DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
- In Fig. 6B, the flow numbers are mislabeled as 802-808 when the legend only shows 602-608
- In paragraph 46 of the disclosure:
○ The APs are mislabeled as 302 and 304. They should read as 402 and 404 since this paragraph is speaking on Fig. 4.
○ The STA 306 should read 406.
○ APs 602 and 604 should read 402 and 404.
○ Signal transmission lines 608 and 610 should read 408 and 410.
○ Residential gateway 612 should read 412.
○ APs 602 and 604 should read 402 and 404.
○ STA 606 should read 406.
- In paragraph 48, first AP 702 should read 502.
- In paragraph 52, flow 802 should read 602.
- In paragraph 55, provider 102 should read 702.
- In paragraph 56, providers "one", "two" and "three" should be referred to how they are in Fig. 8, which is 702, 704 and 706 respectively.
The drawings also are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description:
- In paragraph 58, exemplary network 900 is disclosed but not labeled in Fig. 9A.
- In paragraph 60, network 1000 is disclosed but not labeled in Fig. 10A.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
- In paragraph 11, the sentence contains the word "in" where it shouldn't. The sentence reads "FIGS. 3A- 3C show various ways in transmission opportunities (TXOPs) can be scheduled…" and should read "FIGS. 3A- 3C show various ways transmission opportunities (TXOPs) can be scheduled…"
- In paragraph 15, the disclosure teaches on drawing 8A. There is no 8A in the drawings. The examiner interpreted this to mean 6A.
- In paragraph 72 line 15, the word "providing" should read as "provide".
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The first limitation reads "a transceiver configured to receive and transmit signals to a plurality of access points" and should read "a transceiver configured to receive and transmit signals to and from a plurality of access points".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherian, George et al. (US 10637549 B2, hereinafter referred to as Cherian).
Regarding claim 1, Cherian teaches a system, comprising:
a plurality of access points generating a wireless network (Cherian discloses a plurality of access points that make a wireless network. See paragraphs [12], [13] and [45]).
the plurality of access points comprising a first access point configured to synchronize a global clock signal across the plurality of access points (Cherian discloses a first access point that synchronizes the time to the other access points. See [Abstract] and paragraphs [45] and [52]).
wherein the plurality of access points are configured to initiate transmit operations based on the synchronized global clock (Cherian discloses a plurality of access points that conduct transmissions based on the synchronized time of a master clock. See paragraphs [45], [48] and [52]).
Regarding claim 2, Cherian teaches wherein the first access point is a wireless gateway and the other access points of the plurality of access points are repeaters (Cherian discloses an access point called the "cluster leader" that acts as a gateway with the trigger frame syncing the time to the plurality of access points or repeaters. See paragraph [47]).
Regarding claim 4, Cherian teaches wherein the global clock signal is also synchronized with a clock associated with a data over cable service interface specification (DOCSIS) protocol being used to provide internet connectivity to the wireless network (Cherian discloses that this method can be transmitted over a transmission medium such as coaxial cables (DOCSIS). See paragraph [74]).
Regarding claim 5, Cherian teaches wherein the plurality of access points are configured to conduct coordinated orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) operations in areas of the wireless network where at least a second access point and a third access point of the plurality of access points have overlapping coverage (Cherian discloses using OFDMA operations within the network. The examiner interprets the access points overlapping in coverage as a standard occurrence in the technical field. See paragraph [16]).
Regarding claim 7, Cherian teaches wherein the plurality of access points are configured to conduct coordinated time division multiple access (TDMA) operations in areas of the wireless network where at least a second access point and a third access point of the plurality of access points have overlapping coverage (Cherian discloses using TDMA operations within the network. The examiner interprets the access points overlapping in coverage as a standard occurrence in the technical field. See paragraph [16]).
Regarding claim 9, Cherian teaches:
wherein the plurality of access points are configured to conduct multi-AP joint transmission (JTX) operations in areas of the wireless network where at least a second access point and a third access point of the plurality of access points have overlapping coverage (Cherian discloses using JTX operations within the network. The examiner interprets the access points overlapping in coverage as a standard occurrence in the technical field. See [Abstract]).
and wherein the multi-AP JTX operations are coordinated based on the global clock signal (Cherian discloses a plurality of access points that conduct transmissions based on the synchronized time. See [Abstract] and paragraphs [48] and [52]).
Regarding claim 11, Cherian teaches wherein the JTX operations include time and frequency synchronization between the second and third access points based on the global clock signal (Cherian discloses coordinating simultaneous transmission by multiple APs based on a synchronized master clock. See [Abstract] and paragraphs [16], [48] and [52]).
Regarding claim 12, Cherian teaches wherein new signals received on the wireless network are processed during time periods that are known to be free of use by routine network traffic (Cherian discloses scheduling access points for transmission after ensuring that the channel is not busy. See paragraphs [34] and [49]).
Regarding claim 13, Cherian teaches wherein the first access point is configured to monitor network traffic for routine network traffic and then schedule uncommon network traffic transmissions during times falling outside an expected time period where the routine network traffic is received (Cherian discloses monitoring and scheduling access points in order to coordinate transmissions among the cluster of APs and their associated APs. See paragraphs [34] and [49]).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Russell, David Wayne et al. (US 11265835 B1, hereinafter referred to as Russell).
