DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response to the Non-Final Office Action from 08/13/2025, the applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 5, 14, 16 and 18. Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are subject to examination as being previously elected without traverse with claims 8-11 previously withdrawn being non-elected claims.
The applicant amended independent claims 1 and 14 to add a keyway feature with an additively manufactured (AM) component bonding portion (underlined portion is added limitation). This is further narrowly limited in claim 1 as the machined component being a machined component keyway feature and then further narrowly limited as recited by claim 1: “wherein the machined component keyway feature and the AM component keyway feature are configured to require a combination of linear and rotational movements for assembly of the machined component and the AM component;”. This amendment comes from the incorporation of dependent claim 5 which is now amended to narrow the limitation of the keyway feature requiring a combination of linear and rotation movements for assembly or separation of the machined and AM component to just the separation of the components. Therefore, claim 5 is incorporated into claim 1 with the assembly feature only. This is similarly done with claim 18 incorporated into claim 14.
The examiner responds by giving new grounds of rejection as necessitated by these amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (US 2021/0154950 A1) IDS 09/16/2024 in view of Wang (CN218581377U) with machine translation, with evidence provided for independent claim 1 and claim 21 by Koerbel (WO 2010/125057 A2) IDS 03/11/2024, with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Czinger discloses a method of producing a vehicle
component (paragraph [0007]) by joining an additively manufactured (AM) component without the use of fixtures (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4D abs, paragraphs [0050] [0057] vehicle structures joining two or more structures e.g. additively manufactured structures with a first structure – 523 second structure – 525 where at least one of the two structures can be an additively manufactured structure)), the method comprising:
retaining the AM component with a first robot, wherein the AM component has an AM component bonding portion (Fig. 6A paragraph [0107] assembly robot – 511 can engage first structure – 523 first structure – 523 may include a groove – 533 on a first surface and a tongue – 535 on a second surface);
retaining the second component with a second robot (Fig. 6C paragraph [0116]) keystone robot – 507 can engage second (machined) structure – 525), wherein the bonding portion that is configured to be bonded with the AM component bonding portion (Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0142] tongue – 545 of second (machined) structure – 525 may be within groove – 533 of first structure – 523) with a bond gap therebetween for absorbing dimensional variances in the AM component (Figs 6, 6F paragraphs [0142] [0143] with lateral bond gaps – 561 and a vertical bond gap – 562 between the tongue and the bottom of the groove, can be caused because the tongue is inserted in the groove without contacting the sides and bottom to overcome spatial errors that might be caused by improper positioning) and
adjusting one of a position of the machined component or the AM component to achieve a designated alignment of the AM component with the component (Fig. 6F paragraphs [0131] [0132] [0133] metrology system – 531 may determine positional data for a set of coordinates associated with the structure relative to the joining proximity and the difference between the current position and the joining proximity is measured or calculated by the computing system – 529) wherein an adhesive in the bond gap bonds the AM component bonding portion and the second component bonding portion (Fig. 6A 6B paragraphs [0142] [0146] structural adhesive deposited in groove – 533; UV adhesive applicator – 575 and UV light applicator – 577 curing and thereby bonding first structure – 523 and second structure – 525 and is applied by a structural adhesive robot – 513 may provide a permanent bond when cured).
However, the second component is recited throughout the claim as a machined component and Czinger is silent as to the second component being a machined component and that a machined component has a machined component bonding portion configured to be bonded with the AM component bonding portion.
But it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the second component of Czinger be a machined component, because Czinger does disclose that “a structure or a part may be at least a portion or section associated with a vehicle, such as a vehicle chassis, panel, base piece, body, frame, and/or another vehicle component” (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, this would be a case of prima facie obviousness because it would be obvious to use a machined component as the described second component of Czinger, and it would be obvious for this machined component to be bonded to the additively manufactured component. It would be the use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way (MPEP § 2143 I. (C)) and this would be commonly known in the automotive arts as shown in paragraph [0050] of Czinger.
