DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 5/12/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of CN202111066434.8, filed 9/13/2021. The assignee of record is QUECTEL WIRELESS SOLUTIONS CO., LTD. The listed inventor(s) is/are: LIU, Zheng; YANG, Zhongzhi.
Claim Objections- WITHDRAWN
Claim 5 & 9 objections withdrawn due to appropriate corrections made in the claim amendments 5/12/2026, thank you.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- WITHDRAWN
The 112 rejection is withdrawn due to appropriate corrections made in the claim amendments 5/12/2026, thank you.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
a.
a. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., for #1 the claim requires the target interval is used to determine the distribution of the at least one bit, not the argued the bits. In other words, the bits of the first bit subset being distributed within the first bit sequence according to the target interval is not claimed. For #2 there is no first parameter claimed. In summary, for #1 & #2 the described distinctions aren’t reflected in the claims, the specification is not read into the claims) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
b.
b. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., for #1 & #2 the described distinctions aren’t reflected in the claims, the specification is not read into the claims) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2021143537 A1, filed 1/14/2020; hereinafter WO537) in view of Iyer et al. (US 20220217760 A1, filed 2/14/2020; hereinafter Iye).
For Claim 1, WO537 teaches a first node used for wireless communication, comprising: a first receiver, and a first transmitter; wherein the first receiver is configured to:
receive a first signaling, the first signaling being used to determine a target resource group, the target resource group occupying a target time domain symbol group in time domain, and the target time domain symbol group comprising at least one time domain symbol (WO537 [0005]: " ... a first node for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a first signaling", page 2, para [0008]: " ... the first signaling to determine the target time-frequency resource group", and page 12, para [0083]: " ... the target time-frequency resource group comprises a positive integer number of multicarrier symbol (s) in time domain.");
wherein the first transmitter is configured to: send a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the target resource group, wherein a first bit sequence is used to generate the first PUCCH, and the first bit sequence comprises a plurality of bits in sequential order (WO537 para [0023] : " ... DCI ... indicates a PUCCH for transmitting UCI ". The understanding is that based on the desciption of the subject-matter on page 11, para [15]: "the first bit block comprises UCI payload bits."); wherein
the first bit sequence comprises a first bit subset and a second bit subset, the first bit subset comprises at least one bit after encoding a first bit block, and the second bit subset comprises at least one bit after encoding a second bit block (WO537 para [0089] : " ... the first bit block comprises a positive integer number of bit (s) ", para [0113]: " ... the second bit block comprises a positive integer number of bit (s)", and para [0228]: " ... the first signal carries a first information bit block; and the first signal is obtained by the first information bit block sequentially through part or all of CRC Insertion, Segmentation, Code-Block (CB)-level CRC Insertion, Channel Coding ... ", and para [0288]: " ... the target time-frequency resource group is a PUCCH resource, and the specific definition of the PUCCH resource can be found in 3GPP TS38.213, section 9.2.1.");
a priority index value associated with the first bit block is equal to a first priority index value, a priority index value associated with the second bit block is equal to a second priority index value, and the first priority index value and the second priority index value are respectively two unequal non-negative integers (WO537 paras: [0009], [0023], [0024], [0044], [0199], and [0437]-[0440]);
WO537 does not explicitly teach the number of target bits is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit subset, and a number of bits carried by the target resource group on the at least one time domain symbol comprised in the target time domain symbol group is used together with the target bit number to determine a target interval, the target interval is a positive integer; and the target interval is used to determine the distribution of the at least one bit comprised in the first bit subset within the first bit sequence.
However, Iye teaches a target bit number is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit subset (Iye ¶ 0246 (1) d=1, if the number of unmapped modulated symbols for that UCI at the beginning of OFDM symbol i may be larger or equal to the number of available REs in this OFDM symbol), and a number of bits carried by the target resource group on the at least one time domain symbol (Iye ¶ 0246 number of available REs in this OFDM symbol) comprised in the target time domain symbol group is used together with the target bit number to determine a target interval, the target interval is a positive integer (Iye ¶ 0246 d=1, i.e. positive integer); and
the target interval is used to determine the distribution of the at least one bit comprised in the first bit subset within the first bit sequence (Iye ¶ 0245-0247 mapping is done in a distributed manner with the computed distance d between successive REs).
Iye and WO537 are analogous art because they are both related to UCI.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the mapping techniques of Iye with the system of WO537 to allows for maximum distribution of the resources in frequency for exploiting frequency diversity (Iye ¶ 0247).
For Claim 2, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 1, wherein a first time domain symbol is one of the at least one time domain symbol comprised in the target time domain symbol group; a first numerical value is equal to a number of bits carried by the target resource group on the first time domain symbol; a second numerical value is equal to a number of bits carried by the target resource group on at least one time domain symbol before the first time domain symbol; and the target bit number, the first numerical value, and the second numerical value are used together to determine the target interval (Examiner notes the scope of the claim is unclear, please see the 112 rejection above. The closest prior art which appears to read on the claim is WO537-Iye. Please see both references, please note WO537 para [0083]).
