DETAILED ACTION
This first non-final action is in response to applicants’ filing on 03/11/2024. Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been considered as follows.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/11/2024 are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2025 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 16-18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettitt et al. (US 20220004599 A1, hereinafter Pettitt) in view of ZIV et al. (US 20210250759 A1, IDS submitted 10/29/2025, hereinafter Ziv), and further in view of Chesarek (US 4386266 A).
As to Claim 1:
Pettitt discloses a method for wireless communications by a network device (e.g. Pettitt “computer implemented methods and systems that facilitate the distribution of and access to premium (e.g., paid or restricted) media to authorized users using encryption techniques [0033]), comprising:
encrypting first data for broadcast based on a first cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “encrypting, by the first cryptographic key, the second content to generate a partially encrypted media that includes the first content and an encrypted second content” [0003]; “the publisher 108 encrypts the premium content in the media using the first cryptographic key” [0064]);
attaching a first key identifier for the first cryptographic key to the encrypted first data to generate a first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “generating a data structure comprising the first cryptographic key and an access data specifying access entitlements for the second content” [0003]; “Methods can further include that the encrypted data structure further comprises a key identifier for the first cryptographic key; and the second cryptographic key includes the key identifier” [0019]; “A key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0036]; [0065]; [0067]; “a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0069]);
encrypting the first payload value based on a second cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “encrypting, by a second cryptographic key, the data structure to generate a first encrypted data structure” [0003]; “the publisher 108 encrypts the data structure in step 306 using a cryptographic key (e.g., an internal key or, alternatively, public key) for each entity… The publisher also encrypts the data structure using the cryptographic key for an authorizer to generate an authorizer specific encrypted data structure” [0066]);
But Pettitt does not specifically disclose:
encrypting the first payload value based on a randomizer value;
attaching the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value to generate advertisement data; and broadcasting the advertisement data.
However, the analogous art Ziv does disclose encrypting the first payload value based on a randomizer value to generate advertisement data; and broadcasting the advertisement data (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields: an advertisement (ADV) address 231 containing a random number generated for each frame; a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type… a nonce 237 containing a random generated number; and the payload data 239” [0031]; “the wireless device 110 is configured to encrypt and broadcast beacon packets encrypted using the disclosed embodiments. In BLE, the beacon packets are broadcast as standard advertisement packets (hereinafter a “beacon packet” or simply a “packet”) over advertising channels 37, 38, and 39 defined as part of the BLE protocol. In an embodiment, the beacon packet has a specific format as shown in FIG. 2, and a portion of each beacon packet is encrypted by the wireless device 110” [0029]). Furthermore, the analogous art Chesarek does disclose attaching the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value (e.g. Chesarek “data entered at the terminal is encrypted, using a first encryption key, to give a first resultant. The first resultant is concatenated with a terminal-generated variable number, and then the concatenated number encrypted, using a second encryption key” [column 4 lines 13-17]; “Variable number generator 96 may provide one of the following… it may generate a random number” [column 9 lines 5-10]). Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in encryption key systems.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Pettitt with the teachings of Ziv and Chesarek to include encrypting the first payload value based on a randomizer value; attaching the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value to generate advertisement data; and broadcasting the advertisement data as claimed. First suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a secured broadcast authentication scheme and providing a secured beacon packet that allow for both user anonymity and data security (Ziv [0021]). Second suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide secure validation of data (Chesarek [column 10 lines 49-55]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 2:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the advertisement data further includes an advertisement type value indicating the advertisement data includes an encrypted payload (e.g. Ziv “In comparison to the input frame 310, an output frame 330 is generated from the encryption, and includes… a Message Integrity Code (MIC) 238, which is a code computed over all the fields in the data frame 230” [0037]; “However, the encrypted rotating Unique ID 235′ and the encrypted payload data 239′ are generated in place of where the unique ID 235 and the payload data 239 were originally. Also, the MIC is generated and inserted between the nonce 237 and the encrypted payload data 239′” [0038]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 1.
As to Claim 3:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising attaching a vendor specific type value to the first payload value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields… a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type; a manufacture ID 234 containing a number defined by a manufacture of the wireless device 110” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 1.
As to Claim 7:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the first key identifier (e.g. Pettitt “Methods can further include that the encrypted data structure further comprises a key identifier for the first cryptographic key; and the second cryptographic key includes the key identifier” [0019]; “A key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0036]; [0065]; [0067]; “a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0069]).
