Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
The “means for” language will be interpreted as follows:
“Means for obtaining one or more measurements” recited in Claim 19 will be interpreted as using a control system to obtain one or more measurements.
“Means for determining at least one physiological characteristic” recited in Claim 19 will be interpreted as using a control system to determine at least one physiological characteristic.
“Means for outputting the predicted at least one secondary characteristic” recited in Claim 19 will be interpreted as using a control system to output a predicted at least one secondary characteristic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-23, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of Claim 1 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites a series of steps or acts, including obtaining one or more measurements from a target object; determining at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user; predicting at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user; identifying a plurality of categories of users; determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics; generating the one or more machine learning models; and outputting the predicted at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The steps of determining at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user, predicting at least one secondary characteristic, identifying a plurality of categories of users based on physiological characteristics, and determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users set forth a judicial exception. These steps describe a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. Claim 1 recites generating the one or more machine learning models and outputting the predicted at least one secondary characteristic. Generating one or more machine learning models utilizes a generic computer program. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application. Additionally, outputting the predicted at least one secondary characteristic is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The outputting of the at least one secondary characteristic does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the method does not affect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the output, nor does the method use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Besides the Abstract Idea, Claim 1 recites additional steps of obtaining one or more measurements from a target object; predicting at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user; and identifying a plurality of categories of users based on physiological characteristics. The obtaining, predicting, and identifying steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to insignificant pre-solution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. The examiner makes note of paragraph [0095] of the instant application’s specification that states “Examples of clustering algorithms may include centroid-based (e.g., K-means) clustering, density-based clustering, distribution-based (e.g., Gaussian mixture model (GMM)) clustering, and others known to those with ordinary skill in the relevant arts” (emphasis added), paragraph [0105] that states “or a similar apparatus” (emphasis added), as well as paragraph [0113] that states “any conventional processor” (emphasis added). Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as the obtaining, predicting, and identifying steps do not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)).
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, the claims recite a generic device configured to obtain one or more measurements from a target object of a user, determine at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user, predict at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user, identify a plurality of categories of users, determine a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics, generate one or more machine learning models, and output a predicted at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. The functions of determining at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user, predicting at least one secondary characteristic, identifying a plurality of categories of users based on physiological characteristics, and determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users set forth a judicial exception. These functions describe a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea. Additionally, the device recited in the claim is a generic device comprising generic components, such as “a control system”, configured to perform the abstract idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application. The rest of the limitations follow a similar analysis as detailed in Claim 1 above.
The same rationale applies to Claim 25. The claim recites a computer system configured to perform the abstract idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
Dependent Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, 17-18, 20-23, and 26-30 fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they generally recite steps and/or functions pertaining to data gathering and processing. Regarding Claims 7-10, 17-18, and 30 recites machine learning models that are recited at a high level of generality that they amount to generic computers and generic computer programs. The steps and/or functions of predicting at least one secondary characteristic, identifying a plurality of categories of users, determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users, and generating one or more models are mere pre-solution data gathering.
The obtaining, determining, predicting, and outputting functions recited in the independent claims, Claims 1, 11, 19, and 25, maintain a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 11-12, 15, 18-20, 23, 25-26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et. al.'633 (U.S. Publication Number 20110245633 – previously cited) in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 (U.S. Patent 11191466 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Goldberg et. al.'633 discloses predicting a user characteristic using a category-based model (Paragraph [0024] – entire paragraph; Paragraph [0038] - The wearable biosensor devices, systems, and methods of the invention are also useful in helping to predict the onset of a psychological episode (emphasis added); Paragraph [0076] - DBN learning algorithm incorporates prior knowledge into a suitable prior distribution over structures, which guides the search toward models that are physiologically relevant while also favoring simple models (emphasis added)), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a control system, one or more measurements from a target object of a user using one or more sensors (Paragraph [0050] - one or more sensors 1 for measuring one or more physiological parameters…a processor or microprocessor 3 for reading/analyzing the physiological data (emphasis added));
