Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 9 and 18 are amended. Claims 6 and 16 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 6/10/2026 with respect to claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2007/0104335 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US. Pub. No. 2010/0184384 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses an apparatus (See Shi; Fig. 2; Acoustic feedback compression means (Which may be a power amplifier)) comprising: an input (See Shi; Fig. 2; audio signal sampling means 100) configured to receive a first signal (See Par. [51] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the audio signal sampling means receives an input audio signal [Time-domain samples]); a processor coupled to the input (See Shi; Fig. 2; Signal Processing Means 200), the processor being configured to:
generate a second signal based on the first signal, the second signal comprising a first frequency component (See Par. [9], [77] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the signal processing means performs time-frequency transformation on the input time-domain samples [Signal] to generate a plurality of frequency bins included in a new signal [Second Signal]);
calculate a first magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a first timestamp (See Par. [61]-[62] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the spectral analyzing mean 300 evaluates the magnitude of frequency bins. The power or Voltage spectrum of frequency bins is calculated);
calculate a second magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a second timestamp (See Par. [19], [61]-[63] and Fig. 3 of Shi for a reference to the magnitude of frequency bins is calculated [Updated] over a predetermined plurality of times [Timestamps]); and
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory being configured to store at least the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [59]-[60], [77] of Shi for a reference to the generated frequency bins with the calculated magnitudes over a plurality of times are stored on the memory).
Shi does not explicitly disclose the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data; calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude; and generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude; anta control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation.
However, Jones discloses the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data (See Par. [78] of Jones for a reference to the received first signal comprises in-phase (abbreviated I) and quadrature (abbreviated Q) components);
calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [68],[98], [119]-[121] of Jones for a reference to the AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data, including averaging signal power [Magnitude] of samples over time [Including First and Second signal power]); and
generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude (See Par. [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) is performed on the windowed signal data to compute a frequency-domain [Spectrum] representation of the windowed signal data, including the average signal power); and
a control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation (See Par. [98], [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to AGC 1034 is used to ensure the signal level inside signal analyzer 1020 [Which creates the frequency-domain representation] lies within a specified range. AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data and adjusts the gain [Signal Parameter] of the component providing the data).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones to Shi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by applying windows to the collected signal data in order to reduce spectral leakage that may occur in an FFT of a sampled finite-duration signal. (Jones; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shi and Jones, specifically Shi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to apply a windowing function to the first signal (See Par. [21], [47], [52]-[53] of Shi for a reference to spectrum-analysis includes applying windowing function to time-domain samples prior to FFT; examples include Hanning/Hamming/Gaussian).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shi and Jones, specifically Shi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a memory controller configured to manage data transfer between the processor and the memory (See Par. [50] of Shi for a reference to spectral analyzing mean processor is mapped to the memory controller).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shi and Jones, specifically Shi discloses wherein the first timestamp and the second timestamp are characterized by a predetermined time interval (See Par. [19], [62], [77] of Shi for a reference to the frequency bins are updated at intervals that are predetermined plurality of time intervals).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shi and Jones, specifically Shi discloses wherein the first signal comprises a time-domain signal (See Par. [9], [52], [57] of Shi for a reference to the obtained first signal is a time-domain samples of acoustic signal)and the second signal comprises a frequency-domain signal (See Par. [9], [77] of Shi for a reference to the generated second signal is frequency bins [Frequency-domain] signal).
Regarding claim 18, Shi discloses an apparatus (See Shi; Fig. 2; Acoustic feedback compression means (Which may be a power amplifier)) comprising: an input (See Shi; Fig. 2; audio signal sampling means 100) configured to receive a first signal (See Par. [51] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the audio signal sampling means receives an input audio signal [Time-domain samples]); a processor coupled to the input (See Shi; Fig. 2; Signal Processing Means 200), the processor being configured to:
generate a second signal based on the first signal, the second signal comprising a first frequency component (See Par. [9], [77] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the signal processing means performs time-frequency transformation on the input time-domain samples [Signal] to generate a plurality of frequency bins included in a new signal [Second Signal]);
calculate a first magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a first timestamp (See Par. [61]-[62] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the spectral analyzing mean 300 evaluates the magnitude of frequency bins. The power or Voltage spectrum of frequency bins is calculated);
calculate a second magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a second timestamp (See Par. [19], [61]-[63] and Fig. 3 of Shi for a reference to the magnitude of frequency bins is calculated [Updated] over a predetermined plurality of times [Timestamps]); and
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory being configured to store at least the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [59]-[60], [77] of Shi for a reference to the generated frequency bins with the calculated magnitudes over a plurality of times are stored on the memory).
Shi does not explicitly disclose the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data; calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude; generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude; and a control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation.
