DETAILED ACTION
for
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DIMENSIONING OBJECTS
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 03/11/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 7A: The outside box is blank and should also be labeled – field of view 116- in order to more easily identify the structure of the invention.
Figure 7B: The outside box is blank and should also be labeled – field of view 116- in order to more easily identify the structure of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thrimawithana (US 2023/0025659).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Thrimawithana discloses a dimensioning device (104) having a depth sensor configured to obtain depth data within a field of view (see abstract); a processor (200) interconnected with the depth sensor (220), the processor (200) configured to obtain depth data within the field of view including an object to be dimensioned (¶0012, lines 1-3); obtain a subset of the depth data from a predefined target region within the field of view (¶0013, lines 1-3); select a dimensioning function for the object (¶0012, lines 7-9), the dimensioning function having a target orientation of the object (¶0026, lines 1-12); validate the target orientation of the object based on the subset of the depth data in the predefined target region (¶0033, lines 1-6; Fig. 4); and when the target orientation is validated, apply the dimensioning function to obtain dimensions of the object (¶0033, lines 7-14)
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Thrimawithana further the processor being configured to select the dimensioning function for the object by: detecting an element of the object in the target region (¶0034, lines 6-13); and selecting the dimensioning function based on the detected element of the object (¶0024, lines 1-9).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Thrimawithana further discloses the processor (200) being further configured to display a region indicator representing the target region at a display of the dimensioning device (“The input devices 224 may include one or more buttons, keypads, touch-sensitive display screens or the like for receiving input from an operator”; ¶0023, lines 2-4).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Thrimawithana further discloses the dimensioning function having a perpendicular-face approach (Fig. 4), and wherein the target orientation includes an orientation of a surface perpendicular to a principal axis of the depth sensor (¶0027, lines 2-7).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Thrimawithana further discloses the dimensioning function comprises a two-sided perspective approach (¶0037, lines 2-4), and wherein the target orientation of the object results in a perspective view including two sides of the object (¶0040).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Thrimawithana further discloses the dimensioning function having a three-sided perspective approach (¶0026, lines 1-3), and wherein the target orientation of the object results in a perspective view including three sides of the object ;( “the object model may be, for example, a line, a plane a rectangular prism” ¶0027, lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 10, Thrimawithana discloses method including obtaining depth data within a field of view including an object to be dimensioned (see abstract); obtaining a subset of the depth data from a predefined target region within the field of view (¶0027, lines 7-10); selecting a dimensioning function for the object, the dimensioning function having a target orientation of the object (¶0033, lines 7-14); validating the target orientation of the object based on the subset of the depth data in the predefined target region (¶0034, lines 6-13); and when the target orientation is validated, applying the dimensioning function to obtain dimensions of the object (¶0028, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 19, Thrimawithana discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, which when executed configure a processor (¶0051) to: obtain depth data within a field of view including an object to be dimensioned (see abstract); obtain a subset of the depth data from a predefined target region within the field of view (¶0027, lines 7-10); select a dimensioning function for the object (¶0012, lines 7-9), the dimensioning function having a target orientation of the object (¶0026, lines 1-12); validate the target orientation of the object based on the subset of the depth data in the predefined target region (¶0033, lines 1-6; Fig. 4); and when the target orientation is validated(¶0024, lines 1-9), apply the dimensioning function to obtain dimensions of the object (¶0034, lines 6-13).
Regarding claim 20, Thrimawithana further discloses the instructions further configure the processor to: segment the depth data and discard segments of the depth data outside the predefined target region (¶0031, lines 6-10); and apply the dimensioning function a segment of the depth data originating in the predefined target region (¶0032 4-11 and ¶3300, lines 1-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855