DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues that Miller’s manual driver 98 is not an “extraction assembly” because Miller never describes it as extracting anything, since the specimen is retained by a helical thread and expelled by ejector rod 90 and funnel 80 after withdrawal. Applicant further argues that neither reference teach coupling an extraction assembly while the cannula extends through the cortex (Remarks, pp. 4-5).
Examiner disagrees and submits claim 1 recites no structure for the extraction assembly, it requires only an assembly coupled to the cutting cannula and manually rotating to a core sample. Miller’s manual drive 98 couples to hub 160 (para. [0239]; FIG. 8), and Miller’s needle sets are used with a “powered driver or a manual driver” (paras. [0010], [0089]). Claim 1 does not recite how the sample is retained or expelled, so that argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. The timing of the coupling step was acknowledged as a difference and addressed in the obviousness rationale. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(B) Applicant argues that the rationale lacks a rational underpinning because Miller removes and reengages the power drive (“power in and power out”). Applicant further argues that “notoriously obvious” is conclusory, and traverses any Office notice (Remarks, pp. 5-7).
Examiner disagrees and submits that Miller does reengage the powered driver for withdrawal (paras. [0014], [0074], [0262]), and the statement that the driver would not be removed just to be to be replaced again is withdrawn, but this does not change the substance of the rejection. Miller still releases biopsy needle set 100b from coupled assembly 250 after cortical penetration and completes the biopsy procedure before reengaging the driver (paras. [0124]-[0125], [0193]). Claim 1 does not exclude reengaging a powered driver after coring, so arguments directed to power-out withdrawal are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Official Notice was not taken, the conclusion rests on Miller (paras. [0005], [0007], [0074], [0239]) and Lynch.
(C) Applicant argues that Miller teaches away because specimen capture depends on internal helical thread 190 dimensioned to the powered driver’s gear-reduced RPM and feed rate. Applicant concludes that manual coring would render Miller unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and change its principal of operation (Remarks, pp. 7-11).
Examiner disagrees and submits that claim 1 recites no internal thread, RPM or feed rate, so these arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Further, thread 190 and groove 117 are disclosed for cannulas 110c, 110d, 110g and 110h (paras. [0178], [0183]-[0190]), not biopsy needle set 100b relied upon. Miller’s feed rate disclosures are permissive (paras. [0165]-[0167], [0175]), and a preference is not teaching away. Miller expressly contemplates manual drivers with its IO devices (paras. [0010], [0075], [0239]). The powered driver is assigned to the cortex, where Miller identifies manual force as the problem (paras. [0005], [0007]).
(D) Applicant argues that Lynch compares two complete techniques and discloses no hybrid, and that Lynch excluded the one patient whose operator switched methods. Applicant further argues that, by favoring the manual method, Lynch points away from the claimed power cortical step (Remarks, pp. 11-12).
Examiner disagrees and submits that Lynch is relied upon for motivation. Lynch teaches that manual cores contain more evaluable marrow (p. 535, Abstract; p. 538, Table 2), while powered systems reduce procedure time and pain (p. 539). Using each method where it provides its benefit is reasonable and a skilled artisan would have found such benefit motivation to switch between powered and manual functions. Lynch also reports an operator switching from the powered drill to the manual method to obtain the specimen (p. 536). This further evidence mid-procedure switching for the coring step.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080045965 A1 to Miller et al. (hereinafter, Miller) in view of “Adequacy of Powered vs Manual Bone Marrow Biopsy Specimens: A Retrospective Review of Sequential Marrow Aspirates and Biopsies in 68 Patients” to Lynch et al. (hereinafter, Lynch).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a method (Abstract “…methods are provided to remove biopsy specimens from a bone and/or associated bone marrow using a powered drive… and/or… with manual drivers.”) comprising inter alia:
coupling a cutting cannula to a powered driver, the cutting cannula comprising a cutting tip (Miller discloses a powered driver 200 coupled to a biopsy needle set 100b (cutting cannula) via a coupler assembly 250 and a cutting tip at first end 101, para. [0123]; also cutting surfaces 114, paras. [0160], [0177]);
actuating the powered driver to rotate the cutting cannula and cut through a cortical layer of a bone via the cutting tip of the cutting cannula (Miller discloses actuating the driver to rotate the needle and penetrate the cortex (cortical layer of a bone), para. [0124]);
decoupling the powered driver from the cutting cannula while the cutting cannula extends through the cortical layer of the bone (Miller discloses separating the driver while the needle remains seated in the patient bone, para. [0125] and para. [0074] “Coupler assemblies… allow easy separation of an associated powered driver from an IO device such that the IO device may remain in place in a patient to allow bone marrow aspiration or removal of bone and/or bone marrow biopsy specimens.”);
coupling an extraction assembly to the cutting cannula (Miller discloses manually rotating the IO needle, para. [0005], with manual driver 98, para. [0239], to obtain a bone marrow biopsy specimen, para. [0010]); and
manually rotating at least a portion of the extraction assembly to achieve rotation of the cutting cannula and coring of a sample of marrow from the bone via the cutting tip of the cutting cannula (Miller discloses using the manual driver 98 to manually rotate the needle to core a sample of bone marrow, para. [0005]).
