DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/11/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goncharov (US 6583873 B1).
With respect to Claim 1, Goncharov discloses a VHOE (volume holographic optical element)-forming angle-multiplexing recording system with a rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45), comprising:
at least one collimated light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser);
the rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45), which is provided in an optical path of the collimated light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser), the rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45) having a light output surface serving also as a placement surface on which a volume-hologram-recording photosensitive material is placed (Col 3, Lines 14-16 and Col 6, Lines 33-36: element 38 contains photosensitive optical materials); and
an electronic iris (Fig. 1-- element 82, aperture stop; Col 10, Line 24) provided in the optical path between (Fig. 1— 54 is between elements 21 and 38) the collimated light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser) and the rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45).
With respect to Claim 2, Goncharov discloses the VHOE-forming angle-multiplexing recording system as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the collimated light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser) is a laser light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser), a spatial filter (Fig. 1-- element 26, spatial filter; Col 10, Line 24) is provided between the laser light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser) and the electronic iris (Fig. 1-- element 82, aperture stop; Col 10, Line 24), and a collimating lens (Fig. 1-- element 86, aperture stop; Col 14, Lines 21-25) is provided between (Fig. 1—element 86 is between elements 82 and 38) the electronic iris (Fig. 1-- element 82, aperture stop; Col 10, Line 24) and the rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45).
With respect to Claim 3, Goncharov discloses the VHOE-forming angle-multiplexing recording system as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the rotating grating (Fig. 1-- element 38, volume dispersive diffraction grating; Col 6, Line 45) is a thin grating (Col 18, Lines 7-13: volume holographic grating thickness= 3.5 micrometers), and the thin grating (Col 18, Lines 7-13: volume holographic grating thickness= 3.5 micrometers) has a rotary supporting unit (Fig. 1-- element 50, rotatable table; Col 7, Lines 19-22) for supporting and rotating the thin grating (Col 18, Lines 7-13: volume holographic grating thickness= 3.5 micrometers).
With respect to Claim 4, Goncharov discloses the VHOE-forming angle-multiplexing recording system as claimed in claim 3, and further discloses wherein the rotary supporting unit (Fig. 1-- element 50, rotatable table; Col 7, Lines 19-22) comprises a support for supporting the thin grating (Col 18, Lines 7-13: volume holographic grating thickness= 3.5 micrometers) and a motor for driving the support into rotation (Col 7, Lines 19-22—element 50 is attached to a drive assembly with a motor).
With respect to Claim 5, Goncharov discloses the VHOE-forming angle-multiplexing recording system as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one collimated light source (Fig. 1-- element 21, light source; Col 9, Line 56: 21 may be a tunable laser) is a plurality of collimated light beams (Col 7, Lines 53-57: element 38 directs the "tuned" wavelength of light to a sample along the incident path and separating light of the illumination wavelength from other wavelengths along the return path; thus creating multiple light beams), and the collimated light beams are sequentially projected (Fig. 1—light beams are projected from element 38 onto different paths).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doyle (US 4895419 A) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and Col 4, Lines 63-68 – Col. 5, Lines 1-57.
Chien (US 20180335384 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0016]-[0021].
Moser (US 20170003650 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 10 and [0100]-[0115].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872