However, Jones discloses the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data (See Par. [78] of Jones for a reference to the received first signal comprises in-phase (abbreviated I) and quadrature (abbreviated Q) components);
calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [68],[98], [119]-[121] of Jones for a reference to the AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data, including averaging signal power [Magnitude] of samples over time [Including First and Second signal power]); and
generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude (See Par. [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) is performed on the windowed signal data to compute a frequency-domain [Spectrum] representation of the windowed signal data, including the average signal power); and
a control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation (See Par. [98], [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to AGC 1034 is used to ensure the signal level inside signal analyzer 1020 [Which creates the frequency-domain representation] lies within a specified range. AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data and adjusts the gain [Signal Parameter] of the component providing the data).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones to Shi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by applying windows to the collected signal data in order to reduce spectral leakage that may occur in an FFT of a sampled finite-duration signal. (Jones; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
6. Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Jones et al. and further in view of Boyan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2007/0233409 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to convert the third magnitude from a linear scale to a logarithmic scale.
However, Boyan discloses wherein the processor is further configured to convert the third magnitude from a linear scale to a logarithmic scale (See Par. [13] of Boyan for a reference to spectrum analyzer applies race math trace processing. Detector output is logarithm of signal amplitude [log/antilog operations]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boyan to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by providing information that is meaningful to the system designer when raw data is processed by a spectrum analyzer. (Boyan; Par. [2]-[3])
7. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Jones et al. and further in view Shi (US. Pub. No. 2003/0064695 A1, referred to as Shi’695).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to adjust the third magnitude based a gain applied to the first signal.
However, Shi’695 discloses wherein the processor is further configured to adjust the third magnitude based on a gain applied to the first signal (See Par. [33]-[36] of Shi’695 for a reference to gain adjustment based on measured signal strengths is applied to input first signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi’695 to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the signal-to-noise ratio of an RF signal presented to the mixer by the LNA, through adjusting the gain of the LNA. (Shi’695; Par. [2]-[3])
8. Claims 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Jones et al. and further in view Fifield (US. Pub. No. 2009/0135035 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Shi discloses an apparatus comprising: a receiver (See Shi; Fig. 2; audio signal sampling means 100) configured to receive a first signal (See Par. [51] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the audio signal sampling means receives an input audio signal [Time-domain samples]), the receiver comprising: an amplifier (See Shi; Fig. 1; Amplifier) configured to amplify the first signal (See Par. [49] and Fig. 1 of Shi for a reference to amplifying the input audio signal); and an analyzer coupled to the receiver (See Shi; Fig. 2; Signal Processing Means 200), the analyzer being configured to:
generate a second signal based on the first signal, the second signal comprising a first frequency component (See Par. [9], [77] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the signal processing means performs time-frequency transformation on the input time-domain samples [Signal] to generate a plurality of frequency bins included in a new signal [Second Signal]);
calculate a first magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a first timestamp (See Par. [61]-[62] and Fig. 2 of Shi for a reference to the spectral analyzing mean 300 evaluates the magnitude of frequency bins. The power or Voltage spectrum of frequency bins is calculated); and
calculate a second magnitude associated with the first frequency component at a second timestamp (See Par. [19], [61]-[63] and Fig. 3 of Shi for a reference to the magnitude of frequency bins is calculated [Updated] over a predetermined plurality of times [Timestamps]).
Shi does not explicitly disclose the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data; calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude; and generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude; and a control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation; the receiver comprising a first filter coupled to the amplifier through a first node, the first filter being configured to filter the first signal; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) coupled to the first filter through a second node; and a control module configured to measure a first signal strength at the first node and a second signal strength at the second node.
However, Jones discloses the first signal comprising in- phase data and quadrature data (See Par. [78] of Jones for a reference to the received first signal comprises in-phase (abbreviated I) and quadrature (abbreviated Q) components);
calculate a third magnitude associated with the first frequency component by calculating an average based at least on the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [68],[98], [119]-[121] of Jones for a reference to the AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data, including averaging signal power [Magnitude] of samples over time [Including First and Second signal power]); and
generate a spectrum representation of the first signal based at least on the third magnitude (See Par. [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) is performed on the windowed signal data to compute a frequency-domain [Spectrum] representation of the windowed signal data, including the average signal power); and
a control module coupled to the processor and configured to adjust a signal processing parameter associated with the first signal based at least on the spectrum representation (See Par. [98], [117]-[121] of Jones for a reference to AGC 1034 is used to ensure the signal level inside signal analyzer 1020 [Which creates the frequency-domain representation] lies within a specified range. AGC 1034 computes an average magnitude of the incoming signal data and adjusts the gain [Signal Parameter] of the component providing the data).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones to Shi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by applying windows to the collected signal data in order to reduce spectral leakage that may occur in an FFT of a sampled finite-duration signal. (Jones; Par. [42])
The combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose the receiver comprising a first filter coupled to the amplifier through a first node, the first filter being configured to filter the first signal; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) coupled to the first filter through a second node; and a control module configured to measure a first signal strength at the first node and a second signal strength at the second node.
