DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding to claim 1, the amended claim limitations “monochromatic image; and the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the monochromatic image and the color image” overcome the current rejections. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in newly applied art.
Claims 19 and 20 recite similar subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 are not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the language “a the fused image” is not correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawing of Fig. 4A is not of sufficient quality to permit examination. For example,
. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification describes “The outputs of the NR 422, 424 may be combined in a chroma and luma fusion 428” in paragraph [0051]. The specification further describes “foveation for full fused images are different for Luma component and chroma” in paragraph [0051]. However, the specification does not describe “the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the foveated monochromatic image and the foveated color image”. Therefore, the claim limitation “the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the foveated monochromatic image and the foveated color image” is new matter.
Claims 2-4, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph due to dependency of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk (US 20210173474 A1, hereafter ‘474) in view of Hua (US 20240013752 A1), and further in view of Price (US 20230214962 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) discloses a method comprising, by a computing system (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head-mounted display; computing system; [0054]: head-mountable display device; Fig. 3; [0060]: display the high-resolution portion of the display image; display a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; [0061]: as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350, the portions 319, 321, and 323 of display panel 118 that correspond to the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image change accordingly; [0062]: a foveated display image frame; [0067]: the user's eye is tracked):
receiving an image from a first sensor and a color image from a second sensor ([0046]: one or more system cameras, i.e. image sensors, capture the real-world content, and display the real-world content with multiple zones to the user by the device; [0106]: imaging device 760 includes one or more cameras, one or more video cameras, other devices capable of capturing images; adjust one or more imaging parameters);
implementing, using based on data specific to a gaze of a user, a first foveated capture operation on the image and a second foveated capture operation on the color image ([0046]: one or more system cameras, i.e. image sensors, capture the real-world content, i.e., sensor readout, and display the real-world content, i.e. sensor readout, to the user by the device; Fig. 3; [0057]: identify an eye movement; identify a change in a gaze location; [0058]: the gaze direction is defined herein as the direction of a foveal axis 364; Fig. 3; [0060]: a portion 319 of display panel 118 surrounding the user's gaze location displays the high-resolution portion of the display image; a portion 321 of display panel 118 surrounding the portion 319 displays a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; the generated foveated map includes the high-resolution portion, a transition region, and low resolution portion; [0061]: the foveated map changes, as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel; the foveated map includes the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image);
generating, responsive to the implementing, a foveated image and a foveated color image ([0060]: a portion 319 of display panel 118 surrounding the user's gaze location displays the high-resolution portion of the display image; a portion 321 of display panel 118 surrounding the portion 319 displays a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; Fig. 4; [0062]: a generated foveated display image frame 401 includes a high-resolution portion 430, a peripheral portion 400, and a transition portion 440 extending between the high-resolution portion and the peripheral portion;
; [0126]), each of the foveated image and the foveated color image including a respective plurality of foveal regions ([0061]: the foveated map changes, as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel; the foveated map includes the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image; Fig. 4; [0062]: display a foveated display image frame; a foveated display image frame 401 includes a high-resolution portion 430, a peripheral portion 400, and a transition portion 440 extending between the high-resolution portion and the peripheral portion; [0063]: peripheral portion 400 of image frame 401 has a resolution that is lower than the resolution of high-resolution portion 430; [0067]: identify the content associated with the gaze location; render display images, and correct display images; display pixels are operated to display a foveated display image frame 401; [0068]: obtain a predicted gaze location for a future display frame and generate a foveated display image frame 401 in advance), and
generating, using the foveated image and the foveated color image, a fused image ([0061]: as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350, the portions 319, 321, and 323 of display panel 118 that correspond to the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image change accordingly; Fig. 4; [0062]: a generated foveated display image frame 401 includes a high-resolution portion 430, a peripheral portion 400, and a transition portion 440 extending between the high-resolution portion and the peripheral portion;
; [0067]: identify the content associated with the gaze location; render display images, and correct display images; display pixels are operated to display a foveated display image frame 401; [0068]: obtain a predicted gaze location for a future display frame and generate a foveated display image frame 401 in advance; [0102]: the high-resolution region 430 is upsampled via super-resolution techniques),
Sztuk (‘474) fails to explicitly disclose:
image is monochromatic image;
each foveal region corresponding to a respective different resolution; and
the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the foveated monochromatic image and the foveated color image.
