DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on June 14, 2024 and August 15, 2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Six (6) sheets of drawings were filed on March 11, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species C, claims 15-20 in the reply filed
February 05, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner did not explain the species are independent/distinct or provide any evidence that Species A, B and C are different and divergent classification and require a different field of search. This traversal is not found persuasive because the restriction set forth the differences among the three Species A-C and the reasons why there would be a serious search and/or examination burden, such as
1. each of species A-C have mutually exclusive structure and a complete search requires different and divergent classification and text queries based on a the mutually exclusive structures;
2. due to the overwhelming amount of art in all the relevant classification areas, a thorough search for each species and/or sub-species would place an undue burden on the examiner.
Furthermore, Applicant has not presented any evidence or clearly admitted that the identified species are obvious variants and that they do not require a different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-14 have been withdrawn from further consideration, pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and/or Species.
Newly added claims 21-34 drawn to the elected Species C. Accordingly, claims 15-34 will be examined.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is
advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of
each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in
order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35
U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US11562942B2) hereafter Liu , in view of Dynamic control of liquid-core/ liquid-cladding optical waveguides (2004) by Wolfe et al, hereafter Wolfe.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses a three-dimensional integrated circuit (3DIC)-system (FIG. 6 3E-EPIC Unit) comprising: a bottom die (Photonic die m and m+1 ) comprising: (1) a first portion (Photonic die m+1) of the 3D IC-system including a first set of components (Column 5 lines 57-62. III-V active layer micro/nano fabric features) formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system (FIG.6), and (2) a second portion of the 3D IC-system (Photonic die m) including a first set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the second portion (Photonic die m) of the 3D IC system (FIG. 6); and a top die(Electronic die n and n+1 ), stacked on top of the bottom die (Photonic die m and m+1), comprising: (1) a third portion of the 3DIC-sytem (electronic die n) including a second set of components (metallization contacts) formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG. 6), and (2) a fourth portion (electronic die n+1) of the 3D IC-system including a second set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the fourth portion (electronic die n+1) of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6), wherein each of the first set of vertical channels provides provide communication between at least a subset of the first set of components formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system and at least a subset of the second set of components formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system (FIG.6 Column 6 lines 21-28). Liu fails to teach the vertical channel are fluidic channels that also provide circulation of a fluid through at least the second portion of the 3DIC-system or the fourth portion of the 3DIC system.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel can provide circulation of fluid in microfluidic networks by teaching a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguides (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: This report describes the manipulation of light in waveguides that comprise a liquid core and a liquid cladding (liq/liq waveguide ….liquids introduced into the channels of microfluidic networks) that allows light from an optical fiber to couple into and out of the waveguides(Pg. 12434 Par. 6: The channels were designed to allow light from an optical fiber to couple easily into and out of the liq/liq waveguides.)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify Liu’s 3EDIC system by implementing liquid-core/liquid-cladding optical waveguides within its existing vertical fluidic channels as Wolfe. Microfluidic cooling for 3DICs is recognized as a promising method, with microchannels and microfluidic heatsinks embedded into the stack and co-designed with electrical behavior. Wolfe shows that liquid core optical waveguides can be formed “in the channels of microfluidic network”(Pg. 12434 Par.1 ), with light coupled in and out of the waveguide, thus providing an optical signal path between component at opposite ends of the channel. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to increase inter-die communication bandwidth in a 3EDIC with embedded microfluidic cooling would have been motivated to adapt Liu vertical waveguide to provide both fluid circulation and optical communication between components on different dies, which predictable improvement in communication density and without requiring additional through-die structures.
