DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 3/12/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner points out that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Limitations following "configured to," "adapted for," "designed to," "can be," and "capable of," or are statements of intended use are not positive limitations and thus are not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04 and 2114.
Specification
The Abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the term “green-confusion absorbance region” and “orange-confusion absorbance region”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1-16, the terms “green-confusion absorbance region” and “orange-confusion absorbance region” are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms “green-confusion” and “orange-confusion” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “green-confusion” and “orange-confusion” is a subjective term (MPEP 2173.05(b). Specifically, what constitutes “confusion” is entirely subjective to a practitioner of the invention and/or the subject themselves. What
is confused or disordered? The metes and bounds are unclear since those of ordinary skill in the art would fail to understand what qualifies as being confused, and thus infringement becomes unclear (MPEP 2173.05; 2173).
With respect to Claims 6, 14 and 15, the terms “predetermined ratio” in Claim 6, “predetermined ratio” in Claim 14, and “predetermined higher ratio” in Claim 15 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The term “predetermined ratio” and “predetermined higher ratio” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, the adjustment of ratio absorbance relating to deficiency of vision in the claims have been rendered indefinite by the use of these terms.
Applicant should clarify the claim limitations as appropriate. Care should be taken during revision of the description and of any statements of problem or advantage, not to add subject-matter which extends beyond the content of the application (specification) as originally filed.
If the language of a claim, considered as a whole in light of the specification and given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See MPEP 2173.05(a), MPEP 2143.03(I), and MPEP 2173.06.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/600575. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/601044. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe (20230176402).
Regarding claim 1, McCabe discloses a chroma enhancement optical lens (Fig 1B, [0126], lens 102) device for compensating red color deficient vision ([0126], visible light spectral profiles can cooperate to achieve any desired lens
chromaticity, a chroma-enhancing effect, another goal, or any combination of goals) comprising: a lens body having a first lens surface and a second lens surface (Fig 1B, [0126], one or more of the lens body elements 204, 208), with the first lens surface provided at a first side of the lens body (Fig 1B, [0126], lens coating 202, one or more of the lens body elements 204, 208, or can be incorporated into additional lens elements), with the second lens surface provided at a second side of the lens body (Fig 1B, [0126], lens coating 202, one or more of the lens body elements 204, 208, or can be incorporated into additional lens elements); an optical filter (206) provided between the first side and the second side of the lens body (Fig 1B); and an interference light absorbance portion provided to form the optical filter (Fig 1B, [0126], polarizing layer, the photochromic layer, and/or other functional layers can be incorporated into the film layer 206), with transmitting a light beam through the interference absorbance portion ([0126], visible light spectral profiles can cooperate to achieve any desired lens chromaticity, a chroma-enhancing effect, another goal, or any combination of goals), with the interference light absorbance portion having a first green-confusion absorbance region and a second orange-confusion absorbance region ([0130], light that is attenuated can be tailored to achieve a specific chroma-enhancing profile or another goal), with the first green-confusion absorbance region having a first blue-green absorbance peak portion ([0147], optical filter is configured to increase or maximize chroma in the blue to blue-green region of the visible spectrum), with the second orange-confusion absorbance region having a second orange absorbance peak portion ([0163], optical filter shown is configured to provide high chroma in the green to orange spectral region); wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion is capable of absorbing at least one blue-green light of the light beam ([0214], an optical filter includes one or more chroma enhancement dyes that provide absorptance peaks; an optical filter for chroma enhancing eyewear includes green chroma enhancement dye, blue chroma enhancement dye), with the first green- confusion absorbance region having a first wavelength range between 490 and 510 nm ([0216], dyes that have a relatively sharp absorptance peak with a wavelength between about 440 nm and about 490 nm and within the claimed range, and the second orange absorbance peak portion is capable of absorbing at least one orange light of the light beam ([0163], optical filter shown is configured to provide high chroma in the green to orange spectral region), with the second green-confusion absorbance region having a second wavelength range between 595 nm and 615 nm ([0218], dyes that have a relatively sharp absorptance peak with a wavelength between about 580 nm and about 600 nm and within the claimed range), to provide red chroma enhancement ([0219], red chroma enhancement dye) in vision.