Moreover, further evidence can be provided whereby Koerbel provides evidence that machining components are routinely used for joining one component with at least one further component through robot support (abs), particularly in production of vehicles including automobiles (paragraph [0002]) where robots are used for processing vehicle components for joining, forming or machining (paragraph [0003]). One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use machined components as the second component of Czinger including a bonding portion for the machined component because machining forces can advantageously be introduced into a robot arm and are preferably used in the joining of these machined components and are typically used (paragraph [0021]).
However, neither Czinger or Koerbel disclose that the AM component is a keyway feature with an AM component bonding portion, nor that the machined component has a machine component keyway feature.
Wang discloses in the same field of endeavor of producing a vehicle component, a lockset that is designed for new energy automobiles (abs). This lockset comprises a keyway feature (Fig. 7 paragraph [0044] first sliding keyway – 121 second sliding keyway – 1251) with a bond gap therebetween (Fig. 4 paragraphs [0055] [0066] [0095] upper lock case – 11 and lower lock case – 12 surround a lock case receiving cavity where the first sliding keyway – 121 has a first sliding key – 221 that slide into or out of the first sliding keyway – 121; where the inner wall of the lower lock case – 12 is provided with a second sliding key – 1251 with a second sliding key groove – 213 that slides in cooperation with the second sliding key – 1251 and restricts the rotation of the unlocking slider – 21 so that the unlocking slider – 21 only moves along the axis of the lock)
wherein the first keyway feature and the second keyway feature are configured to require a combination of linear and rotation movements for assembly of the machined component and the AM component (Figs 5-10 paragraphs [0066] [0068] the first sliding key – 221 and the first sliding keyway – 121 and the locking rotating core – 22 is controlled to move linearly along the axis of the lock, the locking rotating core – 22; the locking rotating core – 22 not only reciprocates linearly along the axis of the lock, but also rotates around its own axis).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Czinger with Wang whereby a method of producing vehicle components by joining an additively manufactured (AM) component with a machined component, as disclosed and taught by Czinger, would also include that the machined component and the AM component would keyway feature configured to require a combination of linear and rotational movements for assembly of the machined component and the AM component as taught by Wang.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to combine these features because with this combination of a linear and rotational structure to the first and second keyway components with the rotating core rotating around its own axis while retracting (paragraph [0107]) makes applying only axial force to the lock without any other directional movement, which greatly shortens the unlocking and unlocking time (paragraph [0108]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Czinger further discloses that the AM bonding portion is configured to receive the machined component bonding portion with the bond gap therebetween (Figs. 6A, 6B paragraphs [0142] [0146] structural adhesive robot – 513 provides a permanent bond when cured between tongue – 545 of second (machined) structure – 525 and groove – 533 of first structure – 523 where the tongue is inserted in the groove without contacting the sides and bottom).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and Czinger further discloses that the machined component keyway feature and the AM keyway feature are configured to prevent assembly or separation of the machined component and the AM component along a single axis (Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0141] when structures are within the joining proximity at least a portion of one structure overlaps with at least a portion of another structure in at least one of the azimuthal plane with overlap with one or more features of one structure connecting with one or more complementary features of another structure by interlocking or fitting together).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and Czinger further discloses that the single axis is a linear axis (Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0141] portion of one structure overlaps with at least a portion of another structure in at least a horizontal plane).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Wang further discloses that the machined component keyway feature and the AM component keyway feature of Czinger are configured to require a combination of linear and rotational movements for separation of the machined component and the AM component (Figs. 7, 8 paragraph [0080] lock is switched from the locked state to the unlocked state, locking rotor – 22 can move axially upward until it is separated from the blocking plane – 123 and rotates).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Czinger further discloses that the adhesive is provided to at least one of the AM component or the machined component prior to adjusting at least one of the positions of the machined component or the AM component (Figs. 6B, 6F paragraphs [0140] [0142] move-measure-correct procedure is iteratively repeated until computing system – 529 determines first structure – 523 and– 525 are at the joining proximity and further corrective operations should be applied and the tongue – 545 of the second (machined) structure – 525 may merely contact the structural adhesive deposited in groove – 533 of first structure – 523).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Czinger further discloses that the adhesive is provided to the bond gap between the AM component and the machined component after the said adjusting of the one of the position of the machined component or the AM component (Figs 6G, 6H paragraphs [0148] [0149] UV adhesive uncured – 579 second (machined) structure- 525 and the first structure – 523 are positioned at the joining proximity with the UV adhesive (uncured UV adhesive strips – 579) placed across first structure – 523 and second (machined) structure – 525).