In same field of endeavor, Hua teaches:
each foveal region corresponding to a respective different resolution ([0056]: the foveated region offers a high angular resolution; the peripheral region offers a low resolution; [0057]: the multi-resolution foveation scheme; Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0061]: the relative resolution distribution functions for the different regions; a continuously foveated display; the resolution in foveal region changes as illustrated in Fig. 4A and Fig. 4B;
);
foveated images ([0005]: capture foveated images; [0056]: the foveated region offers a high angular resolution; the peripheral region offers a low resolution; Fig. 4A; Fig. 4B; [0061]: the relative resolution distribution functions for the different regions;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sztuk (‘474) to include each foveal region corresponding to a respective different resolution; foveated images as taught by Hua. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply foveation techniques in imaging and display applications; to capture foveated images; to implement a foveated HMD; to convolve the original image with the relative resolution distribution function as a filter as taught by Hua in paragraphs [0005-006] and [0096].
Sztuk (‘474) and Hua fails to explicitly disclose:
image is monochromatic image;
the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the monochromatic image and the color image.
In same field of endeavor, Price teaches:
image is monochromatic image ([0032]: monochrome image; [0037]: a monochrome image; [0054]: monochrome cameras);
generating, using the monochromatic image and the color image, a fused image ([0032]: a high resolution output color image is generated by combining the up-sampled red-only image, the up-sampled green-only image, the up-sampled blue-only image, and the monochrome image; [0063]: combines the data from those images to generate an enhanced image; Fig. 9; [0094]: the color and texture information from those respective images are merged together to generate the high resolution output color image 965; [0097]: the color data are used to populate the H and S channels while the monochrome image 960 is used to populate the I channel; Fig. 10; [0102]: combine all of the red-only, green-only, and blue-only images to generate a super resolution RGB image 1035), the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the foveated monochromatic image and the foveated color ([0032]: a high resolution output color image is generated by combining the up-sampled red-only image, the up-sampled green-only image, the up-sampled blue-only image, and the monochrome image; Fig. 9; [0094]: the color and texture information from those respective images are merged together to generate the high resolution output color image 965; Fig. 10; [0102]: combine all of the red-only, green-only, and blue-only images to generate a super resolution RGB image 1035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sztuk (‘474) in view of Hua to include image is monochromatic image; generating, using the monochromatic image and the color image, a fused image, the fused image having a resolution that is higher than the respective resolutions of the foveated monochromatic image and the foveated color as taught by Price. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the quality of the images that are displayed to a user; to generate a high resolution output color image by combining the up-sampled red-only image, the up-sampled green-only image, the up-sampled blue-only image, and the monochrome image; to provide improvements to the technical field of temporal filtering and generating images; to combine the data from different images to generate an enhanced image as taught by Price in paragraphs [0005], [0032], [0035], and [0063].
Regarding to claim 2 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the respectively plurality of foveal regions comprises at least one of a central foveal region, a mid foveal region, or an outer foveal region (or is optional; Sztuk (‘474); Fig. 3; [0060]: a portion 319 of display panel 118 surrounding the user's gaze location displays the high-resolution portion of the display image; Fig. 4; [0062]: a foveated display image frame 401 includes a high-resolution portion 430, a peripheral portion 400, and a transition portion 440 extending between the high-resolution portion and the peripheral portion;
; Fig. 4; [0065]: high-resolution portion 430 has a rectilinear border and is central foveal region; the surrounding transition portion 440 is mid foveal region).
Regarding to claim 3 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each of the respective plurality of foveal regions corresponds to a respective plurality of zones, wherein a first zone corresponds to the central foveal region, a second zone corresponds to the mid foveal region, or a third zone corresponds to the outer foveal region (or is optional; Sztuk (‘474); Fig. 3; [0060]: a portion 319 of display panel 118 surrounding the user's gaze location displays the high-resolution portion of the display image; Fig. 4; [0062]: a foveated display image frame 401 includes a high-resolution portion 430, a peripheral portion 400, and a transition portion 440 extending between the high-resolution portion and the peripheral portion;
; Fig. 4; [0065]: high-resolution portion 430 has a rectilinear border and is first zone corresponding to central foveal region; the surrounding transition portion 440 is a second zone corresponding to mid foveal region).
Regarding to claim 4 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of zones further indicates a field-of-view (FOV) for the image sensor for the respective zone (Sztuk (‘474); [0056]: the field of view of the displayed content; [0060]: a portion 321 of display panel 118 surrounding the portion 319 displaying the high-resolution portion of the image frame displays a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; Fig. 4; [0065]: an edge of their field of view; [0106]: a field of view of imaging device).
Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price further discloses a field-of-view (FOV) for the image sensor (Hua; Fig. 12; [0090]: the full FOV of the system is 80 degrees; Fig. 12; [0090]: the center of the field of view to the ±40° edge fields; [0095]: a foveated display with 130-degree FOV yields; Fig. 19A; [0096]: FIG. 19A shows the captured image of the entire FOV for overall effects).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
blending, using an image signal processor of the computing system, a first sensor readout corresponding to a first zone of the plurality of zones and a second sensor readout corresponding to a second zone of the plurality of zones (Sztuk (‘474); [0064]: transitional portion 440 is blended such that the resolution smoothly varies from the outer boundary 455 at the resolution of the low resolution portion 400; the transitional portion 450 may be faded to blend with background portion; [0103]: apply a blending function to adjust the resolution of transitional portion 440 to be rendered; upon rendering, the resolution smoothly transitions from a resolution of the high-resolution portion 430 of the image to the resolution of the background region; the blended transitional portion is used for the transitional region 440 of the composite content).
Regarding to claim 8 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Omitting, form a readout of the first sensor and the second sensor, one or more areas corresponding to at least one zone of the plurality of zones (Hua; Fig. 19B; [0096]: the captured images show noticeable degradation from the center to the 80-degree angle;
; apply the filter to omit some details in the captured images with 60-degree angle; Fig. 19C; [0096]: these images were obtained by convolving the original image with the human relative resolution distribution function as a filter.).
Regarding to claim 10 (Previously Presented), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining an updated gaze (Sztuk (‘474); Fig. 3; [0057]: eye tracking unit 215 includes one or more cameras; identify an eye movement; identify a change in a gaze location; [0058]: the gaze direction is defined herein as the direction of a foveal axis 364; [0061]: user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350; Fig. 12; [0154]: determine and update a static, or current, gaze location using, for example, a latest (most recent) eye tracking data point); and
generating an updated foveated map based on the updated gaze, wherein the updated foveated map comprises a plurality of updated foveal regions (Sztuk (‘474); [0061]: as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350, the portions 319, 321, and 323 of display panel 118 that correspond to the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image change accordingly; Fig. 4; [0062]; Fig. 12; [0155]: the size of the high-resolution region is further reduced to a minimum size for the foveated display frames to be displayed while the gaze location is static).
Regarding to claim 12 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
performing, using an image signal processor of the computing system, noise reduction (Sztuk (‘474); [0056]: correct the display light for one or more additional optical errors; [0106]: increase signal to noise ratio, i.e. reducing noise; [0155]: reduce the impact of system latency and prevent visual errors or disruptions for the user), wherein a first noise reduction algorithm is used for a first zone of the plurality of zones and a second noise reduction algorithm is used for a second zone of the plurality of zones (Sztuk (‘474); [0103]: smooth the content with an appropriate smoothing filter; [0106]: one or more filters; increase signal to noise ratio; [0113]: filtering module 800 receives other data such as user calibration data 816, scene content information 818, and head tracking data 820; [0116-0117]).
Regarding to claim 13 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
performing depth processing to generate a depth map for a scene (Sztuk (‘474); Fig. 5; [0074]: the vergence depth may correspond to the virtual depth of virtual object 508; [0094]: achieve a corresponding image plane depth to maintain a zone of comfort for the user; [0104]: intentionally blur an object in the high-resolution region 430 that is at a different depth from another object in the high-resolution region on which the user's eyes are verged; region that are at depths that are far from the focal plane; render objects in the high-resolution region that are at depths that are far from the focal plane at a lower resolution; [0075]: determined vergence depth; [0131]: identify the vergence depth); and
warping a the fused image based on the depth map (Sztuk (‘474); [0100]: scene render module 720 applies a distortion correction to display content to be displayed; warp a rendered image frame prior to display based on the predicted state of optical block 320; counteract any distortion of the displayed image frame; a predicted three-dimensional gaze location is used to predict the distortion correction).
Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price further discloses a scene represented by the monochromatic image and the color image (Price; [0032]: a high resolution output color image is generated by combining the up-sampled red-only image, the up-sampled green-only image, the up-sampled blue-only image, and the monochrome image; [0063]: combines the data from those images to generate an enhanced image; Fig. 9; [0094]: the color and texture information from those respective images are merged together to generate the high resolution output color image 965; [0097]: the color data are used to populate the H and S channels while the monochrome image 960 is used to populate the I channel.).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 14 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising:
determining an inpainting algorithm based on a zone of the plurality of zones (Sztuk (‘474); [0100]: scene render module 720 applies a distortion correction to display content to be displayed; warp a rendered image frame prior to display based on the predicted state of optical block 320; counteract any distortion of the displayed image frame; a predicted three-dimensional gaze location is used to predict the distortion correction); and
performing a first inpainting algorithm on the fused image that is warped (Sztuk (‘474); [0067]: display images are rendered, corrected, and processed; [0100]: scene render module 720 applies a distortion correction to display content to be displayed; warp a rendered image frame prior to display based on the predicted state of optical block 320; counteract any distortion of the displayed image frame; a predicted three-dimensional gaze location is used to predict the distortion correction).
