the closed position to the open position”).
As of claim 3, Kraft discloses that the user input is a user contact with the body or lid detected by the touch sensitive interface (see paragraph [0101], “the lid portion or the body portion may include a sensor to detect the user's touch or swipe across the bottle and send a signal to the lid closure mechanism to move the seals from the closed position to the open position”).
As of claim 4, Colton discloses that the control circuit is configured to compare the detected face against stored facial recognition data corresponding to one or more authorized users of the smart container (via verifying a user’s identity by comparing information received from the sensor to information regarding the one or more recorded personal attributes previously recorded by an identifier user; see col. 8, lines 5-15)).
As of claim 5, Kraft discloses a sensor configured to detect a fingerprint associated with a user and the control circuit is configured to determine whether the user is authorized to use the smart container based on the fingerprint (via using a fingerprint sensor to identify the user; see paragraph [0167]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krafft, Jovanov, Colton and further in view of Cohen (US Pub 2014/0378790).
As of claim 6, combination of Krafft, Jovanov and Colton disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, claim 6 differs from claim 1 in that instead of facial recognition user identification is performed via a lip print sensor.
Cohen discloses a user identification system wherien the identification recognition system comprises a fingerprint scanner, a lip print scanner, face recognition, a retinal scan, a combination code, an activation code (see paragraph [0125]). Even though Cohen does not explicitly state compare the detected lip print against stored lip print data corresponding to one or more authorized users, that technique would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evident by Colton (via verifying a user’s identity by comparing information received from the sensor to information regarding the one or more recorded personal attributes previously recorded by an identifier user; see col. 8, lines 5-15), so if identification system is a fingerprint, the user’s fingerprint will be compared against stored fingerprints, if identification system is a facial recognition, the user’s face print will be compared against stored face prints, if identification system is a lip print, the user’s lip print will be compared against stored lip prints, in order to perform user’s identification/authentication.
From the teaching of Cohen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Krafft, Jovanov and Colton to include the function of lip print sensor as taught by Cohen since it is well known in the art that user authentication can be a biometric authentication or input pattern authentication such as a password, passcode or touch input pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 9/24/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the alleged distinctions identified by the examiner are merely different sensor modalities and control algorithms within the same overall smart container system and the alleged inventions do not impose a serious burden on examination as thy share common structural elements. This is not found persuasive because the sensor used in claim 7 is a completely different sensor than the biometric sensor used in claim 1, the sensor of claim 7 is not used to authenticate user and open the valve of the lid but rather to sense fluid flow, which is completely different than biometric authentication. The container claimed in claim 14 comprise multiple opening and the sensor is used to detect orientation of the container to determine which opening should the fluid flow. The sensor of claim 14 is not used to authenticate user and open the valve of the lid but rather to sense orientation of the container, which is completely different than biometric authentication.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686