DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2021/0356110 A1) in view of Kahn (US 6,380,683 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a light modification assembly comprising:
a base (4; see at least figure 7 and 19) having a base body (35) defining a base opening having a base interior surface (inner portion of base body 35; see at least figures 1, 7 and 19), the base body (35) having a base distal end opposite a base proximal end and at least one base exterior surface (see 4 in at least figure 7 and 19), wherein the base exterior surface of the base body (35) includes at least one attachment element (34; see at least figure 19) capable of removably coupling to a lighting element (see at least figure 19);
a light modifier (lens 14) having a modifier body defining a modifier opening (see figure 19), the modifier body having a modifier distal end opposite a modifier proximal end and at least one modifier exterior surface (see at least figure 19), the at least one modifier exterior surface having a modifier coupler proximate to the modifier proximal end removably coupled to at least a portion of the base interior surface (see figures 19 and 20).
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the modifier coupler comprises a bottom surface comprising one or more ferromagnetic materials.
`
Kahn (US 6,380,683 B1) teaches a coupler comprising a bottom surface comprising one or more ferromagnetic materials (magnetic disk 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the coupler of Zhang et al. to comprise one or more ferromagnetic materials as taught by Kahn to removably magnetically secure the base unit.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. modified by Kahn teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, but Zhang et al. is silent about wherein the at least one attachment element is one or more protrusions extending radially from an outside surface of a proximal end of the base, wherein the at least one attachment element is operatively configured to couple with a lighting element.
Zhang et al. teaches wherein the at least one attachment element is one or more protrusions (36, fig. 1) extending radially from an outside surface of a proximal end of the base (34), wherein the at least one attachment element (36) is operatively configured to couple with a lighting element (32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the coupler of Zhang et al. to comprise at least one attachment element that is one or more protrusions as taught by Khan as an alternative way to secure attachment the base to the lighting element.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, wherein removably coupling to the light modifier occurs through a friction fit (see paragraph [0173], 34 can frictionally engage O-rings), press fit, a belt and clasp, a hook and loop fastener, or snap fit.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1 wherein the light modifier (34) further comprises an interior surface disposed within the modifier opening, wherein the interior surface is reflective (see paragraph [0116] where reflecting cup 13 is disclosed) or semi reflective.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, wherein the light modifier (34) is collapsible along one or more creases or channels (see at least figure 7 where 34 is collapsible via 37 and figure 24B were 34 is foldable/collapsible via 2437).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, further comprising a gel insert (see paragraph [0104] where first sealing layer 11 is disclosed) having a body and a lip disposed on an outside rim of the base of the gel (see at least figure 1), the lip removably coupled to one of: a channel disposed about an interior surface of the light modifier or a channel disposed about a base interior surface of the base (see first housing 4 in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the light modification assembly of claim 7, wherein the gel further comprises:
a bump circumferentially (see at least figure 1) disposed about an outside surface of the gel (sealing layer 11; see paragraph [0104] where sealing layer 11 comprises a gel).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, further comprising a gel (see paragraph [0104]) having a body and a lip disposed on an outside rim of the base of the gel (see at least figure 1), the lip removably and magnetically coupled to an interior surface of the light modifier or the base interior surface of the base (first housing 4; see at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the light modification assembly of claim 1, further wherein the light modifier (34; see at least figure 7 and 19) further comprises a face proximate to the modifier distal end, wherein the face includes one or more elements (see at least 14,1716 in at least figure 19) adapted to receive an additional light modification device (see at least figure 19).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the light modification assembly of claim 10, wherein the additional light modification device is a grid or a diffuser (1716; see paragraph [0144] where 1716 is a diffuser) that is capable of coupling to the face via a ferromagnetic attachment (1410; see paragraph [0129]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the light modification assembly of claim 8, further comprising a second gel (second sealing layer; see paragraph [0022]) having an inside surface with a channel circumferentially disposed along an interior surface of the second gel (see at least figure 1), the channel removably coupled to the bump of the gel (see paragraph [0104]).
Claim(s) 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2021/0356110 A1) in view of Gross et al. (US 12,704,240 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches a light modification apparatus comprising:
a base area (4) as part of a body;
wherein the body defines an opening and having an interior surface (see at least figure 1) disposed about the opening, the body having a distal end opposite a proximal end and at least one exterior surface (see figure 1), wherein the exterior surface of the body includes at least one attachment element (34; see at least figures 7 and 19) proximate to the proximal end capable of removably coupling the body to a lighting element (see at least figure 19); and
a light modification area as part of the body (see at least figure 19 where lens 14 is positioned in the attachment element 34) proximate to the distal end.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the opening extends through the light modification area.
Gross et al. teaches wherein an opening extends through the light modification area (inside of 100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify light modification area of Zhang et al. to have the opening extend through the light modification area as taught by Gross et al. so that the light is evenly distributed over the object being illuminated (see column 1, lines 32-35 of Gross et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one attachment element (34; see at least figure 7 and 19) is one or more protrusions extending radially extending from the exterior surface (see at least figure 19), and further wherein the at least one attachment element is operatively configured to couple with a lighting element (see paragraph [0078] and at least figures 7 and 19).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 14, wherein the interior surface is reflective (reflecting cup 13; see at least figure 1, 7 and 19 and paragraph [0100]) or semi reflective.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 13, wherein the light modifier (34) is collapsible along one or more creases or channels (see at least figure 7 where 34 is collapsible via 37 and figure 24B were 34 is foldable/collapsible via 2437).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a gel (see paragraph [0104] where first sealing layer 11 is disclosed) having a body and a lip disposed on an outside rim of the base of the gel (see at least figure 1, 7 and 19), the lip removably coupled to a channel disposed circumferentially about the interior surface (see first housing 4 in at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 17, wherein the gel further comprises:
a bump circumferentially disposed about an outside surface of the gel (sealing layer 11; see paragraph [0104] where sealing layer 11 comprises a gel).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a second gel (second sealing layer; see paragraph [0022]) having an inside surface with a channel circumferentially disposed along an interior surface of the second gel (see at least figure 1), the channel removably coupled to the bump of the gel.)
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the light modification apparatus of claim 13, wherein the light modification area (see at least figure 19) comprises a face proximate to the distal end (4; see at least figure 19), wherein the face includes one or more elements adapted to receive an additional light modification device (12, 1716; see at least figure 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-12 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection after consideration of applicant’s arguments and prior art of record. Applicant argues that prior art Wainright does not teach the limitation, “wherein the modifier coupler comprises a bottom surface comprising one or more ferromagnetic materials.” A new reference, Kahn, has been found to teach the limitation, ” wherein the modifier coupler comprises a bottom surface comprising one or more ferromagnetic materials.”
Claim 1, 2 and 4-12 are now rejected as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2021/0356110 A1) in view of Kahn (US 6,380,683 B1). See rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of independent claim 13.
Claim 13-20 are now rejected as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2021/0356110 A1) in view of Gross et al. (US 12,704,240 B2).
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875