Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the papers filed on 24 March 2026.
CLAIMS UNDER EXAMINATION
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-12, 17 and 22 have been examined on their merits.
PRIORITY
The Applicant claims priority to Provisional Application 62/541584, filed on 04 August 2017. The disclosure provides support for peritumoral administration (see page 3, line 15). It does not provide support for intratumoral injection, or injection into a tumor.
PCT/US2018/044956, 16/635,142 and the instant specification provide support for
infusion “into or near a tumor” (hence, intratumoral or peritumoral) at [0095].
WITHDRAWN OBJECTION
The objection to claim 9 has been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The previous rejections have been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
REJECTIONS
New rejections have been necessitated by claim amendment..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (previously cited; Exosomes and Micro-Ribonucleic Acid For Tissue Regeneration (US20150203844) in view of Marban et al. (previously cited; Polarization of macrophages to a healing phenotype by cardiosphere-derived cells and by the exosomes secreted by such cells. WO2016057560 14 April 2016).
Marban (2015) teaches a method of repairing and/or regenerating damaged or diseased tissue comprising administering compositions comprising exosomes (hence, an extracellular vesicle; Abstract). The exosomes can be used to treat tissue damage caused by chronic diseases ([0012]) ([0076]). Cancer is identified as a chronic disease ([0012] [0076]). Marban teaches “exosomes can be administered to treat a variety of cancerous target tissues” and tumors ([0077]).
Exosomes are secreted by cardiosphere-derived cells (CDCs) ([0008] [0011] [0068]). The protein content of exosomes is suited for repair or regeneration of damaged or diseased cells ([0066]). The protein carried by exosomes can be administered to a subject in need of tissue repair ([0068]). The exosomes can be harvested and the proteins can be collected from the exosome ([0068]). The dose administered ranges from about 1.0×105 to about 1.0×109 exosomes ([0073]). The exosome dose is administered on a per kilogram basis ([0073]).
Marban teaches direct injection ([0071]). The exosomes can be delivered “directly to a central portion of the damaged or diseased tissue (e.g., to the central portion of a tumor…)” ([0072]). This is interpreted to be intratumoral administration.
Marban is silent regarding the amount of EV protein delivered by body weight of the subject.
Marban does not teach intratumoral injection with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claim.
Marban et al. (WO2016) teach a therapeutic application of cardiosphere-derived exosomes (Abstract). The art teaches treating a subject for a disease and/or condition involving tissue damage or dysfunction (See page 36 lines 22-25). Marban teaches the tissue damage can be caused by cancer (see page 40, lines 23-24).
Exosomes contain a biological milieu of different proteins (page 17, lines 19-24). Marban teaches the exosome quantity may be defined by protein quantity, such as dosages including 1-10, 10-25, 25-50, 50-75, 75-100, or 100 or more mg exosome protein. (See page 26, lines 35-39; page 38 lines 9-11). Examiner notes 1 mg is 1000 micrograms (1 milligram multiplied by 1000).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by administering at least 7 µg EV protein per gram of body weight of a subject. Marban teaches administering exosomes to treat dysfunctional cells and tissues caused by cancer and Marban (WO 2016) the dosage of exosome used to treat dysfunctional and damaged tissue can be defined by protein quantity, and includes dosages of 1000 microgram or more protein. One would have been motivated to administer exosome protein since Marban teaches the protein content of exosomes is suited for repair or regeneration of damaged or diseased cells and tissue. Marban teaches the exosome dose is administered on a per kilogram basis. The skilled artisan would optimize the dosage by weight to obtain the desired therapeutic effect. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Marban (2016) teaches the exosome dose can be defined by the amount of protein delivered. One would have expected similar results since both references treat damaged and dysfunctional cells and tissue caused by cancer. Because the claimed dosage is rendered obvious, it would decrease cancer in a subject as claimed.
It would have been obvious to administer via intratumoral injection. One would have been motivated to do so for direct injection of exosomes to the tumor of a patient.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Marban teaches exosomes can be administered to the central portion of a tumor. See KSR E.
Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Intratumoral injection is rendered obvious on the grounds stated above. Claim 5 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches delivery of exosomes directly to a tumor (supra). Because the art treats a tumor with the claimed composition, it would be expected to have the effect recited in claim 9.
Marban teaches administration by injection ([0071]). Marban teaches delivery of multiple doses ([0074]). Therefore administration of two or more injections is rendered obvious. Therefore claim 10 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches the regenerative cells may be human ([0009]). The art teaches the cells can be allogenic to the individual ([0009]). Therefore claim 11 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches isolation of exosomes in serum free conditions ([0031]). Therefore claim 12 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 1, 6, 9-12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. (previously cited; Exosomes and Micro-Ribonucleic Acid For Tissue Regeneration (US20150203844 2015) in view of Marban et al. (previously cited; Polarization of macrophages to a healing phenotype by cardiosphere-derived cells and by the exosomes secreted by such cells. WO2016057560 14 April 2016) and Batrakova et al. (previously cited; Biological agent-exosome compositions and uses thereof. US20200297631 with benefit of Provisional applicaition62/315389 30 March 2016).
