DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (figs 1-2) in the reply filed on 1/26/26 is acknowledged but improper. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant does not agree with the examiner’s findings.
Please note, if the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144.
Also, applicant failed to traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, or submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case.
Applicant has withdrawn claims 3 and 15 are being drawn to a non-elected group. However, the examiner submits that claim 14 is drawn to non-elected group 3 due to including an extension portion 74 integral to a personal article 76 (figs 6-7 and para 0043); thus claims 14-20 are also withdrawn.
Therefore, claims 1-2 and 4-13 are drawn to elected group 1 and examined below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the internal spring and magnets (as mounted) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138. .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite a top surface which is indefinite because “top” is a relative term and no reference orientation is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,284,701 to Jenkins et al.
Regarding claim 1, Jenkins ‘701 discloses a retractor system, comprising: a retractor 104 having a mounting mechanism 116 for mounting to a user, said retractor comprising a housing 108 with a top surface 144, an internal spring 300, and a line 120 capable of extending from said housing 108 through said top surface 144, said spring 300 urging retraction of said line back in said housing 108; and an adaptor 128
Regarding claim 2, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, wherein said extension portion comprises a tab 112.
Regarding claim 4, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, further comprising one or more magnets 312/316 to provide a magnetic force between said extension portion 112 and said retractor housing 108 (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, further comprising a first magnet 316-1 integral to said extension portion 112 and a second magnet 312-1 integral to said retractor housing 108 (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, further comprising anti-swing magnets 312-2/316-2.
Regarding claim 9, Jenkins ‘701 discloses a retractor system, comprising: a retractor 104 having a mounting mechanism 116 for mounting to a user, said retractor 104 comprising a housing 108 with a top surface 144, an internal spring 300, and a line 120 capable of extending from said housing 108 through said top surface 144, said internal spring 300 urging retraction of said line 120 back in said housing 108; an adaptor 128 wherein said first magnet 316-1 is integral to said extension portion 112 and said second magnet 312-1 is integral to said retractor housing 108 to provide a magnetic force between said extension portion 112 and said housing 108 (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, further comprising anti-swing magnets 312-2/316-2.
Regarding claim 11, Jenkins ‘701 discloses, wherein said anti- swing magnets 312-2/316-2 reduce swinging of said personal article 100 relative to said retractor 104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,284,701 to Jenkins et al. in view of US 2021/0186189 to Salentine et al.
Regarding claim 7, Jenkins ‘701 discloses wherein said adaptor 128 has an adaptor side surface and said retractor 104 has a retractor housing side surface. However, Jenkins ‘701 is silent as to placing one or more magnets one said adaptor and retractor housing side surfaces.
However, Salentine ‘844 discloses that “the magnets can be in different locations in the parts, on the retractor, and on the personal article ... [and] can include fewer or more magnets” (para 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add magnets to the adaptor and retractor sides of the system taught in Jenkins ‘701, with the teachings of alternate magnet placement, as taught in Salentine ‘844, in order to allow for greater alignment and sturdier connection between the parts of the retractor system.
Regarding claim 8, Jenkins ‘701, as modified, discloses, wherein said one or more magnets provide a magnetic force between said adaptor side surface and said retractor housing side surface, as modified by Salentine ‘844 (para 0030 and 0032).
Regarding claim 12, Jenkins ‘701 discloses wherein said adaptor 128 has an adaptor side surface and said retractor 104 has a retractor housing side surface. However, Jenkins ‘701 is silent as to placing third and fourth magnets one said adaptor and retractor housing side surfaces.
However, Salentine ‘844 discloses that “the magnets can be in different locations in the parts, on the retractor, and on the personal article ... [and] can include fewer or more magnets” (para 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add third and fourth magnets to the adaptor and retractor sides of the system taught in Jenkins ‘701, with the teachings of alternate magnet placement, as taught in Salentine ‘844, in order to allow for greater alignment and sturdier connection between the parts of the retractor system.
Regarding claim 13, Jenkins ‘701, as modified, discloses,, wherein said third and fourth magnets provide a magnetic force between said adaptor side surface and said retractor housing side surface, as modified by Salentine ‘844 (para 0030 and 0032).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and will be used in subsequent office action rejections, if applicable.
The list of supports is as follows: US-10349758-B2 OR US-9526321-B1 OR US-7971845-B2 OR US-10728868-B2 OR US-10619383-B2 OR US-20140106608-A1 OR US-20140059828-A1 OR US-20200313346-A1 OR US-20180293857-A1 OR US-20180028412-A1 OR US-20110309934-A1 OR US-20090229089-A1 OR US-20210186189-A1 OR US-20200154869-A1.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632