determining, by the control system, at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user based on the one or more measurements from the user (Paragraph [0032] - the wearable biosensor devices include one or more sensors, such as a galvanic skin response (GSR) sensor, a temperature sensor, a heart rate sensor, an oxygen saturation sensor, a blood pressure sensor, or a combination thereof (emphasis added); Paragraph [0050] - a processor or microprocessor 3 for reading/analyzing the physiological data detected by the one or more sensors (emphasis added));
predicting, by the control system, at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user, based on the at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user (Paragraph [0012] - a processor configured for deriving data indicative of a psychological disorder and/or psychological state (e.g., an anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, a phobic disorder, depression, bipolar disorder, a psychotic disorder, addiction, autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, schizophrenia, stroke recovery, traumatic brain injury, an eating disorder (e.g., anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge/compulsive over-eating, purging, etc.), chronic pain/pain management, a baseline state, etc.) based on the detected physiological parameter; Paragraph [0030]; Paragraph [0038] - The wearable biosensor devices, systems, and methods of the invention are also useful in helping to predict the onset of a psychological episode (emphasis added); Paragraph [0084] - the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (emphasis added); Paragraph [0085] - to alert the wearer in real-time of a detected physiological and/or psychological state or condition (e.g., red LED=extremely stressed/anxious/agitated; yellow LED=warning, anxiety/agitation level rising; rising; green=normal/relaxed/baseline state) (emphasis added)); wherein
the predicting of the at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user comprises using one or more machine learning models implemented by the control system (Paragraph [0038] - The wearable biosensor devices, systems, and methods of the invention are also useful in helping to predict the onset of a psychological episode (emphasis added); Paragraph [0084] - In certain embodiments, the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (on-board data file) (emphasis added)), the one or more machine learning models obtained by:
generating the one or more machine learning models based on the determined correlation (Paragraph [0084] – the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (on-board data file) (emphasis added); Paragraph [0096] - The personalized profile is employed to analyze physiological data in real time, on the wearable device and/or on associated devices, in order to identify patterns, and events and thresholds that indicate the need for therapeutic intervention (emphasis added)); and
outputting, by the control system, the predicted at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user (Paragraph [0008] - and an interface for displaying information concerning said psychological profile; Paragraph [0085] - The data and/or instructions generated by the on-board processor are can be translated into an alert or signal to the wearer via the LED display, to alert the wearer in real-time of a detected physiological and/or psychological state or condition (emphasis added)).
Goldberg et. al.’633 fails to explicitly disclose how a machine learning model is trained to identify a plurality of categories of users based on physiological characteristics or determine a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users. Heneghan et. al.'466 teaches identifying a plurality of categories of users based on physiological characteristics and determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users via machine learning techniques (Column 4 Lines 30-36 - In particular, analysis of how much variation there is within the various categories of inputs will prove helpful in performing the mental health and cognitive screening herein. This information can then be used to update predictive models, as well as to update individual event predictions based at least in part upon the current values of those metrics for the user (emphasis added); Column 11 Lines 24-31 - Generally speaking, via machine learning techniques, one or more systems may be trained on a set of metrics, physiological data and/or otherwise, for a particular user or a general population. Physiological data and other metrics are then captured from the particular user and analyzed by the trained systems to determine relationships between that user's metrics, and then a mental state status and/or guidance can be pushed to the user (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 to use a learning model that identifies a plurality of categories relating to physiological parameters and determine a correlation between the physiological parameters and psychological states in order to determine levels of variation of physiological parameters between an individual user and each identified category to aid in screening for psychological states/mental health issues as seen in Heneghan et. al.'466.
The examiner notes that Goldberg et. al.'633 discloses identifying a plurality of machine learning models used for comparative functions based on physiological characteristics determined from a training set of users and sensor signals relating to a target object of the users (Paragraph [0013] - Deliveries from this library can be driven by the physiological parameters and the individual's psychological profile, or some combination thereof, and based on…wearer demographics; Paragraph [0024] - Variations are indicated from the individual's baseline or from sample- or population-level estimates (emphasis added); Paragraph [0051] - the digital library can be contained on-board the wearable biosensor device, such that the wearable biosensor device is an all-in-one monitoring and treatment system capable of detecting a physiological parameter, deriving data indicative of a psychological state based on the detected physiological parameter (emphasis added); Paragraph [0076] - DBN learning algorithm incorporates prior knowledge into a suitable prior distribution over structures, which guides the search toward models that are physiologically relevant while also favoring simple models (emphasis added)) as well as determining a correlation between the plurality physiological characteristics and one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users (Paragraph [0074] - In exemplary embodiments of the invention, machine learning with Dynamic Bayesian Networks (DBNs) is employed to better recognize patterns in physiological, affective, and contextual data…individual subjects have varying physiology. DBNs are well suited to devising hierarchical models (where data is organized into branching patterns that describe one-to-many relationships) that allow the prediction of physiological changes of an individual person (emphasis added); Paragraph [0084] - In certain embodiments, the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (on-board data file) (emphasis added)).
