DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said controller" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 should be amended to depend from claim 9 to overcome this rejection. This is assumed for examination and in the prior art rejections below.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said rotary processor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This may be changed to “said rotary device.”
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the reactivation air cooled by said evaporator" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 should be changed to depend from claim 3 to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matuska et al. (2020/0009497 A1).
Matuska et al. ‘497 teach an ambient air water extraction arrangement, comprising a rotary device (3) containing a sorbent, a process sector (1) with an inlet (100) and an outlet (101) to flow process air through the sorbent for moisture adsorption, a reactivation sector (2) with an inlet (110) and an outlet (111) to flow reactivation air through the sorbent for moisture desorption, a drive to rotate the rotary device (inherent), a heat pump including a refrigerant circuit with a compressor (5), an expansion valve (7), a condenser (6), and an evaporator (4), fans (9a,9b) for flowing air in the sectors, and a collection tank (15) for condensed liquid water. The reactivation sector can be considered to be the region including the rotary device between the condenser and the evaporator, and the rotary device can be called a carousel because it is a rotating unit. The condenser heats reactivation air flowing to the rotary device and the evaporator cools air from the rotary device to condense out water (see figure 1, paragraphs 31-32). The supplying step of instant claim 12 does not structurally limit the claim in a way that distinguishes over the prior device, which is capable of supplying cooled reactivation air to any destination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matuska et al. ‘497 in view of Coellner et al. (5,632,943).
Matuska et al. ‘497 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that a preferred sorbent is used and adhered to a substrate. Coellner et al. ‘943 disclose a desiccant wheel (10) including a zeolite desiccant that is coated on a substrate (see figure 2, col. 2, lines 19-28, col. 7, lines 10-26). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the rotary sorbent of Matuska et al. ‘497 by using any known sorbent that is known to be effective for moisture adsorption from an air flow, and to use a coated substrate so that there is a high surface contact area between the desiccant and moisture in the air without an unacceptable drop in pressure through the wheel.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matuska et al. ‘497 in view of Yaghi et al. (2020/0361965 A1).
Matuska et al. ‘497 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that a preferred metal-organic framework is used as the sorbent. Yaghi et al. ‘965 discloses the use of MOF_303 and MOF-801 for moisture capture from ambient air (see abstract, paragraphs 6 and 132). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sorbent of Matuska et al. ‘497 by using the metal-organic frameworks of Yaghi et al. ‘965 in order to provide a desiccant material that is viable and efficient even in low relative humidity conditions.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mastuka et al. ‘497 in view of Friesen et al. (2018/0043295 A1).
Mastuka et al. ‘497 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that there is a controller for receiving parameters from temperature or humidity sensors and controlling operation of the rotary processor and heat pump. Friesen et al. ‘295 disclose a water extraction control system including a processor and sensors for measuring ambient temperature and humidity, temperature and humidity in a process air and regeneration air pathways, rate of water production, and flow rate, temperature and humidity in a purge airflow path. The controller optimizes liquid water production by adjusting the rotation of a desiccant wheel and the speed of fan motors in the regeneration flow path based on sensed measurements and relating to current environmental and system conditions. The regeneration flow path fan motor adjustment will also affect operation of the heat pump because the refrigerant and heat exchange temperatures will change. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Matuska et al. ‘497 by using the control and sensor arrangement of Friesen et al. ‘295 in order to provide optimization of water production based on system and environmental conditions.
Conclusion
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl