DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/09/2026 has been entered.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 19-21 have been updated.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170339648 A1) in view of Pelletier et al. (US 20170013565 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method (Power control method of Figs. 1 and 6) comprising:
receiving, by a base station, a message comprising a time value that indicates a minimum time duration for a wireless device to perform a power adjustment (reporting, by a UE, uplink transmit power control relevant information of an unlicensed band to a control node, [0168]; The control node may be a base station, [0170]; UE may report the probability of decreasing the transmit power or a Cumulated Distribution Function (CDF) of the transmit power decrease within observation time. It is possible to report a probability value or report on which time instances that the transmit power is decreased. For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, [0204]); and
based on the message, transmitting a configuration message indicating a threshold for performing the power adjustment (the control node may configure a minimum value and a maximum value for the uplink transmit power of the UE, [0229]; the control node may assign transmit power, Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) and Physical Resource Block (PRB) for scheduling the UE on the unlicensed band next time based on the uplink transmit power control relevant information, [0169]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device; and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicate with the wireless device.
In an analogous art, Pelletier teaches indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicated with the wireless device (WTRU configured with multiple TAGs and more than 2 serving cells may typically drop the SRS transmission if it overlaps with the SRS transmission of a different serving cell in the same subframe and if it overlaps with the PUCCH/PUSCH transmission for another serving cell in the same subframe or in the next subframe, if the WTRU's total transmit power would otherwise exceed the maximum available transmission power (e.g. Pcmax) on any overlapped portion of the symbol, [0843], cell overlapping example of Fig. 18; WTRU may receive explicit signaling from the network that indicates synchronous uplink operation between Cell Groups; where it is configured for dual connectivity, [0791]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the power control of Wang with the overlapping cell of Pelletier to provide a methods and a system for autonomous WTRU grant selection and power scaling, and dynamic prioritization of transmission and power scaling priority as suggested, Pelletier [0006].
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (The uplink transmit power control relevant information may also be indicated by RRC signaling, Wang [0174]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first cell groups comprises at least one of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell, an unlicensed cell, or combinations thereof (Licensed or unlicensed band of Wang Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration message comprises a value of the threshold (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the minimum time duration indicated a minimum power scaling factor processing time duration (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the power adjustment comprises a power scaling for an uplink in the second time duration (PUSCH power control adjustment state variable f.sub.c(i) in the transmit power for the transmission of the UE such as the transmit power P.sub.PUSCH,c(I) for PUSCH transmission in subframe i for the serving cell c may be defined by: f.sub.c(i)=f.sub.c(i−1)+δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH), [0272]; δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH) denotes the TPC command received by the UE in subframe i−K.sub.PUSCH. The TPC command may be included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission of subframe i, Wang [0274]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a base station (e.g. base station of Fig. 1) comprising: one or more processors (the control node includes: a power control indication module , [0319] e.g. scheduling module of Fig. 8); and memory storing instructions (e.g. scheduling module of Fig. 8) that, when executed, configure the base station to:
receiving a message comprising a time value that indicates a minimum time duration for a wireless device to perform a power adjustment (reporting, by a UE, uplink transmit power control relevant information of an unlicensed band to a control node, [0168]; The control node may be a base station, [0170]; UE may report the probability of decreasing the transmit power or a Cumulated Distribution Function (CDF) of the transmit power decrease within observation time. It is possible to report a probability value or report on which time instances that the transmit power is decreased. For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, [0204]); and
based on the message, transmit a configuration message indicating a threshold for performing the power adjustment (the control node may configure a minimum value and a maximum value for the uplink transmit power of the UE, [0229]; the control node may assign transmit power, Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) and Physical Resource Block (PRB) for scheduling the UE on the unlicensed band next time based on the uplink transmit power control relevant information, [0169]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device; and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicated with the wireless device.
In an analogous art, Pelletier teaches indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicated with the wireless device (WTRU configured with multiple TAGs and more than 2 serving cells may typically drop the SRS transmission if it overlaps with the SRS transmission of a different serving cell in the same subframe and if it overlaps with the PUCCH/PUSCH transmission for another serving cell in the same subframe or in the next subframe, if the WTRU's total transmit power would otherwise exceed the maximum available transmission power (e.g. Pcmax) on any overlapped portion of the symbol, [0843], cell overlapping example of Fig. 18; WTRU may receive explicit signaling from the network that indicates synchronous uplink operation between Cell Groups; where configured for dual connectivity, [0791]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the power control of Wang with the overlapping cell of Pelletier to provide a methods and a system for autonomous WTRU grant selection and power scaling, and dynamic prioritization of transmission and power scaling priority as suggested, Pelletier [0006].