Regarding Claims 11, 19, and 25, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 cited above in Claim 1 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claims.
Regarding Claim 2, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the predicted at least one second characteristic associated with the user relates to a behavioral pattern of the user (Paragraph [0038] - The wearable biosensor devices, systems, and methods of the invention are also useful in helping to predict the onset of a psychological episode (emphasis added); Paragraph [0085] - to alert the wearer in real-time of a detected physiological and/or psychological state or condition (e.g., red LED=extremely stressed/anxious/agitated; yellow LED=warning, anxiety/agitation level rising; rising; green=normal/relaxed/baseline state) (emphasis added)) as well as relates to a location of the user (Paragraph [0068] - The wearable biosensor devices may further include a global positioning system to provide information regarding the location of an individual wearing the biosensor device. Such information may be informative of trigger factors or cues that induce or contribute to change in physiological response detected by the one or more sensors in the wearable biosensor device (emphasis added); Paragraph [0084] - the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (emphasis added)).
Regarding Claims 12, 20, and 26, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 cited above in Claim 2 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claims.
Regarding Claim 5, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user comprises a blood pressure of the user (Paragraph [0056] - The wearable biosensor devices may contain one or more sensors for gathering physiological data regarding heart rate (sympathetic and parasympathetic arousal)…blood pressure (emphasis added)).
Regarding Claims 15, 23, and 29, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 cited above in Claim 5 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claims.
Regarding Claim 8, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above as well as determining of the correlation between the plurality of users and the one or more secondary characteristics associated with the users comprises an unsupervised learning process (Paragraph [0013] - Deliveries from this library can be driven by the physiological parameters and the individual's psychological profile, or some combination thereof, and based on…wearer demographics; Paragraph [0024] - Variations are indicated from the individual's baseline or from sample- or population-level estimates (emphasis added); Paragraph [0051] - the digital library can be contained on-board the wearable biosensor device, such that the wearable biosensor device is an all-in-one monitoring and treatment system capable of detecting a physiological parameter, deriving data indicative of a psychological state based on the detected physiological parameter (emphasis added); Paragraph [0076] - DBN learning algorithm incorporates prior knowledge into a suitable prior distribution over structures, which guides the search toward models that are physiologically relevant while also favoring simple models (emphasis added)), but fails to disclose a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and the one or more secondary characteristics. Heneghan et. al.'466 teaches determining a correlation between a plurality of categories and mental health statuses of a user (Column 4 Lines 30-36 - In particular, analysis of how much variation there is within the various categories of inputs will prove helpful in performing the mental health and cognitive screening herein. This information can then be used to update predictive models, as well as to update individual event predictions based at least in part upon the current values of those metrics for the user (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 to include a device that determines a correlation between a plurality of categories of users and mental health statuses of users as part of the machine learning process in order to determine the levels of variation between an individual user and each identified category to aid in screening for mental health issues as seen in Heneghan et. al.'466.
Regarding Claim 18, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 as modified by Heneghan et. al.'466 cited above in Claim 8 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claim.
Claims 3, 13, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et. al.'633 (U.S. Publication Number 20110245633 – previously cited) in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 (U.S. Patent 11191466 – previously cited) as applied to Claims 1, 11, 19, and 25 above, and further in view of Nam et. al.'551 (U.S. Publication Number 20230157551 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 3, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the one or more sensors are configured to receive PPG signals (Paragraph [0056] - contain one or more sensors for gathering physiological data (emphasis added); Paragraph [0063] - the wearable biosensor devices include at least one photoplethysmography (PPG) for measuring).
Goldberg et. al.'633 fails to disclose one or more sensor configured to receive photoacoustic signals. Nam et. al.'551 teaches a set of photoacoustic signals (Paragraph [0044] - When the light emitted from the light source 110 reaches the object, some part of the light is absorbed inside the living tissues and converted into photoacoustic signals and returns back in the form of ultrasound, and some other part of the light is reflected and returns back in the form of light. At this time, the returning ultrasound is measured by the ultrasonic transducer 120, and the reflected light is detected by the detector 130. In this case, there may be only a very short time delay between the photoacoustic signal detection by the ultrasonic transducer 120 and the PPG signal measurement by the detector 130, so that the two signals are naturally synchronized with each other. By measuring the synchronized photoacoustic signal and PPG signal, it is possible to identify changes associated with hemodynamics of the living body with a high spatial and temporal resolution (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 to include a device with photoacoustic photoplethysmography in order to observe hemodynamic changes in blood vessels at a high spatial and temporal resolution as seen in Nam et. al.'551.