Regarding to claim 19 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) discloses software that is operable when executed to (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head-mounted display; computing system; [0054]: head-mountable display device; Fig. 3; [0060]: display the high-resolution portion of the display image; display a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; [0061]: as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350, the portions 319, 321, and 323 of display panel 118 that correspond to the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image change accordingly; [0062]: a foveated display image frame; [0067]: the user's eye is tracked; [0109]: when a group of instructions are executed by a processor, generates content for presentation to the user):
in same field of endeavor, Price teaches one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying (Fig. 14; [0133]: store computer-executable instructions and/or data structures in computer-readable media; [0134]: computer-readable hardware storage devices, such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM, solid state drives (“SSD”) that are based on RAM, Flash memory, phase-change memory (“PCM”), or other types of memory, or other optical disk storage).
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 19.
Regarding to claim 20 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) discloses a system (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head-mounted display; computing system; [0054]: head-mountable display device; Fig. 3; [0060]: display the high-resolution portion of the display image; display a transition region in which the resolution of the displayed image frame decreases with increasing distance from the gaze location 317; [0061]: as the user's gaze location 317 moves around the display panel due to rotation of the user's eye 350, the portions 319, 321, and 323 of display panel 118 that correspond to the high-resolution, transitional, and peripheral portions of the image change accordingly; [0062]: a foveated display image frame; [0067]: the user's eye is tracked) comprising:
In same field of endeavor, Price teaches:
one or more processors (Fig. 14; [0129]: processor; CPU; GPU ); and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more of the processors and comprising instructions operable when executed by one or more of the processors to cause the system to (Fig. 14; [0133]: store computer-executable instructions and/or data structures in computer-readable media; [0134]: computer-readable hardware storage devices, such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM, solid state drives (“SSD”) that are based on RAM, Flash memory, phase-change memory (“PCM”), or other types of memory, or other optical disk storage):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 20.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk (US 20210173474 A1, hereafter ‘474) in view of Hua (US 20240013752 A1), in view of Price (US 20230214962 A1), and further in view of Barry (US 20170287447 A1).
Regarding to claim 9 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 3,
Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein a first zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a first frame rate and a second zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a second frame rate.
In same field of endeavor, Barry teaches:
wherein a first zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a first frame rate and a second zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a second frame rate ([0040]: resolution and frame-rate of the foveal region are different than that of the extra-foveal region; the extra-foveal region is represented with at lower resolution and lower frame-rate; [0041]: transfer display data corresponding to the foveal region at relatively higher frame rate and resolution; transmit the extra-foveal data at relatively lower frame rate and/or resolution; [0044]: extra-foveal frame buffers 308/312 and foveal frame buffers 310/314 are loaded with different frame rates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price to include wherein a first zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a first frame rate and a second zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a second frame rate as taught by Barry. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve a head-mounted display design with separate left and right foveal display and lower resolution extra-foveal display buffers combined with alpha-blending; to represent the extra-foveal region with at lower resolution and lower frame-rate; to transfer, in parallel, display data corresponding to the foveal region at relatively higher frame rate as taught by Barry in paragraphs [0034] and [0040-0041].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sztuk (US 20210173474 A1, hereafter ‘474) in view of Hua (US 20240013752 A1), in view of Price (US 20230214962 A1), and further in view of Kurlethimar (US 20190339770 A1).
Regarding to claim 15 (Currently Amended), Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price fails to explicitly disclose:
rendering one or more virtual objects in the fused image.
In same field of endeavor, Kurlethimar teaches:
rendering one or more virtual objects in the fused image (Kurlethimar (US 20190339770 A1); [0037]: an augmented reality (AR) environment; the virtual objects are superimposed over the physical environment; [0038]: an augmented reality environment also refers to a simulated environment in which a representation of a physical environment is transformed by computer-generated sensory information; transform one or more sensor images to impose a select perspective, e.g., viewpoint, different than the perspective captured by the imaging sensors; [0039]: a virtual or computer generated environment incorporates one or more sensory inputs from the physical environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sztuk (‘474) and Hua and Price to include rendering one or more virtual objects in the fused image as taught by Kurlethimar. The motivation for doing so would have been to superimpose the virtual objects over the physical environment; to improve the overall accuracy of gaze prediction; to improve the final displacement estimation as taught by Kurlethimar in paragraphs [0037], [0070], and [0089].
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616