Regarding claim 14, Russell teaches an access point, comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive and transmit signals to a plurality of access points to provide a wireless network (Russell discloses an access point or node that transmits and receives signals across other access points. See paragraph [12]).
a wired communication port (Russell discloses that transmissions can be performed through wires, like Ethernet. See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
and a processor configured to receive a timing signal over the wired communication port from a network terminal; synchronize a global clock signal with the timing signal; and transmit the synchronized global clock signal to a plurality of other access points contributing to the wireless Network (Russell discloses a processor that performs the synchronization process with the global clock. See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
Regarding claim 15, Russell teaches wherein the wired communication port is a first wired communication port and the access point further comprises a second wired communication port and a third wired communication port (Russell discloses a node that can transmit through wires. Since Russell discloses there is a port for transmission, the examiner can deduce there can be multiple ports on the access point. See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
Regarding claim 16, Russell teaches wherein the plurality of access points comprises a first access point electrically coupled to the second wired communication port and a second access point electrically coupled to the third wired communication port (Russell discloses the communication port as stated in claim 15, which would need to be coupled to the other access points if the transmission medium is wired. See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
Regarding claim 17, Russell teaches wherein the access point is configured to synchronize the global clock signal with the first and second access points using the second and third wired communication ports (Russell discloses being able to do the transmission method through a wire, which would be the method of syncing to a master clock. See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian in view of Russell, David Wayne et al. (US 11265835 B1, hereinafter referred to as Russell).
Regarding claim 3, Cherian teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, except further comprising a wired backhaul linking the plurality of access points, wherein the global clock signal is synchronized using the wired backhaul.
In the same field of endeavor, Russell discloses that the modules, which the examiner interprets as access points, can have wired communication mediums such as Ethernet (See paragraphs [4] and [5]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cherian reference to incorporate the access points also having a wired backhaul in addition to the wireless architecture.
The motivation to combine is that a wired backhaul can provide higher bandwidth, lower latency, higher reliability and more security.
Claims 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian in view of Lee, Jung Gun et al. (US 8279897 B2, hereinafter referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Cherian teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the coordinated OFDMA operations are performed without communication between the second and third access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a master clock that syncs to multiple access points without communication between certain access points (See paragraphs [12], [15] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cherian reference to incorporate the concept of performing the transmission operations without the need for all the access points to directly communicate.
The motivation to combine is to reduce congestion in the network. Without communication of all of the repeaters, there can be enhanced range and clarity of communication.
Regarding claim 8, Cherian teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the coordinated TDMA operations are performed without communication between the second and third access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a master clock that syncs to multiple access points without communication between certain access points (See paragraphs [12], [15] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cherian reference to incorporate the concept of performing the transmission operations without the need for all the access points to directly communicate.
The motivation to combine is to reduce congestion in the network. Without communication of all of the repeaters, there can be enhanced range and clarity of communication.
Regarding claim 10, Cherian teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the JTX operations are performed without communication between the second and third access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a master clock that syncs to multiple access points without communication between certain access points (See paragraphs [12], [15] and Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cherian reference to incorporate the concept of performing the transmission operations without the need for all the access points to directly communicate.
The motivation to combine is to reduce congestion in the network. Without communication of all of the repeaters, there can be enhanced range and clarity of communication.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell in view of Cherian.
Regarding claim 18, Russell teaches all aspects of claimed invention, except wherein the access point is configured to conduct coordinated orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) operations with one or more access points of the plurality of access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Cherian discloses using OFDMA operations among the access points (See paragraph [16]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Russell reference to incorporate using OFDMA operations among the plurality of access points.
The motivation to combine is that OFDMA operations present efficient frequency allocation, reduced latency, increased network capacity and improved performance in congested environments.
Regarding claim 19, Russell teaches all aspects of claimed invention, except wherein the access point is configured to conduct coordinated time division multiple access (TDMA) operations with one or more access points of the plurality of access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Cherian discloses using TDMA operations among the access points (See paragraph [16]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Russell reference to incorporate using TDMA operations among the plurality of access points.
The motivation to combine is that TDMA operations present efficient bandwidth utilization, scalable architecture and predictable access patterns using fixed time slot allocations.
Regarding claim 20, Russell teaches all aspects of claimed invention, except wherein the access point is configured to conduct multi-AP joint transmission (JTX) operations with one or more access points of the plurality of access points.
In the same field of endeavor, Cherian discloses multi-AP joint transmission operations among the access points (See [Abstract]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Russell reference to incorporate using JTX operations among the plurality of access points.
The motivation to combine is that multi-point joint transmissions are known to enhance QoS and system capacity as well as reduce power consumption and improve coverage by increasing signal strength and reducing interference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hewavithana et al. (US 20220209931 A1, HIGH PRECISION TIMESTAMP DETECTION FOR IMPROVED CABLE MODEM CLOCK SYNCHRONIZATION)
Scherzer et al. (US 9179495 B1, IMPLEMENTING “ALL WIRELESS” NETWORK OVER WIFI EQUIPMENT USING “SCHEDULED TDMA”)
Wu et al. (US 8018950 B2, SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR DISTRIBUTING GPS CLOCK TO COMMUNICATIONS DEVICES)
/C.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464