Regarding Claims 13, 21, and 27, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 as modified by Nam et. al.’551 cited above in Claim 3 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claim.
Claims 4, 14, 22, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et. al.'633 (U.S. Publication Number 20110245633 – previously cited) in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 (U.S. Patent 11191466 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Frank et. al.’322 (U.S. Publication Number 20210280322 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 4, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the target object of the user comprises a blood vessel of the user (Paragraph [0035] - the wearable biosensor devices are preferably adapted for wearing around a wrist (e.g., watch, a bracelet), an ankle (e.g., an ankle cuff), a finger (e.g., a ring); Paragraph [0056] - blood pressure, hydration level, muscle pressure, activity level, body position, and/or optical reflectance of blood vessels (emphasis added)). Goldberg et. al.’633 fails to disclose the at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user comprises a strain of the blood vessel, a stress of the blood vessel, a distension of the blood vessel, a stiffness of the blood vessel, a compliance of the blood vessel, a dimension of the blood vessel, or a combination thereof. Frank et. al.’322 teaches observing changes in physiological characteristics such as compliance of a blood vessel and dimensions of a blood vessel as a result of secondary characteristics experienced by a user (Paragraph [0632] - blood propagating through the arteries, and therefore also the blood pressure calculated based on that value, is affected by multiple factors, such as the cardiac output, the vessel compliance, vessel diameter, vessel length, and blood viscosity…the diameter of the arteries…can change in certain circumstances, such as a result of stress (e.g., due to the release of stress hormones)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 to include measuring physiological characteristics such as compliance of a blood vessel or dimensions of a blood vessel in order to better understand a correlation between a user’s secondary characteristic its effect on a user’s physiological characteristic as seen in Frank et. al.’322 (Paragraph [0623] - different arteries at different locations have different properties… account for these factors and increase accuracy of blood pressure calculations).
Regarding Claims 14, 22, and 28, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 as modified by Frank et. al.’322 cited above in Claim 4 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claims.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et. al.'633 (U.S. Publication Number 20110245633 – previously cited) in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 (U.S. Patent 11191466 – previously cited) as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Nam et. al.'551 (U.S. Publication Number 20230157551 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 7, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the sensor signals of the training set comprise a training set of PPG signals (Paragraph [0063] - the wearable biosensor devices include at least one photoplethysmography (PPG) for measuring; Paragraph [0075] - This invention may be implemented in such a way that a pattern recognition algorithm incorporates prior knowledge (in addition to training data) (emphasis added)); and
determining of the correlation comprises determining a correlation between the users and an unknown secondary characteristic associated with the users (Paragraph [0013] - Deliveries from this library can be driven by the physiological parameters and the individual's psychological profile, or some combination thereof, and based on…wearer demographics; Paragraph [0024] - Variations are indicated from the individual's baseline or from sample- or population-level estimates (emphasis added); Paragraph [0051] - the digital library can be contained on-board the wearable biosensor device, such that the wearable biosensor device is an all-in-one monitoring and treatment system capable of detecting a physiological parameter, deriving data indicative of a psychological state based on the detected physiological parameter (emphasis added); Paragraph [0076] - DBN learning algorithm incorporates prior knowledge into a suitable prior distribution over structures, which guides the search toward models that are physiologically relevant while also favoring simple models (emphasis added)).
Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose determining a correlation between the plurality of categories of users and an unknown secondary characteristic. Heneghan et. al.'466 teaches determining a correlation between a plurality of categories and mental health statuses of a user ([Column 4 Lines 30-36] - In particular, analysis of how much variation there is within the various categories of inputs will prove helpful in performing the mental health and cognitive screening herein. This information can then be used to update predictive models, as well as to update individual event predictions based at least in part upon the current values of those metrics for the user (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 to include a device that determines a correlation between a plurality of categories of users and mental health statuses of users as part of the machine learning process in order to determine the levels of variation between an individual user and each identified category to aid in screening for mental health issues as seen in Heneghan et. al.'466.
Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 6 above, but fails to disclose a training set of photoacoustic signals. Nam et. al.'551 teaches a set of photoacoustic signals (Paragraph [0044] - When the light emitted from the light source 110 reaches the object, some part of the light is absorbed inside the living tissues and converted into photoacoustic signals and returns back in the form of ultrasound, and some other part of the light is reflected and returns back in the form of light. At this time, the returning ultrasound is measured by the ultrasonic transducer 120, and the reflected light is detected by the detector 130. In this case, there may be only a very short time delay between the photoacoustic signal detection by the ultrasonic transducer 120 and the PPG signal measurement by the detector 130, so that the two signals are naturally synchronized with each other. By measuring the synchronized photoacoustic signal and PPG signal, it is possible to identify changes associated with hemodynamics of the living body with a high spatial and temporal resolution (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 to include a device with a photoacoustic photoplethysmography in order to observe hemodynamic changes in blood vessels at a high spatial and temporal resolution as seen in Nam et. al.'551.
Regarding Claim 17, the sections of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 as modified by Nam et. al.’551 cited above in Claim 7 disclose an apparatus comprising the elements set forth in the claim.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et. al.'633 (U.S. Publication Number 20110245633 – previously cited) in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 (U.S. Patent 11191466 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 6, and further in view of Basu et. al.'600 (U.S. Publication Number 20180116600 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 9, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above. Goldberg et. al.'633 further discloses the one or more machine learning models comprise at least a first model (Paragraph [0084]) and a second model that correlate to respective ones (Paragraph [0068]);
the first model is configured to predict a first secondary characteristic associated with the user based on the at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user (Paragraph [0084] - In certain embodiments, the on-board processor further includes algorithms for mapping the detected physiological data to a psychological state based on the wearer's personalized profile associated with the device (on-board data file) (emphasis added)); and
the second model is configured to predict a second secondary characteristic associated with the user (Paragraph [0068] - The wearable biosensor devices may further include a global positioning system to provide information regarding the location of an individual wearing the biosensor device. Such information may be informative of trigger factors or cues that induce or contribute to change in physiological response detected by the one or more sensors in the wearable biosensor device (emphasis added)).
Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose models that correlate to a plurality of categories. Heneghan et. al.'466 teaches correlating machine learning models to a plurality of categories of users ([Column 4 Lines 30-36] - In particular, analysis of how much variation there is within the various categories of inputs will prove helpful in performing the mental health and cognitive screening herein. This information can then be used to update predictive models, as well as to update individual event predictions based at least in part upon the current values of those metrics for the user (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 to include a device that identifies a plurality of categories of users as part of the machine learning process in order to determine the levels of variation between an individual user and each identified category to aid in screening for mental health issues as seen in Heneghan et. al.'466.
Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 discloses the method outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose predict a second secondary characteristic associated with the user based on the at least one physiological characteristic associated with the user. Basu et. al.'600 teaches using location of a user and blood pressure to understand physical activity, stress, and alertness (Paragraph [0041] - Blood pressure can vary significantly based on location, due both to the physical activity required to travel between locations and changes in stress or alertness associated with changes in location. The wearable sensing device 200 may be configured to detect the location of the patient, for example using a GPS receiver 240. The machine learning model 40 may use the location of the patient as an input (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.’466 to include a device that models GPS location in order to account for the relationship between stress and a user's location as seen in Basu et. al.'600.
Regarding Claim 10, Goldberg et. al.'633 in view of Heneghan et. al.'466 and further in view of Basu et. al.’600 discloses the method outlined in Claim 9 above, but fails to disclose the one or more machine learning models comprise an ensemble model configured to predict the at least one secondary characteristic associated with the user using both the first model and the second model. Heneghan et. al.'466 teaches coupling machine learning models to predict secondary characteristics associated with a user (Column 15 Lines 57-61 - inputting 308 the physiological data into one or more predictive models to identify 310 whether the physiological data, including any pattern found therein, correlates with one or more biomarkers relevant to mental state (emphasis added); Column 16 Lines 22-31 - The predictive models can update pattern information based on additional data to obtain more accurate pattern information. In some embodiments, the state data may be weighted or decayed such that recent physiological data has more of an impact on pattern determination to account for changes in the health of the user, such as changes in age, hormone levels, and the like. While current information can be sufficient to form a screening or initial analysis, the predictive models will become more accurate as additional information is received and analyzed (emphasis added)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Goldberg et. al.'633 to include a device that inputs multiple models into a machine learning model as way to predict a secondary characteristic of a user in order to account for as much information as possible and therefore be more accurate on account that more information is analyzed as seen in Heneghan et. al.'466.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 April 2026 have been fully considered and they are not entirely persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the prior drawing objections.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome some of the prior 35 U.S.C. 112f interpretations, but some of the existing interpretations remain and are addressed in Paragraph 3 above.