Regarding Claim 14, Czinger discloses a method of producing a vehicle
component (paragraph [0007]) by joining an additively manufactured (AM) component with a non-AM component without the use of fixtures (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4D abs, paragraphs [0050] [0057] vehicle structures joining two or more structures e.g. additively manufactured structures with a first structure – 523 second structure – 525 where at least one of the two structures can be an additively manufactured structure)), the method comprising:
retaining the AM component with a first robot, wherein the AM component has an AM component bonding portion (Fig. 6A paragraph [0107] assembly robot – 511 can engage first structure – 523 first structure – 523 may include a groove – 533 on a first surface and a tongue – 535 on a second surface);
retaining the non-AM component with a second robot (Fig. 6C paragraph [0116]) keystone robot – 507 can engage second (machined) structure – 525), wherein the bonding portion that is configured to be bonded with the AM component bonding portion (Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0142] tongue – 545 of second (non-AM) structure – 525 may be within groove – 533 of first structure – 523) with a bond gap therebetween for absorbing dimensional variances in the AM component (Figs 6, 6F paragraphs [0142] [0143] with lateral bond gaps – 561 and a vertical bond gap – 562 between the tongue and the bottom of the groove, can be caused because the tongue is inserted in the groove without contacting the sides and bottom to overcome spatial errors that might be caused by improper positioning) and
adjusting one of a position of the non-AM component or the AM component to achieve a designated alignment of the AM component with the component (Fig. 6F paragraphs [0131] [0132] [0133] metrology system – 531 may determine positional data for a set of coordinates associated with the structure relative to the joining proximity and the difference between the current position and the joining proximity is measured or calculated by the computing system – 529) wherein an adhesive in the bond gap bonds the AM component bonding portion and the second component bonding portion (Fig. 6A 6B paragraphs [0142] [0146] structural adhesive deposited in groove – 533; UV adhesive applicator – 575 and UV light applicator – 577 curing and thereby bonding first structure – 523 and second structure – 525 and is applied by a structural adhesive robot – 513 may provide a permanent bond when cured).
However, Czinger does not disclose that the AM component is a keyway feature with an AM component bonding portion, nor that the non-AM component has a non-AM component keyway feature.
Wang discloses in the same field of endeavor of producing a vehicle component, a lockset that is designed for new energy automobiles (abs). This lockset comprises a keyway feature (Fig. 7 paragraph [0044] first sliding keyway – 121 second sliding keyway – 1251) with a bond gap therebetween (Fig. 4 paragraphs [0055] [0066] [0095] upper lock case – 11 and lower lock case – 12 surround a lock case receiving cavity where the first sliding keyway – 121 has a first sliding key – 221 that slide into or out of the first sliding keyway – 121; where the inner wall of the lower lock case – 12 is provided with a second sliding key – 1251 with a second sliding key groove – 213 that slides in cooperation with the second sliding key – 1251 and restricts the rotation of the unlocking slider – 21 so that the unlocking slider – 21 only moves along the axis of the lock)
wherein the first keyway feature and the second keyway feature are configured to require a combination of linear and rotation movements for assembly of the machined component and the AM component (Figs 5-10 paragraphs [0066] [0068] the first sliding key – 221 and the first sliding keyway – 121 and the locking rotating core – 22 is controlled to move linearly along the axis of the lock, the locking rotating core – 22; the locking rotating core – 22 not only reciprocates linearly along the axis of the lock, but also rotates around its own axis).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Czinger with Wang whereby a method of producing vehicle components by joining an additively manufactured (AM) component with a non-AM component, as disclosed and taught by Czinger, would also include that the non-AM component and the AM component would keyway feature configured to require a combination of linear and rotational movements for assembly of the non-AM component and the AM component as taught by Wang.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to combine these features because with this combination of a linear and rotational structure to the first and second keyway components with the rotating core rotating around its own axis while retracting (paragraph [0107]) makes applying only axial force to the lock without any other directional movement, which greatly shortens the unlocking and unlocking time (paragraph [0108]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 14 and Czinger further discloses that the AM bonding portion is configured to receive the non-AM component bonding portion with the bond gap therebetween (Figs. 6A, 6B paragraphs [0142] [0146] structural adhesive robot – 513 provides a permanent bond when cured between tongue – 545 of second (machined) structure – 525 and groove – 533 of first structure – 523 where the tongue is inserted in the groove without contacting the sides and bottom).