As to Claim 8:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first data is further encrypted based on the randomizer value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields: an advertisement (ADV) address 231 containing a random number generated for each frame; a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type… a nonce 237 containing a random generated number; and the payload data 239” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 1.
As to Claim 16:
Pettitt discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (e.g. Pettitt “computer implemented methods and systems that facilitate the distribution of and access to premium (e.g., paid or restricted) media to authorized users using encryption techniques [0033]; [0087]), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (e.g. Pettitt memory [0087]; [0088]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (e.g. Pettitt processor [0087]), the at least one processor being configured to:
encrypt first data for broadcast based on a first cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “encrypting, by the first cryptographic key, the second content to generate a partially encrypted media that includes the first content and an encrypted second content” [0003]; “the publisher 108 encrypts the premium content in the media using the first cryptographic key” [0064]);
attach a first key identifier for the first cryptographic key to the encrypted first data to generate a first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “generating a data structure comprising the first cryptographic key and an access data specifying access entitlements for the second content” [0003]; “Methods can further include that the encrypted data structure further comprises a key identifier for the first cryptographic key; and the second cryptographic key includes the key identifier” [0019]; “A key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0036]; [0065]; [0067]; “a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0069]);
encrypt the first payload value based on a second cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “encrypting, by a second cryptographic key, the data structure to generate a first encrypted data structure” [0003]; “the publisher 108 encrypts the data structure in step 306 using a cryptographic key (e.g., an internal key or, alternatively, public key) for each entity… The publisher also encrypts the data structure using the cryptographic key for an authorizer to generate an authorizer specific encrypted data structure” [0066]);
But Pettitt does not specifically disclose:
encrypt the first payload value based on a randomizer value;
attach the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value to generate advertisement data; and broadcast the advertisement data.
However, the analogous art Ziv does disclose encrypt the first payload value based on a randomizer value to generate advertisement data; and broadcasting the advertisement data (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields: an advertisement (ADV) address 231 containing a random number generated for each frame; a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type… a nonce 237 containing a random generated number; and the payload data 239” [0031]; “the wireless device 110 is configured to encrypt and broadcast beacon packets encrypted using the disclosed embodiments. In BLE, the beacon packets are broadcast as standard advertisement packets (hereinafter a “beacon packet” or simply a “packet”) over advertising channels 37, 38, and 39 defined as part of the BLE protocol. In an embodiment, the beacon packet has a specific format as shown in FIG. 2, and a portion of each beacon packet is encrypted by the wireless device 110” [0029]). Furthermore, the analogous art Chesarek does disclose attach the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value (e.g. Chesarek “data entered at the terminal is encrypted, using a first encryption key, to give a first resultant. The first resultant is concatenated with a terminal-generated variable number, and then the concatenated number encrypted, using a second encryption key” [column 4 lines 13-17]; “Variable number generator 96 may provide one of the following… it may generate a random number” [column 9 lines 5-10]). Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in encryption key systems.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Pettitt with the teachings of Ziv and Chesarek to include encrypt the first payload value based on a randomizer value; attach the randomizer value to the encrypted first payload value to generate advertisement data; and broadcast the advertisement data as claimed. First suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a secured broadcast authentication scheme and providing a secured beacon packet that allow for both user anonymity and data security (Ziv [0021]). Second suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide secure validation of data (Chesarek [column 10 lines 49-55]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 17:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the advertisement data further includes an advertisement type value indicating the advertisement data includes an encrypted payload (e.g. Ziv “In comparison to the input frame 310, an output frame 330 is generated from the encryption, and includes… a Message Integrity Code (MIC) 238, which is a code computed over all the fields in the data frame 230” [0037]; “However, the encrypted rotating Unique ID 235′ and the encrypted payload data 239′ are generated in place of where the unique ID 235 and the payload data 239 were originally. Also, the MIC is generated and inserted between the nonce 237 and the encrypted payload data 239′” [0038]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 16.
As to Claim 18:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to attach a vendor specific type value to the first payload value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields… a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type; a manufacture ID 234 containing a number defined by a manufacture of the wireless device 110” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 16.
As to Claim 22:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine the first key identifier. (e.g. Pettitt “Methods can further include that the encrypted data structure further comprises a key identifier for the first cryptographic key; and the second cryptographic key includes the key identifier” [0019]; “A key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0036]; [0065]; [0067]; “a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure” [0069]).
As to Claim 23:
Pettitt in view of Ziv and Chesarek discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first data is further encrypted based on the randomizer value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields: an advertisement (ADV) address 231 containing a random number generated for each frame; a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type… a nonce 237 containing a random generated number; and the payload data 239” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt, Ziv, and Chesarek as in Claim 16.