However, Fifield discloses the receiver comprising a first filter coupled to the amplifier (See Fifield; Fig. 2; Digital Filter 130) through a first node, the first filter being configured to filter the first signal (See Par. [38], [40] and fig. 2 for a reference to the digital filter 130 is used to filter input signal fed by the ADC 120); an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) coupled to the first filter through a second node (See Fifield; Fig. 2; analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 120 to output a digital signal 121); and a control module configured to measure a first signal strength at the first node and a second signal strength at the second node (See Par. [33]-[35] and Fig. 2 for a reference to Amplifier LNA, BPF filter performs RSSI measurements at nodes).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fifield to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing the noise bandwidth and improving adjacent channel rejection. (Fifield; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver further comprises a signal processor coupled to the ADC through a third node, and the control module is configured to measure a third signal strength at the third node.
However, Fifield discloses wherein the receiver further comprises a signal processor coupled to the ADC through a third node, and the control module is configured to measure a third signal strength at the third node (See Par. [38], [49] and Fig. 2 & 6 of Fifield for a reference to analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 120 to output a digital signal 121).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fifield to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing the noise bandwidth and improving adjacent channel rejection. (Fifield; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose wherein the control module is configured to adjust a gain of the amplifier based at least on the first signal strength, the second signal strength, and the third signal strength.
However, Fifield discloses wherein the control module is configured to adjust a gain of the amplifier based at least on the first signal strength, the second signal strength, and the third signal strength (See Par. [43] of Fifield for a reference to a receiver with ADC and digital filter combining decimation + channel filtering; detector outputs power/averaged level. Power level/averaged level; can be used for gain control).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fifield to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing the noise bandwidth and improving adjacent channel rejection. (Fifield; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shi and Jones does not explicitly disclose wherein: the ADC is configured to convert the first signal into a digital signal; and the receiver further comprises a second filter coupled to the ADC, the second filter is configured to reduce a sampling rate of the digital signal.
However, Fifield discloses the ADC is configured to convert the first signal into a digital signal (See Par. [38], [49] and Fig. 2 & 6 of Fifield for a reference to analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 120 to output a digital signal 121); and the receiver further comprises a second filter coupled to the ADC, the second filter is configured to reduce a sampling rate of the digital signal (See Par. [40]-[43] of Fifield for a reference to Receiver with ADC and digital filter combining decimation and channel filtering; detector outputs power/averaged level. Digital filter performs filtering + decimation to reduce sampling rate).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fifield to the combination of Shi and Jones. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by reducing the noise bandwidth and improving adjacent channel rejection. (Fifield; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shi, Jones and Fifield, specifically Shi discloses wherein the analyzer further comprises a memory configured to store at least the first magnitude and the second magnitude (See Par. [59]-[60], [77] of Shi for a reference to the generated frequency bins with the calculated magnitudes over a plurality of times are stored on the memory).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
9. Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Boyan et al. in view Fifield and further in view of Shi’695.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shi, Jones and Fifield does not explicitly disclose wherein the first signal strength is associated with a first frequency range, the second signal strength is associated with a second frequency range, and the second frequency range is narrower than the first frequency range.
However, Shi’695 discloses wherein the first signal strength is associated with a first frequency range, the second signal strength is associated with a second frequency range, and the second frequency range is narrower than the first frequency range (See Par. [34] of Shi’695 for a reference to RF unit with wideband and narrowband RSSI; LNA gain adjustment] (RSSI A measures wideband combined carriers; RSSI B measures narrowband bandpass-filtered signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi’695 to the combination of Shi, Jones and Fifield. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the signal-to-noise ratio of an RF signal presented to the mixer by the LNA, through adjusting the gain of the LNA. (Shi’695; Par. [2]-[3])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shi, Jones and Fifield does not explicitly disclose wherein the control module is coupled to the analyzer.
However, Shi’695 discloses wherein the control module is coupled to the analyzer (See Par. [35] of Shi’695 for a reference to RF unit with wideband and narrowband RSSI; LNA gain adjustment; (gain adjustment block uses RSSI measures) and analyzer can be coupled to receiver).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi’695 to the combination of Shi, Jones and Fifield. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the signal-to-noise ratio of an RF signal presented to the mixer by the LNA, through adjusting the gain of the LNA. (Shi’695; Par. [2]-[3])
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kleinbeck (US. Pub. No. 2025/0184596 A1) discloses systems, methods, and apparatus for detecting UAVs in an RF environment.
Spiegel et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0412327 A1) discloses a computer-implemented method, an apparatus, a system and a computer program for controlling a sightedness impairment of a subject.
Luyten et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0306188 A1) discloses circuits configured to process signals such as radio frequency (RF) signals involving signal modulation that includes amplitude modulation, with such signals being susceptible to relatively random noise.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413