DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 06/13/2024 claims, is as follows: Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The (4) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024, 06/04/2024, 05/17/2024, and 05/17/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buller (US 20170165751)
Regarding Claim 1, Buller discloses an additive manufacturing method (three-dimensional printing) (title) comprising:
depositing a layer of build material (powder) on a build plane (base 102, fig. 1);
dividing at least a portion of the build plane (base 102) into a plurality of grid regions (tiles 402-408, fig. 4B), each grid region having a respective area (fig. 4B) (para. 0203);
sequentially fusing the layer of build material (powder) within each grid region of the plurality of grid regions using an energy source (energy source) (“FIG. 4A shows an example of a first layer 401, on which sequential tiles are heated (e.g., generated), numbered 402-408, such that at least one of their edges (e.g., two edges) are touching each other, forming a row comprising single file of tiles”, para. 0204 and also para. 0041);
detecting, using a sensor (temperature measurement i.e. thermometer), energy (temperature) emitted from the build plane while the energy source fuses the layer of build material (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221); and
sequentially determining a thermal energy density of each grid region of the plurality of grid regions(energy/power density of tiling energy flux applied to the respective tiles 402-408) (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and also para. 0157 and 0235).
Regarding Claim 2, Buller discloses the thermal energy density of each grid region (power density of tiling energy flux to be applied to the respective tiles 402-408) is determined from the energy detected by the sensor (temperature) and the respective area of each grid region (each tile 402-408) (para. 0221).
Regarding Claim 3, Buller discloses the energy source (energy source) generates a melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) at the layer of build material and wherein at least one grid region of the plurality of grid regions (tile 402; fig. 4B) has a width equal to a width of the melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) (“at least two of the sequentially heated tiles (e.g., all the sequential tiles) may touch each other, border each other, overlap each other, or any combination thereof.”, para. 0204 and also “the shape of the transformed (e.g., molten) fraction within the heated tile”, para. 0221. It is noted the molten fraction within tile 402 solidifies to form the tile 402, so the width of the molten fraction/melt pool is equal to the width of the tile 402. The generated tile 402 borders the adjacent generated tile 403).
Regarding Claim 4, Buller discloses the sensor (temperature measurement) is a photodiode (photodiode) (para. 0362).
Regarding Claim 7, Buller discloses an additive manufacturing method (three-dimensional printing) (title) comprising:
depositing a layer of build material (powder) on a build plane (base 102, fig. 1);
dividing at least a portion of the build plane (base 102) into at least a first and a second grid region (tile 402, tile 403 respectively), wherein the first grid region has a first area and the second grid region has a second area (fig. 4B) (para. 0203);
fusing the layer of build material (powder) within the first grid region (tile 402) using an energy source (energy source) (“FIG. 4A shows an example of a first layer 401, on which sequential tiles are heated (e.g., generated), numbered 402-408, such that at least one of their edges (e.g., two edges) are touching each other, forming a row comprising single file of tiles”, para. 0204 and also para. 0041);
detecting, using a sensor (temperature measurement i.e. thermometer), energy (temperature) emitted from the build plane while the energy source fuses the layer of build material within the first grid region (tile 402) (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221);
determining a thermal energy density of the first grid region (tile 402) (energy/power density of tiling energy flux applied to tile 402) (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and also para. 0157 and 0235);
fusing the layer of build material within the second grid region (tile 403) using the energy source (energy source) (“the number sequence represents the sequence in which the tiles were heated, with 402 being the first tile heated in layer 401, and 408 the last respectively (e.g., 402, followed by 403, followed by 404, . . . followed by 408).”, para. 0204);
detecting, using the sensor (temperature measurement i.e. thermometer), energy emitted from the build plane while the energy source fuses the layer of build material within the second grid region (tile 403) (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221); and
determining a thermal energy density of the second grid region (energy/power density of tiling energy flux applied to tile 403) (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and also para. 0157 and 0235).
Regarding Claim 8, Buller discloses the thermal energy density of the first grid region (power density of laser beam applied to tile 402) is determined before the thermal energy density of the second grid region (power density of laser beam applied to tile 403) is determined (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and “The number sequence represents the sequence in which the tiles were heated, with 402 being the first tile heated in layer 401, and 408 the last respectively (e.g., 402, followed by 403, followed by 404, . . . followed by 408)”), para. 0204).
Regarding Claim 9, Buller discloses the thermal energy density of the first grid region (power density of laser beam applied to tile 402) is determined from the first area of the first grid region (tile 402) and from the energy detected by the sensor (temperature) while the energy source fuses the layer of build material within the first grid region (tile 402) (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile” and “parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material”, para. 0221).
Regarding Claim 10, Buller discloses the thermal energy density of the second grid region (power density of laser beam applied to tile 403) is determined from the second area of the second grid region (tile 403) and from the energy detected by the sensor (temperature) while the energy source fuses the layer of build material within the second grid region (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile” and “parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material”, para. 0221).
Regarding Claim 11, Buller discloses the energy source (energy source) generates a melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) at the layer of build material and wherein the first grid region (tile 402; fig. 4B) has a width equal to a width of the melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) (“at least two of the sequentially heated tiles (e.g., all the sequential tiles) may touch each other, border each other, overlap each other, or any combination thereof.”, para. 0204 and also “the shape of the transformed (e.g., molten) fraction within the heated tile”, para. 0221. It is noted the molten fraction within tile 402 solidifies to form the tile 402, so the width of the molten fraction/melt pool is equal to the width of the tile 402. The generated tile 402 borders the adjacent generated tile 403).
Regarding Claim 12, Buller discloses the sensor (temperature measurement) is a photodiode (photodiode) (para. 0362).
Regarding Claim 15, Buller discloses an additive manufacturing system (three-dimensional printing; fig. 1) comprising:
a work platform (substrate 109) including a layer of build material (powder) disposed across a build plane (base 102) (“the substrate (e.g., FIG. 1, 109) on which the base (e.g., FIG. 1, 102) or the material bed (e.g., FIG. 1, 104) may be disposed.”, para. 0362);
an energy source (energy source 122) arranged to fuse at least a portion of the build material (fig. 1);
a sensor (temperature measurement i.e. thermometer) arranged to detect energy emitted from the build plane (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221); and
a processor (controller) (para. 0059) configured to:
divide at least a portion of the build plane into at least a first (tile 402) and a second grid region (tile 403) (fig. 4B);
receive data from the sensor while the build material within the first grid region (tile 402) is fused by the energy source (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221 and also 0203);
calculate a thermal energy density of the first grid region (power density applied to tile 402) (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and also para. 0157 and 0235);
receive data from the sensor while the build material within the second grid region (tile 403) is fused by the energy source (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile”, para. 0221 and also “that tile 402 was heated first, tiles 403, 404, 405, 406, and 407 were formed in sequence one after another, and 408 was heated last (e.g., the tiles were generated in a single file).”, para. 0203); and
calculate a thermal energy density of the second grid region (power density applied to tile 403) (para. 0221 and 0235).
Regarding Claim 16, Buller discloses the thermal energy density of the first grid region (power density applied to tile 402) is calculated before the thermal energy density of the second grid region (power density applied to tile 403) is calculated (“monitoring (e.g., of the heat and/or FLS of the transformed fraction within the tile) may be used to control one or more parameters (e.g., characteristics) of the tiling energy source, tiling energy flux, scanning energy source, and/or scanning energy beam. The parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material.”, para. 0221 and “The number sequence represents the sequence in which the tiles were heated, with 402 being the first tile heated in layer 401, and 408 the last respectively (e.g., 402, followed by 403, followed by 404, . . . followed by 408)”), para. 0204).
Regarding Claim 17, Buller discloses wherein the thermal energy density of the first grid region (power density of laser beam applied to tile 402) is determined from an area of the first grid region (tile 402) and from the energy detected by the sensor (temperature) while the energy source fuses the build material within the first grid region (tile 402) (“the temperature measurement may comprise real time temperature measurement (e.g., during the formation of the 3D object, during the formation of a layer of the 3D object, or during the formation of the tile” and “parameters may comprise (i) power density, (ii) dwell time, (iii) travel speed, or (iv) cross section. The parameters may be during heating to a temperature below the transformation temperature, or during transformation of the material to form a tile of transformed material”, para. 0221).
Regarding Claim 18, Buller discloses the energy source (energy source) generates a melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) at the layer of build material and wherein the first grid region (tile 402; fig. 4B) has a width equal to a width of the melt-pool (molten fraction within the heated tile) (“at least two of the sequentially heated tiles (e.g., all the sequential tiles) may touch each other, border each other, overlap each other, or any combination thereof.”, para. 0204 and also “the shape of the transformed (e.g., molten) fraction within the heated tile”, para. 0221. It is noted the molten fraction within tile 402 solidifies to form the tile 402, so the width of the molten fraction/melt pool is equal to the width of the tile 402. The generated tile 402 borders the adjacent generated tile 403).