Regarding claim 2, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a spectral range with a first absorbance above 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% ([0149], bandwidth of an absorbance peak can include the full width of a peak at 80% of the maximum), 90% or 95% .
Regarding claim 3, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first maximum absorbance with a wavelength about 498 nm ([0207], filter for such an application has a wavelength-conversion window at between about 460 nm to about 540nm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, McCabe discloses wherein the second yellow-green absorbance peak portion of the second green-confusion absorbance region has a spectral range with a second absorbance above 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% ([0149], bandwidth of an absorbance peak can include the full width of a peak at 80% of the maximum), 90% or 95%.
Regarding claim 5, McCabe discloses wherein the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second maximum absorbance with a wavelength about 604 nm ([0219], yes that have a relatively sharp absorptance peak with a wavelength between about 600 nm and about 680 nm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 6, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a predetermined ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating red color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Regarding claim 7, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a relatively higher ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating blue green color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Regarding claim 8, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a relatively lower ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating orange color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Regarding claim 9, McCabe discloses a compensating red ([0165], selectively increase chroma in the red wavelengths) color deficient vision method ([0124], optical filter to enhance chroma profile of a scene the scene is viewed through a lens that incorporates optical filter) for a chroma enhancement optical lens device (Fig 1B, [0126], lens 102) comprising: providing a lens body with an optical filter (Fig 1B, [0126], one or more of the lens body elements 204, 208), with the lens body having an interference absorbance portion (Fig 1B, [0126], polarizing layer, the photochromic layer, and/or other functional layers can be incorporated into the film layer 206), with transmitting a light beam through the interference absorbance portion ([0126], visible light spectral profiles can cooperate to achieve any desired lens chromaticity, a chroma-enhancing effect, another goal, or any combination of goals); providing a first green-confusion absorbance region on the interference light absorbance portion ([0130], light that is attenuated can be tailored to achieve a specific chroma-enhancing profile or another goal), with the first green-confusion absorbance region having a first blue-green absorbance peak portion ([0147], optical filter is configured to increase or maximize chroma in the blue to blue-green region of the visible spectrum); providing a second orange-confusion absorbance region on the interference light absorbance portion ([0214], an optical filter includes one or more chroma enhancement dyes that provide absorptance peaks; an optical filter for chroma enhancing eyewear includes green chroma enhancement dye), with the second orange-confusion absorbance region having a second orange absorbance peak portion ([0163], optical filter shown is configured to provide high chroma in the green to orange spectral region); and the first blue-green absorbance peak portion absorbing at least one blue-green light of the light beam ([0214]) and the second orange absorbance peak portion absorbing at least one orange light of the light beam ([0214]) to provide red chroma enhancement ([0219], red chroma enhancement dye) in vision.
Regarding claim 10, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a spectral range with a first absorbance above 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% ([0149], bandwidth of an absorbance peak can include the full width of a peak at 80% of the maximum), 90% or 95% .
Regarding claim 11, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first maximum absorbance with a wavelength about 498 nm ([0207], filter for such an application has a wavelength-conversion window at between about 460 nm to about 540nm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 12, McCabe discloses wherein the second yellow-green absorbance peak portion of the second green-confusion absorbance region has a spectral range with a second absorbance above 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% ([0149], bandwidth of an absorbance peak can include the full width of a peak at 80% of the maximum), 90% or 95%.
Regarding claim 13, McCabe discloses wherein the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second maximum absorbance with a wavelength about 604 nm ([0219], yes that have a relatively sharp absorptance peak with a wavelength between about 600 nm and about 680 nm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a predetermined ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating red color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Regarding claim 15, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a predetermined higher ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating blue green color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Regarding claim 16, McCabe discloses wherein the first blue-green absorbance peak portion of the first green-confusion absorbance region has a first absorbance and the second orange absorbance peak portion of the second orange-confusion absorbance region has a second absorbance ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement), with adjusting a relatively lower ratio of first absorbance to second absorbance to provide a degree of compensating orange color deficient vision ([0212], coatings typically include one or more layers of coating materials configured to achieve a desired spectral transmittance and chroma enhancement).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmeder (20220075211), Schmeder (20210141132), and Martins (20200285078) are examples of an ophthalmological lens having wavelength-selective transmission that affects color vision in a desired manner.
Sharrief I. Broome
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872