Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Applicant’s drawings filed March 11, 2024 have been received and entered.
Applicant’s information disclosure statements filed July 20, 2024 and December 10, 2025 have been received and entered.
Applicant’s election filed January 5, 2026 in response to the restriction requirement of November 6, 2025 has been received and entered. The applicants elected the invention described in claims 11-20 (Group II) without traverse. Note claims 2, 3 and 9 will be examined also because they depend on claim 11.
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to the non-elected invention (37 CFR 1.142(b)).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,653 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application teaches a plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents provided for utilization and causing at least one of inhibiting growth of an aerobic microorganism and killing an aerobic microorganism comprising at least: a fosfomycin; and a diaminopyrimidine, and the patented application teaches a plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents provided over a course for use in inhibiting growth of a microorganism or killing the microorganism comprising: a fosfomycin, a sulfonamide; and a diaminopyrimidine.
Note the only difference between the patented application’s claims and the present application’s claims lies in that the patented application’s claims have additional agent, a sulfonamide, combined with presently two claimed active agents (a fosfomycin and a diaminopyrimidine).
The patented application’s claims would anticipate the present application’s claims because the present application’s claims recite “comprising” and thus opens the claims to the inclusion of additional agents.
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 11-20 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11-16 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17/836,959 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application teaches a plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents provided for utilization and causing at least one of inhibiting growth of an aerobic microorganism and killing an aerobic microorganism comprising at least: a fosfomycin; and a diaminopyrimidine, and the copending application teaches a plurality of co-agents for utilization as an antimicrobial medicament against one or more pathogenic anaerobes in an anaerobic environment comprising: a fosfomycin, a sulfonamide; and a diaminopyrimidine.
Note the only difference between the copending application’s claims and the present application’s claims lies in that the copending application’s claims have additional agent, a sulfonamide, combined with presently two claimed active agents (a fosfomycin and a diaminopyrimidine).
The copending application’s claims would anticipate the present application’s claims because the present application’s claims recite “comprising” and thus opens the claims to the inclusion of additional agents.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11-16 and 18-20 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 3 and 9 are rendered indefinite by the phrase “The composition of claim 11”. Note claim 11 is “A plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agent .”. Please amend claims 2, 3 and 9 to recite “The plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents of claim 11” as like the other dependent claims.
Claim 17 is rendered indefinite and vague because the claim recites “a mean inhibitory concentration of at least one of the fosfomycin and the diaminopyrimidine, when evaluated individually in vitro against the aerobic microorganism for inhibiting growth, is below a resistance breakpoint identified for the at least one of the fosfomycin and the diaminopyrimidine, the resistance breakpoint having previously been identified by at least one of the Clinical Laboratories Standards Institute, and the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing”. What is this resistance breakpoint of the fosfomycin and the diaminopyrimidine previously identified by at least one of the Clinical Laboratories Standards Institute and the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing? Claim 17 does not disclose these critical resistance breakpoints.
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 17 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakraborty et al., "A Novel Combination of Selective Agents for Isolation of Leptospira Species", Microbiology and Immunology, Vol. 55, No. 7, pages 494-501 (2011).
Chakraborty et al. teach a novel combination of antimicrobial agents, a fosfomycin (Fosfomycin), a diaminopyrimidine (trimethoprim) (see the abstract). Note page 496, column 1, under Effects of antimicrobial combinations, the antimicrobial combinations inhibit the growth of both Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacterial. Also note page 498, Table 3, shows the various Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria inhibited by the antimicrobial combination.
Clearly, applicant’s plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents is anticipated in the cited reference; therefore, applicant’s instant invention is unpatentable.
Claims 11 and 12 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty et al., "A Novel Combination of Selective Agents for Isolation of Leptospira Species", Microbiology and Immunology, Vol. 55, No. 7, pages 494-501 (2011).
Chakraborty et al. were discussed above supra for a plurality of antimicrobial compounds or agents comprising a fosfomycin, and a diaminopyrimidine.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the ratios of each antimicrobial compound or agent is combined to form the instant composition. However, to determine a ratio for each individual antimicrobial compound or agent having the optimum effectiveness together is well within the level of one having ordinary skill in the art, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to determine optimum ratios of each antimicrobial compound or agent to get the maximum effectiveness in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the dosage amounts of each individual antimicrobial active agent(s) together. However, to determine the dosage amounts may be calculated according to body weight, body surface area or organ sizes. Further refinement of the calculations necessary to determine the appropriate dosage involving each of the above active agent(s) is routinely made by those of ordinary skill in the art and is within the ability of tasks routinely performed by them without undue experimentation.
Clams 2 and 11-13 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629