Regarding Claim 19, Buller discloses the sensor (temperature measurement) is a photodiode (photodiode) (para. 0362).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller (US 20170165751) in view of Dave (US 20160185048)
Regarding Claim 5, Buller does not disclose the sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source.
However, Dave discloses the sensor (pyrometer 311) is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source (beam 301 of heat source 300) (according to the published specification of the instant application, para. 0041, “the optical energy 106 collected by the scanning and focusing system 103 travels a path that is near parallel to the laser beam, sensors 109 can be considered on-axis sensors.”. In this case, the optical radiation 306 travels the path that is near parallel to the beam 301, therefore the sensor is considered on-axis with the beam 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Buller to be on-axis with the beam generated by the energy source as taught by Dave, in order to incorporate known technique (i.e. sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source) in the known device to arrive at the predictable result, which is to measure temperature the tiles being formed such that the adjustment to the printing parameters can be made to ensure the desired 3D object is obtained.
Regarding Claim 13, Buller does not disclose the sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source.
However, Dave discloses the sensor (pyrometer 311) is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source (beam 301 of heat source 300) (according to the published specification of the instant application, para. 0041, “the optical energy 106 collected by the scanning and focusing system 103 travels a path that is near parallel to the laser beam, sensors 109 can be considered on-axis sensors.”. In this case, the optical radiation 306 travels the path that is near parallel to the beam 301, therefore the sensor is considered on-axis with the beam 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Buller to be on-axis with the beam generated by the energy source as taught by Dave, in order to incorporate known technique (i.e. sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source) in the known device to arrive at the predictable result, which is to measure temperature the tiles being formed such that the adjustment to the printing parameters can be made to ensure the desired 3D object is obtained.
Regarding Claim 20, Buller does not disclose the sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source.
However, Dave discloses the sensor (pyrometer 311) is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source (beam 301 of heat source 300) (according to the published specification of the instant application, para. 0041, “the optical energy 106 collected by the scanning and focusing system 103 travels a path that is near parallel to the laser beam, sensors 109 can be considered on-axis sensors.”. In this case, the optical radiation 306 travels the path that is near parallel to the beam 301, therefore the sensor is considered on-axis with the beam 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Buller to be on-axis with the beam generated by the energy source as taught by Dave, in order to incorporate known technique (i.e. sensor is on-axis with a beam generated by the energy source) in the known device to arrive at the predictable result, which is to measure temperature the tiles being formed such that the adjustment to the printing parameters can be made to ensure the desired 3D object is obtained.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buller (US 20170165751) in view of Seidel (US 20140248077)
Regarding Claim 6, Buller discloses the sensor is the photodiode (para. 0362). Buller does not disclose the sensor generates a continuous voltage that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane.
However, Seidel discloses the sensor (photodiode 146; fig. 1) generates a continuous voltage (voltage signal 400) that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane (reflection 144) (“the photodiode 146 generates an electric voltage signal 400, which is shown in FIG. 4.”, para. 0048 and “a detection means of this type is already regularly present on commercially available lasers, for detecting other welding parameters, for example the welding temperature.”, para. 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Buller (i.e. photodiode) to generate the continuous voltage that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane as taught by Seidel because it is conventionally known that the photodiode generates voltage based on the reflected energy that can be used to determine temperature of the object being built.
Regarding Claim 14, Buller discloses the sensor is the photodiode (para. 0362). Buller does not disclose the sensor generates a continuous voltage that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane.
However, Seidel discloses the sensor (photodiode 146; fig. 1) generates a continuous voltage (voltage signal 400) that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane (reflection 144) (“the photodiode 146 generates an electric voltage signal 400, which is shown in FIG. 4.”, para. 0048 and “a detection means of this type is already regularly present on commercially available lasers, for detecting other welding parameters, for example the welding temperature.”, para. 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Buller (i.e. photodiode) to generate the continuous voltage that varies in relation to the detection of the energy emitted from the build plane as taught by Seidel because it is conventionally known that the photodiode generates voltage based on the reflected energy that can be used to determine temperature of the object being built.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761