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the base station of claim 8, wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (The uplink transmit power control relevant information may also be indicated by RRC signaling, Wang [0174]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the base station of claim 8, wherein the first cell groups comprises at least one of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell, an unlicensed cell, or combinations thereof (Licensed or unlicensed band of Wang Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the base station of claim 8, wherein the configuration message comprises a value of the timing difference threshold (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the base station of claim 8, wherein the minimum time duration indicates a minimum power scaling factor processing time duration (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the base station of claim 8, wherein the power adjustment comprises a power scaling for an uplink in the second time duration (PUSCH power control adjustment state variable f.sub.c(i) in the transmit power for the transmission of the UE such as the transmit power P.sub.PUSCH,c(I) for PUSCH transmission in subframe i for the serving cell c may be defined by: f.sub.c(i)=f.sub.c(i−1)+δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH), [0272]; δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH) denotes the TPC command received by the UE in subframe i−K.sub.PUSCH. The TPC command may be included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission of subframe i, Wang [0274]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a system (System of Fig. 1) comprising: a base station (base station of Fig. 1); and a wireless device (device of Fig. 1) configured to support communication via at least two cell groups (For example, the base station configures M carriers for the UE, wherein N (N≦M) carriers are activated. At time n.sub.1, the UE has uplink transmission on L.sub.1 (L.sub.1≦N) carriers simultaneously, [0236]);
wherein the wireless devices is configured to transmit a message comprising a time value that indicates a minimum time duration for a wireless device to perform a power adjustment (reporting, by a UE, uplink transmit power control relevant information of an unlicensed band to a control node, [0168]; The control node may be a base station, [0170]; UE may report the probability of decreasing the transmit power or a Cumulated Distribution Function (CDF) of the transmit power decrease within observation time. It is possible to report a probability value or report on which time instances that the transmit power is decreased. For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, [0204]); and
wherein the base station is configured to, based on the received message, transmit a configuration message indicating a threshold for performing the power adjustment (the control node may configure a minimum value and a maximum value for the uplink transmit power of the UE, [0229]; the control node may assign transmit power, Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) and Physical Resource Block (PRB) for scheduling the UE on the unlicensed band next time based on the uplink transmit power control relevant information, [0169]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device; and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicated with the wireless device.
In an analogous art, Pelletier teaches indicating a timing difference between a first time duration of a first cell group used to communicate with the wireless device and an overlapping second time duration of a second cell group used to communicated with the wireless device (WTRU configured with multiple TAGs and more than 2 serving cells may typically drop the SRS transmission if it overlaps with the SRS transmission of a different serving cell in the same subframe and if it overlaps with the PUCCH/PUSCH transmission for another serving cell in the same subframe or in the next subframe, if the WTRU's total transmit power would otherwise exceed the maximum available transmission power (e.g. Pcmax) on any overlapped portion of the symbol, [0843], cell overlapping example of Fig. 18; WTRU may receive explicit signaling from the network that indicates synchronous uplink operation between Cell Groups; where configured for dual connectivity, [0791]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the power control of Wang with the overlapping cell of Pelletier to provide a methods and a system for autonomous WTRU grant selection and power scaling, and dynamic prioritization of transmission and power scaling priority as suggested, Pelletier [0006].
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (The uplink transmit power control relevant information may also be indicated by RRC signaling, Wang [0174]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the at least two cell groups comprise at least one of a licensed assisted access (LAA) cell, an unlicensed cell, or combinations thereof (Licensed or unlicensed band of Wang Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the configuration message comprises a value of the timing difference threshold (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the minimum time duration indicates a minimum power scaling factor processing time duration (For example, the observation time period is Xms, each Yms is taken as a minimum unit of the observation time, Wang [0204]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang as modified by Pelletier teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the power adjustment comprises a power scaling for an uplink in the second time duration (PUSCH power control adjustment state variable f.sub.c(i) in the transmit power for the transmission of the UE such as the transmit power P.sub.PUSCH,c(I) for PUSCH transmission in subframe i for the serving cell c may be defined by: f.sub.c(i)=f.sub.c(i−1)+δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH), [0272]; δ.sub.PUSCH,c(i−K.sub.PUSCH) denotes the TPC command received by the UE in subframe i−K.sub.PUSCH. The TPC command may be included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission of subframe i, Wang [0274]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fujita (US 20140341142 A1): Provided is, in wireless communication systems such as TD-LTE where there might be difference in frequency band allocated to a mobile station between uplink and downlink, a wireless communication system which is capable of ensuring desired antenna directivity by the mobile station controlling an adaptive array antenna, such a method for controlling a wireless communication system, such a base station, and such a mobile station.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641