For Claim 3, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 2, wherein a target difference value is equal to the difference value between the target bit number and the second numerical value; the target interval is equal to a maximum integer not greater than a first ratio; and a ratio of the first numerical value to the target difference value is used to determine the first ratio (Examiner notes the scope of the claim is unclear, please see the 112 rejection above. The closest prior art which appears to read on the claim is WO537-Iye. Please see both references, please note WO537 para [0083]).
For Claim 4, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 3, wherein a target sum value is equal to the sum of the first numerical value and the second numerical value; the target interval is equal to a maximum integer not greater than a second ratio; and a ratio of the target sum value to the target bit number is used to determine the second ratio (Examiner notes the scope of the claim is unclear, please see the 112 rejection above. The closest prior art which appears to read on the claim is WO537-Iye. Please see both references, please note WO537 para [0083]).
For Claim 5, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 1, wherein the first receiver is further configured to: receives a first information block, wherein the first information block is used to indicate a first coding rate and a second coding rate, both a number of bits comprised in the first bit block and the first coding rate are used to determine the target bit number, and at least one of the first coding rate and the second coding rate is used to determine a number of RBs in frequency domain comprised in the target resource group (Examiner notes the scope of the claim is unclear, please see the 112 rejection above. The closest prior art which appears to read on the claim is WO537-Iye. Please see both references, please note WO537 para [0083]).
For Claim 6, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 1, wherein a first modulation order is equal to a modulation order of the first PUCCH, the target resource group comprises a plurality of resource elements (REs), and a second time domain symbol is one of the at least one time domain symbol comprised in the target time domain symbol group; and the first modulation order and a number of REs comprised in the target resource group on the second time domain symbol are used together to determine a number of bits carried by the target resource group on the second time domain symbol (WO537 Pg 11-12).
For Claim 7, WO537-Iye teaches the first node according to claim 1, wherein the bits comprised in the first bit subset are sequentially indexed in the first bit subset, a characteristics bit is a bit comprised in the first bit subset, an index value of the characteristics bit in the first bit sequence is equal to a first sequential index value, and the index value of the characteristics bit in the first bit subset is equal to a second sequential index value; and the first sequential index value and the second sequential index value are positively correlated, and the target interval and the second sequential index value are used together to determine the first sequential index value (Examiner notes the scope of the claim is unclear, please see the 112 rejection above. The closest prior art which appears to read on the claim is WO537-Iye. Please see both references, please note WO537 Pg 11-12).
For Claim 8, WO537 teaches a second node for wireless communication, comprising: a second transmitter, and a second receiver; wherein the second transmitter is configured to send a first signal, the first signal being used to indicate a target resource group, the target resource group occupying a target time domain symbol group in time domain, and the target time domain symbol group comprising at least one time domain symbol (WO537 ¶ 0005); wherein the second receiver is configured to receive a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the target resource group, wherein a first bit sequence is used to generate the first PUCCH, and the first bit sequence comprises a plurality of bits in sequential order (WO537 ¶ 0023, 0015); wherein the first bit sequence comprises a first bit subset and a second bit subset, the first bit subset comprises at least one bit after encoding the first bit block, and the second bit subset comprises at least one bit after encoding the second bit block (WO537 ¶ 0089, 0113, 0228, 0288); a priority index value associated with the first bit block is equal to a first priority index value, a priority index value associated with the second bit block is equal to a second priority index value, and the first priority index value and the second priority index value are two unequal non-negative integers (WO537 paras: [0009], [0023], [0024], [0044], [0199], and [0437]-[0440]).
WO537 does not explicitly teach the number of target bits is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit subset, and a number of bits carried by the target resource group on at least one time domain symbol comprised in the target time domain symbol group is used together with the number of target bits to determine the target interval, the target interval is a positive integer; and the target interval is used to determine the distribution of the at least one bit comprised in the first bit subset within the first bit sequence.
However, Iye teaches the number of target bits is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit subset, and a number of bits carried by the target resource group on at least one time domain symbol comprised in the target time domain symbol group is used together with the number of target bits to determine the target interval, the target interval is a positive integer (Iye ¶ 0245-0247); and the target interval is used to determine the distribution of the at least one bit comprised in the first bit subset within the first bit sequence (Iye ¶ 0245-0247).
Iye and WO537 are analogous art because they are both related to UCI.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the mapping techniques of Iye with the system of WO537 to allows for maximum distribution of the resources in frequency for exploiting frequency diversity (Iye ¶ 0247).
For Claim(s) 9, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 10, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 8 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Gillis can be reached at 571-272-7952.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446