Application’s amendments and reasons regarding overcoming the prior 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections were considered, but were found not to be persuasive. The examiner has addressed the new limitations recited in Claim 1 in Paragraph 4 above. Additionally, the examiner notes that the current amendments to Claim 1 have resulted in an amended 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection and analysis. Pertaining to this analysis, the examiner addresses the applicant’s argument regarding the recitation of “generic components”. The examiner notes that these limitations are considered “generic components” that are “well-known or conventional in the art” under Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368, 125 USPQ2d 1649, 1654 (Fed. Cir. 2018) and section 2106.05(d) of the MPEP that states “this does not mean that a prior art search is necessary to resolve this inquiry. Instead, examiners should rely on what the courts have recognized, or those in the art would recognize, as elements that are well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the relevant field when making the required determination. For example, in many instances, the specification of the application may indicate that additional elements are well-known or conventional”. Specifically, the examiner draws attention to paragraph [0095] of the instant application’s specification that states “Examples of clustering algorithms may include centroid-based (e.g., K-means) clustering, density-based clustering, distribution-based (e.g., Gaussian mixture model (GMM)) clustering, and others known to those with ordinary skill in the relevant arts” (emphasis added), paragraph [0105] that states “or a similar apparatus” (emphasis added), as well as paragraph [0113] that states “any conventional processor” (emphasis added).
Furthermore, the applicant has argued that the amendments to the claims involve “AI” specific modeling that showcase improvements and “integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application” in a similar manner as seen in Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567. However, the examiner does not agree with this analysis or comparison. It is noted by the examiner that the case of Desjardins focuses on improving the AI system/model itself, but the current recitation of the instant application’s claim limitations are directed towards relying on machine learning and AI to perform calculations easier. This instant application’s use of a learning model is not affecting or improving the architecture of the AI system itself and therefore does not meet the same guidelines to overcome the Abstract Idea as seen in Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567. A more detailed analysis of the 101 rejection is provided by the examiner in Paragraph 4 above. Additionally, prior art of record Goldberg et. al.’633 discloses within their written description between paragraphs [0072] and [0074] some of the benefits that come with utilizing machine learning within a system such as “pattern recognition is more accurate”, “classification algorithm to be customized”, “contain complex patterns which elude human detection”, “adapt in response to data”, etc.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-23, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as necessitated by amendments, as discussed in Paragraphs 5-9 above. It is noted that Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15, 19-20, 23, 25-26, and 28-29 that were once rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as necessitated by amendments, as discussed in Paragraph 5 above. Furthermore, it should be noted that although the applicant is arguing that Goldberg et. al.’633 does not disclose limitations referring to “categories/categorizing”, the examiner politely disagrees with this is argument. The has examiner has recited areas within prior art of record Goldberg et. al.’633 that disclose machine learning models involving these steps within the limitation. However, the examiner has also provided within Heneghan et. al.’466 recitation to how these machine learning models are able to explicitly perform these function as addressed in the above Paragraphs 5-9. Given that the applicant did not include a response in their “Remarks” section submitted on 13 April 2026 as to why they believe Goldberg et. al.’633 could not be modified by Heneghan et. al.'466 to teach on these limitations, the examiner believes those modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill for the reasons stated above and therefore, the examiner’s position and interpretation of the claim elements stand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patankar'473 (U.S. Patent Publication 20230364473), Neumann'836 (U.S. Patent Publication 20220172836), Lu et. al.'512 (U.S. Patent Publication 20200375512), and Yang et. al.'211 (U.S. Patent Publication 20180366211) disclose wearable or portable devices comprising categorizing physiological parameters into groups based on a training group/population. Neumann'836 (U.S. Patent Publication 20220172836) and Sane et. al.'962 (U.S. Patent Publication 20180279962) disclose a wearable device comprising a system correlating physiological measurements or groups to other events experienced by the user/wearer. Vakulin et. al.'584 (U.S. Patent Publication 20210327584) and Neumann'091 (U.S. Patent Publication 20220054091) disclose devices with machine learning models that outline how machine learning models are trained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH ANN WESTFALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791