DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tidwell et al. (US 20180335978) in view of Thomas et al. (US 20160147280).
Regarding claim 1, Tidwell teaches
A system comprising:
a memory device; and (Fig. 1 (memory channels – 160) which is a subsystem of the storage device)
a processing device (Fig. 1 (storage controller – 128)), operatively coupled with the memory device, to perform operations comprising: ([0055], “each memory channel 160 coupled to storage controller 128”)
identifying a temperature value associated with the memory device; ([0069], “power usage monitor 124 is coupled to and provides board power measurement(s) and/or temperature measurements to storage controller 128. … the subsystem for which power and/or temperature is monitored includes all the memory channels of storage device 120”)
determining a power limit for the memory device based on the temperature value; (Fig. 4, (412), [0100], “When the power/temperature measurement(s) exceed the predefined threshold(s), this indicates that the storage device is using more power, on average, than allowed, and therefore the total power credits available is reduced.” And [0103], “[0103], “the total number of average power credits available to be allocated is adjusted, based on power usage measurements and/or temperature measurements for storage device 120 or a subsystem of storage device 120 (e.g., temperature measurements by power usage monitor 124), when those measurements indicate that the temperature of the storage device, or a subsystem of the storage device, is above a threshold temperature or is in danger of rising above the threshold temperature” where the number of credits allocated to the memory channel is the power limit of the subsystem (i.e. the memory channel))
determining a current power usage level of the memory device; and ([0100], “When the power/temperature measurement(s) exceed the predefined threshold(s), this indicates that the storage device is using more power, on average, than allowed, and therefore the total power credits available is reduced.” And [0103], “the total number of average power credits available to be allocated is adjusted, based on power usage measurements and/or temperature measurements for storage device 120 or a subsystem of storage device 120 (e.g., temperature measurements by power usage monitor 124), when those measurements indicate that the temperature of the storage device, or a subsystem of the storage device, is above a threshold temperature or is in danger of rising above the threshold temperature”)
responsive to determining that the current power usage level of the memory device does not satisfy the power limit, determining to enter a power-limited mode for the memory device. (Fig. 4, (420, 426, 428), [0103], “the total number of average power credits available to be allocated is adjusted, based on power usage measurements and/or temperature measurements for storage device 120 or a subsystem of storage device 120 (e.g., temperature measurements by power usage monitor 124), when those measurements indicate that the temperature of the storage device, or a subsystem of the storage device, is above a threshold temperature or is in danger of rising above the threshold temperature … in some embodiments, “temperature throttling” is accomplished by reducing the total number of power credits to be allocated (in embodiments using a single type of power credit) or reducing the number of average power credits to be allocated (in embodiments using two or more types of power credits) when the temperature of the storage device is above a threshold temperature.” And [0100], “Reducing the total power credits available will result in fewer commands being executed per unit of time (sometimes called epochs), which will reduce the total or average power used by the storage device, which, in turn, will reduce the temperature of the storage device or the portion of the storage device monitored by power usage monitor 124.”)
Tidwell teaches controlling memory devices power consumption with thresholds but does not specifically teach using set of power consumption thresholds related to temperature ranges.
Thomas teaches
identifying a set of power consumption thresholds for the memory device, wherein each power consumption threshold in the set of power consumption thresholds corresponds to a respective range of temperature values of a plurality of ranges of temperature values: (Figs. 16-18, [0122], “ at block 1710 by determining a processor temperature, as discussed above. Next at block 1720 the temperature can be mapped to a temperature range bucket. Next a dynamic power limit value may be obtained from a table using the determined temperature range bucket (block 1730). Note here, the table may be configured to include entries each having a different power limit associated with a given temperature range and an index field, which is used to access the given entry based on the temperature range bucket.”)
selecting, based on the temperature value associated with the memory device, a power consumption threshold of the set of power consumption thresholds for the memory device (Figs. 16-18, [0122], “ at block 1710 by determining a processor temperature, as discussed above. Next at block 1720 the temperature can be mapped to a temperature range bucket. Next a dynamic power limit value may be obtained from a table using the determined temperature range bucket (block 1730). Note here, the table may be configured to include entries each having a different power limit associated with a given temperature range and an index field, which is used to access the given entry based on the temperature range bucket.” [0126], “an updated power limit may be determined based on the temperature.”)
comparing the current power usage level to the power consumption threshold: ([0123], “Next, a determination may be made as to whether operation of the processor is within this determined the power budget (diamond 1760).”)
responsive to determining, based on the comparison, that the current power usage level of the memory device exceeds the power consumption threshold, determining to enter a power-limited mode for the memory device. ([0123], “ next a power budget may be determined using this obtained power limit (block 1750), e.g., as discussed above regarding Equation 2. Next, a determination may be made as to whether operation of the processor is within this determined the power budget (diamond 1760). … if it is determined that the processor is not operating within the determined power budget, control passes to block 1780, where one or more operating parameters may be appropriately reduced to enable the processor to operate at a power level within the power budget.”)
Tidwell and Thomas are analogous art. Thomas is cited to teach a similar concept of power management in an electronic device using power limits/budgets. Thomas teaches using temperature values and ranges to determine power limits of the system (processor/memory). Tidwell teaches power management of memories using a power limit threshold. Tidwell does not specifically teach using temperature ranges and temperature values to dynamically adjust the power limits. Based on Thomas, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Tidwell to use temperature ranges to provide adjustments to the power limits. Furthermore, being able to use temperature ranges to provide adjustments to the power limits improves on Tidwell by being able to provide better control for power and temperature of the system. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because to provide dynamically control for power and temperature of the system for improved power management of the system.