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses a three-dimensional integrated circuit (3DIC)-system (FIG. 6 3E-EPIC Unit) comprising: a bottom die(Photonic die m and m+1 ) comprising: (1) a first portion(Photonic die m+1) of the 3D IC-system including a first set of components(Column 5 lines 57-62. III-V active layer micro/nano fabric features) formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6), and (2) a second portion of the 3D IC-system (Photonic die m) including a first set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the second portion(Photonic die m) of the 3D IC system (FIG. 6); and a top die(Electronic die n and n+1 ), stacked on top of the bottom die(Photonic die m and m+1), comprising: (1) a third portion of the 3DIC-sytem (electronic die n) including a second set of components (metallization contacts) formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG. 6), and (2) a fourth portion (electronic die n+1)of the 3D IC-system including a second set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the fourth portion (electronic die n+1) of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6), wherein each of the first set of vertical channels provides provide communication between at least a subset of the first set of components formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system and at least a subset of the second set of components formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6 Column 6 lines 21-28). Liu fails to teach the vertical channel are fluidic channels that also provide circulation of a fluid through at least the second portion of the 3DIC-system or the fourth portion of the 3DIC system, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel can provide circulation of fluid in microfluidic networks, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent (Deionized water and CaCl2. Pg.12434 Par. 5) to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication, by teaching a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguides(Pg. 12434 Par. 1: This report describes the manipulation of light in waveguides that comprise a liquid core and a liquid cladding (liq/liq waveguide ….liquids introduced into the channels of microfluidic networks) that allows light from an optical fiber to couple into and out of the waveguides(Pg. 12434 Par. 6: The channels were designed to allow light from an optical fiber to couple easily into and out of the liq/liq waveguides.).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify Liu’s 3EDIC system by implementing liquid-core/liquid-cladding optical waveguides with a transparent fluid within its existing vertical fluidic channels as Wolfe. Microfluidic cooling for 3DICs is recognized as a promising method, with microchannels and microfluidic heatsinks embedded into the stack and co-designed with electrical behavior. Wolfe shows that liquid core optical waveguides can be formed “in the channels of microfluidic network”(Pg. 12434 Par.1 ), with light coupled in and out of the waveguide, thus providing an optical signal path between component at opposite ends of the channel. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to increase inter-die communication bandwidth in a 3EDIC with embedded microfluidic cooling would have been motivated to adapt Liu vertical waveguide to provide both fluid circulation and optical communication between components on different dies, which predictable improvement in communication density and without requiring additional through-die structures.
Claims 16-19, 21-22, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US11562942B2) hereafter Liu , in view of Dynamic control of liquid-core/ liquid-cladding optical waveguides (2004) by Wolfe et al, hereafter Wolfe, as discussed in claims 1 and 23 above, and further in view of Doan (US7203987B2).
Regarding claim 16, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15. Liu further discloses a first vertical channel from among the first set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end (FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 17, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15. Liu further discloses a second vertical channel from among the second set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end(FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Doan teaches a photonic waveguide (FIG. 8. Waveguide 100 and 102) having photodetector (Photodetector 116a) at a second end, opposite the first end(FIG.8) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 18, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15. Liu further discloses the bottom die is arranged on top of a circuit board (FIG. 10 PCB) comprising a third set of fluidic-channels (Microfluidic channels 320). Liu fails to disclose the third set of fluidic-channels allows for optical communication with other systems.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microfluidic system disclosed by Liu/Wolfe by configuring the third set of fluidic channels to allow for optical communication with other systems. It was well-known in the art to utilize microfluidic channels for combined microfluidic and optical applications, such as using fluid-filled channels to create waveguide structures, light-scattering detection, or in situ sensing of analytes within the channels.
Regarding claim 19, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15. Liu fails to disclose the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium. Wolfe discloses, the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium(Pg. 13434 Par. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a fluid with a higher refractive index than the surrounding medium (cladding) to enable light guidance via total internal reflection. Therefore, combining the core teachings of Liu with the specific fluid RI relationship taught by Wolfe (or by standard, foundational optics knowledge) to create a functional liquid waveguide would be a routine optimization for one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 21, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15. Liu fails to disclose the fluid comprises deionized water or a combination of polyethylene glycol and the deionized water.
Wolfe teaches the fluid comprises deionized water(Pg. 12434 Par.5).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the vertical waveguide of Liu with the fluidic waveguide of Wolfe using deionized water to ensure proper refractive index properties for the liquid, ensuring a smooth, non-swelling interaction with the microfluidic device.
Regarding claim 22, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 16. Wolfe discloses a fiber-coupled light source(FIG. 1 description) but fails to disclose the light source includes a laser source and a modulator.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the fiber-coupled light source in Wolfe to include a laser source and a modulator. Lasers in fiber optics are frequently chosen for high modulation speed, and substituting a generic source with a modulated laser is a functional improvement that would have been within the capability of a person of ordinary skill. Therefore, it would have been a matter of routine optimization to add a laser source and modulator to the Liu/Wolfe device to achieve improved performance.
