DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “at least one from the group of robotic exoskeletons” is unclear. It is not apparent what constitutes the “group of robotic exoskeletons,” nor is it clear whether the claim is intended to invoke a Markush grouping. If a Markush group is intended, the claim fails to properly define the members of the group. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is uncertain. Additionally, the recitations “for improving a golf swing” and “for assisting patients in rehabilitation” are statements of intended use that do not provide clear structural limitations to the claimed “robotic device.”. It is unclear whether and how these intended uses limit the scope of the claim and the phrase “from the group of” lacks antecedent basis and does not identify what constitutes the group. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
The claim recites a “robotic device” comprising at least one robotic exoskeleton “for improving a golf swing” and “for assisting patients in rehabilitation.” The claim therefore encompasses any robotic exoskeleton capable of achieving these results.
However, the specification does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. Specifically, while the specification generally describes desired results, such as improving a user’s golf swing and assisting rehabilitation, it fails to provide sufficient guidance s to how these results are achieved across the full scope of the claim. The specification does not adequately describe the mechanisms, control strategies or operational parameters required for a robotic exoskeleton to improve a golf swing or assist in rehabilitation. For example, the specification lacks sufficient detail regarding how the device interacts with a user’s body, how movement is guided or corrected, or how the device is configured to achieve the claimed functional outcomes. Any discussion of feedback, analysis, or user interaction is described at a high level without sufficient technical detail to enable implementation. Given the breadth of the claim, which covers any robotic exoskeleton capable of achieving the recited results, and the lack of specific guidance in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be required to engage in undue experimentation to determine how to implement the claimed invention across its full scope. Accordingly, the claim is not enabled, and is rejected under 35 USC § 112 (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim recites: “A robotic device comprising at least one from the group of robotic exoskeletons: for improving a golf swing, and for assisting patients in rehabilitation.” While the claim nominally recites a “robotic device,” the additional limitations “for improving a golf swing” and “for assisting patients in rehabilitation” are directed to intended results or purposes rather than structural or functional limitations of the device itself. The claim recites a generic “robotic device” and merely states intended results of “improving a golf swing” and “assisting patients in rehabilitation.” These recitations amount to an abstract idea, namely improving human performance and rehabilitation, which are methods of organizing human activity and/or mental processes.. The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The “robotic device” is recited at a high level of generality and does not include any specific structural features or technological improvements that would meaningfully limit the claim. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim encompasses any generic robotic exoskeleton capable of being used for improving athletic performance or assisting rehabilitation. The claim therefore does not recite any specific technological improvement or meaningful structural limitation beyond a generic device.
Accordingly, the claim is effectively directed to the abstract idea of using a device to improve human movement or rehabilitation, without reciting significantly more to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
As best understood, the claim is rejected as disclosed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hungelmann (US Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0089590).
Hungelmann discloses a robotic exoskeleton device (see Figures 1-8) that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing (see the title and the abstract) and for assisting patients in rehabilitation (see paragraph 40).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peterson (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0122014).
Peterson discloses a robotic exoskeleton device (see all Figures) comprising at least one from the group of robotic exoskeletons: for improving a golf swing, and for assisting patients in rehabilitation (see claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peterson (US Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0008801).
Peterson discloses a robotic exoskeleton device (see all Figures) comprising at least one from the group of robotic exoskeletons: for improving a golf swing, and for assisting patients in rehabilitation (see claim 1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0198625).
Anderson discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures and paragraph 38. In paragraph 38 it is disclosed that the device could be used for movements of a golf swing).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peterson US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0122014).
Peterson discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures and the specification).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Remington (US Patent 1,530,519).
Remington discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stewart (US Patent 3,698,721).
Stewart discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cox (US Patent 4,758,000).
Cox discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ballard et al. (US Patent 1,530,519).
Ballard discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lepley (US Patent 5,324,247).
Lepley discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kossnar et al. (US Patent 6,551,196).
Kossnar discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goel et al. (US Patent 8,360,942).
Goel discloses a robotic exoskeleton device that is capable of being used for improving a golf swing and for assisting patents in rehabilitation (see all Figures).
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
/NINI F LEGESSE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711