Miller discloses the claimed invention as set forth and cited above except for expressly reciting that the extraction assembly is coupled to the cutting cannula while the cutting cannula extends through the cortical layer of the bone.
However, Miller discloses intermediate step where the interpreted cutting cannula remains in place in the patient, which teaches that the needle is sitting in the patient, through the cortex, with the powered drive is removed (para. [0074]). Miller further teaches that the manual driver fits the same connection point that the power driver is removed from (para. [0239]). Miller warns at para. [0007] that manual bone penetration leads to fatigue (see also para. [0005], substantial force required to break through the outer cortex) which to a skilled artisan suggests that intended cut through the cortical layer of bone would be best done, and obviously done, using the powered driver – then the powered driver is removed to allow bone marrow aspiration or removal of bone and bone marrow specimens (para. [0074]).
While Miller does not explicitly disclose the specific sequence of switching from powered to manual mode while the cutting cannula extends through the cortical layer of bone, Miller explicitly teaches both a powered driver 200 and a manual driver 98 that are interchangeably coupled to the same needle hub 150 (paras. [0010], [0089], [0239]). Miller explicitly teaches that the IO device may remain is place to allow bone marrow aspiration or removal of bone and/or bone marrow specimens (para. [0074]) and explicitly teaches where bone and bone marrow can be removed/aspirated by the manual rotation of an extraction assembly couplable to the cutting cannula and adapted for rotation (para. [0005]). Therefore, would have been obvious, when viewing Miller, that the intended first step is using the powered driver to penetrate bone, and then bone marrow may easily be removed using their rotation method. Miller contemplates the biopsy procedure with the powered driver decoupled from biopsy needle set 100b (paras. [0124]-[0125], [0193]).
Furthermore, as additional motivation, Lynch is a reference in the analogous art of bone marrow retrieval using automatic or manual means (p. 525, Abstract). Lynch teaches that core biopsy specimens obtained by a manual method are superior in percentage and length of evaluable marrow (p. 535, Abstract; p. 538, Table 2). Lynch further reports an operator switching from the powered drill to the manual method to obtain the trephine biopsy specimen (p. 536).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the powered drive of Miller for the initial penetration of the hard cortical bone to avoid operator fatigue, decouple the driver as taught, and then attach the manual driver to perform the final coring step. This hybrid method approach predictably uses each tool for its primary intended purpose, a motor driven initial cortical penetration step, removal of the powered drive, and in view of Lynch, coupling the manual extraction assembly for manual rotation to provide a superior core biopsy sample.
Regarding claim 3, Miller in view of Lunch teach the method of claim 1, wherein said manually rotating at least a portion of the extraction assembly further achieves advancement of the cutting cannula to a greater depth within the bone. Miller discloses applying manual pressure while manually rotating the IO needle (para. [0005]) and positioning end 111c of cannula 110c at a desired target area after cortical penetration (para. [0193]). Lynch discloses manually obtained core specimens averaging 14.4 mm in length (p. 538, Table 2), which requires advancing the cannula beyond the approximately 2 mm cortex layer 306 (Miller, para. [0252]).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Lynch, and further in view of US 20030050574 A1 to Krueger.
Regarding claim 2, Miller in view of Lynch teach the method of claim 1, except for expressly disclosing an extraction cannula inserted into the cutting cannula. However, Krueger teaches sampling cannula 10 (e.g., extraction cannula) inserted into outer cannula 20 (e.g., cutting cannula) and rotated via hub 18 to sever and retain core sample 60 (paras. [0044], [0053]; FIGS. 4-5, Steps #4-5). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sampling cannula of Krueger in the extraction assembly of Miller, inserted into lumen 118 (Miller, para. [0125]), to improve sample retention while reducing compressive damage to the sample (Krueger, paras. [0008], [0030], [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Krueger further teaches, after the outer cannula 20 cores the sample, advancing sampling cannula 10 distally within outer cannula 20 and rotating it via hub 18 to sever core sample 60 (paras. [0041], [0044], [0053]; FIG. 5, Steps #3-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791