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses a three-dimensional integrated circuit (3DIC)-system (FIG. 6 3E-EPIC Unit) comprising: a bottom die(Photonic die m and m+1 ) comprising: (1) a first portion(Photonic die m+1) of the 3D IC-system including a first set of components(Column 5 lines 57-62. III-V active layer micro/nano fabric features) formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6), and (2) a second portion of the 3D IC-system (Photonic die m) including a first set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the second portion(Photonic die m) of the 3D IC system (FIG. 6); and a top die(Electronic die n and n+1 ), stacked on top of the bottom die(Photonic die m and m+1), comprising: (1) a third portion of the 3DIC-sytem (electronic die n) including a second set of components (metallization contacts) formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG. 6), and (2) a fourth portion (electronic die n+1)of the 3D IC-system including a second set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the fourth portion (electronic die n+1) of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6), wherein each of the first set of vertical channels provides provide communication between at least a subset of the first set of components formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system and at least a subset of the second set of components formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system(FIG.6 Column 6 lines 21-28). Liu fails to teach the vertical channel are fluidic channels that also provide circulation of a fluid through at least the second portion of the 3DIC-system or the fourth portion of the 3DIC system, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel can provide circulation of fluid in microfluidic networks, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent (Deionized water and CaCl2. Pg.12434 Par. 5) to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication, by teaching a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguides(Pg. 12434 Par. 1: This report describes the manipulation of light in waveguides that comprise a liquid core and a liquid cladding (liq/liq waveguide ….liquids introduced into the channels of microfluidic networks) that allows light from an optical fiber to couple into and out of the waveguides(Pg. 12434 Par. 6: The channels were designed to allow light from an optical fiber to couple easily into and out of the liq/liq waveguides.).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify Liu’s 3EDIC system by implementing liquid-core/liquid-cladding optical waveguides with a transparent fluid within its existing vertical fluidic channels as Wolfe. Microfluidic cooling for 3DICs is recognized as a promising method, with microchannels and microfluidic heatsinks embedded into the stack and co-designed with electrical behavior. Wolfe shows that liquid core optical waveguides can be formed “in the channels of microfluidic network”(Pg. 12434 Par.1 ), with light coupled in and out of the waveguide, thus providing an optical signal path between component at opposite ends of the channel. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to increase inter-die communication bandwidth in a 3EDIC with embedded microfluidic cooling would have been motivated to adapt Liu vertical waveguide to provide both fluid circulation and optical communication between components on different dies, which predictable improvement in communication density and without requiring additional through-die structures.
Regarding claim 24, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 23. Liu further discloses a first vertical channel from among the first set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end (FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Doan teaches a photonic waveguide (FIG. 8. Waveguide 100 and 102) having photodetector (Photodetector 116a) at a second end, opposite the first end(FIG.8) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 25, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 23 . Liu further discloses a second vertical channel from among the second set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end(FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Doan teaches a photonic waveguide (FIG. 8. Waveguide 100 and 102) having photodetector (Photodetector 116a) at a second end, opposite the first end(FIG.8) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 26, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 23. Liu further discloses the bottom die is arranged on top of a circuit board (FIG. 10 PCB) comprising a third set of fluidic-channels (Microfluidic channels 320). Liu fails to disclose the third set of fluidic-channels allows for optical communication with other systems.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microfluidic system disclosed by Liu by configuring the third set of fluidic channels to allow for optical communication with other systems. It was well-known in the art to utilize microfluidic channels for combined microfluidic and optical applications, such as using fluid-filled channels to create waveguide structures, light-scattering detection, or in situ sensing of analytes within the channels.
Regarding claim 27, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 23. Liu fails to disclose the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium. Wolfe discloses, the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium (Pg. 13434 Par. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a fluid with a higher refractive index than the surrounding medium (cladding) to enable light guidance via total internal reflection. Therefore, combining the core teachings of Liu with the specific fluid RI relationship taught by Wolfe (or by standard, foundational optics knowledge) to create a functional liquid waveguide would be a routine optimization for one skilled in the art.
Claims 20 and 28-29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US11562942B2) hereafter Liu , in view of Dynamic control of liquid-core/ liquid-cladding optical waveguides (2004) by Wolfe et al, hereafter Wolfe, as discussed in claims 1 and 23 above, andfurther in view of Sharma et al. (US20220187536A1), hereafter Sharma.
Regarding claim 20 and claim 28, Liu/Wolfe discloses the device of claim 15 and 23. Liu further discloses, optical components(FIG. 6. Photonic interconnect) formed within the second portion(Photonic die m) of the first die. Liu/Wolfe fails to disclose optical components in the fourth portion of the second die, and wherein the optical components include one or more of optical encoders, decoders, Mach-Zander interferometers, ring modulators, waveguide couplers, or other types of electro-optical components.