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 15 and Czinger and Wang further disclose that the non-AM component keyway feature and the AM keyway feature are configured to prevent separation of the non-AM component and the AM component along a single axis (Czinger, Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0141] when structures are within the joining proximity at least a portion of one structure overlaps with at least a portion of another structure in at least one of the azimuthal plane with overlap with one or more features of one structure connecting with one or more complementary features of another structure by interlocking or fitting together; Wang Fig. 8 paragraph [0079] surface of the locking rotating core – 22 abuts against the locking inclined surface – 122 and side of the first sliding keyway – 121 abuts against the blocking plane – 123 ensuring the stability of the locked state).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 16 and Czinger further discloses that the single axis is a linear axis (Fig. 6A, 6F paragraph [0141] portion of one structure overlaps with at least a portion of another structure in at least a horizontal plane).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 14 and Wang further discloses that the non-AM component keyway feature and the AM component keyway feature of Czinger are configured to require a combination of linear and rotational movements for separation of the machined component and the AM component (Figs. 7, 8 paragraph [0080] lock is switched from the locked state to the unlocked state, locking rotor – 22 can move axially upward until it is separated from the blocking plane – 123 and rotates).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 14 and Czinger further discloses that the adhesive is provided to at least one of the AM component or the non-AM component prior to adjusting at least one of the positions of the non-AM or the AM component (Figs. 6B, 6F paragraphs [0140] [0142] move-measure-correct procedure is iteratively repeated until computing system – 529 determines first structure – 523 and second structure– 525 are at the joining proximity and further corrective operations should be applied and the tongue – 545 of the second non-AM structure – 525 may merely contact the structural adhesive deposited in groove – 533 of first structure – 523).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 14 and Czinger further discloses that the adhesive is provided to the bond gap between the AM component and the non-AM component after adjusting of the one of the position of the non-AM component or the AM component (Figs 6G, 6H paragraphs [0148] [0149] UV adhesive uncured – 579 second (machined) structure- 525 and the first structure – 523 are positioned at the joining proximity with the UV adhesive (uncured UV adhesive strips – 579) placed across first structure – 523 and second (machined) structure – 525).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Czinger and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 14 and Czinger further discloses that the non-AM component comprises a surface, wherein the surface proves a reference point for alignment of the non- AM component and the AM component (Fig. 6F paragraph [0132] metrology system – 531 provides positional data which may indicate a set of coordinates associated with the structure including absolute coordinates and/or a set of relative coordinates relative to the joining proximity and/or relative to the to the other one of the structures, which inherently involves the surface of the structure being used as a reference point for alignment (paragraph [0134] misalignment can occur because coordinates are moved to be brought within the joining proximity).
However, Czinger does not disclose that the non-AM component comprises a machined surface.
But it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the second non-AM component of Czinger be a machined component, because Czinger does disclose that “a structure or a part may be at least a portion or section associated with a vehicle, such as a vehicle chassis, panel, base piece, body, frame, and/or another vehicle component” (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, this would be a case of prima facie obviousness because it would be obvious to use a machined component as the described second component of Czinger, and it would be obvious for this machined component to be bonded to the additively manufactured component. It would be the use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way (MPEP § 2143 I. (C)) and this would be commonly known in the automotive arts as shown in paragraph [0050] of Czinger.
Moreover, further evidence can be provided whereby Koerbel provides evidence that machining components are routinely used for joining one component with at least one further component through robot support (abs), particularly in production of vehicles including automobiles (paragraph [0002]) where robots are used for processing vehicle components for joining, forming or machining (paragraph [0003]). One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use machined components as the second component of Czinger including a bonding portion for the machined component because machining forces can advantageously be introduced into a robot arm and are preferably used in the joining of these machined components and are typically used (paragraph [0021]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748