DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 08/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant’s further species election of 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP as the specific predefined nucleoside analogue triphosphates is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-16 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
This application 18/601,981 filed on 03/11/2024 claims the benefit of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/490,526, filed on 03/16/2023.
The priority date of claim 1 and its dependent claims is determined to be 03/16/2023, the filing date of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/490,526.
Specification
The use of terms which are trade names or marks used in commerce (including Invitrogen™ and TriLink BioTechnologies®), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Winz et al. (Site-specific terminal and internal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing and copper-catalyzed or copper-free strain-promoted click chemistry. 2012. Nucleic Acids Research. Vol. 40: p. 1-13. On IDS dated 04/14/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Winz teaches a method of terminal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing, the method comprising modifying an RNA at its 3’-end by a poly(A) polymerase with an azido-derivatized nucleotide (nucleotide analog) (Abstract). Regarding (i), Winz teaches the method comprises combining modified NTPs with poly(A) polymerase to transfer the modified nucleotides to the 3’ termini of the RNA, i.e. forming a first tailed RNA (p. 5, col. 1). Regarding (ii), Winz further teaches the polyadenylation of modified RNA (first tailed RNA) by adding ATP (p. 4, col. 1 and p. 8 col. 1-2 and Fig. 6), which reads on adding a sequence comprising a plurality of adenine nucleotides to form a second tailed RNA.
Regarding claim 4, Winz teaches poly(A) polymerase is an E. coli poly(A) polymerase (p. 2, col. 1,p. 8, col. 1, and Figs. 1C and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Winz teaches a method of terminal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing, the method comprising modifying an RNA at its 3’-end by a poly(A) polymerase with an azido-derivatized nucleotide (nucleotide analog) (Abstract). Regarding (i), Winz teaches the method comprises combining modified NTPs with poly(A) polymerase to transfer the modified nucleotides to the 3’ termini of the RNA, i.e. forming a first tailed RNA (p. 5, col. 1). Regarding (ii), Winz further teaches the polyadenylation of modified RNA (first tailed RNA) by adding ATP (p. 4, col. 1 and p. 8 col. 1-2 and Fig. 6), which reads on adding a sequence comprising a plurality of adenine nucleotides to form a second tailed RNA.
Regarding claim 13, Winz teaches Winz teaches poly(A) polymerase is an E. coli poly(A) polymerase (p. 2, col. 1, p. 8, col. 1, and Figs. 1C and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winz et al. (Site-specific terminal and internal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing and copper-catalyzed or copper-free strain-promoted click chemistry. 2012. Nucleic Acids Research. Vol. 40: p. 1-13. On IDS dated 04/14/2024).
The teachings of Winz as they relate to claim 1 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claim 5, Winz is silent regarding the number of adenine nucleotides.
However, It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Winz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed optimizing the reaction time to control the length of the poly(A) tail. Optimizing the length of the poly(A) tail, i.e. the number of adenines in the sequence, is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. One would have been motivated by optimization for downstream applications. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
The teachings of Winz as they relate to claim 8 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claim 14, Winz is silent regarding the number of adenine nucleotides.
However, It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Winz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed optimizing the reaction time to control the length of the poly(A) tail. Optimizing the length of the poly(A) tail, i.e. the number of adenines in the sequence, is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. One would have been motivated by optimization for downstream applications. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 8, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winz et al. (Site-specific terminal and internal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing and copper-catalyzed or copper-free strain-promoted click chemistry. 2012. Nucleic Acids Research. Vol. 40: p. 1-13. On IDS dated 04/14/2024) in view of de Fougerolles et al. (US20200164038).
The teachings of Winz as they relate to claim 1 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Winz does not teach the one or more predefined nucleotide analogue is 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
de Fougerolles teaches methods of using modified nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. de Fougerolles teaches the method includes incorporating modified adenosines into a polynucleotide (para 201) and that the modified nucleotides and nucleosides may be commercially available nucleoside triphosphates (para 1322). de Fougerolles further teaches in some embodiments, the modified nucleobase is a modified adenine such as 2-amino-6-chloro-purine (para 282), which reads on the nucleoside triphosphate 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winz and de Fougerolles to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the modified adenine in the triphosphate form as taught by de Fougerolles in the method of Winz. One would have been motivated by the availability of a previously known modified adenine substitute. Further, one of skill in the art would expect the modified adenine to function as a substrate for poly(A) polymerase with the added advantages of chemical stability and versatility provided by a halopurine modified analog instead of an azide modified analog . There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Winz does not teach the one or more predefined nucleotide analogue is 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
de Fougerolles teaches methods of using modified nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. de Fougerolles teaches the method includes incorporating modified adenosines into a polynucleotide (para 201) and that the modified nucleotides and nucleosides may be commercially available nucleoside triphosphates (para 1322). de Fougerolles further teaches that in some embodiments, the modified nucleobase is a modified adenine such as 2-amino-6-chloro-purine (para 282), which reads on the nucleoside triphosphate 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winz and de Fougerolles to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the modified adenine in the triphosphate form as taught by de Fougerolles in the method of Winz. One would have been motivated by the availability of a previously known modified adenine substitute. Further, one of skill in the art would expect the modified adenine to function as a substrate for poly(A) polymerase with the added advantages of chemical stability and versatility provided by a halopurine modified analog instead of an azide modified analog. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Winz also does not teach verbatim incubating the sample with the reaction mixture for a predetermined time of at least 5 minutes (claim 6) or for a predetermined time of about 10-20 minutes (claim 7).