Sharma teaches optical components (Photonic component 160. Par. [0061]) top and bottoms dies (FIGs. 2 and 3), and wherein the optical components include one or more of optical encoders, decoders, Mach-Zander interferometers, ring modulators, waveguide couplers, or other types of electro-optical components (Par. [0061]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Liu/Wolfe by incorporating the optical components taught by Sharma into the fourth portion of the second die, in order to improve optical signal processing, increase data transmission bandwidth, and reduce power consumption in the integrated photonic circuit. The motivation for this modification includes utilizing Sharma's taught components to enable higher density and better performance in the second die (such as a photonic-enabled die), which is a predictable variation of the photonic interconnect system described by Liu.
Regarding claim 29, Liu discloses a three-dimensional integrated circuit (3DIC)-system (FIG. 6 3E-EPIC Unit) comprising: a bottom die (Photonic die m and m+1 ) comprising: (1) a first portion (Photonic die m+1) of the 3D IC-system including a first set of components (Column 5 lines 57-62. III-V active layer micro/nano fabric features) formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system (FIG.6), and (2) a second portion of the 3D IC-system (Photonic die m) including a first set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the second portion (Photonic die m) of the 3D IC system (FIG. 6); and a top die (Electronic die n and n+1 ), stacked on top of the bottom die (Photonic die m and m+1), comprising: (1) a third portion of the 3DIC-sytem (electronic die n) including a second set of components (metallization contacts) formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system (FIG. 6), and (2) a fourth portion (electronic die n+1)of the 3D IC-system including a second set of vertical channels (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) formed within the fourth portion (electronic die n+1) of the 3D IC-system (FIG.6), wherein each of the first set of vertical channels provides provide communication between at least a subset of the first set of components formed within the first portion of the 3D IC-system and at least a subset of the second set of components formed within the third portion of the 3D IC-system (FIG.6 Column 6 lines 21-28), wherein the 3DIC system further comprises optical components (FIG. 6. Photonic interconnect) formed within the second portion (Photonic die m) of the first die. Liu fails to teach the vertical channel are fluidic channels that also provide circulation of a fluid through at least the second portion of the 3DIC-system or the fourth portion of the 3DIC system, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel can provide circulation of fluid in microfluidic networks, wherein the fluid comprises a fluid that is transparent (Deionized water and CaCl2. Pg.12434 Par. 5) to visible light or another type of electromagnetic radiation being used for the communication, by teaching a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguides (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: This report describes the manipulation of light in waveguides that comprise a liquid core and a liquid cladding (liq/liq waveguide ….liquids introduced into the channels of microfluidic networks) that allows light from an optical fiber to couple into and out of the waveguides (Pg. 12434 Par. 6: The channels were designed to allow light from an optical fiber to couple easily into and out of the liq/liq waveguides.).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify Liu’s 3EDIC system by implementing liquid-core/liquid-cladding optical waveguides with a transparent fluid within its existing vertical fluidic channels as Wolfe. Microfluidic cooling for 3DICs is recognized as a promising method, with microchannels and microfluidic heatsinks embedded into the stack and co-designed with electrical behavior. Wolfe shows that liquid core optical waveguides can be formed “in the channels of microfluidic network” (Pg. 12434 Par.1 ), with light coupled in and out of the waveguide, thus providing an optical signal path between component at opposite ends of the channel. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to increase inter-die communication bandwidth in a 3EDIC with embedded microfluidic cooling would have been motivated to adapt Liu vertical waveguide to provide both fluid circulation and optical communication between components on different dies, which predictable improvement in communication density and without requiring additional through-die structures.
Liu/Wolfe fails to disclose optical components formed within the fourth portion of the second die.
Sharma teaches optical components (Photonic component 160. Par. [0061]) top and bottoms dies(FIGs. 2 and 3), and wherein the optical components include one or more of optical encoders, decoders, Mach-Zander interferometers, ring modulators, waveguide couplers, or other types of electro-optical components (Par. [0061]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Liu/Wolfe by incorporating the optical components taught by Sharma into the fourth portion of the second die, in order to improve optical signal processing, increase data transmission bandwidth, and reduce power consumption in the integrated photonic circuit. The motivation for this modification includes utilizing Sharma's taught components to enable higher density and better performance in the second die (such as a photonic-enabled die), which is a predictable variation of the photonic interconnect system described by Liu.
Claims 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US11562942B2) hereafter Liu , in view of Dynamic control of liquid-core/ liquid-cladding optical waveguides (2004) by Wolfe et al, hereafter Wolfe, in further view of in further view of Sharma et al. (US20220187536A1), hereafter Sharma, in further view of Doan (US7203987B2).