Claims 9, 10, 14, 15, 24, 25, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettitt in view of Ziv.
As to Claim 9:
Pettitt discloses a method for wireless communications by a wireless device (e.g. Pettitt “computer implemented methods and systems that facilitate the distribution of and access to premium (e.g., paid or restricted) media to authorized users using encryption techniques [0033]), comprising:
decrypting a first payload value of the broadcast data using a first cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “decrypting the data structure using the authorizing entity's key and providing the first cryptographic key in the decrypted data structure to the client device” [Abstract]; [0069]; “the authorizing entity decrypts the encrypted data structure using its cryptographic key” [0079]);
retrieving first key material based on a first key identifier obtained from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “To accommodate for such key rotation, a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure. Thus, at the time of decryption, the keyid allows identifying the appropriate cryptographic key needed to decrypt the data structure” [0069]; [0080]);
obtaining a second cryptographic key based on the retrieved first key material (e.g. Pettitt “the authorizing entity locates the cryptographic key with the same key identifier to decrypt the data structure” [0080]; “the authorizing entity sends the cryptographic key stored in the decrypted data structure to the user device 106 at step 430” [0084]); and
decrypting a second payload value using the second cryptographic key, the second payload value obtained from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “the user device 106 receives the cryptographic key from the authorizing entity and uses this cryptographic key to the decrypt the encrypted premium content” [0085]);
But Pettitt does not specifically disclose:
receiving broadcast advertisement data and decrypting a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data.
However, the analogous art Ziv does disclose receiving broadcast advertisement data and decrypting a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data (e.g. Ziv “the local resolver 125 (or the global resolver 135) compares the nonce numbers designated in consecutive received beacon packets 200” [0035]; “On the receiver (e.g., receiver 120, FIG. 1) side, upon receiving the encrypted beacon packet 200 from the wireless device 110, by the local resolver 125, additional plural nonce 237 are generated as needed” [0052]; “Then, at S420, an integrity key (328) is generated based on the random number (or nonce) (237), and the data encryption key (324)” [0059]; “At S430, the payload data (239) is encrypted as the generated integrity key and is used to encrypt the payload data (239)” [0060]). Pettitt and Ziv are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in encryption key systems.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pettitt and Ziv before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Pettitt with the teachings of Ziv to include receiving broadcast advertisement data and decrypting a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a secured broadcast authentication scheme and providing a secured beacon packet that allow for both user anonymity and data security (Ziv [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Pettitt and Ziv to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 10:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the advertisement data further includes an advertisement type value indicating the advertisement data includes an encrypted payload (e.g. Ziv “In comparison to the input frame 310, an output frame 330 is generated from the encryption, and includes… a Message Integrity Code (MIC) 238, which is a code computed over all the fields in the data frame 230” [0037]; “However, the encrypted rotating Unique ID 235′ and the encrypted payload data 239′ are generated in place of where the unique ID 235 and the payload data 239 were originally. Also, the MIC is generated and inserted between the nonce 237 and the encrypted payload data 239′” [0038]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt and Ziv as in Claim 9.
As to Claim 14:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising obtaining the first key identifier from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “To accommodate for such key rotation, a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure. Thus, at the time of decryption, the keyid allows identifying the appropriate cryptographic key needed to decrypt the data structure” [0069]; [0080]) based on a vendor specific type value in the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields… a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type; a manufacture ID 234 containing a number defined by a manufacture of the wireless device 110” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt and Ziv as in Claim 9.
As to Claim 15:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the method of claim 14, wherein obtaining the second cryptographic key comprises retrieving the second cryptographic key using the first key identifier (e.g. Pettitt “the authorizing entity locates the cryptographic key with the same key identifier to decrypt the data structure” [0080]; “the authorizing entity sends the cryptographic key stored in the decrypted data structure to the user device 106 at step 430” [0084]; “the user device 106 receives the cryptographic key from the authorizing entity and uses this cryptographic key to the decrypt the encrypted premium content” [0085]).