However, Winz teaches varying and optimizing reaction times with poly(A) polymerase (p. 3, col. 1, p. 6 col. 1 & 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Winz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed determining an appropriate incubation time. Such a determination is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Further, Winz teaches performing such an optimization repeatedly in the course of optimizing reaction conditions. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
The teachings of Winz as they relate to claim 8 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Winz does not teach the one or more predefined nucleotide analogue is 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
de Fougerolles teaches methods of using modified nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. de Fougerolles teaches the method includes incorporating modified adenosines into a polynucleotide (para 201) and that the modified nucleotides and nucleosides may be commercially available nucleoside triphosphates (para 1322). de Fougerolles further teaches in some embodiments, the modified nucleobase is a modified adenine such as 2-amino-6-chloro-purine (para 282), which reads on the nucleoside triphosphate 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winz and de Fougerolles to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the modified adenine in the triphosphate form as taught by de Fougerolles in the method of Winz. One would have been motivated by the availability of a previously known modified adenine substitute. Further, one of skill in the art would expect the modified adenine to function as a substrate for poly(A) polymerase with the added advantages of chemical stability and versatility provided by a halopurine modified analog instead of an azide modified analog .There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Winz does not teach the one or more predefined nucleotide analogue is 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
de Fougerolles teaches methods of using modified nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. de Fougerolles teaches the method includes incorporating modified adenosines into a polynucleotide (para 201) and that the modified nucleotides and nucleosides may be commercially available nucleoside triphosphates (para 1322). de Fougerolles further teaches in some embodiments, the modified nucleobase is a modified adenine such as 2-amino-6-chloro-purine (para 282), which reads on the nucleoside triphosphate 2-Amino-6-Cl-purine-rTP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winz and de Fougerolles to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the modified adenine in the triphosphate form as taught by de Fougerolles in the method of Winz. One would have been motivated by the availability of a previously known modified adenine substitute. Further, one of skill in the art would expect the modified adenine to function as a substrate for poly(A) polymerase with the added advantages of chemical stability and versatility provided by a halopurine modified analog instead of an azide modified analog . There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Winz also does not teach verbatim incubating the sample with the reaction mixture for a predetermined time of at least 5 minutes (claim 6) or for a predetermined time of about 10-20 minutes (claim 7).
However, Winz teaches varying and optimizing reaction times with poly(A) polymerase (p. 3, col. 1, p. 6 col. 1 & 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Winz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed determining an appropriate incubation time. Such a determination is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Further, Winz teaches performing such an optimization repeatedly in the course of optimizing reaction conditions. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winz et al. (Site-specific terminal and internal labeling of RNA by poly(A) polymerase tailing and copper-catalyzed or copper-free strain-promoted click chemistry. 2012. Nucleic Acids Research. Vol. 40: p. 1-13. On IDS dated 04/14/2024) in view of Oxford Nanopore (“Direct RNA sequencing-sequence-specific” protocol, revision 05/22/2022).
The teachings of Winz as they relate to claim 8 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Winz teaches additional adapter ligation at the 3’ termini of RNAs previously modified in poly(A) polymerase reactions (second-tailed RNA) (p. 2, col. 2 and Table 5) via addition of an adapter and ligase (p. 4, col. 2). Winz further teaches purification of ligated RNA (p. 4, col. 2).
However, Winz does not teach the adapter is a sequencing adapter or purifying the ligated RNA after ligating a sequencing adapter to the one or more second tailed RNA.
Regarding claim 10, Winz does not teach a sequencing adapter that comprises an oligo-(dT) overhang.
Oxford Nanopore teaches a method for direct RNA sequencing of RNA, the method comprising adding a ligase and Reverse Transcription Adapter (sequencing adapter) (p. 12) to add the adapter to the 3’ end of target RNA (p. 4 Figure). Oxford Nanopore teaches a Reverse Transcription Adapter is designed to ligate to any RNA with a poly(A)-tail (p. 3). Oxford Nanopore further teaches an adapter with an oligo-(dT) overhang for binding to a poly(A) tail (p. 3-4 and Figure p. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winz and Oxford Nanopore to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed adding a sequencing adapter to the end of the poly(A) tail generated by the method of Winz. One would have been motivated to add the adapter of Oxford Nanopore for the purpose of sequencing RNAs with a poly(A) tail. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Conclusion
/JESSICA GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682