Regarding claim 30, Liu/Wolfe/Sharma discloses the device of claim 29. Liu further discloses a first vertical channel from among the first set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end(FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Doan teaches a photonic waveguide (FIG. 8. Waveguide 100 and 102) having photodetector (Photodetector 116a) at a second end, opposite the first end(FIG.8) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 31, Liu/Wolfe/Sharma discloses the device of claim 29 . Liu further discloses a second vertical channel from among the second set of vertical channels (See annotated figure 6) comprise vertical waveguides (FIG.6 TWI in the form of vertical waveguides. Column 4 lines 40-48) but fails to disclose the vertical waveguides as fluidic channels comprising a photonic waveguide having a light source at a first end.
Wolfe teaches a fluidic channel (Pg. 12434 Par. 1: Liquids introduced into the channels of the microfluidic network) comprises a photonic waveguide (the liquid core/liquid cladding waveguide is a photonic waveguide because it is designed specifically to guide light with low loss via total internal reflection in a higher-index liquid core. Pg. 12434 Par. 5) having a light source at a first end(FIG.1 and accompanying text: Fiber-coupled light source).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vertical waveguides of Liu by implementing them as fluidic channels containing a liquid-core/liquid-cladding waveguide system as taught by Wolfe, comprising a light source at a first end to from an optofluidic waveguide. Liu provides the structure of a vertical channel/waveguide, while Wolfe provides the functional teaching of using these channels as liquid-core waveguides that guide light via total internal reflection. Combining the two would create a "vertically integrated optofluidic waveguide" where liquids are used for both sensing and guiding light. The modification is merely the application of a known technique (liquid-core waveguide sensing) to a known structure (vertical microfluidic channels) to achieve a predictable results.
Liu/Wolfe fails to teach a photonic waveguide having photodetector at a second end, opposite the first end.
Doan teaches a photonic waveguide (FIG. 8. Waveguide 100 and 102) having photodetector (Photodetector 116a) at a second end, opposite the first end(FIG.8) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Liu and Wolfe system by placing a photodetector at a second end of the vertical channel, opposite the light source, as evidenced by Doan, as a predictable obvious design choice to achieve sensing capabilities, such as measuring the attenuation or change in properties of light passing through the fluidic channel. Incorporating a photodetector at the exit of a waveguide to measure transmitted light is a standard and a predictable modification to achieve the functional goal of detecting the light guided through the vertical channels of the Liu/Wolfe system.
Regarding claim 32, Liu/Wolfe/Sharma discloses the device of claim 29. Liu further discloses the bottom die is arranged on top of a circuit board(FIG. 10 PCB) comprising a third set of fluidic-channels(Microfluidic channels 320) . Liu fails to disclose the third set of fluidic-channels allows for optical communication with other systems.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microfluidic system disclosed by Liu by configuring the third set of fluidic channels to allow for optical communication with other systems. It was well-known in the art to utilize microfluidic channels for combined microfluidic and optical applications, such as using fluid-filled channels to create waveguide structures, light-scattering detection, or in situ sensing of analytes within the channels.
Regarding claim 33, Liu/Wolfe/Sharma discloses the device of claim 29. Liu fails to disclose the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium. Wolfe discloses, the fluid is selected to have a higher index of refraction relative to a surrounding medium (Pg. 13434 Par. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a fluid with a higher refractive index than the surrounding medium (cladding) to enable light guidance via total internal reflection. Therefore, combining the core teachings of Liu with the specific fluid RI relationship taught by Wolfe (or by standard, foundational optics knowledge) to create a functional liquid waveguide would be a routine optimization for one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 34, Liu/Wolfe/Sharma discloses the device of claim 33. Liu further discloses, optical components (FIG. 6. Photonic interconnect) formed within the second portion (Photonic die m) of the first die. Liu fails to disclose optical components in the fourth portion of the second die, and wherein the optical components include one or more of optical encoders, decoders, Mach-Zander interferometers, ring modulators, waveguide couplers, or other types of electro-optical components.
Sharma teaches optical components (Photonic component 160. Par. [0061]) top and bottoms dies(FIGs. 2 and 3), and wherein the optical components include one or more of optical encoders, decoders, Mach-Zander interferometers, ring modulators, waveguide couplers, or other types of electro-optical components (Par. [0061]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify the device of Liu/Wolfe by incorporating the optical components taught by Sharma into the fourth portion of the second die, in order to improve optical signal processing, increase data transmission bandwidth, and reduce power consumption in the integrated photonic circuit. The motivation for this modification includes utilizing Sharma's taught components to enable higher density and better performance in the second die (such as a photonic-enabled die), which is a predictable variation of the photonic interconnect system described by Liu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure:
➢ Mayukh et al. (US12588506B2) see the entire disclosure.
➢ Mongia et al. (US20250140741A1) see the entire disclosure.
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874