As to Claim 24:
Pettitt discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (e.g. Pettitt “computer implemented methods and systems that facilitate the distribution of and access to premium (e.g., paid or restricted) media to authorized users using encryption techniques [0033]; [0087]), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (e.g. Pettitt memory [0087]; [0088]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (e.g. Pettitt processor [0087]), the at least one processor being configured to:
decrypt a first payload value of the broadcast data using a first cryptographic key (e.g. Pettitt “decrypting the data structure using the authorizing entity's key and providing the first cryptographic key in the decrypted data structure to the client device” [Abstract]; [0069]; “the authorizing entity decrypts the encrypted data structure using its cryptographic key” [0079]);
retrieve first key material based on a first key identifier obtained from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “To accommodate for such key rotation, a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure. Thus, at the time of decryption, the keyid allows identifying the appropriate cryptographic key needed to decrypt the data structure” [0069]; [0080]);
obtain a second cryptographic key based on the retrieved first key material (e.g. Pettitt “the authorizing entity locates the cryptographic key with the same key identifier to decrypt the data structure” [0080]; “the authorizing entity sends the cryptographic key stored in the decrypted data structure to the user device 106 at step 430” [0084]); and
decrypt a second payload value using the second cryptographic key, the second payload value obtained from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “the user device 106 receives the cryptographic key from the authorizing entity and uses this cryptographic key to the decrypt the encrypted premium content” [0085]);
But Pettitt does not specifically disclose:
receive broadcast advertisement data and decrypt a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data.
However, the analogous art Ziv does disclose receive broadcast advertisement data and decrypt a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data (e.g. Ziv “the local resolver 125 (or the global resolver 135) compares the nonce numbers designated in consecutive received beacon packets 200” [0035]; “On the receiver (e.g., receiver 120, FIG. 1) side, upon receiving the encrypted beacon packet 200 from the wireless device 110, by the local resolver 125, additional plural nonce 237 are generated as needed” [0052]; “Then, at S420, an integrity key (328) is generated based on the random number (or nonce) (237), and the data encryption key (324)” [0059]; “At S430, the payload data (239) is encrypted as the generated integrity key and is used to encrypt the payload data (239)” [0060]). Pettitt and Ziv are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in encryption key systems.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pettitt and Ziv before him or her, to modify the disclosure of Pettitt with the teachings of Ziv to include receive broadcast advertisement data and decrypt a first payload value of the broadcast advertisement data using a randomizer value of the broadcast advertisement data as claimed. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a secured broadcast authentication scheme and providing a secured beacon packet that allow for both user anonymity and data security (Ziv [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Pettitt and Ziv to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As to Claim 25:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the advertisement data further includes an advertisement type value indicating the advertisement data includes an encrypted payload. (e.g. Ziv “In comparison to the input frame 310, an output frame 330 is generated from the encryption, and includes… a Message Integrity Code (MIC) 238, which is a code computed over all the fields in the data frame 230” [0037]; “However, the encrypted rotating Unique ID 235′ and the encrypted payload data 239′ are generated in place of where the unique ID 235 and the payload data 239 were originally. Also, the MIC is generated and inserted between the nonce 237 and the encrypted payload data 239′” [0038]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt and Ziv as in Claim 24.
As to Claim 29:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain the first key identifier from the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Pettitt “To accommodate for such key rotation, a “keyid” or the key identifier, which identifies the key used to encrypt the data structure, may also be included along with the encrypted data structure. Thus, at the time of decryption, the keyid allows identifying the appropriate cryptographic key needed to decrypt the data structure” [0069]; [0080]) based on a vendor specific type value in the decrypted first payload value (e.g. Ziv “The data frame 230 is the portion of the beacon packet 200 being encrypted, or otherwise manipulated. The data frame 230 includes the following fields… a vendor header that includes advertisement (ADV) length 232 containing the length of the data frame 230, manufacturer data 233 computed by the BLE protocol and is of an Advertisement Data (AD) Type; a manufacture ID 234 containing a number defined by a manufacture of the wireless device 110” [0031]). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Pettitt and Ziv as in Claim 24.
As to Claim 30:
Pettitt in view of Ziv discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein, to obtain the second cryptographic key, the at least one processor is further configured to retrieve the second cryptographic key using the first key identifier (e.g. Pettitt “the authorizing entity locates the cryptographic key with the same key identifier to decrypt the data structure” [0080]; “the authorizing entity sends the cryptographic key stored in the decrypted data structure to the user device 106 at step 430” [0084]; “the user device 106 receives the cryptographic key from the authorizing entity and uses this cryptographic key to the decrypt the encrypted premium content” [0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 19-21, and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure.
Michener (US 4802217 A)
RAMEEZ et al. (US 20210167955 A1)
Iyer et al. (US 20230004667 A1)
/KENNETH W CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438
12/10/2025