Regarding claim 4, Tidwell teaches wherein determining to enter the power-limited mode for the memory device comprises throttling I/O throughput associated with the memory device. ([0103], “in some embodiments, “temperature throttling” is accomplished by reducing the total number of power credits to be allocated (in embodiments using a single type of power credit) or reducing the number of average power credits to be allocated (in embodiments using two or more types of power credits) when the temperature of the storage device is above a threshold temperature.” And [0116], “ the channel controller defers execution of a command if executing said command would require power credits in excess of the power credits available in the channel controller” where reducing the total number of power credits is interpreted as throttling throughput)
Regarding claim 5, Tidwell teaches wherein identifying the temperature value associated with the memory device comprises receiving a temperature reading from a thermal sensor connected to the memory device. ([0048], “data storage system 100 includes storage device 120, which includes storage controller 128, power usage monitor 124 (e.g., a current sensor or power sensor, and/or one or more temperature sensors)” and [0069], “power usage monitor 124 is coupled to and provides board power measurement(s) and/or temperature measurements to storage controller 128.”)
Regarding claim 6, Tidwell teaches wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to determining that the current power usage level of the memory device satisfies the power limit, identifying an I/O command referencing the memory device; estimating a power level associated with executing the I/O command; and responsive to determining that the power level satisfies the power limit, executing the I/O command. ([0116], “The channel controller defers execution of a command if executing said command would require power credits in excess of the power credits available in the channel controller (426) (e.g., power credits available can be the total number of power credits allocated to the respective channel controller during said epoch, minus the number of power credits assigned to command(s) currently being executed in the respective channel controller). As described in FIG. 3A, each command type has an assigned number of power credits (428), and execution of a respective command is deferred if the number of power credits assigned to the command type of the respective command exceeds the power credits available.” And [0019], “so long as there are sufficient power credits available, the channel controller selects a next command (from among the pending commands in the one or more command queues) for execution”)
As to claims 8 and 14, Tidwell and Thomas teach these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 1.
As to claims 11 and 17, Tidwell and Thomas teach these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 4.
As to claims 12 and 18, Tidwell and Thomas teach these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 5.
As to claims 13 and 19, Tidwell and Thomas teach these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tidwell and Thomas in view of Lasser (US 20150325290)
Regarding claim 2, Tidwell teaches wherein determining the current power usage level of the memory device comprises: identifying a first number of partitions of the memory device executing read commands, a second number of partitions of the memory device executing write commands, a third number of partitions of the memory device executing force write commands, and a fourth number of partitions of the memory device executing refresh commands; and [0096], “In some embodiments, power credits usage per command type data structure 220 stores information based on different command types (e.g., read commands, write commands, erase commands)”)
determining the current power usage level by adding a base power usage of the memory device to the first number of partitions weighted by a read command power usage value, the second number of partitions weighted by a write command power usage value, the third number of partitions weighted by a force write command power usage value, and the fourth number of partitions weighted by a refresh command power usage value. ([0109], “giving different weights to pending commands based on command type”)
Tidwell teach partitions based on types of commands such as reads and writes but does not specifically mention other command like refresh and forced writes. Additionally, Tidwell teaches giving different weights based on command type but does not mention that the commands could be refresh or forced write.
Lasser teaches
a third number of partitions of the memory device executing force write commands, and a fourth number of partitions of the memory device executing refresh commands; the third number of partitions weighted by a force write command power usage value, and the fourth number of partitions weighted by a refresh command power usage value. ([0041], “The in-place refresh command 180 may exclude the data to be refreshed (since the data to be refreshed is stored at the particular location of the non-volatile memory 103, in this example). The in-place refresh command 180 is distinct from an “out-of-place” refresh command that refreshes data at a particular location by re-writing the data to another location.” And [0068], “the refresh all command may result in a sequence of actions including a forced write sequence (e.g., the forced write sequence 280 of FIG. 2)”
Tidwell, Thomas, and Lasser are analogous art. Lasser is cited to teach a similar concept of operation of storage devices. Lasser teaches that some commands used in for storage device may include in-place refresh and out-of-place refresh (forced write) commands. Tidwell teaches any type of command to the storage device may have a number of partitions for executing and may be weighted by a power usage value for that command. Tidwell does not specifically mention a refresh or forced write command. Based on Lasser, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Tidwell and Thomas to include to a refresh or forced write command in its partitions and weighting. Furthermore, being able to partition and weight refresh or forced write commands improves on Tidwell and Thomas by being able to provide better control for power and temperature of the system. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention it would have been advantageous to make this modification because to provide better control for power and temperature of the system.
Regarding claim 3, Tidwell teaches wherein the base power usage of the memory device, the read command power usage value, the write command power usage value, the force write command power usage value, and the refresh command power usage value are predefined values based on the memory device. ([0096], “the table includes a single power credit usage value 314 (shown in FIG. 3A as the “average” power credit usage) for each command type, while in other embodiments the table includes two distinct power credit usage values (e.g., average power credit usage 314, and peak power credit usage 316) for each command type.”)
As to claims 9-10 and 15-16, Tidwell, Thomas, and Lasser teach these claims according to the reasoning provided in claim 2-3, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHERI L HARRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2176 January 15, 2026
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176