Regarding claim 1: The teachings of Marban 2015 are reiterated. Marban teaches administration to a damaged tissue. The art teaches administration to a tumor. The art teaches injection.
The art does not explicitly teach peritumoral injection.
Marban is silent regarding the amount of EV protein delivered by body weight of the subject.
The teachings of Marban 2016 are reiterated.
Batrakova et al. teach methods of delivering a composition comprising exosomes and biological agents to cells and subjects ([0003]). Exosomes allow delivery to cancer cells ([0007]). The art teaches formulation for direct organ injection into a tumor or the tissue surrounding a tumor ([0176]). The art teaches it is desirable to deliver the formulation locally to avoid any side effects associated with systemic administration. Local administration can be accomplished by direct injection at the desired treatment site, by introduction intravenously at a site near a desired treatment site (e.g., into a vessel that feeds a treatment site) ([0176]).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by administering at least 7 µg EV protein per gram of body weight of a subject. Marban teaches administering exosomes to treat dysfunctional cells and tissues caused by cancer and Marban (WO 2016) the dosage of exosome used to treat dysfunctional and damaged tissue can be defined by protein quantity, and includes dosages of 1000 microgram or more protein. One would have been motivated to administer exosome protein since Marban teaches the protein content of exosomes is suited for repair or regeneration of damaged or diseased cells and tissue. Marban teaches the exosome dose is administered on a per kilogram basis. The skilled artisan would optimize the dosage by weight to obtain the desired therapeutic effect. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Marban (2016) teaches the exosome dose can be defined by the amount of protein delivered. One would have expected similar results since both references treat damaged and dysfunctional cells and tissue caused by cancer. Because the claimed dosage is rendered obvious, it would decrease cancer in a subject as claimed.
It would have been obvious to administer via peritumoral injection. Marban teaches tumoral injection and Batrakova teaches the surrounding tumor microenvironment can be injected. One would use peritumoral injection to avoid systemic side effects as taught by Batrakova. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Batrakova teaches exosomes can be administered to the area surrounding a tumor. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to methods of administering exosomes. Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Peritumoral injection is rendered obvious on the grounds stated above. Claim 6 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches delivery of exosomes directly to a tumor (supra). Because the art treats a tumor with the claimed composition, it would be expected to have the effect recited in claim 9 in a subject with cancer. Therefore claim 9 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches administration by injection ([0071]). Marban teaches delivery of multiple doses ([0074]). Therefore administration of two or more injections is rendered obvious. Therefore claim 10 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches the regenerative cells may be human ([0009]). The art teaches the cells can be allogenic to the individual ([0009]). Therefore claim 11 is included in this rejection.
Marban teaches isolation of exosomes in serum free conditions ([0031]). Therefore claim 12 is included in this rejection.
Regarding claim 22: It is well known in the art that fibrosarcoma is a soft tissue cancer. Batrakova teaches the disclosed method can be used to treat soft tissue sarcoma ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to try treating fibrosarcoma by administered CDC-derived exosomes. Marban teaches exosomes can be used to treat dysfunctional and diseased tissues caused by cancer, and Batrakova teaches soft-tissue sarcomas can be treated with exosomes. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Marban teaches the protein content of exosomes is suited for repair or regeneration of damaged or diseased cells. Therefore claim 22 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marban et al. in view of Marban (WO2016) as recited in the rejection of claim 1, and further in view of Lim et al. (previously cited; Mesenchymal stem cell particles. US20150190430).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the Marban and Marban (WO2016) are reiterated. Marban teaches size exclusion filtration is used in order to collect a particular size (e.g., diameter) of exosome ([0061]). The exosomes can have a diameter of about 5 nm to about 95 nm in diameter ([0013]).
Marban is silent regarding the size of the filters used to collect the exosomes.
Lim is directed to secreted vesicles or exosomes (Abstract). The art teaches using a 1000 kDa membrane to isolate particles less than 1000 kDa ([0301]). The art teaches using membranes with a 10 kDa MW cut off to concentrate exosomes with a size of 2 nm to 200 nm (see claim 4 of Lim; [0281]).
It would have been obvious to use a 1000 kDa and a 10 kDa filter to isolate exosomes. One would have been motivated to do so since Marban isolates exosomes using size exclusion filtration and Lim teaches a 1000 kDa and a 10 kDa filter can be used to isolate exosomes. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Marban isolated exosomes 5 nm-95 nm in diameter and Lim teaches size exclusion filtration can be used to isolate exosomes between 2 nm to 200 nm. One would have expected similar results since both references use size exclusion to isolate exosomes.
Therefore claim 17 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The arguments made in the response filed on 23 March 2026 are acknowledged. The Applicant argues the references do not teach intratumoral or peritumoral administration.
New grounds of rejection have been set forth above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/NATALIE M MOSS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653